We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but improvements needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Taba
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel but improvements needed”
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We have just come back from a two week stay here and have mixed feelings about the place. I will try and break it down in a honest but sorry quite long review.

Food - The first week was a lot better than the 2nd maybe this was because it was getting repetitive. Maybe the restaurant should have a two weekly menu as to make sure guests that are staying for two weeks do not end up eating the same things and getting bored. The food even though repetitive was nice and we were able to find something to eat every night if you got creative. In addition to the above our waiter was lovely and knew what we wanted to drink at every meal time and we had no trouble getting a drink apart from one evening when our usual waiter wasn't around and our meal was nearly finished before we got a drink. One slight odd thing though was the girl standing at the entrance to the restaurant slightly confused us as we couldn’t work out what she was doing there if she was supposed to be telling people to use the hand gel then it wasn’t working.

On a very positive note The New Years Eve Gala meal was great and proves the chefs can really cook my hat goes of them and the other staff on the night what a great job they did.

Also do try the dine around scheme we went to the Mexican and Indian for a change of scenery and some different food. The hotel needs to promote this service more!!.

Rooms - are nice although maybe some updating here or there could be done but more than suitable for our needs with big comfy beds and big bathrooms with a nice walk in shower and the cleaner was great even knowing to put two shampoo and conditioners in my room as I have quite long hair and one wasn't enough. However here is the negative about the rooms and I'm sorry to have to write this but I have never stayed anywhere that is so noisy. Doors banging the whole night and early morning. Walls so paper thin you could here everything and we were very unlucky as we had a child next door to us who would wake up 3/4 times a night screaming and crying, once you got over the screaming child the Russians would wake you up either going back to their rooms or getting up . (Before the manager can say that it was mainly British staying there as in a previous post, it was Russians who kept us up every night for two weeks as we recognised the language that was being shouted out).

Bars – The service at the bar by the pool and reef bars was not great. It was very slow and the bartenders looked like they would rather be anywhere else than there in two weeks both never smiled. One afternoon after 10 days the bartender at the Reef bar suddenly decided that we couldn’t take a coffee to our sun loungers on the beach how strange when his colleague actually brought two coffees over to us earlier in the day (waiter bringing drinks around on the beach brilliant what a lovely guy always had a smile on his face and his two colleagues serving could learn alot from him) The Cross roads bar had a lot better service with a smile and very friendly waiters who would run back and fourth serving drinks all night.
Archers bar was good but a little dark at times but great to escape the kids on sugar highs running around outside in the court yard. Although it is an over 18’s bar there were some children in there but if they were being a nuisance were promptly told to leave by the bar staff although some children thought it ok to answer them back and be extermely rude to them. Hat goes off to the animation team and bar staff in the evenings for putting up with this and to keep smiling when I really would have wanted to hang the children by their feet from the nearest lampost as some where so rude.

The only let down of the bars and restaurant is that they seems very possessive about their glasses, they don’t allow you to take drinks to your rooms which was strange in itself as I have never stayed anywhere all inclusive where this has been a problem but they also don’t allow you to take them even if you explain you are taking them to dinner or from dinner to a bar.

Pool area, beach, and surrounding hotel - The pool, beach and grounds of the hotel are lovely they are kept extremely clean and I didn’t see any rubbish throughout my stay. The vibe on the beach is of pure relaxation and this is what we wanted so it hit the nail on the head so in this respect was perfect. We had a massage and scrub at the spa which was lovely and a nice way to end our holiday. The staff on the whole were really friendly and lovely apart from one or two. If the other issues could be sorted out then this would be a great hotel. However we are in two minds as to whether we would go back here the main reason being the amount of noise surrounding our bedroom a shame really as it is overall a good nice hotel.Maybe this is our fault and we should have asked to have been moved but judging by other people comments we would have probably been charged for the privilege of having a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Try not to end up in a room next to a small child/children you will not sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank em123_2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Hi em123,
thank you for taking the time for such a detailed review. We will certainly share it in our next quality meeting. Your food related comments have been discussed and we are working on new concepts to be implemented soon, then the hostess mentioned will also play a more active role. You come and see!
In regards to the noise I would like to refer to the other reviews (see i.e. Andy just above this review, staying at the same time as yourself) which attest us to be highly relaxing and a heaven of relaxations and peaceful vacation. Please accept our apologies as this did not work 100% this time. We shall be further working on our Relaxation line which already features the Relaxation Beach, the Relaxation SPA and other features to come. All at no extra cost. Peace and quiet is for free with us!
Best wishes for 2013 from the Crew of the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,217
    591
    229
    91
    74
See reviews for
543
1,089
52
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2013

i enjoyed every detail in the place , after a 8 busy months i could restore my energy back in 5 days relaxation out there , i am proud of you.
Excellent room , food variety each day in the three meals , staff were very helpful .

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear Ahmed,
what a fantastic picture and review to share with others! Thank you very much and looking forward to many returns!
Greetings and all the best for 2013,
Your InterContinental Taba Heights Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Once again we had a Lovely Christmas and New Years break at the Intercontinental. A big thank you to the hotels amazing hard working, cheerful, and helpful staff for making our stay once again special. A big Thank you to Chris Jeng GM for keeping his promise, from our last visit, to improve the hotels wine quality which I am happy to say he did with great success. Cheers Chris. The weather was a hot and sunny 25-28 degrees throughout our 14 day stay (except 1 day overcast). The Gala dinner was a dream ,good food and well presentented. The rooms were cleaned to a good standard daily and there was an improvement in general to hotel, has it's sparkle back. I have read some comments re birds in the restaurant and yes they do take food from plates but then again why people have to 'stock pile ' food onto there table like its going out of fashion, I will never understand there was always plenty - get want you want then ...EAT IT. Really it's not a problem. We met up with some old Inter friends and also made new one's. The bar service both at the splash bar, the cross raods bar and beach bar was excellent.(Thanks Siad, Ossama, Alaa, Sherif and Emad .) The restaurant staff although very busy, worked their hardest and always had a smile. The people I can imagine who say the staff were rude probably need to look in a mirror and say honestly if they treated them with the respect they deserve and not as a personal holiday slave ..they may have got a smile back!!!
To sum up ..Good value, good weather good food fabulous company (you know who you are people) and last but not least a big thanks to Victoria our Thompson rep, always available, interacted with the guests and was very helpfully best rep I've come across on any holiday. Thanks Tori.
Thanks again to Chris & Michela and all the wonderful staff.
Look forward to our next trip to the Intercontinental.

Andrea & James xx

Room Tip: Higher rooms are better no noise from above guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ANDIJIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Dear Andrea,
Dear James,
We certainly are here to keep our promises and one of them is to make precious vacations special! We are certainly delighted that it worked so well for you and we will be more than happy to see you back with us soonest! We will share your great note with our team on the next team member gathering.
Happy 2013 once again and best wishes from the entire Crew!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2013

My partner and I arrived on xmas day for a week to the intercontinental , we flew from manchester on a thompson flight. I would like to know when a short haul flight becomes a long haul flight as i believed it was over 5 hours. You have to arrive at the airport 3 hours before you fly and you are then crammed on a plane more suitable for a flight to spain! There is no food or entertainment included on board, instead everything is sold at a premium price. A hand held entertainment unit is sold to you for £10 but if you are unfortunate enough to be sat behind someone who reclines there seat then it is shoved in your face. The pilot even suggested that the flight time was only 4hours 59mins even though we were 20mins late taking off. i have enjoyed and felt more relaxed on a 10hour flight to Cancun. I know some people will think this site is just a hotel review but your flight should be enjoyable and is an important factor of your overall holiday experience, giving the percentage of time spent on your flight,thompson need to do better.

We arrived at Taba airport in the evening where it was dark and cold and a few anxious faces, including our own, but we were assured by the coach rep that we were well above sea level and it would be warmer when we got down to sea level and our resort. This proved correct,the airport is were they take the daily temperature, so always add on a few degrees.

Booked in, we were given a room with the view of the mountains and golf course which were spectacular.The room is large and has everything you need,tv,safe,hair dryer,tea making facilities, large walkin shower. There is a fridge with beer,soft drinks but this is not part of your all inclusive package, which i found surprising.

The hotel is large with a lagoon and large swiming pool which is split into two, one side is heated . The pool attendents work well all day doing lifeguard duties plus sorting out sunbeds,towels and keeping the areas clean and dry to stop slipping plus you get a very regular drinks service brought to your sunbed. For us the standout was a young man called Elshahat who was always eager to make sure you had everything you needed to have a relaxing day.

We only ate in the buffet resaurant and as a chef myself i know how difficult it is to keep everything hot using this chaffer dish system. Saying that i did have some dishes that were flat cold, porridge being one off them. We always found somthing to eat and the staff were always looking to help if there was somthing else you needed. I think this is the key, if you dont see, ask and they are always keen to help.

The entertainment is very low key. Apart from the 11am Aqua aerobics class i didnt see them for the rest of the day. The evening entertainment is much the same,with some dancing,bingo,and a singing act that was entertaining for all the wrong reasons. There are two bars in use at night the Archers bar which is dark and has loud dance music playing and the lobby bar which is quiet. Neither were very busy making us think that most people went to bed early or there was a livley bar somewhere that we didnt know about.Although we wanted a relaxing holiday it would have been nice to have a couple of entertaining nights. One tip if you are going at this time of year take a jumper as it does get cold in the evening.

We were there for the new year gala and you could see that the hotel put a lot of effort into the night. The chefs laid out a fantasic cold display plus there was bbq food and other displays.The table layouts and service were good as well. There was entertainment laid on to make sure that everyone enjoyed them selves. The one thing that i did find weird was that the all inclusive drinks package finished at 23.00hrs.Now knowing that the main reason of seeing in the new year is to stay up till 12 o'clock i do feel the hotel could have pushed an extra hour.

Overall we did have a good relaxing holiday and it was good to stay in a hotel were the full managment team were allways visable and wanting to talk to there guests. Even down to chris the manager coming to the departure coach to thank you and to have a safe journey home.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmao_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Dear Imao,
great to read about your vacation! Happy that we were able to be the ones providing you with the framework for it! We shall be working on your constructive comments and suggestions to get the full 5 stars on TripAdvisor next time.
Greetings from the crew of the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

My husband and I had another fabulous 2 week holiday at our favourite hotel, this was our 8th visit to this hotel. The staff are amazing they cannot do enough for you, they are always smiling and very helpful. The staff at Splash Bar, Alaa, Emad, Mohammed, Ahmed and all the others who work very hard at keeping drinks flowing, also the same can be said for the bar staff at Bay View bar. The waiters at the Bay View restaurant Amr, Mhetat and all the staff who make our dining experince great. The food is fantastic and anyone who fails to find something to eat must be very very fussy.There are a few small issues, but Chris the manager and all the management team do their very best to resolve any complaints you may have. We had none.Our room was spotless as usual. The beach and pool attendants are so friendly and did their very best to make our stay incredible.The animation team are fab they do thier very best to keep you entertained. Thanks to all the staff who we have not mentioned you are all great. We will be returning in Feb 2013. and hopefully many more times.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerlyn4647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Dear Kerlyn,
thank you so much for your great review and kind words! Great to see you back so soon! We shall be doing our utmost to make your February stay as great as those before!
Best wishes from the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We first visited InterContnental Taba Heights resort Easter 2012. We have booked to return again this Easter along with friends, so a bigger party than previously.
Everything about this resort is nothing less than perfect. Every member of staff from housekeeping to pool attendants where first class, they were so friendly and did everything possible to make our stay incredible.
The food was fantastic, they make such a massive effort.
Everything was so clean and even though there were lots of birds, which was lovely to see, we did not see any bird dropping anywhere.
I really cannot rate this place highly enough, I would definitely return again and again and I would highly recommend other visitors.

Room Tip: We had a room that faced the salt lake... absolutely beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear Gail,
"simply wonderful" to receive your great feedback and the recommendation... hoping to see you back for more! We will be there for you! Contact us directly if you require assistance.
Best regards from the team of the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

This was not our original hotel we booked, it was a hotel we had to upgrade to as our 1st hotel was rubbish. The general manager Chris Jung and his team were amazing,and accommodated us with upgraded hotel rooms, he even greeted us when we arrived - most unheard of! Every member of staff from the room cleaners to the pool attendants were so friendly and did everything possible to make our stay incredible. The food was fantastic and in abundance, the Christmas Eve Gala was spectacular, but the New Years Eve Gala even more so... They had gone to such a massive effort, I think "WOW " didn't even come close. Everything was so clean , we didn't find the birds an issue at all, no dirty droppings anywhere in the restaurant. I really cannot rate this place highly enough, I would definately return time and time again

Room Tip: All rooms are equally as good as each other, sea view is especially spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dg33290ym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
Dear DG,
thank you so much for your review and obviously we are more than delighted to have amazed and wow'ed you! We shall hope that we'll manage many more times in 2013 and in the future!
See you back soon,
Your InterContinental Taba Heights Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taba hotels
9.7 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
16.8 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#12 of 22 in Taba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
7.8 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#8 of 22 in Taba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Miramar Resort Taba Heights
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Taba Heights
9.5 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights

Property: Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights
Address: P.O.Box 10 Taba Heights | Taba Heights, Taba, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Taba
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#2 Spa Hotel in Taba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#3 Family Hotel in Taba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strand Golf Beach & Golf Resort Taba Heights is part of a premier resort community on the Red Sea coast. Surrounded by desert mountains, white sand beaches and turquoise waters, it offers a wealth of leisure options including golf, water sports, shopping and gaming. A short drive away are Pharaoh s Island, Colored Canyon and the Taba Protected Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Taba Heights Hotel Taba
Hotel Intercontinental Taba Heights
Intercontinental Hotel Taba Heights
Taba Intercontinental
Taba Heights Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing