We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good times once again at the Intercontinental”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Taba
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good times once again at the Intercontinental”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Once again we had a Lovely Christmas and New Years break at the Intercontinental. A big thank you to the hotels amazing hard working, cheerful, and helpful staff for making our stay once again special. A big Thank you to Chris Jeng GM for keeping his promise, from our last visit, to improve the hotels wine quality which I am happy to say he did with great success. Cheers Chris. The weather was a hot and sunny 25-28 degrees throughout our 14 day stay (except 1 day overcast). The Gala dinner was a dream ,good food and well presentented. The rooms were cleaned to a good standard daily and there was an improvement in general to hotel, has it's sparkle back. I have read some comments re birds in the restaurant and yes they do take food from plates but then again why people have to 'stock pile ' food onto there table like its going out of fashion, I will never understand there was always plenty - get want you want then ...EAT IT. Really it's not a problem. We met up with some old Inter friends and also made new one's. The bar service both at the splash bar, the cross raods bar and beach bar was excellent.(Thanks Siad, Ossama, Alaa, Sherif and Emad .) The restaurant staff although very busy, worked their hardest and always had a smile. The people I can imagine who say the staff were rude probably need to look in a mirror and say honestly if they treated them with the respect they deserve and not as a personal holiday slave ..they may have got a smile back!!!
To sum up ..Good value, good weather good food fabulous company (you know who you are people) and last but not least a big thanks to Victoria our Thompson rep, always available, interacted with the guests and was very helpfully best rep I've come across on any holiday. Thanks Tori.
Thanks again to Chris & Michela and all the wonderful staff.
Look forward to our next trip to the Intercontinental.

Andrea & James xx

Room Tip: Higher rooms are better no noise from above guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ANDIJIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Dear Andrea,
Dear James,
We certainly are here to keep our promises and one of them is to make precious vacations special! We are certainly delighted that it worked so well for you and we will be more than happy to see you back with us soonest! We will share your great note with our team on the next team member gathering.
Happy 2013 once again and best wishes from the entire Crew!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,226
    593
    230
    92
    74
See reviews for
561
1,089
52
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2013

My partner and I arrived on xmas day for a week to the intercontinental , we flew from manchester on a thompson flight. I would like to know when a short haul flight becomes a long haul flight as i believed it was over 5 hours. You have to arrive at the airport 3 hours before you fly and you are then crammed on a plane more suitable for a flight to spain! There is no food or entertainment included on board, instead everything is sold at a premium price. A hand held entertainment unit is sold to you for £10 but if you are unfortunate enough to be sat behind someone who reclines there seat then it is shoved in your face. The pilot even suggested that the flight time was only 4hours 59mins even though we were 20mins late taking off. i have enjoyed and felt more relaxed on a 10hour flight to Cancun. I know some people will think this site is just a hotel review but your flight should be enjoyable and is an important factor of your overall holiday experience, giving the percentage of time spent on your flight,thompson need to do better.

We arrived at Taba airport in the evening where it was dark and cold and a few anxious faces, including our own, but we were assured by the coach rep that we were well above sea level and it would be warmer when we got down to sea level and our resort. This proved correct,the airport is were they take the daily temperature, so always add on a few degrees.

Booked in, we were given a room with the view of the mountains and golf course which were spectacular.The room is large and has everything you need,tv,safe,hair dryer,tea making facilities, large walkin shower. There is a fridge with beer,soft drinks but this is not part of your all inclusive package, which i found surprising.

The hotel is large with a lagoon and large swiming pool which is split into two, one side is heated . The pool attendents work well all day doing lifeguard duties plus sorting out sunbeds,towels and keeping the areas clean and dry to stop slipping plus you get a very regular drinks service brought to your sunbed. For us the standout was a young man called Elshahat who was always eager to make sure you had everything you needed to have a relaxing day.

We only ate in the buffet resaurant and as a chef myself i know how difficult it is to keep everything hot using this chaffer dish system. Saying that i did have some dishes that were flat cold, porridge being one off them. We always found somthing to eat and the staff were always looking to help if there was somthing else you needed. I think this is the key, if you dont see, ask and they are always keen to help.

The entertainment is very low key. Apart from the 11am Aqua aerobics class i didnt see them for the rest of the day. The evening entertainment is much the same,with some dancing,bingo,and a singing act that was entertaining for all the wrong reasons. There are two bars in use at night the Archers bar which is dark and has loud dance music playing and the lobby bar which is quiet. Neither were very busy making us think that most people went to bed early or there was a livley bar somewhere that we didnt know about.Although we wanted a relaxing holiday it would have been nice to have a couple of entertaining nights. One tip if you are going at this time of year take a jumper as it does get cold in the evening.

We were there for the new year gala and you could see that the hotel put a lot of effort into the night. The chefs laid out a fantasic cold display plus there was bbq food and other displays.The table layouts and service were good as well. There was entertainment laid on to make sure that everyone enjoyed them selves. The one thing that i did find weird was that the all inclusive drinks package finished at 23.00hrs.Now knowing that the main reason of seeing in the new year is to stay up till 12 o'clock i do feel the hotel could have pushed an extra hour.

Overall we did have a good relaxing holiday and it was good to stay in a hotel were the full managment team were allways visable and wanting to talk to there guests. Even down to chris the manager coming to the departure coach to thank you and to have a safe journey home.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmao_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Dear Imao,
great to read about your vacation! Happy that we were able to be the ones providing you with the framework for it! We shall be working on your constructive comments and suggestions to get the full 5 stars on TripAdvisor next time.
Greetings from the crew of the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

My husband and I had another fabulous 2 week holiday at our favourite hotel, this was our 8th visit to this hotel. The staff are amazing they cannot do enough for you, they are always smiling and very helpful. The staff at Splash Bar, Alaa, Emad, Mohammed, Ahmed and all the others who work very hard at keeping drinks flowing, also the same can be said for the bar staff at Bay View bar. The waiters at the Bay View restaurant Amr, Mhetat and all the staff who make our dining experince great. The food is fantastic and anyone who fails to find something to eat must be very very fussy.There are a few small issues, but Chris the manager and all the management team do their very best to resolve any complaints you may have. We had none.Our room was spotless as usual. The beach and pool attendants are so friendly and did their very best to make our stay incredible.The animation team are fab they do thier very best to keep you entertained. Thanks to all the staff who we have not mentioned you are all great. We will be returning in Feb 2013. and hopefully many more times.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerlyn4647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Dear Kerlyn,
thank you so much for your great review and kind words! Great to see you back so soon! We shall be doing our utmost to make your February stay as great as those before!
Best wishes from the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We first visited InterContnental Taba Heights resort Easter 2012. We have booked to return again this Easter along with friends, so a bigger party than previously.
Everything about this resort is nothing less than perfect. Every member of staff from housekeeping to pool attendants where first class, they were so friendly and did everything possible to make our stay incredible.
The food was fantastic, they make such a massive effort.
Everything was so clean and even though there were lots of birds, which was lovely to see, we did not see any bird dropping anywhere.
I really cannot rate this place highly enough, I would definitely return again and again and I would highly recommend other visitors.

Room Tip: We had a room that faced the salt lake... absolutely beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear Gail,
"simply wonderful" to receive your great feedback and the recommendation... hoping to see you back for more! We will be there for you! Contact us directly if you require assistance.
Best regards from the team of the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

This was not our original hotel we booked, it was a hotel we had to upgrade to as our 1st hotel was rubbish. The general manager Chris Jung and his team were amazing,and accommodated us with upgraded hotel rooms, he even greeted us when we arrived - most unheard of! Every member of staff from the room cleaners to the pool attendants were so friendly and did everything possible to make our stay incredible. The food was fantastic and in abundance, the Christmas Eve Gala was spectacular, but the New Years Eve Gala even more so... They had gone to such a massive effort, I think "WOW " didn't even come close. Everything was so clean , we didn't find the birds an issue at all, no dirty droppings anywhere in the restaurant. I really cannot rate this place highly enough, I would definately return time and time again

Room Tip: All rooms are equally as good as each other, sea view is especially spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dg33290ym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
Dear DG,
thank you so much for your review and obviously we are more than delighted to have amazed and wow'ed you! We shall hope that we'll manage many more times in 2013 and in the future!
See you back soon,
Your InterContinental Taba Heights Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Once a year we do a friends holiday. This year we chose taba heights. I have to say I was very sceptical of visiting egypt simply because of all the issues you hear about on the news, but we braved it, and we're very happy we did.

The hotel was really good! Absolutely huge! It was very clean, spacious and a general theme of relaxation. There is a lot to talk about, so i'll break it down into sections.

Room:
We had a room with a double bed with a sea facing view. The room was really good. Was incredibly spacious and the bed was comfortable. A really nice large walk in shower and the bathroom was pretty large to go with it. As with all hotels there is always the odd fixture broken or not replaced. The only drawback with the bathroom is the shower gel etc. Not of great quality, but you do get it replaced daily! So can't argue too much. We also had a balcony which was really big! Great for entertaining guests, drying wet clothes and chilling!

Food:
This was the first time we've ever done an all inclusive,being a vegetarian we've never really seen the point so it was all new to me! I have to say the food was pretty damn good. It does get boring after a few days, which is why we made friends with the chef. They catered to our needs. Everyday we would request a new dish, for example vege burgers! And they made them for us that evening! The staff were pretty friendly, and after visiting them 3 times a day they tend to remember your requirements.
The restaurant itself was pretty good. There was a bird issue, however they never really bothered us and it was kind of adding to the atmosphere!

Pool:
Pool was ok. Not heated as such, but maintained an ok temperature during the day (we went in October). So on any other hot month i'm sure the temperature would be good. We were not really impressed with the pool amenities however. You are only allowed one towel per person. This is really poor. I mean after you've been in the pool you do want a another towel to relax on! You can replace your towel as you see fit, but its a hassle in my opinion. There were daily activities in the pool if you like that sort of thing. Not my cup of tea, so didn't really want to get involved in aqua aerobics!!

One other disappointment is the lack of NON-SMOKING areas. There were tonnes of Europeans, and well they don't have a no smoking policy. In England we're blessed with clean air in public areas. I hope they can look into this and have designated areas for non-smokers! Its gets bloody annoying when you've settled down and an idiot comes next to you and starts smoking!

Also alot of keen people, so if you want a sun bed get there early.

There was a lagoon. We never really went into it. You could pay to get a little kayak on it. I don't think you should have to pay for that. I think to have a little jolly in the lagoon on a kayak should be free (especially if you're 5 star).

Beach: The beach was pretty good! Can't complain about the facilities there. It was relatively clean, enough loungers, cover etc. Also everyday there was organised events, for example volleyball and a throwing game called "bucha?". So if you fancy taking part its real good fun. You can get served food and drinks outside. There are two areas for that - so useful. I believe everyday you can go get some ice cream in the afternoon - which was a change.

One really disappointing aspect of the beach area was the fact you had to rent out life jackets and snorkelling gear. In my opinion "5 star" means you should be able to rent free. You would think a life jacket at the very least!! But you have to pay £5 a day to rent! We went to the local shops and bought snorkelling equipment for £15 - much better value. What I would suggest is to buy aqua shoes. In order to get into the water you have to negotiate some very sharp old coral and stones. So make sure you invest before getting there. The snorkelling at the hotel was pretty good. We ventured to other sites too, but if you don't want to walk then the hotels snorkelling is pretty decent! at different times of the day you will see a lot of different fish.

Service: The service at the beach and at the beach huts were i have to say pretty poor. The staff were not very friendly. There was no "hi, how are you" or any kind of talk really. The beach service was very poor. You would ask for a drink, it would take an eternity to arrive. Some times the guy forgot!! So not impressed in the slightest. I believe if you're going to have a beach area, you should accommodate it better.

Gym/sauna/jacuzzi/spa:
Probably the worst part of the hotel. The gym was basic to say the least, The equipment was very very old and not really enough. The weights were only up to 10kg if i can remember correctly. They really need to work on this area. The sauna/jacuzzi, wasn't all that. Again it was just the sake of having it i guess. Not impressed at all. The Spa, well again disappointment. They have an amazing view yet they stick you in a closed room.
In my opinion, the sofitel is the way to go. Their spa, gym, sauna and jacuzzi facilities are a tonne better. Hopefully intercontinental can work on this!

Golf:

The highlight of the hotel has to be the golf facilities. This was a separate building to the hotel. As a keen golfer, this was pretty special. The range is huge, you get real good time to warm up. The practice chipping and putting area is world class. The course itself is very well kept. Its a tough course if the wind is against, and there is a lot of trouble should you find yourself init.

If you want a really really good lesson, go and get a lesson with Adrian Cafaro! He is an amazing tutor and he will most definitely get your game going! So if your're out there for a week playing golf, you must factor in lesson with him. He will change your way of thinking and really give you some great tips to get your handicap down!
The pro shop is lovely, the people are very friendly and the golf is very reasonable in value! You get a cart and a round for about £45-50. So not bad at all.

The service from our tour guide was excellent. There are many guys offering you excursions. We did quad biking and star gazing. Quad biking was fun but restrictive. Your're not going to be able to go at real hardcore speed. Its very relaxing!
The star gazing is a MUST - it is by far one of the best excursions ever. Make sure you take a jumper for later, it gets a little chilly and wear shoes not sandals/slippers. Plenty of loose rocks. Also i would suggest going to the loo before the excursion! toilets are very basic at best.

Overall a pretty good stay and good value for money. Its a cheap destination for a week. I would probably go back for a week of golfing. If you're adventurous you can get excursions to israel, jordan SA etc. So you can keep busy :-)

Also the local shops are only a short bus ride away (free). Make sure you get your times right! otherwise you might have to wait a while. The local shops were ok. I would suggest going to get your snorkelling gear from here. Also There are a few restaurants so if you want to eat something different head out here.

Also we always buy a sim card where we go. So go to the local phone shop. We bought a vodafone chip for around £15 - which had a tonne of data. So you can stay connected. Just make sure your phone is unlocked. Also there is a local phone network as well. We didn't know about this, they are cheaper then vodafone. So just shop around.

The one really disappointing part of the hotel is the cost of WIFI. We're all used to getting hooked up to a network pretty quickly for free in the UK. So its not really good enough to charge a bomb for the internet. So get a sim card. 3g is pretty quick!

Hope this is useful!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
Dear Neil,
wow... this is some detailed review! Thank you for your time spent! We will certainly take those comments on board and pass on your praise to Adrian and your rep.
The good news for last... WIFI IS NOW FREE OF CHARGE IN OUR LOBBY! Our present for 2013!
Have a great 2013 and hope to see you back soonest!
Your crew of the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Measham, England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

My partner and I stayed here for the Christmas & new Year celebrations. This was are six time to this hotel and staff where as good as the first. Yes there are issues and Chris and his managment team are allways trying to strive to improve. The most improvement has been the food. We have seen a marked increase in the style and delivery, just need to review the flavour from time to time. Personnel taste ! Again the suite was perfect, the pool was well clean and reviewed at all times by the pool staff. Both the Lagoon & Elmar are allways good value, try the Fish market night and the Barque Night ( could not ask for Better ) . Thanks to Mr Said from ElMar, excellent !!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a junior suite. Worth the $35 dollar's a day
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
Dear Jeremy,
thank you for your positive and encouraging comments... we shall also not rest in 2013! Thank you for your referrals for the Lagoon BBQ and the El Mar... 2 true dining experiences!
See you back soon (we shall hope)!
Your team of the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taba
9.7 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
7.8 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#8 of 22 in Taba
65 reviews
16.8 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#12 of 22 in Taba
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
U Suites Eilat
U Suites Eilat
#10 of 62 in Eilat
916 reviews
15.7 mi away
InterContinental Aqaba Resort
9.5 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights

Property: Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights
Address: P.O.Box 10 Taba Heights | Taba Heights, Taba 46621, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Taba
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#2 Spa Hotel in Taba
#3 Family Hotel in Taba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strand Golf Beach & Golf Resort Taba Heights is part of a premier resort community on the Red Sea coast. Surrounded by desert mountains, white sand beaches and turquoise waters, it offers a wealth of leisure options including golf, water sports, shopping and gaming. A short drive away are Pharaoh s Island, Colored Canyon and the Taba Protected Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Taba Heights Hotel Taba
Hotel Intercontinental Taba Heights
Intercontinental Hotel Taba Heights
Taba Intercontinental
Taba Heights Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing