We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hotel To Return To.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Taba
Certificate of Excellence
Telford UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Hotel To Return To.”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Do not be put off and do not stay away from Egypt especially Taba Heights. This secluded resort is completely unaffected by troubles elsewhere and whilst numbers are slightly down it is service as normal.

My wife and I have stayed at all the hotels in this resort over the past 9 years and the best advice I can give is to use the InterContinental. Which is good news really since it generally seems to cost slightly less than the others. All have good features but we just found the InterContinental tries that bit harder with food, service, upgrades and facilities. The view over the salt water lagoon from the Lagoon Bar is classic infinity pool stuff and, with the moon out over Saudi, - get the camera out. Although all-inclusive I recommend an evening meal at least once from this location - Sahid and his staff will make sure you glass never runs dry.

In fact all the managers and staff are worth a mention and take great pride in their hotel - it shows. It seems to be a matter of pride for them to recognise you and anticipate your order.

Now some factual stuff - rooms are large / huge and those on the sea-front are fabulous. Hotels which provide tea and coffee making facilities, as this one does, are always top of my list. Usual issues with minibar prices but no-one seemed to mind when I stashed my wine box of sauvignon blanc in the fridge (capacious things those golf bags). Well done Osama and Ibrahim for the excellent room service.

The main restaurant was our principal eatery and not once did we feel let down by the selection of foods. Ihab, one of our waiters we recognised from past visits, quietly looked after us and made sure nothing ran dry - good man - but all the waiters in the section we used were consistently on top of matters.

With a golf course across the road from us and Thomson only charging £15 extra for the clubs - take them. The course surrounds the hotel and in fact the 17th and 18th run down to the beach. The dry desert air gives your shots a bit of a boost and the greens are well maintained. Mentioning Thomson, I should also mention Andrew the rep who really did keep it crisp and concise releasing us to yet more cocktails and canapes from the management.

Now some personal thanks for the welcoming bottle of wine, the fresh fruit, the room upgrade to Sea Front, the complimentary spa treatment, the room extension past normal check out time. My - they really do treat returning guests well..

Room Tip: Rooms around the lagoon or facing the sea are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Griff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Griff,
we are delighted of your comments and shall remain at your service in the same way on your hopefully to come future stays!
Looking forward having you back.
Your InterContinental Taba Heights Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,217
    591
    229
    91
    74
See reviews for
543
1,089
52
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed as a group of 6 (3 couples) and they managed to put our rooms close to each other which was ideal and what we had asked for, We stayed for 2 weeks over the Easter period.
The hotel is probably the best I have ever stayed in, an impressive building from the outside and inside which the staff clearly take pride in. There are various bars within the hotel, the Lagoon bar is nice on a night with a chilled and relaxed atmosphere, the Courtyard bar was nice at all times - both of these bars have some great views to look out onto (the Red Sea and Jordan) and the staff are friendly and efficient. We liked the splash bar which is beside the pool and provides waiter service to the pool, beach and lagoon. We found Ahmed from that bar and Sheriff also from that bar to be friendly and even brought our drinks without us asking when they got used to our order! Both very pleasant people who smiled and made us feel welcome. The other bar is the reef bar and although it provides some decent food at lunch with pizzas and sandwiches, I found it to be the only bar both day and night where consistently the staff were miserable (apart from Email when he was on there who was the exception).
Breakfast was excellent with some real variation on options for all. For 14 days I had eggs, but only twice did I have to ask Mahmood the egg chef for 2 poached eggs, after that EVERY morning I went back he had already spotted me and already put them on ready for me, I noticed he did this with a few people and was very impressive in terms of his memory but mainly his service.
We enjoyed the pool attendant who looked like Lewis Hamilton (apologies I cant remember hisname), always laughing and joking and being jolly with everyone around the pool.
Things to watch out for are 2 BBQ nights a week which are 185 Egypt pounds per person, however the following night as part of the normal all inclusive restaurant BBQ food as available.
Also check the contents of your mini bar in your room which is NOT part of all inclusive, we didn't touch a thing in the mini bar within the room and looking at the best before date on the chocolate in there nor had anyone else for quite some time! Putting that to one side it was disappointing that I was called back off the bus to reception as they said we had taken 2 bottles of Perrier water from the fridge which was NOT the case and after some confrontation they eventually allowed me to leave without paying for the drinks we DIDN'T have anyway.
I wasn't affected by this however we went as a group of 3 couples and the other 2 couples both commented that they were woken during the night at 2am or 3am to the sound of cleaning and polishing floors. It is a hard one to get right as it is great to see the hotel looking clean but if it is affecting peoples sleep the timing probably needs to be relooked at by the management.
A further thing to be aware of which is NO FAULT WHATSOEVER of the hotel is the offer of the day trip to Jerusalem, we booked with Thomsons and booked this trip as an extra whilst we were there, the tour guide took us for lunch to potentially the worse place possible, we weren't sure what was cleaner the toilets or the kitchen!! But it was clear the tour guide was getting a cut for taking us there with a chicken pitta costing the equivilent of £8 - PLEASE NOTE THOUGH AGAIN THIS WAS NO FAULT OF THE HOTEL but worth knowing if you book this addition through Thomson, however putting a bad chicken pitta to one side the trip was excellent!!
Overall to summarise the hotel is clean, friendly and secure. We would certainly stay there again and after walking through all of the hotels in Taba Heights this one stands out as being the best

Room Tip: staying on level 2 or 3 is good for access to the main reception and restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Dale,
thank you for your openess and your well balanced review! Your comments are well received and shared among the entire team and we shall be elminiating those in connection with your constructive feedback on the hick-ups and keep & enhance those putting a smile on your face.
Hope to see you all back soon!
Your InterContinental Taba Heights Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancs
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We have just enjoyed another two week holiday at the Intercontinental in Taba Heights. As returning guests we were upgraded to a lovely room on the 3rd floor with a gorgeous view over the Red Sea to Jordan and Saudi Arabia. There was a platter of fresh fruit in the room PLUS a cake and card for my birthday!! How great was that!! We went on the VIP boat trip which was as good as we remembered from last year. The Sinai by Starlight was also a great excursion. Special thanks to all staff who were fantastic throughout, but really want to mention Ahmed who brought us drinks on the beach and at the pool - Fahim the tour guide on our excursions, Andrew the Thomson's Rep, Gilbert the Head Chef and Chris the General Manager. We met so many new friends and also some old friends from last year. What a brilliant holiday!! We hope to return again soon. Thanks again for a special holiday - Oh and the cocktails and canapes on our last night were just lovely xx

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrmen49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Irene & Eve,
we are ever so happy that you had a fabulous stay with us on such a special time as your birthday! Of course we would be king this a little special :) Your praise has been shared with all those mentioned and naturally with the rest of the team who all work jointly on those experiences. Applause from happy guests is our biggest reward!
Your Team at the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My partner and i recently returned from a 1 week stay at the Intercontinental Taba
After reading the reviews on trip advisor our expectations were quite high.
We were not disappointed.
We booked through Thompson and payed extra for a sea view room. We got room 1328 and the view is amazing. We had a view of both pools the beach and the red sea. We were on the third floor but this floor is also level with reception and the lobby bar. The journey from the airport to the hotel is ok it was dark so not much to see and it take about 45 minutes. We were given a welcome pack on the coach and told what would happen regards check in when we reached the hotel.There were no other stops at other hotels on the way which was definately a plus after a fairly long flight.
Check in was very efficient and cold drinks were on offer for eveyone as a welcome token.
We were given directions to our room and the bell boys brought the cases shortly after.
The room was huge. 2 queen size beds. a balcony with table and chairs. the beds were comfortable and the room very tidy. The bathroom was also big with one of the biggest showers i have ever been in and the water was always hot no matter what time of day.
There are 2 big pools at the hotel 1 of which is heated. You are issued with towel cards when you check in and these are used every day to get clean towels for your sunbed. Just take them to the kiosk and the guy will even ask where you want to lay and take the towels for you and lay them out. There is no need to get up early for a sun bed as there are plenty.Altough a lot of people do if they want the same place everyday.The pool area is very clean and tiday as is all the hotel and grounds.
Food at the hotel is what you would expect from an all inclusive holiday. Breakfast time has any type of eggs cooked freah the way you choose there is plenty of freas fruit,cereal and bread available ther are other hot options as well. Lunch is also served in the main restaurant and again there are various options available. You can also get Pizza and sandwiches at the Reef bar at lunch time if you dont want to go to the restaurant. Be aware that chips are extra at the Reef bar 20 egyptian pounds which is about £2.
The evening meals start at 18:30 and again are buffet style. The main let down is that if you go later around 19:30 - 20:00 the food could be on the tepid side verging on cold. The choises range from soups to salads to fresh meats and different types of potato also any pasta cooked freah the way you like it.
There is also a dine around option throughout the resot. All you have to do is ask at reception.They will give you a ticket and you can dine in any other of the hotels or at any of the restaurants uptown. We tried the mexicn uptown called El Fuego.Would deffinatly recommen. You get more than enough to eat and the food was lovely.You pay for the main meal and get a starter or desert free with the dine around ticket.
Most of our evenings were spent in the lobby bar. We met a few more British couples while we were there and can i say they were all lovely. Big shout to you all Steve,Trudy,Trevor,Carol,Mark,Michelle and June and John.
The snorkelling was ok we found the Hyatt pier the best one for bigger selection of fish.
We also did the Petra excursion booked through Thompson at £203 per person. Now this is a long day but well woth it and there is a lot of walking involved. The sights are amazing and the guide was excellent.
Overall we had a very good week at the Intercontinental. Would we return no. But we dont ever go to the same hotel twice. We can see why there are alot of repeat guests here but it is just not what we do. We would and we will definately recommend this hotel to family and friends and highly recommend to any one who is reading this.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Martin,
Dear John,
with great joy we have received your review on your most recent stay with us! We are certain that some of those details will be very helpful for any future guests to the resort! We hope to see you back as one of them... so long, please keep spreading the positive word!
Your Team at the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort
PS: Those showers are something great, arent they?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I stayed there for the Easter holiday in April 2012 , we arrived to Sharm airport and the hotel taxi was waiting for us , the road trip from Sharm to Taba is magnificent , the desert and the mountains are beautiful , we arrived at night and the sky was so clear the stars were beautiful , we really wanted this road trip to last longer. You reach the hotel and you are immediately welcomed by the staff, they are very professional and welcoming. I stayed in a single room on the third floor with a swimming pool view, the rooms were spotless clean. The food is amazing at the hotel, their buffets have everything, the waiters are very attentive and sharp, especially Abdallah with his warm smile :) . When you go to the beach, first it is very clean thanks to the hotel staff that cleans it periodically and you can enjoy any kind of water activity you can think of. If you stay full board you can enjoy the free snacks and ice cream on the beach , and even if you are not, the prices are very affordable. I would recommend this hotel to any couple who is looking for a retreat, it is perfect for families and I will definitely go stay there for my honey moon :) I will definitely go back .

Room Tip: I like the third floor , it has both views to the swimming pool and the sea. I stayed in 1306 and I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mireille79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Mireille,
we are more than happy that you have enjoyed your stay ith us!
Looking forward to your return soon!
Greetings from the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We've recently returned from a week at the Intercontinental and were very happy with everything. First, a tip: do not worry when stepping off the plane. The airport is much higher up than Taba Heights so the temperature is quite a bit lower than it will be when you get to the hotel. Here are a few of our highlights:
The transfer time was actually less than the brochure said (35 mins max)
The hotel lobby and throughout the hotel was very spacious, with lots of natural light and everywhere was very clean and was constantly being cleaned.
Our room was big and the bathroom was very large. Again, clean, and the complimentary room-safe and daily toiletries were nice touches, as were the bathrobes.
We found the food to be very good with more things than we had room for each night. Always of a good quality and the service in the restaurant was extremely good. No waiting for tables to be cleared etc.
We were only there for a week and wanted to totally relax so did not go on any trips. We still went to the Rep's (Andrew) opening meeting however, out of courtesy really, but there were a few tips worth listening to, and what was really nice was that the hotel manager and some of the 'heads of' were there to say a few words. That went down well in our book.
The Rep (Andrew) also did a 10 minute 'departure meeting' which we hadn't had before and thought was a really good idea. Instead of everyone lining up to ask the same questions, he covered everything off in one go, and to top it off the hotel management were there and laid on canapes and cocktails for us. That sort of thing were lovely touches.
Overall we having negative to say. We wanted good weather, a good hotel and good food. We got exactly that and will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: The higher the better for a good view. We were on the 4th floor and would recommend that if possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DomRepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Greetings from the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort Team!
Great you had a fabulous time! Passed your praise on to Andrew and will be waiting impatiently for your return! Spread the good word!
Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed here March 2012 - what a great hotel - from the free massage whislt checking in to the departure party before we left. The hotel was spotless, staff extremely polite and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. the pool area was to die for - well it was for me - and the heated pool WAS heated! food was well laid out, plenty to choose from. Managers were about the hotel , always spoke and always listened. Can't rate this high enough.

Room Tip: Most room face the sea, some look out on Mount Sinai, if you're not happy just ask, if they can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Hi Colette,
thank you so much for your feedback!
We will do our best to not only keep it up, but keep improving until your next return... hopefully soon!
Best regards from the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taba hotels
9.7 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
16.8 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#13 of 22 in Taba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
7.8 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#8 of 22 in Taba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Miramar Resort Taba Heights
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Taba Heights
9.5 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights

Property: Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights
Address: P.O.Box 10 Taba Heights | Taba Heights, Taba, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Taba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#2 Spa Hotel in Taba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#3 Family Hotel in Taba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strand Golf Beach & Golf Resort Taba Heights is part of a premier resort community on the Red Sea coast. Surrounded by desert mountains, white sand beaches and turquoise waters, it offers a wealth of leisure options including golf, water sports, shopping and gaming. A short drive away are Pharaoh s Island, Colored Canyon and the Taba Protected Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Taba Heights Hotel Taba
Hotel Intercontinental Taba Heights
Intercontinental Hotel Taba Heights
Taba Intercontinental
Taba Heights Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing