We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break in a top quality hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Taba
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Having recently returned from a week's holiday at the Intercontinental, I wanted to share my praise of the high standards of this hotel and the Taba Heights resort with other travellers.

As two friends in our mid 20s with extremely busy jobs back in the UK, we wanted a hassle free relaxing holiday to switch off from the grind of daily life back home; and this is exactly what we got. The rooms, service, facilities, cleanliness, and food and drink were all first class and proved to be excellent value for money. The grounds were immaculately kept, sunbeds well spread out along the beachfront to provide a sense of privacy, and plenty of shaded areas to avoid the midday heat. Something which particularly struck us was the professionalism of all of the staff in the hotel and the warm yet unobtrusive welcome and service we received.

As we came away for a week of total relaxation, Taba Heights resort suited us down to the ground. Being able to take a long walk along the promenade to the Hyatt everyday and go 'uptown' on the taf taf provided enough opportunities to leave the hotel grounds without the hustle and bustle of a big resort.

To offer an element of comparison, I have also stayed at the Sofitel in Taba Heights recently and can honestly say that the Intercontinental is of the same if not higher standard. In my experience, there was a wider choice of food, a far longer and better stretch of sandy beach and more atmosphere of an evening, whether that be enjoying a cocktail in the lobby bar/terrace, or watching the low-key but enthusiastic entertainment.

Anyone wishing for a relaxing stay in a high quality international hotel will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Penny_W1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

Hi Penny,
"delighted" would be the word we would like to use reading your comments! Very happy to share your fantastic feedback in our next Team Gathering, our Wall of Fame and the Quality Meeting... Thank you also for the comparative element in there... much appreciated you sharing your experience with us and future guests (so we hope).
It would be our delight to welcome you back soon!
Your team at the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

644 - 650 of 2,240 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2012

Recently returned from another holiday at the Intercontinental. As before, a wonderful holiday in a relaxing atmosphere. The staff, as usual, are outstanding in the way guests are treated. This goes from the guys who look after the grounds to the whole of the management team.
The rooms are spacious and are cleaned daily,beds changed and towels etc replaced. The food quality has improved and the amount of choice amazing. If I have one complaint it is the fact that brochures state that appropriate dress is worn for evening meals. (ie long trousers, not shorts). This is not adhered to as it is in other hotels in Taba.
All in all, a great holiday great hotel and great staff.,

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rod A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear Rod,
thank you for giving us great input to share with our team in our next team gathering. Especially Housekeeping & F&B will be delighted that you have noticed a change to the better stay by stay.
We shall do our best to further keep improving... including enforcement of dress code, which agreeably represents a challenge from time to time.
Hope to see you back to tell us, that we also performed top notch in this area!
Regards from your crew at the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Some work colleagues and I recently stayed at the Intercontinental Hotel at Taba Heights Resort for the weekend and I must say we all had a really great time at the hotel. The accommodation was well presented, extremely clean and I think you could have got 4 people in my "King Sized" bed. The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

For anyone looking for a nice relaxing time in the sunshine and wish to stay away from the hustle and bustle of Sharm el Sheikh then this is a good place to spend your holiday. As well all the usual water sports activities at the hotel the Taba Resort boasts a superb 18 hole golf course which is kept to an excellent condition and the Intercontinental Hotel is the closest hotel to the course club house.

Within the hotel the pools are fantastic for both adults and children alike. I must say our group spent a lot of time glued to the pool bar, drinking local chilled beers and freshly made cocktails. There is a good selection of international food choices in the main dinning area and for those who want a more A la Carte style menu the hotel has a fine restaurant in the lagoon area serving different types of fish and meat dishes.

We liked our weekend so much that we are planning to go back very soon for another dose...!

Andrew B

Room Tip: My room was near to the the main hotel reception area therefore I was close to all the hotel ameniti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Hi Andrew,
looking forward to having you all back to the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort soon for a decent round of golf with a view of the gulf and a relaxing time in the SPA & Jacuzzi afterwards... or a cold beer at your favorite bar in the main pool!
Greets from the Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We had an extraordinary time at taba intercontinetal resort...I highly recommend anyone to stay there...all was amazing specially the professionalism and freindleness of the staff in general and specifically the pool bar staff..Emad, ala, shereef, Ahmad,and Mohammad ..great people ...great time...We had a splendid experience from the minute of arrival..the receptionist handled us in the utmost professional and hospitable way which gave a great start to our vacation..and left an outstanding first impression.

The hotel architect is well though of..easy access to all facilities...highly recommend the pool view rooms.

Maint restaurant staff and food were very good, but I think more variety in food will defiantly enrich the overall experience. Also paying More attention to the training of the side pool snack bar's staff is required, as we felt they were out of sync compared to other hotel staff.

Finally We highly recommend choosing taba intercontinetal if your planing to visit taba.

Ibrahim ma'aya

Room Tip: Pool view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ibrahim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Dear Ibrahim,
thank you for your well balanced comments! Certainly a great opportunity to look into various aspects of our operation...
Fabulous however that you have enjoyed your stay... promise... we will make it even better next time!
Your InterContinental Taba Heights Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We have just got back from the Intercontinal, Taba Heights, we could not ask for more, The staff and hotel was just perfect, The very large room overlooking the red sea was wonderful and very clean, All in all we could not have asked for more, The staff could not do enough to make our stay a Holiday to remember, The pools was very clean and our sun bed was saved every morning for us, The red sea with all the bright and colourful fish just swimming around you while standing in the sea so no need for snorkelling, But much more for fun if you do. it is very hard to find fault about this hotel, The only thing comes to mind is it is the food (witch was very good) could have been a bit hotter But not always the Hotels fault, other holiday makers leaving lids off after getting there food, But saying that this is just a great place to go for a wonderful relaxing Holiday and being spoiled :)

Room Tip: Take a strong sun cream
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Dear Pete,
loving your great advise for summer holiday makers in Taba Heights :o)
Fabulous you had a good vacation with us!
We shall hope to see you back soon... the sun, the fish and of course the team of the InterContinental Taba Heights is waiting for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We enjoyed every minute of our stay in a very nice atmosphere. The hotel staff
are very polite and do their best to make the stay very pleasant to all the guests.
The food is excellent and there is a large choice of international dishes and local food . The rooms are very clean and comfortable . The pool staff are very pleasant too and they keep the pool very clean . It was a short stay and we are planing to come back soon

Room Tip: Rooms in the center of main building are good for old couples and families with small children . th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jawad_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Dear Jawad,
it is our great delight that you have enjoyed your vacation! Thank you for sharing your thoughtful tips for the rooms... very helpful and much appreciated by fellow travellers we would think!
@ALL: Please feel free to contact us for special requirements on our info email and we shall happily accommodate!
With best wishes for many returns,
your InterContinental Taba Heights Resort Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Went to Intercontinental in July 2012, we were not given the sea/pool view we requested in travel agents this was resolved with an extra charge and hotel discount, the new room was ideal. The rooms were cleaned daily and staff friendly to help requests. The pool and garden area were cleaned every day and spotless, despite guests dropping fag ends, cups and rubbishm(including food) at their feet and in pool: the pool staff tried to keep on top of this when possible and duties allowed. The bar staff at the pool bar were friendly and very efficient despite working in 42c heat, not an easy job. The food was overall good, however we both had food poisoning from guests poor hygiene and general lack of manners: I.e. picking up food with hands and putting it back on serving plate after it had been on a used plate and putting food dropped on floor back on serving trays. A few of the cooks let the side down by allowing this to happen, and by not cooking meat properly, however when pointed out to floor managers food was removed and cooked properly. The gym staff were helpful and efficient at keeping gym area clean and friendly.

Sadly all of the above was not enough to stop us scoring the hotel excellent, which we would have if we wanted a beach holiday with lots of familys. The blame here lies with 'Thomsons Holidays'! In the travel agents we asked about two different areas in the Sinai, we were told this was a quiet hotel and we could go on the trips we talked to the advisor about, wrong! Firstly the numbers of guests in our group was 12 and the following week about the same, most of which wanted to sunbathe or dive. The trip to Cairo was cancelled, we were offered a trip with a car and driver and guide, for safety reasons we turned this down as my wife didn't want to go into the pyramids, and the promised refund took a complaint to travel agent at home to get sorted. St Catherine's was cancelled as not enough numbers wanted to go, that left Jerusalem and Jordan. In Jerusalem border delays with one of the group lost an hour of time and the trip finished early (my opinion) so we never saw Temple Mount and last supper room as in the trip details. Jordan finished early as well, the ferry back was a local ferry with faeces on the toilet floors and worse, we were not dressed for this as shorts and vest tops are not what a Saudi, Jordanian or Egyptian would wear; we were told this a maintenance problem on the day and the private ferry was not available, however two different couples we are taking to we're told 24hours previous to trip about a slow ferry. The numbers of European guests was about 50 top of which 20 or so were from Uk the remainder were from neighboring countries, how trips are to run with these numbers is questionable and the quality of local service providers who run these trips is poor! We are still trying to get a refund from Thomsons, wish us luck!

In summary the hotel, it's staff, the grounds and facilities are excellent and have been let down by Thomsons mis-selling this hotel, it is ideal for diving and relaxing on the beach in luxury. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, however you want a trip don't use Thomsons.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Qualbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Dear Qualbal,
thank you very much for your comments and recommendation for the hotel & team. We have certainly shared your observations with our F&B team in order to show more presence. They generally have a god reputation for their quality focus and attitude. In regards to trips feel welcome to ask the hotel for assistance next time. We might be able to find you a space on a desired trip with another trustworthy and approved operator.
We will share your feedback with Thomson in order to enable them to check and improve on their services. Over the years we did receive a great number of very satisfied guests from them and hope to do so also in the future.
With best regards and maybe you try us in a period outside the traditional Ramadan & Eid month (next year also in August as it moves forward by 10 days each year).
Your crew at the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taba
9.7 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
7.8 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#7 of 22 in Taba
68 reviews
16.8 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#13 of 22 in Taba
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Isrotel Yam Suf Hotel
9.5 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights

Address: P.O.Box 10 Taba Heights | Taba Heights, Taba 46621, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Taba
#2 Casino Hotel in Taba
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#3 Family Hotel in Taba
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#3 Spa Hotel in Taba
Price Range: £28 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strand Golf Beach & Golf Resort Taba Heights is part of a premier resort community on the Red Sea coast. Surrounded by desert mountains, white sand beaches and turquoise waters, it offers a wealth of leisure options including golf, water sports, shopping and gaming. A short drive away are Pharaoh s Island, Colored Canyon and the Taba Protected Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Taba Heights Hotel Taba
Hotel Intercontinental Taba Heights
Intercontinental Hotel Taba Heights
Taba Intercontinental
Taba Heights Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing