We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intercontinental Taba Heights 10/04/12”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Taba
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Reviews were very positive and we we not disappointed.

Very unusual layout. A real maze. Took us days to get it right!

Food very good, lots of choice, good service.We did suffer with Egyptian tummies from day 3 though. (It went on for 10 days) We can only think that it was the salads. Are they washed in bottled water?Such a shame to think that if we returned we would have to eat less salad or no salad at all. Yes it was hot, and a shock to our systems but we drank lots of bottled water, no option as the pool guy was so efficient.We were a group of 9 and only 4 got the upset. So comparing what what we ate we have come to this conclusion.(teenagers were far more conservative eating pasta and pancakes ! )
We didn't let this ruin the holiday and we still had a great time.

Our air conditioning wasn't working on arrival but we moved rooms whilst it was mended.There was no fuss.Unfortunately there was also a major water pipe leak but we were kept informed and it really couldn't be helped.These things happen and it was all in the first 24hours.
Probably our only main negative would be the beds.It appears that the mattresses are all so hard. In a previous review they were referred to as "sumptuous" but I can only think that was the size. You toss all the time to get comfortable. I would be willing to pay more for a softer bed !!
The rooms are huge and the bathrooms too. Huge walk in showers with toiletries topped up daily. Our cleaner was very thorough and was awarded accordingly at the end of the week.

(The dining room could do with some new covers on the chairs. Some were quite grubby and also the rug requires attention.Oh my, i'm feeling a bit critical here but its positive criticism for the hotel.)

For a huge hotel there is only one restaurant although you could get pizza and hot-dogs at one of the side bars.Along with tea, cake and ice-cream in the afternoon. This was still all inclusive.

The gardens are kept immaculately. They work hard in the heat and it was quite impressive. Loved the herb garden too. ( This was hidden away by the children's pool )

So yes I can see we could well return although we usually like to try some where different.Going be hard to match this hotel. Thanks to all at the InterContinental........

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank farmersgotawife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Hi Meadenguys,
thank you very much for your review! We are naturally delighted you generally enjoyed your time with us! We will certainly share your positive comments among the team! Happy guests are our delight! Great we could fix the A/C problem for you. We were having a serious Diesel shortage in Egypt which lead to some spare-parts being delayed. Please accept our apologies!
We are using bottled water to prepare our food and engaged the outside services of an independent Hygiene Institute in addition to our own Hygiene and Health Manager... We believe that you can not be too careful with this and as a result have also won the Hygiene Award for Egypt for the hotel. As you said, sometimes the weather, the change of diet or the sea water can be reasons, however we are glad to read that overall your vacation has been
Hope to see you back!
With best regards from the InterContinental Taba Heights Te

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

698 - 704 of 2,230 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2012

This was our second visit here, as before the views, the hotel, the staff and service, the scenery, the weather, the sea water and fish were as before excellent with no complaints ---BUT---------- The food was dreadful, bland, repetative and worse of all dangerously underheated. Cooked meat and fish were ketp in metal containers which were opened constantly by guests (as is expected) but some were heated bu parafin.wax tubs ubder the containers to keep the food hot (THEY DID NOT!!!) beware of cooked meat, fish anything with sauces, even the pasta meat sauce was not cooked for long enough. The worse was chicken kept in this type of container (see photo). My wife had to visit the Medical Clinic twice for sickness and diorreah and had to take tablets each day for 6 days. I was struck down for the first time, even after visiting Tunisia 6 times). Potential visitors beware and take medication with you. Anyone reading this who also suffered, please contact me on egryn.ellis@gmail.com (April 17 - 24). We comlained to the Hotel Asst Manager, another manager doing a walkabout survey and the Thomson Rep (all gave varied excuses, I was unhappy that I never once saw the temperatures in the containers monitred and was concerned regarding birds being allowed to flay around the restaurant areas.

I work for Lawyers who specialise in holidays illnesses abroad claims - I am considering making a claim for this spoilt week - anyone else? please feel free to email me - [--]

I was thinking about going agaion next year but will monitor reviews here to see if things improve

Room Tip: High rooms facing the pool and sea are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dafudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2012

Dear Dafudd,
let us take this opportunity to respond to your review.

We are naturally delighted that you have enjoyed the hotel and its team in general. As your ratings in all areas concerned suggest we scored 6 out of 6 for Sleep Quality, Location, Rooms and Service and a good 5 out of 6 for Cleanliness. Thank you very much for this!

Your overall rating and headline however suggests a totally different picture and as understood this is in regards to our Food & Beverage offering, in specific in relation to the upset stomach you had reported the day before your departure when enquiring about the pick-up time. No visits to the Clinic or Health Center have been recorded as we are in very close relation to them in order to be able to offer special treatment to those guests who suffer from allergies, sunstroke, sunburn, special dietary requirements etc. and have to stay in their room, require different diets in their food or are in need of anything other than the norm to have a great vacation with us. We will - as you can see from previous reviews - do our utmost to make it happen!

Apart from an independent 3rd party institution (we were awarded the Hygiene Award for Egypt) we are employing a Health, Safety and Hygiene Manager to not only measure temperatures, but also to take food samples and send them for analysis. This of course is done in the most inconspicuous way as we are trading as a 5* property and not a canteen.
The "container" you are describing is a so called Chafing Dish, used worldwide to keep food at temperature and protecting it for hygiene reasons against any other objects. The "parafin.wax" tubs are called sternos and are filled with a special gel to avoid any kind of smell, smoke or increased fire hazard in the restaurant. They are considered as or even more effective as there electric counterparts.

Being an openly designed resort property there is the occasional bird which is getting lost inside the hotel. This is however not ignored, accepted or encouraged. We are daily checking for lost birds and those birds who try to build their nest. As you might have noticed in your observations, we are also asking our valued guests, who unfortunately often decide to feed those birds on the terraces, not to do so as this is attracting even more birds and possibly other rodents.

It is a bit of an odd way to generate business for your legal practice and we are certain that our guests can well distinguish their future actions. Please feel free to contact the resort directly for any further concerns you might have at info.ictaba@ihg.com. We will however also respond directly to your IHG questionnaire we have received.

Overall we are certainly hoping that this isolated experience will not lead to putting you off the resort or IHG all together. We are a beautiful resort with a lot to offer and shall continue to try to improve every single day. This is why feedback is indeed so important to us.
With best regards,
the InterContinental Taba Heights Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We have just come back from our fourth holiday at this hotel, it was brilliant and enjoyable, although at times it was busy during the easter holiday, the staff handeled the work very well. particularly Ali, Emeil and Ahmed at the restuarant, the team at the splash bar with the two All'as and Emad were very good, drinks delivered to the sunbed on the beach ice cold appreciated in the hot sun, I would like to visit the hotel again as soon as I can, I would also like to thank the reservation team for looking after us. A Armoush

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Amer,
thank you very much for your comments and for your individual feedback for some of our team! Your praise has been past on and made all of us very happy.
Hope to see you back a 5th time!
Your InterContinental Taba Heights Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Several years passed after my visit in 2010 and i can't wait to come back to this hotel and this place!!! I have been many times in Egypt;Sharm,cruises and so on but it is the only place where you get the best quality of the holiday!!! Dont pay attention to any bad reviews!I have looked all 5 hotels in this range at the sea and I was very happy that I stayed in InterC.It is the best!My holidays start in the middle of may and I will spend it only there;))

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RenataRomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Dear Renata!
thank you for making your headline of your 2009 review a reality! " I want to come back!"
We are delighted to see our guests returning happily over and over again!
All the best from the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed 4 nights me and my wife, first time in InterContinental Taba Heights first time to Taba, and i have to say i never experienced that level of service.

We were on All Inclusive we really enjoyed their great food & drinks.

I just gave a hint when i was reserving that we are newly married couple and Mr. Jung the general manager gave us 3 presents: a full day to spend in the spa, fruit of basket was left in our room & a free upgrade from mountain view to sea view.

I thank him a lot it was very nice and thoughtful of the management to take the hint.

I will mention every point in detail:
1. Reservation: done by email was very easy and the replies were prompt & efficient.
2. Road: from Cairo the road was safe and secured by the army although we were worried.
3. Check In: we arrived early 9:30 PM i asked the receptionist to make an early check in, he said he'll do his best, and right away we were in our room with free upgrade to sea view.
4. Room: spacious comfortable rooms with bath robes & slippers, tea & nescafe facility. The bathroom was nice with a big shower closet. Room service was very good, you almost feel that the room makes up itself, complementary bottle of water daily.
5. Food: 3 meals are of very good variety & tasty, they make pizza at the reef bar at 1 pm but it really need improvement. They serve ice cream from 4-5 pm, tea and some freshly baked products it's very nice.
6. Drinks & bars: I never seen that number of bars of one resort before, all the drinks are always available with big generous glasses (big plastic glasses on the beach & the pool) which i find a very smart idea for the breaking issue, they serve very nice cocktails.
7. Entertainment: the animation team is very nice they do activities during the day. and at night they make nice and funny shows. They host western and oriental bands from outside the resort.
8. At night: while enjoying the shows at night you enjoy the drinks from The Arches bar and smoke the shisha (which really needs improvement).
9. Service: the best of all, never experienced that level of service before in Egypt, the guys work really hard. The staff treats the people in a very nice & polite way. They never expect tips and when you tip them they show a great gratitude and they try to do something special when they next see you.
10. Spa: Mr. Chris Junger the general manager gave us a full day in spa as a present it was a very nice of him. The sauna, steam & jacuzzi are enjoyable and the guy who helped us A. Elhady was very nice and funny.
11. Pools, beach & salt water lakes: all three are nice to divide your day among them.

Definitely would come back to that lovely resort, it's the first time for me to insist to come back, cause usually i tend to try new places. But this time i will visit InterContinental Taba Heights again.

I met a very nice french guy called Philippe, it's worth mentioning that it was his fifth visit to InterContinental Taba Heights he comes back every year.

Finally the money-to-value is more than excellent, i could not believe that we had all this for such a price.

Thank you Mr. Junger, many thanks to all the workers and staff. I hope we keep up that level of service in InterContinental Taba Heights and spread that level in all Egypt.

Room Tip: I tried a room in the center of the crescent building it was on the pool and sea view. It was very g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Dear Mina,
Thank you very much for this great and extensive review! We will share this with our team in our Quality Focus Meetings and the monthly team gathering...
It is with great joy to see that you have been a true ambassador to the hotel and the country!
We have already spoken to the Shisha Man to make your experience a perfect one next time.
Looking forward seeing you back soon!
The InterContinental Taba Heights Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Just had a week at the Intercontinental and I have to say that it was a fabulous experience and will certainly visit again. Transfer time is about 40 mins from the ex military airport and check in was a breeze and the rooms were very spacious and in good decorative order.
There is a sea water lagoon or assorted pools and at the current time it is only about 45-50% full but that should change once people get confidence in travelling back to Egypt and reading the other reviews on this site.
A special thanks must go to the bar staff at the pools who offer an unbelivable service and are always checking whether you need more refreshments during the day even if you are on the beach.
Snorkeling off the beach was not so good when we were there but there are jetties at the Sofitel and Hyatt that you can snorkel off but beware as the Hyatt are now charging non residents.
Food was AI and varied and the selection of salads/breads was very good.
Another good thing is that the staff do not expect tips and I would suggest that you tip them on departure as they are deserving for sure.
Did the snorkeling trip to Pharoe Island from the watersports centre next to the hotel and that was a fantastic day out and well worth the money.
Book this hotel and you will not be disappointed!
Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Greaseater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Dear Greaseater,
We shall certainly do our utmost to keep up the service, friendliness and genuine hospitality spirit until your next stay and beyond this! Spoken to my colleague at the Hyatt and he assured me that only outsiders using the easy chairs on the jetty would be charged... he will follow up and correct if necessary... hence no need to move there on your return :)
The InterContinental Taba Heights Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Visited 3rd to 17th April, reception was fairly quick, we were recognised as returning guests and given a room upgrade to sea view, 1510.
Room was spacious, very clean and well appointed with tea/coffee, hair dryer, TV with usual obscure channels, free safe and chargeable mini bar. Large shower good towels, robes and slippers...fair selections of shampoo and body wash....intermittent problem with the hot water was not resolved despite prompt response from maintenance...not a great inconvenience
Main restaurant provided all meals, no better or worse than most Egyptian hotels of this rating. Trying to cater for different nationalities and cultures cannot be easy but Chef Gilbert manages to provide something for everyone at each meal....fair choice, good quality but does get a little 'samey'...guests handling food is really not acceptable but staff do not seem confident enough to challenge them...
Pool area was very served by the staff, both from the bar and pool attendants...excellent service throughout our stay...nice towels provided for sunbeds...
Reef Bar was a haven for a light lunch, pizza or sandwich...staff again were beyond reproach... their patience was, however,constantly being tried by badly behaved guests, adults and children...
Bar service throughout the hotel could not be faulted, very efficient and polite...
All in all, fantastic holiday, great hotel with staff that are a credit to the Intercontinental Group.
An aside....Thomson are making it very difficult to travel to Taba from the north of England...so...returning may be difficult

Trevor and Elaine

Room Tip: Ask for what you want, they will try to help
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevor2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Dear Trevor and Elaine,
thank you for your well balanced review. Overcoming cultural differences in buffet habits, dress codes, etc. is not always an easy thing to do, especially if there is certain language limitations and a commitment to hospitality, however we all are supporting each other there and generally having a great mix of fantastic guests. We will continue pushing to make this a fabulous place for all our guests, everywhere at all times...
We will see you back soon!
The InterContinental Taba Heights Crew
PS: Thank you for leaving your letter upon check-out. Hoping you have received our reply.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taba hotels
9.7 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
7.8 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#7 of 22 in Taba
68 reviews
16.8 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#13 of 22 in Taba
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Miramar Resort Taba Heights
9.5 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights

Address: P.O.Box 10 Taba Heights | Taba Heights, Taba 46621, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Taba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#2 Spa Hotel in Taba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#3 Family Hotel in Taba
Price Range: £35 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strand Golf Beach & Golf Resort Taba Heights is part of a premier resort community on the Red Sea coast. Surrounded by desert mountains, white sand beaches and turquoise waters, it offers a wealth of leisure options including golf, water sports, shopping and gaming. A short drive away are Pharaoh s Island, Colored Canyon and the Taba Protected Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Taba Heights Hotel Taba
Hotel Intercontinental Taba Heights
Intercontinental Hotel Taba Heights
Taba Intercontinental
Taba Heights Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing