We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST HOTEL IN TABA, michelle, Plymouth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Taba
Reviewed 27 June 2012

just returned from 2 wks at Intercontinental. 1st class service, excellent food choice. This hotel ticks all the boxes for a relaxing holiday. The veiw from the Bayview Terrace is stunning. The hotel & gardens are immaculate. great sea views from the crescent rooms. this was our 4th holiday there & again not disappointed. If you like activitie there are daytime programmes & light entertainment at night but if all you want to do is relax this is the hotel for you. Quiet drink at The Lagoon bar watching the sun go down over the sea is lovely.The El Mar restaurant is exceptional quality with varied menus from fish to a great Ribeye steak. Make this hotel your only stay in Taba,you wont be disappointed. The Reef bar also caters light lunches if you dont want to go to the main dining hall. A great great hotel, try it for yourselves.........book it!!

Room Tip: just book a sea view room,fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michelle h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Dear Michelle,
Dear Jason,
thank you for being such great ambassadors to the destination and the hotel!
Great insider tips also! Next time check out full moon at the Lagoon also... amazing!
Your team of the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

669 - 675 of 2,242 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2012

This was our third visit to the intercontinental. We decided to stay for a month this time, it was not disappointing, it was fab. Both management and staff could not do enough for us.The standard of food was very high,lots of choice.The food at the lagoon ,the el mar and the birds nest were delicious.,You will miss out if you don't try them all.There is also a bar b q at the lagoon twice a week which is excellent value.You guessed it we are foodies!Our room was upgraded as return guests. The rooms are spacious and very modern, the housekeeping staff are very friendly and have very high standards.The holiday was made very special particularly on our last day when it was Lynne's birthday, a wonderful end to our month.A special thank you to chris ,elias,and gilbert for your attention which helped make our holiday so enjoyable.17th May 2012-14th June 2012; not forgetting the help and service of Mohammed Esmat during our stay.

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Hi Lynne,
Hi Ray,
It was great meeting you and having you with us at the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort! It was fabulous seeing such active and lovely guests around the resort...
Looking forward to your return!
Regards from all the team at the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Have just returned from Intercontinental, and would like to agree with other clients that this Hotel is sooo very friendly, with good standards of cleanliness, and service. Staff - Managers are friendly and very approachable, and ask if there is anything that you need, extra pillows or water for your room, so, if you are not happy about anthing - then JUST ASK!. Chris will be delighted to help you as will the young man who services your room, or the pool person - he is brilliant - I wanted to bring him home with me!! The bar service too, the waiters in the Bay View Restuaurant - oh my, just about everything you could ask for in a lovely chilled out holiday.

Room Tip: If you are not entirely happy with your room, just ask and they will allocate you another one. We h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weenyjalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Dear Weeney,
where did the boring come in? :o) We are proud having delivered a good holiday experience and about making this a relaxing period for you! We will share the great feedback with all the team in our next team member gathering. Fabulous motivation for all of us working in hospitality!
Greetings from the Crew of the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

My husband and I just returned from 2 weeks stay at Intercontinental Hotel. It was our 5th visit at Taba Heights. We stayed 4 times at Hyatt Regency and decided to try Intercontinental Hotel and we are glad to say that we are not disappointed.

The hotel and its sorroundings are well kept. Staff are all friendly and works really hard to look after their guests. Food are tasty and needless to say, I am very surprised that my husband did not have an upset stomach, which is very unusual.

General Manager, Chris is often seen walking around the hotel ground and always ready to speak and listen to his guests. Some staff that we have spoken to speaks highly of Chris and they all said that he is a very "good,kind and an excellent motivator".

Our holiday did not start very well. My husband had a little accident at Taba Airport when we arrived. Our Thomson Rep Samir is absolutely brilliant and one of a kind. He did everything to make out stay at intercontinental pleasurable despite all the pain that my husband was suffering.

The 2 doctors at the hotel clinic was very sympathetic and caring and went out their way to help my husband.

I would like to mention a big thank you to Ahmed (front desk supervisor) who helped us with the upgrade of our room. My apologies for not knowing the name of the guy who delivers our breakfast to our room every morning. He's prompt and very polite. We recommend breakfast in the balcony every morning. It was bliss!!

The pool guy Muhammed, all the bar team, restaurant team and housekeeping. Thank you all very much. You are all amazing.

My husband managed to play 3 rounds of golf, I'm quite happy to drive the buggy. The course was immaculate, spotless and very quiet.

We had a very memorable, pleasurable and relaxing holiday at Intercontinental Hotel Taba Heights. And we are hoping that we'll have an opportunity to go back there again. I have been recommending this hotel to all my friends.

Brilliant !!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maltese_Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Dear Angel,
fabulous we were able to make it a heavenly stay!
We will share your great feedback with the team and Samir... highly motivating and encouraging to all of us...
We hope to see you back soon... and dispite your praise for the doctors... we would wish for your husband not to meet them next time!
Greetings from your crew at the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

22nd May 2012 and we arrive to see if this stay will be as good as the last time. Let me tell you IT WAS. As we waited for the bags to be taken to our room after checking in, we retired to the bar where we were met by one of last years bar staff. He greeted us, gave us a hug and a kiss and then brought our drinks over. We hadn't ordered them, he just remembered us from last year....what a great start. From that point on the stay was once again superb. The entire team are so friendly and prompt. This resort hotel in 5* in our eyes.
Something else I noticed, the General Manager "Chris" is always visible around the resort and you can talk to him. He is very approachable and clearly wants his guests to be happy. As someone who was in catering for over 20 years I thought this was very good.
If you've never been people....GO.
We return there again on 27th Nov 2012 for another stay and whilst the weather will not be as hot it will be just as relaxing. This time I will be returning as a member of the Ambassador Club.
Having read some other reviews I would say this....just go there and make your own mind up. You can't please everyone all the time but I tell you what....they do try and very hard.
Specials mentions to El Shehat, Alaa and Mohammed on the beach, Ossama, Mohammed and Ahmed in the bar, Ambassador Ahmed in the Reef Bar and of course the lovely Nancy in the restaurant.
We look forward to seeing you all again in November for my birthday and Chris..keep up the good work.
Mark H and Joanne N (formerly room 1507).
PS the golf course is worth a go

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the pool and beach the views first thing and at night can be lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trainset1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

Dear Joanne, Dear Mark,
thank you for your praise! It will be our delight to have you back any time... and you shall not be disappointed!
Greeting from your team at the InterContinental Taba Heights

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

My wife and i have just returned from a fantastic holiday at the Intercontinental and i must say that we have not enjoyed ourself so much in years.
The hotel itself is gorgeous, the staff were all lovely, the food was fantastic and we couldn't knock the 50 degree weather.
The hotel was very quiet but this is clearly because of the lack of transfers from the UK.
I would recommend the place to anyone and we will be returning.
Neither of us wanted to leave.
Big thanks to Alaa on the bar, Alex on the entertainment team and to all of the other guys that made our holiday special.

Room Tip: be prepared for a coach trip from the airport, it's a long and winding road but worth it in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DJScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Hi DJ,
great feedback that you have enjoyed your well deserved vacation with us!
It certainly will be shared with our team via our notice boards & quality meetings we are having.
Looking forward to your return,
Your InterContinental Taba Heights Resort Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

My partner and I are just back from a week’s stay at the Intercontinental in Taba Heights. For those that are as naive as me, Taba Heights is a purpose built tourist resort consisting of a number of well known hotel brands. Apart from lounging around the hotel there is really nothing else to do, so if you looking for a reasonably priced get away with guaranteed sun this is for you.

Firstly let me state that due to the recent unrest in Egypt reference the revolution, we found Taba Heights to be extremely quiet. Although slightly unsettling, especially when visiting the uptown area and you’re the only few tourists there, Taba Heights in its self is considered safe by the locals.

Now on to the Hotel... First impressions would stipulate that the Intercontinental Taba Heights is a 5 star resort. The reception area is clean and welcoming, the swimming pools are great, the beach is nice, and the staff generally friendly.

After a couple of days you will soon realise as did we, that the hotel lacks the small touches which make a 5 star. For example, the food is repetitive, lukewarm and very bland. For three days I suffered stomach cramps and diarrhoea. For the rest of the vacation I was in fear so just eat soup. This was not an isolated situation, most guests I spoke with complained of similar symptoms. Also, the only place to eat for dinner is the buffet, unless you would like to pay additional fees to eat at one of the other two restaurants on campus - not good when on a budget.

At the beach bar the glasses were plastic, tatty and the ice was from tap water. This is after the hotel manager advises you not to drink it! Ironically in the blistering heat the ice soon melts and containments your drink - cheers! It may also come as a shock that after 23:00 hours all drinks are chargeable and not cheap. You find yourself frantically ordering drinks before that hour, but fear not as bed is probably the best option, being that the entertainment is all but that.

The beach towels kindly provided are old and tatty. Not really what you would expect from a 5 star resort.

Fear not my fellow British travellers, this hotel is nice but is just lacking when it comes to 5 star standards. Both partner and I are seasoned travellers and would rate this hotel 4 star.

TOP HOLIDAY TIP – don’t have ice in your drinks, it's tap water which at times runs yellow.

Message for the management, up your game or lose your customers.

Room Tip: Sea view in the main block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BRH10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Dear BRHolden,

thank you very much for your review and your observations. We are obviously happy to read that you have perceived Egypt as a safe place for vacation... Please help us spread this!

We will take your observations on details as a challenge to improve on performance. Especially Chef Gilbert & Madkour will do their utmost. 500 brand new beach towels have been brought into operation recently. Please accept our apologies if by coincident you were issued with a sub-standard one. We have also initiated a quality meeting with our laundry provider to improve performance on all fronts.

It is with disappointment to learn that you were having problems with the heat. We are using purified & bottled water for ice, cleaning vegetables, etc. and by no means tap water. We also provide 1,5 liters of mineral water in the rooms for your comfort. We do advise guests not to save on water when at the pool or beach and drink a lot in those temperatures and recommend to discard heated up bottles and switch them for new ones. Our Mineral Water is bottled, sealed and provided by Nestle... an international reputable brand.
We also advise that the air conditioning in the rooms should be set to a reasonable ambient temperature as most often the organism has trouble to adjust to the huge difference of 18C indoor and 40C outdoor. Even for Egyptians this is sometimes problematic, however it is of course at leisure for our guests to chose the temperature they prefer.

It is not for a slip of standard, but for safety that around the pool and at the beach we are of course using plastic glasses... imagine a glass falls and breaks... the consequences would be a disaster! In the restaurants we are using glass only.

With best regards from the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taba hotels
9.7 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
7.8 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#7 of 22 in Taba
68 reviews
16.8 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#13 of 22 in Taba
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Taba Heights
1.0 mi away
El Wekala Resort, Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights

Address: P.O.Box 10 Taba Heights | Taba Heights, Taba 46621, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#2 Casino Hotel in Taba
#2 Best Value Hotel in Taba
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#3 Family Hotel in Taba
#3 Spa Hotel in Taba
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taba
Price Range: £27 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strand Golf Beach & Golf Resort Taba Heights is part of a premier resort community on the Red Sea coast. Surrounded by desert mountains, white sand beaches and turquoise waters, it offers a wealth of leisure options including golf, water sports, shopping and gaming. A short drive away are Pharaoh s Island, Colored Canyon and the Taba Protected Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Taba Heights Hotel Taba
Hotel Intercontinental Taba Heights
Intercontinental Hotel Taba Heights
Taba Intercontinental
Taba Heights Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing