We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irene and Eve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Taba
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We have just enjoyed another two week holiday at the Intercontinental in Taba Heights. As returning guests we were upgraded to a lovely room on the 3rd floor with a gorgeous view over the Red Sea to Jordan and Saudi Arabia. There was a platter of fresh fruit in the room PLUS a cake and card for my birthday!! How great was that!! We went on the VIP boat trip which was as good as we remembered from last year. The Sinai by Starlight was also a great excursion. Special thanks to all staff who were fantastic throughout, but really want to mention Ahmed who brought us drinks on the beach and at the pool - Fahim the tour guide on our excursions, Andrew the Thomson's Rep, Gilbert the Head Chef and Chris the General Manager. We met so many new friends and also some old friends from last year. What a brilliant holiday!! We hope to return again soon. Thanks again for a special holiday - Oh and the cocktails and canapes on our last night were just lovely xx

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrmen49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

Dear Irene & Eve,
we are ever so happy that you had a fabulous stay with us on such a special time as your birthday! Of course we would be king this a little special :) Your praise has been shared with all those mentioned and naturally with the rest of the team who all work jointly on those experiences. Applause from happy guests is our biggest reward!
Your Team at the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,225)
There are newer reviews for Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

708 - 714 of 2,225 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

My partner and i recently returned from a 1 week stay at the Intercontinental Taba
After reading the reviews on trip advisor our expectations were quite high.
We were not disappointed.
We booked through Thompson and payed extra for a sea view room. We got room 1328 and the view is amazing. We had a view of both pools the beach and the red sea. We were on the third floor but this floor is also level with reception and the lobby bar. The journey from the airport to the hotel is ok it was dark so not much to see and it take about 45 minutes. We were given a welcome pack on the coach and told what would happen regards check in when we reached the hotel.There were no other stops at other hotels on the way which was definately a plus after a fairly long flight.
Check in was very efficient and cold drinks were on offer for eveyone as a welcome token.
We were given directions to our room and the bell boys brought the cases shortly after.
The room was huge. 2 queen size beds. a balcony with table and chairs. the beds were comfortable and the room very tidy. The bathroom was also big with one of the biggest showers i have ever been in and the water was always hot no matter what time of day.
There are 2 big pools at the hotel 1 of which is heated. You are issued with towel cards when you check in and these are used every day to get clean towels for your sunbed. Just take them to the kiosk and the guy will even ask where you want to lay and take the towels for you and lay them out. There is no need to get up early for a sun bed as there are plenty.Altough a lot of people do if they want the same place everyday.The pool area is very clean and tiday as is all the hotel and grounds.
Food at the hotel is what you would expect from an all inclusive holiday. Breakfast time has any type of eggs cooked freah the way you choose there is plenty of freas fruit,cereal and bread available ther are other hot options as well. Lunch is also served in the main restaurant and again there are various options available. You can also get Pizza and sandwiches at the Reef bar at lunch time if you dont want to go to the restaurant. Be aware that chips are extra at the Reef bar 20 egyptian pounds which is about £2.
The evening meals start at 18:30 and again are buffet style. The main let down is that if you go later around 19:30 - 20:00 the food could be on the tepid side verging on cold. The choises range from soups to salads to fresh meats and different types of potato also any pasta cooked freah the way you like it.
There is also a dine around option throughout the resot. All you have to do is ask at reception.They will give you a ticket and you can dine in any other of the hotels or at any of the restaurants uptown. We tried the mexicn uptown called El Fuego.Would deffinatly recommen. You get more than enough to eat and the food was lovely.You pay for the main meal and get a starter or desert free with the dine around ticket.
Most of our evenings were spent in the lobby bar. We met a few more British couples while we were there and can i say they were all lovely. Big shout to you all Steve,Trudy,Trevor,Carol,Mark,Michelle and June and John.
The snorkelling was ok we found the Hyatt pier the best one for bigger selection of fish.
We also did the Petra excursion booked through Thompson at £203 per person. Now this is a long day but well woth it and there is a lot of walking involved. The sights are amazing and the guide was excellent.
Overall we had a very good week at the Intercontinental. Would we return no. But we dont ever go to the same hotel twice. We can see why there are alot of repeat guests here but it is just not what we do. We would and we will definately recommend this hotel to family and friends and highly recommend to any one who is reading this.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

Dear Martin,
Dear John,
with great joy we have received your review on your most recent stay with us! We are certain that some of those details will be very helpful for any future guests to the resort! We hope to see you back as one of them... so long, please keep spreading the positive word!
Your Team at the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort
PS: Those showers are something great, arent they?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I stayed there for the Easter holiday in April 2012 , we arrived to Sharm airport and the hotel taxi was waiting for us , the road trip from Sharm to Taba is magnificent , the desert and the mountains are beautiful , we arrived at night and the sky was so clear the stars were beautiful , we really wanted this road trip to last longer. You reach the hotel and you are immediately welcomed by the staff, they are very professional and welcoming. I stayed in a single room on the third floor with a swimming pool view, the rooms were spotless clean. The food is amazing at the hotel, their buffets have everything, the waiters are very attentive and sharp, especially Abdallah with his warm smile :) . When you go to the beach, first it is very clean thanks to the hotel staff that cleans it periodically and you can enjoy any kind of water activity you can think of. If you stay full board you can enjoy the free snacks and ice cream on the beach , and even if you are not, the prices are very affordable. I would recommend this hotel to any couple who is looking for a retreat, it is perfect for families and I will definitely go stay there for my honey moon :) I will definitely go back .

Room Tip: I like the third floor , it has both views to the swimming pool and the sea. I stayed in 1306 and I...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mireille79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear Mireille,
we are more than happy that you have enjoyed your stay ith us!
Looking forward to your return soon!
Greetings from the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We've recently returned from a week at the Intercontinental and were very happy with everything. First, a tip: do not worry when stepping off the plane. The airport is much higher up than Taba Heights so the temperature is quite a bit lower than it will be when you get to the hotel. Here are a few of our highlights:
The transfer time was actually less than the brochure said (35 mins max)
The hotel lobby and throughout the hotel was very spacious, with lots of natural light and everywhere was very clean and was constantly being cleaned.
Our room was big and the bathroom was very large. Again, clean, and the complimentary room-safe and daily toiletries were nice touches, as were the bathrobes.
We found the food to be very good with more things than we had room for each night. Always of a good quality and the service in the restaurant was extremely good. No waiting for tables to be cleared etc.
We were only there for a week and wanted to totally relax so did not go on any trips. We still went to the Rep's (Andrew) opening meeting however, out of courtesy really, but there were a few tips worth listening to, and what was really nice was that the hotel manager and some of the 'heads of' were there to say a few words. That went down well in our book.
The Rep (Andrew) also did a 10 minute 'departure meeting' which we hadn't had before and thought was a really good idea. Instead of everyone lining up to ask the same questions, he covered everything off in one go, and to top it off the hotel management were there and laid on canapes and cocktails for us. That sort of thing were lovely touches.
Overall we having negative to say. We wanted good weather, a good hotel and good food. We got exactly that and will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: The higher the better for a good view. We were on the 4th floor and would recommend that if possible...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DomRepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Greetings from the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort Team!
Great you had a fabulous time! Passed your praise on to Andrew and will be waiting impatiently for your return! Spread the good word!
Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed here March 2012 - what a great hotel - from the free massage whislt checking in to the departure party before we left. The hotel was spotless, staff extremely polite and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. the pool area was to die for - well it was for me - and the heated pool WAS heated! food was well laid out, plenty to choose from. Managers were about the hotel , always spoke and always listened. Can't rate this high enough.

Room Tip: Most room face the sea, some look out on Mount Sinai, if you're not happy just ask, if they can...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Hi Colette,
thank you so much for your feedback!
We will do our best to not only keep it up, but keep improving until your next return... hopefully soon!
Best regards from the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We went late March for 2 weeks and the temperature averaged about 27C. The evenings were a little cool though. The hotel is in a gorgeous setting sandwiched between the sea and the mountains behind, with Saudi Arabia visible across the gulf. The pool area is well set out and the upper area was heated. It was quiet early on in the holiday but got busier nearer Easter.
However there was still sunbeds available around the lagoon and on the large spacious beach area. Staff brought drinks to your sunbeds if you liked. You cold have a peaceful or noisy day depending on where you choose your sunbed. Their was a pool bar, lounge bar and Arches bar open nights with average entertainment. The resteraunt served a good selection of food and never got too busy whilst we were there. Overall the service was pretty good and even better if you tip a little now and then. The Thomson Rep Andrew was excellent (the best we've ever had) and nothing was too much trouble for him.
Overall we enjoyed the holiday and would return again to this hotel. Just one gripe though about the thomson flights. On a 5 hour 15 min flight we expect a meal and a selection of films to pass the time. You do not get them. The snacks were awful and massively overpriced. A small bacon bagel (with hardly any bacon and soggy) cost £3.50. The coffee tasted like mud. Two vodka & oranges cost £9.90! You cold buy a bottle of vodka for that. Come on thomson airways, buck your ideas up or lose us.

Room Tip: If you have stayed at the hotel before and there are sea view rooms available they give upgrades.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZakLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Dear Zak,
thank you for your review. Great to read you enjoyed your stay... tipping should however be only a recognition, not a sole motivator... we are sure the guys will be committed just as much.
We have also shared the great (& constructive feedback) with Thomson for their rep & flight service.
Looking forward having you back for another 2 weeks of relaxation in paradise.
Your Crew of the Intercontinental Taba Heights Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Just back from one week in Taba with wife and 9yo daughter, joined by my parents who were 3rd time visitors of Intercontinental. Some thoughts:
- don't know if it's the financial crisis and/or the political instability of Egypt, but the hotel wasn't even half full, which for us was great: room everywhere: on the beach, at the swimming pool, at the bars and restaurant. We visited the other nearby hotels (easy and nice walk on a beach path) and I was happy staying at the Intercontinental (Sofitel looked nice too, not impressed by Hyatt and Marriott, both looked like ghost towns).
- nice surprise: we only arrived at midnight, but a couple of club sandwiches were waiting for us in the room.
- very impressed by the staff: efficient and indeed super friendly, without exception. We really felt treated as very welcome guests.
- also very high marks on the maintenance of the place, everything was kept spotlessly clean.
- large rooms, nicely appointed, no complaints at all
- food was ok to good, lots of choice.
- excellent swimming pools, good entertainment team, active without being intrusive
- disappointed by the impossibility of visiting Saint Catherine's monastery (too dangerous so we were told, because of some recent kidnappings) and the new 'arrangement' for visiting Petra (a rip-off: 18 hour trip, only 1 hour on site and 210 euro per person!). Naturally, this has nothing to do with the hotel.
- unfortunately, the last day left a bit of a sour aftertaste. Our flight was at 22h35, so they picked us up at 19h00. We had to leave our room at noon, so I informed if we could hold the rooms until the evening, Although the hotel was less than half full, they charged us 50$ per room to keep it until 18h00. No problem, but given the occupancy and being return guests, a gesture would have been appreciated. The restaurant opened at 18h30, so we thought we'd have a (very quick/small) bite before leaving at 19h00, along with about twenty other guests who were leaving with us. But then the friendliness turned quite suddenly. Five minutes after ordering and getting our drinks, we were told that everything would now be charged. Why not tell us beforehand? Again, I didn't make a scene or complained (meanwhile, some others were fleeing from the restaurant without paying) and ended up paying €45 for three very simple and small salads. Afterwards, I even noticed that they charged us four meals, while the fourth person was a girlfriend of my dayghter who was staying some more days but wanted to see her a few more minutes... Was this really necessary? Again, a small gesture would have given us a far better feeling.
All in all, a well run and very nice hotel, we enjoyed our stay and we'll probably return, in spite of the unplaisant, rather cold and greedy end.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slaceb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Hi slaceb,
Gladly we have shared your great and detailed comments with the team... fabulous feedback for a real hard working crew!
As things have drastically improved over the past weeks we are hopeful that - like the Jerusalem and Petra trips - also St Catherine will be back on schedule soon!
We will certainly be looking into the late check out procedure as suggested in order to be a little more accommodating to everybodys needs & wants.
Greetings from the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort and looking forward having you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taba hotels
9.7 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
7.8 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#7 of 22 in Taba
66 reviews
16.8 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#12 of 22 in Taba
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Miramar Resort Taba Heights
9.5 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights

Address: P.O.Box 10 Taba Heights | Taba Heights, Taba 46621, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Taba
#2 Spa Hotel in Taba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#3 Family Hotel in Taba
Price Range: £46 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strand Golf Beach & Golf Resort Taba Heights is part of a premier resort community on the Red Sea coast. Surrounded by desert mountains, white sand beaches and turquoise waters, it offers a wealth of leisure options including golf, water sports, shopping and gaming. A short drive away are Pharaoh s Island, Colored Canyon and the Taba Protected Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Taba Heights Hotel Taba
Hotel Intercontinental Taba Heights
Intercontinental Hotel Taba Heights
Taba Intercontinental
Taba Heights Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing