We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly , still a lovely place to come to”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Taba
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly , still a lovely place to come to”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

Just completed our 7th visit and can't wait for our 8th visit.
We are hoping that Tui Thomson will continue to fly from Manchester as this is our nearest airport.
Was pleased to see a lot of familiar faces among the guests which tells you it's own story.
Chris and his team continue to do their very best to make everyone feel special, especially repeat guests like ourselves.
Despite difficult circumstances in Egypt and the financial situation which all enduring.
Maureen and John Stone

Room Tip: Request pool view or sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Dear Maureen,
Dear John,
we are delighted to read that you have once again enjoyed your well deserved vacation with us! As it stands at the moment our partnership with Thomson will come to an end in April. We however are more than happy to support you in organising your next vacation with us... i.e. you are taking a flight from your favorite UK airport to Sharm el Sheik (with i.e. Thomsonfly, EasyJet, Egyptair, BA) and we send you transportation and set you up with the room. Do not hesitate to contact us on our info email or through facebook at any time...
Greetings from your InterContinental Taba Heights Resort Team

PS: This offer is of course valid to all of our current and future guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,212
    591
    228
    91
    74
See reviews for
540
1,087
52
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

We returned on 27th November from our sixth stay in the Taba Heights Intercontinental, and can thoroughly recommend this hotel, and going at that time of year. We've been in January, February, March and November, and we enjoy March and November most.....it was coolish, though still sunny, in January. The hotel has an idyllic position beside a beautiful beach and is spacious. Everything about it is great...food, service, rooms. It's a big hotel but the facilities are rarely under pressure.

There is a lovely walk bordering the beach and the excellent golf course is alongside the hotel. There are lots of trips to go on if you want them, but it's just a great place for escaping to in the winter. In the winter the sun goes in early (by 4pm) so we skew our day to sunlight....get up early and be sitting under an umbrella by 8am.

It's excellent value for money. We're retired and will keep going back there twice a year as long as we can!

Room Tip: Ask fior a high room. Most have sea views of some sort, but the rooms facing the golf course are als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah1844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Dear Sarah,
thank you for the great insight and positive words on your most recent stay! It is fabulous to see that we have overcome our early November challenges and are back on track to be the best quality hotel in Taba Heights as we were until end of October!
Hope to see you back anytime of the year... you will always be received with warm weather and hospitality.
Your crew at the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

Our holiday was ok, we went for a week of R&R after a manic summer! The room was nice with a lovely sea view and the worlds biggest shower (big enough for 2 -we checked) the food in the restaurant was nice and the a la carte menus looked nice for later in the week (we never got to try really)
after a couple of days of relaxing we woke up to an innovation of rude people and hundreds of children (I hate children) our peaceful sunny oasis was ruined!it was Eid! You couldn't get into the bars, the food anything! It was awful! Not enough staff bar far!

The manager did give us all a BBQ meal to say sorry, which was nice, but to be honest the whole holiday was ruining and a nice listening to other English people wine about it didn't help!

The highlight of the week was a trip to castle Zaman ( we arranged our selves) the massages we booked and swimming with a green turtle on the reefs outside the hotel.

The hotel and staff are very nice , it's a not to the standard of a UK 5 star but if you want a week in the sun and it's not EID - book in , we got a travel zoo deal so good value! We don't go anyway twice but I spoke to many return customers while i was there!

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank abbymorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Hi Abby,
thank you for your review! Thank you for the positive feedback - citation "we loved to be your peaceful sunny Oasis!" - and please accept our apologies that the national holiday of Eid has influenced your stay to such an extent that we only scored 3 out of 5. We do not hate children as you put it, however can understand that there is a change of atmosphere during these 3 days.
Please contact us at the hotel or your local travel agent for the exact dates, as explained on the private BBQ you mention, Eid moves along with Ramadan each year. We will be happy to advice and have your next review end with "we loved to be your peaceful sunny Oasis and for the first time ever want to go back to one place!"
Best regards from the entire team of the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
88 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

We have just returned from a 2 week stay and have had a wonderful time. The hotel is in a beautiful setting and we enjoyed our walks along the sea front. Taba airport is interesting and it took us a while to get out of the airport (1 person stamping passports!) then a wait for the police escort down to the resort.
Check in was very quick and and our luggage soon arrived at our room. The room was excellent, very large with a big balcony. We had a huge very comfortable double bed. The shower was good and we always had hot water at any time of the day. Our room boy looked after us well.
Unfortunately the hotel is let down by poor service in the restaurant, we were offered coffee at breakfast only twice and drinks at lunch time took for ever to arrive. (I would suggest that they should keep a supply of water at the outside part of the restaurant as this would save a lot of time) At the 'meet the management' during our 1st week several people commented on the service, at it seemed that they knew there was a problem and were trying to address it. We met up with Michaela and she was very keen to improve things. The waiters were all very nice but lacked organisation.
We spent most days on the beach as you get the sun for a bit longer there. The beach is excellent and well looked after, the pool guys always showed us to sunbeds and put our towels out.
The bars were all excellent and service at the crossroad bar in the evening was the best we'd ever has, There is plenty of seating indoor in the evening which was good as it does get cooler in the evening.
Ice cream and a coffee at the reef bar at 4 was a lovely part of the day.
We enjoyed a swim in the indoor pool one evening, this a well hidden secret!
Victoria the Thomson rep was always around and as she would say "You'll hear me before you'll see me" She was very good at her job and clearly loves it. We had internet problems one evening and she found someone to help us.(unfortunately our e-mail to fan=mily never arrived!)
Up town is very quiet but we went up a few times on the little free bus- what an experience!
All in all a very nice holiday and as ever made by the wonderful Egyptian people.

Room Tip: ask for high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinjEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 1 December 2012
Dear Linj,
great comments and thank you for your insights about your vacation! For your next stay we will make sure the "almost" disappears from your headline!
The Restaurant has been a major focus point for our F&B team and I can assure you also to the management... We will win on this one!
Best regards and see you back soon to the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

booked for two weeks in November just got back 27th November, what can I say very disappointed

first of check in was very good and quick and reception staff very friendly. Rooms were amazing, very big and clean big bathroom cleaner was very nice changed sheets daily and towels as you would expect.

hotel grounds, pool area and beach, lagoon were superb couldn't fault it looked amazing, plenty of sun loungers and umbrellas, pool bar and beach bar was great, great staff friendly always remembered what we drank, very happy with that.

Breakfast: was good cooked all eggs, omelettes etc, bread, rolls pastry's, fruit, pancakes, cereal etc lots of choice.

Lunch/dinner was horrendous...!!! if you like rice, slop, stews and potatoes than u would be ok and when you did find something it was cold!. very disappointed with it not 5* some' nights we would struggle to find something the only good thing was the pasta station but you get sick of eating the same thing for 2 weeks, deserts seemed to be all same everyday either little cakes or biscuits.

SERVICE in the main restaurant was so bad due to no staff, had to get up and find someone to get our drinks most nights than it would take them half an hour to bring to table, tables not always set. when we would get up to get food and come back they would be clearing our table and someone else would be sitting their, even happened when left my bag their one evening. so had to take it in turns getting up. we saw lots of staff just walking round not doing much or not knowing what they were doing..

Overall we were very disappointed deffently not 5* more like 3* booked this at the beginning of the year thinking it would be a great holiday and a nice treat but we were wrong will never come back to this hotel, if came back to taba would stay at the Sofitel as heard from other people this was the best one in resort.
.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank summerbreeze014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Dear SummerBreeze,
positives first... thank you for your review and the praise for the entire hotel... we are glad to see that you did fully enjoy your vacation in almost all areas, however, and now there is the negatives, the one main restaurant did not manage to please you on either service nor food offering side.
The F&B team has its main focus put on it and will not rest until this has been dramatically improved. It is a shame to have a fantastic hotel experience and one details manages to drag it down.
Please accept our dearest apologies for the let down.
With best regards from the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

Just returned 27th Nov from 2weeks at the Intercontinental Taba, best points, good size bedrooms, clean sheets and towels daily as you would expect from a 5* hotel, heated out side pool, plenty of sun loungers and good pool staff. Where do I start with the dinning area. Not enough waiters to cope with cleaning and setting up tables, we often had to set up our tables and search for cutlery , last morning I had a coffee cup, no saucer, milk in a cup, no jug, our waiters tried so hard to please us, but too many chiefs and not enough Indians. The birds are a huge problem, they pick the food off plates and drops bones and bread everywhere , it was like the film the Birds. They were also inside the resturant. Part of the resturant was carpeted which was splashed with food and dirty. The dinning was chaotic , and the food was ok if you like stew and mash, no b b q fish. When guest complained we were told it will improve in a few weeks, no good to us. The beach bar and snack bar was staffed well as was the lobby bar.
We have holiday in 5* hotels 7 times in Egypt, this was 3+ .

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LunaCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear Luna,
thank you for your review and praise for all areas apart from the main restaurant, which has been the reason to rate your holiday 3*. The birds on the terrace are unfortunately a seasonal occurrence which we have been trying to fight with sonic, ultra-sonic and other means... we will continue to do so, however sometimes our guests do feed them from their tables.
You are absolutely right... A few weeks are not good enough and we have made the restaurant experience the main focus of our F&B Management team!
We are hoping to be able to prove our true capabilities to you in the future!
Best regards from the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

first and last. sorry my english not well.hotel location excellent. view great.
but
1-staff not train good. no good service in all restaurant. mar,lagoon,bay view(very bad),bird nest all bars. the only place was good service is lobby bar excellent.beach bar very bad.
2-i am employee in hotel (fo). check in no one help to guid us to room we lost back again to reception. man wave with hand to us how to go. my boy friend was tired and upset. go room key not work.back again reception.new key work.
3-ask operator for doctor because my boy friend ill.he said doctor come after 30 minuts. good 40 minuts call again said you come to clinic.i said can doctor come to room. said no.
4-went clinic close. abdallah service manager help us good.
5-food no good at all.no taste.but much food.ask for french fries said you have to pay.
6-we paid but no check.
7-we have our own vodka.barman say not allow. we give 5 $ said ok but no one see.no check.
8-spa goodonly visit in door pool one time staff was good.
9-houseman knock door at 8 morning to clean room .boy friend said come after 2 hours.back again at 4 afternoon and we was back from sea. we stay outside till he finish.bed sheet not clean.towl old.
10-AC not working good inform reception said you can change the room 3 times.
11-big noise earrly morning like motor working.
12-entertainment is very bad.
last not come back because all this.
Eva & VASSILIE

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank eva k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Dear Eva,
thank you for your review. Unfortunately we could not locate your surnames in our system.
It is of essence that you are contacting me directly to be able to follow up more closely on your observations. Please write an email to our info email info.ictaba@ihg.com to find out more.
Thank you very much and with best regards,
Chris Jung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taba hotels
9.7 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
16.8 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#12 of 23 in Taba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
7.8 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#8 of 23 in Taba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Miramar Resort Taba Heights
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Taba Heights
9.5 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights

Property: Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights
Address: P.O.Box 10 Taba Heights | Taba Heights, Taba, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Taba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#2 Spa Hotel in Taba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#3 Family Hotel in Taba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strand Golf Beach & Golf Resort Taba Heights is part of a premier resort community on the Red Sea coast. Surrounded by desert mountains, white sand beaches and turquoise waters, it offers a wealth of leisure options including golf, water sports, shopping and gaming. A short drive away are Pharaoh s Island, Colored Canyon and the Taba Protected Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Taba Heights Hotel Taba
Hotel Intercontinental Taba Heights
Intercontinental Hotel Taba Heights
Taba Intercontinental
Taba Heights Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing