We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Taba
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A relaxing week”
Reviewed 10 December 2012

I booked the hotel as a last minute deal, and I am glad that I did. I needed to get away for a week, in November for some winter sunshine and total relaxation, and this is exactly what I got. The hotel is set in the Taba Heights complex and is right on the seafront. On arrival with a glass of refreshing drink, book-in took just a couple of minutes and the luggage was delivered to the room without delay.
The room was spacious with all the usual refinements that one would expect of an 'upper class' hotel. There were clean sheets on the bed every day, and clean towels as well. The standard of cleanliness of the room was very high.
With two outdoor pools, one of which was heated, plus the salt water pool, I was spoilt for swimming choices. Coupled with this was the sea which boasts the coral reefs for snorkling, which is a must for me, and again I was not disappointed.
Admittedly the restaurant was self service for all three main meals, breakfast, lunch and dinner, but the choices were sufficient for my needs, and I found the food to be well prepared. I have had other holidays in Egypt and the food at the Intercontinental was far superior to these. Nothing is too much trouble for the restaurant staff and when I asked if I could have museli for breakfast (it wasn't available on day one) it was provided for me. The waiters were friendly, and got to know my particular likes, and always greeted me in a cheery way.
In my opinion this is a hotel for relaxation.If you are looking for an action packed holiday, then this is not for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisfromSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Hi Chris,
thank you for sharing your great experience and some holiday snapshots with us. We gladly share your praise with the entire team! Well deserved! Looking forward to your return!
Greetings from the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,226
    593
    230
    92
    74
See reviews for
561
1,089
52
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Just back from a week commencing 2nd December. No significant issues - not as good as some make out and nowhere near as bad as others make out! Bear in mind this is a Red Sea resort, and can't be compared with 5 star city hotels - it compares well with the other all-inclusive Red Sea resorts that we have visited and represented good value for money.

As per Liz P, 'A good place to stay for a winter break'. At this time of year the heated indoor and outdoor pools were welcome.

If you like snorkeling, the reef is not worth the trouble - to the south of the Hyatt jetty is very good and can be reached by free shuttle bus or a 30 min stroll along the prom.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Dear John,
thank you for your time and positive & balanced feedback. We had a truly bad time for 10 days beginning of November in our main restaurant, however are back on track and have a lot of happy guests leaving the hotel... just as until October when our satisfaction rating was the best in the destination... Hope to see you back to put us to the test!
Best regards from the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Upon arrival we were greeted by the Management Team, a welcoming drink and a de-stressing neck massage from the Spa Team. We were assigned our room and told our luggage would be delivered to us there. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a huge bed, two armchairs and coffee table, along with a desk with chair and internet connection(at extra cost) also a television which showed British, French, German, Russian and of course Egyptian programmes. The large balcony also had two chairs and a table. The room also had a large bathroom and shower with large soft towels, dressing gowns, slippers and toiletries. In one of the cupboards were additional pillows and blanket, whilst in the other cupboard was located a safe at no extra charge. Upon going into the restaurant we were greeted by cheerful staff and helpful waiters, The food was good and the chefs would get you anything else you required if asked. The food was international flavours to allow for the various nationalities and this was plentiful with starters, main courses and sweets. On further inspection of the hotel and its complex we discovered a gym with heated indoor swimming pool and spa, also available was a massage area and appointments could be arranged for numerous treatments. There is also a beauty and hair parlour on the same floor as the gym which offers many treatments. All the treatments offered by the gym and beauty salon are of the highest quality and professionalism. We are due to return to The Intercontinental in March and hopefully again in May via Sharm as Thomsons will not be flying into Taba from Manchester. The weather was superb and the best staff we have encountered on our travels around the world.

Room Tip: We have stayed in 9 different rooms and every one has been excellent however the rooms facing the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flopsiebunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Dear Flopsiebunnie :o),
your reviews sounds like a great testimonial for spending vacation with us here at the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort... We will make extra sure it stays like this for next year and beyond!
Looking forward to your return and wishing you a great festive season!
Your team of the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

From the chaotic restaurant to the miserable staff the week was a nightmare, It should have been self catering as we always had to set our own table, get our own drinks and clear the plates from the table to make room for the next course. The saving grace was the selection of bread as that is what we lived on for the week, we would never go back again and to be honest feel we were mislead calling it 5* even 3* would have been overrated.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
Dear Sheila,
firstly let us apologise for your stay experience in the restaurant - during your stay in the beginning of November - as also obvious from other reviews - there was a serious problem with service delivery in the main restaurant which can not be denied.
Unfortunately your review does not touch on any of the other areas of the hotel, and there is indeed many reasons why guests decide for the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort.
min. 40sqm rooms, beautiful landscaping, great pools, fabulous beach, tasty a la carte restaurants, good bars, relaxing SPA, sports facilities, proximity to golf & waterworld, attentative & friendly team, etc.
Not by coincidence we have been rated No.1 on the destination of Taba Heights until end of October 2012 and we have all worked hard to neutralize the unfortunate events in the main restaurant beginning of November. As you can also see from most recent reviews, our guests do testify that we have managed well to get back to old strength. It is certainly does not do us pride to have had such challenges and we do apologize to all guests who had to endure those like yourself.
With best regards from the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort team and hopefully you will be able to experience the true hospitality delivered by us some time in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Just returned from a fantastic week away spent lazing in the glorious sunshine. The hotel is beautiful, rooms of a good size and the staff make you feel welcome, with the odd exception of a couple in the restaurant area. The food was good, but perhaps a little repetitive. We did eat in the Lagoon Restaurant which was not part of the all inclusive package but this was lovely.
The pool areas are really clean, and the beach is beautiful.
It was really good to see that the manager of the hotel was around to speak to, and make sure everyone was having a good time and being looked after.
Would definitely recommend for a winter break !

Room Tip: Definitely pay extra for a sea view and balcony room - beautiful to wake up in the morning with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LIZ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Hi Liz,
great you had a "fantastic" week with us. As you can see we had a tough time beginning of November with the F&B, however as attested we managed to recover and are heading for old strength... No1 hotel for Taba Heights as we were until end of October. The Food&Beverage team is finishing the final fine tuning.
Hope to have you back soon for some more sunrises in Taba Heights!
The team of the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Just returned from a 2 week holiday here.the setting of the hotel is spectacular and the weather was glorious(30 degrees every day)
The hotel itself was acceptable - spacious well equipped rooms and bathrooms and lovely swimming pools however this is not a 5 star hotel.Which 5 star hotel has guests spooning instant coffee from a jar at breakfast and lunch and dinner and filling cups from Hot water urn?
Service in the dining room was chaotic - you would order drinks with the meal only for them to arrive as you had finished eating whilst you often had to hunt for cutlery especially at breakfast where there would be no glasses for fruit juice or a wait for cereal bowls to arrive.
I don't think I'm being too critical as we also ate at the Hyatt and the Sofitel (a short walk from the Intercontinental) where food and service was vastly superior and where you were not swamped by pushy Russians and Ukranians drinking like there was no tomorrow.
To be fair management appeared to be aware of the problem and said things would improve but I for one will not return though several people I spoke to were repeat visitors because of the proximity of the golf course or the diving opporztunities.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 707Maria23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Dear Maria,
thank you for your feedback which we can not be happy about. We however love your comments on spectacular settings, spacious rooms, lovely pools and great weather.
As mentioned we did have a problem with has caused a drop of satisfaction from the No1 position in the destination and we have fixed this. Rest assured that our many return guests do so for more than just golf & diving but for the overall package... we hope to be more convincing in the future!
Best regards from the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Eaton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

This is our 3rd stay in the resort (we had stayed at the Hyatt twice before) we found the hotel very nice and ideal for a weed winter sun.
The food was good and we also eat in the BBQ and fish restaurants not just the all inclusive one.
The rooms are very nice and a good size.
We did email hotel asking for a nice room based on what we paid but we had a rubbish view (room 2248).
We would consider going back to this hotel.
On a down side the staff did seem very unhappy.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9RussellHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Dear Hellen,
Dear Russel,
thank you very much for your nice review and great feedback! We are happy to see that you have left and will return as a happy couple in the future!
Rest assured that we will be continuing to work hard to create memorable experiences like yours.
Best wishes from the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taba
9.7 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
7.8 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#8 of 22 in Taba
65 reviews
16.8 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#12 of 22 in Taba
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
U Suites Eilat
U Suites Eilat
#10 of 62 in Eilat
916 reviews
15.7 mi away
InterContinental Aqaba Resort
9.5 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights

Property: Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights
Address: P.O.Box 10 Taba Heights | Taba Heights, Taba 46621, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Taba
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#2 Spa Hotel in Taba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#3 Family Hotel in Taba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strand Golf Beach & Golf Resort Taba Heights is part of a premier resort community on the Red Sea coast. Surrounded by desert mountains, white sand beaches and turquoise waters, it offers a wealth of leisure options including golf, water sports, shopping and gaming. A short drive away are Pharaoh s Island, Colored Canyon and the Taba Protected Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Taba Heights Hotel Taba
Hotel Intercontinental Taba Heights
Intercontinental Hotel Taba Heights
Taba Intercontinental
Taba Heights Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing