We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of times”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Taba
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Just returned from a week at the Intercontinental. Fantastic hotel, the room was well proportioned and very comfortable. Stunning views from every aspect with the backdrop of the Sinai mountains and the Red Sea with views straight across to Saudi Arabia and Jordan. We used the health club for massage and steam room, sauna and jacuzzi. The restaurant provides an extensive choice of dishes and is very well prepared. If you want to properly relax and unwind, look no further. The all inclusive deal stops at 11pm which of course means that although you can still have drinks, you will be paying hotel prices. The benefit of this is that this hotel doesn't attract the nuisances that are singing and shouting at 4am returning to their rooms. I loved this hotel and will definately be returning again

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Dear Andy,
great feedback and wonderful read about a good stay with us! Thank you for sharing your experience in our SPA. It is indeed a hidden treasure and we are proud of the developments achieved there. Please feel free to come back and see what else we have done to make your stay even more comfortable and fantastic next time! We are always happy to assist in case you struggle finding a suitable operator after Thomsons retreat end of Winter 2013.
Hope to see you again,
Your crew of the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,227)
There are newer reviews for Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

505 - 511 of 2,227 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2013

We booked this holiday very last minute and had no idea of what to expect, we were wary of the horror stories of becoming ill from the food etc (Egypt itself, not this hotel) but couldn't of been more wrong. It has totally changed are views on the country.
We arrived in the night and got to the room looking out on our balcony we though we just had a view of a garden, however waking up the next morning we found the stunning mountain backdrop that was hiding in the night!
The rooms were spacious, clean and comfy. The bed is huge and we had no problem settling in.
The restaurant caters for everything, it is a buffet style however there was plenty of choice and we never went hungry. The restaurant itself was not over crowded, however I don't think we would like to experience it in the height of summer as it was busy enough. I agree with some reviews that it would be nice to have something available through out the day rather than set times, even if its just snacks etc
The weather was lovely and alternated between beach and pool, both were exactly what we were looking for as we wanted to do nothing except recharge the batteries!
We tried all the bars, the lagoon bar being very quiet hardly anyone there but put this down to the time of year and the cold weather at night. We were left with the lobby bar and Archie's none are what we would choose on a night out but you make do with what you have got. The lobby bar is very quiet and Archie's is like some bad club out of the 80's however we still made the most of it we can't expect the brilliant chilled days to turn into a lively party at night!
The bay view staff and lobby bar staff were so friendly (except for the bald guy in the lobby bar, he didn't wear a name badge so not to sure! no matter how hard we smiled he ignored us when we went for drinks, didnt speak to us and constantly poured is half glasses of beer in what was already a small glass!) I believe you put in what you want to get out and by the end of the week we were treated as friends, their service is brilliant.
We tried the south Sinai massage in the spa very relaxing and made us even more chilled out! Perfect!
The only hiccup we had was check out today, we paid for late check out. When we woke that morning our room had no power so no hair dryer, no plugs working to charge our gadgets to keep us occupied for the ride home. We went to reception who said they would send someone to look at it and we went to the pool for the last bit of sun. When we got back to the room it had not been sorted, rang reception who said someone will be with us 20 minutes max. We waited and still no one came ended up having our shower and leaving. Got to reception who didn't seem to know what we were talking about (even though it was the same guy from the morning) they said I could use the spa to dry my hair (one of the reasons we paid for late check out) they did apologies but it felt such as shame to end the holiday like that the reason we got late check out was to be chilled right to the last minute.. And our gadgets died on the way home making that 6 hour flight feel that little bit longer.
Overall excellent stay, brilliant location would recommend to friends with young families as the facilities and entertainment seemed great for them. We will return at some point in the future I'm sure of it!

Stayed: January 2013
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Dear JoJo,
thank you very much for your great review. We are glad that you have generally enjoyed your stay. Please accept our apologies for the departure. We occasionally experience general power cuts outside our control however it seems to be an isolated problem in your room which we didnt handle perfectly at the time. We have discussed this in our quality meeting and surely have improvements implemented right away.
Hope to see you back for more...
Your crew of the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We have just come back from a two week stay here and have mixed feelings about the place. I will try and break it down in a honest but sorry quite long review.

Food - The first week was a lot better than the 2nd maybe this was because it was getting repetitive. Maybe the restaurant should have a two weekly menu as to make sure guests that are staying for two weeks do not end up eating the same things and getting bored. The food even though repetitive was nice and we were able to find something to eat every night if you got creative. In addition to the above our waiter was lovely and knew what we wanted to drink at every meal time and we had no trouble getting a drink apart from one evening when our usual waiter wasn't around and our meal was nearly finished before we got a drink. One slight odd thing though was the girl standing at the entrance to the restaurant slightly confused us as we couldn’t work out what she was doing there if she was supposed to be telling people to use the hand gel then it wasn’t working.

On a very positive note The New Years Eve Gala meal was great and proves the chefs can really cook my hat goes of them and the other staff on the night what a great job they did.

Also do try the dine around scheme we went to the Mexican and Indian for a change of scenery and some different food. The hotel needs to promote this service more!!.

Rooms - are nice although maybe some updating here or there could be done but more than suitable for our needs with big comfy beds and big bathrooms with a nice walk in shower and the cleaner was great even knowing to put two shampoo and conditioners in my room as I have quite long hair and one wasn't enough. However here is the negative about the rooms and I'm sorry to have to write this but I have never stayed anywhere that is so noisy. Doors banging the whole night and early morning. Walls so paper thin you could here everything and we were very unlucky as we had a child next door to us who would wake up 3/4 times a night screaming and crying, once you got over the screaming child the Russians would wake you up either going back to their rooms or getting up . (Before the manager can say that it was mainly British staying there as in a previous post, it was Russians who kept us up every night for two weeks as we recognised the language that was being shouted out).

Bars – The service at the bar by the pool and reef bars was not great. It was very slow and the bartenders looked like they would rather be anywhere else than there in two weeks both never smiled. One afternoon after 10 days the bartender at the Reef bar suddenly decided that we couldn’t take a coffee to our sun loungers on the beach how strange when his colleague actually brought two coffees over to us earlier in the day (waiter bringing drinks around on the beach brilliant what a lovely guy always had a smile on his face and his two colleagues serving could learn alot from him) The Cross roads bar had a lot better service with a smile and very friendly waiters who would run back and fourth serving drinks all night.
Archers bar was good but a little dark at times but great to escape the kids on sugar highs running around outside in the court yard. Although it is an over 18’s bar there were some children in there but if they were being a nuisance were promptly told to leave by the bar staff although some children thought it ok to answer them back and be extermely rude to them. Hat goes off to the animation team and bar staff in the evenings for putting up with this and to keep smiling when I really would have wanted to hang the children by their feet from the nearest lampost as some where so rude.

The only let down of the bars and restaurant is that they seems very possessive about their glasses, they don’t allow you to take drinks to your rooms which was strange in itself as I have never stayed anywhere all inclusive where this has been a problem but they also don’t allow you to take them even if you explain you are taking them to dinner or from dinner to a bar.

Pool area, beach, and surrounding hotel - The pool, beach and grounds of the hotel are lovely they are kept extremely clean and I didn’t see any rubbish throughout my stay. The vibe on the beach is of pure relaxation and this is what we wanted so it hit the nail on the head so in this respect was perfect. We had a massage and scrub at the spa which was lovely and a nice way to end our holiday. The staff on the whole were really friendly and lovely apart from one or two. If the other issues could be sorted out then this would be a great hotel. However we are in two minds as to whether we would go back here the main reason being the amount of noise surrounding our bedroom a shame really as it is overall a good nice hotel.Maybe this is our fault and we should have asked to have been moved but judging by other people comments we would have probably been charged for the privilege of having a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Try not to end up in a room next to a small child/children you will not sleep.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank em123_2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Hi em123,
thank you for taking the time for such a detailed review. We will certainly share it in our next quality meeting. Your food related comments have been discussed and we are working on new concepts to be implemented soon, then the hostess mentioned will also play a more active role. You come and see!
In regards to the noise I would like to refer to the other reviews (see i.e. Andy just above this review, staying at the same time as yourself) which attest us to be highly relaxing and a heaven of relaxations and peaceful vacation. Please accept our apologies as this did not work 100% this time. We shall be further working on our Relaxation line which already features the Relaxation Beach, the Relaxation SPA and other features to come. All at no extra cost. Peace and quiet is for free with us!
Best wishes for 2013 from the Crew of the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

i enjoyed every detail in the place , after a 8 busy months i could restore my energy back in 5 days relaxation out there , i am proud of you.
Excellent room , food variety each day in the three meals , staff were very helpful .

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahmed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Dear Ahmed,
what a fantastic picture and review to share with others! Thank you very much and looking forward to many returns!
Greetings and all the best for 2013,
Your InterContinental Taba Heights Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Once again we had a Lovely Christmas and New Years break at the Intercontinental. A big thank you to the hotels amazing hard working, cheerful, and helpful staff for making our stay once again special. A big Thank you to Chris Jeng GM for keeping his promise, from our last visit, to improve the hotels wine quality which I am happy to say he did with great success. Cheers Chris. The weather was a hot and sunny 25-28 degrees throughout our 14 day stay (except 1 day overcast). The Gala dinner was a dream ,good food and well presentented. The rooms were cleaned to a good standard daily and there was an improvement in general to hotel, has it's sparkle back. I have read some comments re birds in the restaurant and yes they do take food from plates but then again why people have to 'stock pile ' food onto there table like its going out of fashion, I will never understand there was always plenty - get want you want then ...EAT IT. Really it's not a problem. We met up with some old Inter friends and also made new one's. The bar service both at the splash bar, the cross raods bar and beach bar was excellent.(Thanks Siad, Ossama, Alaa, Sherif and Emad .) The restaurant staff although very busy, worked their hardest and always had a smile. The people I can imagine who say the staff were rude probably need to look in a mirror and say honestly if they treated them with the respect they deserve and not as a personal holiday slave ..they may have got a smile back!!!
To sum up ..Good value, good weather good food fabulous company (you know who you are people) and last but not least a big thanks to Victoria our Thompson rep, always available, interacted with the guests and was very helpfully best rep I've come across on any holiday. Thanks Tori.
Thanks again to Chris & Michela and all the wonderful staff.
Look forward to our next trip to the Intercontinental.

Andrea & James xx

Room Tip: Higher rooms are better no noise from above guests
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ANDIJIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Dear Andrea,
Dear James,
We certainly are here to keep our promises and one of them is to make precious vacations special! We are certainly delighted that it worked so well for you and we will be more than happy to see you back with us soonest! We will share your great note with our team on the next team member gathering.
Happy 2013 once again and best wishes from the entire Crew!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

My partner and I arrived on xmas day for a week to the intercontinental , we flew from manchester on a thompson flight. I would like to know when a short haul flight becomes a long haul flight as i believed it was over 5 hours. You have to arrive at the airport 3 hours before you fly and you are then crammed on a plane more suitable for a flight to spain! There is no food or entertainment included on board, instead everything is sold at a premium price. A hand held entertainment unit is sold to you for £10 but if you are unfortunate enough to be sat behind someone who reclines there seat then it is shoved in your face. The pilot even suggested that the flight time was only 4hours 59mins even though we were 20mins late taking off. i have enjoyed and felt more relaxed on a 10hour flight to Cancun. I know some people will think this site is just a hotel review but your flight should be enjoyable and is an important factor of your overall holiday experience, giving the percentage of time spent on your flight,thompson need to do better.

We arrived at Taba airport in the evening where it was dark and cold and a few anxious faces, including our own, but we were assured by the coach rep that we were well above sea level and it would be warmer when we got down to sea level and our resort. This proved correct,the airport is were they take the daily temperature, so always add on a few degrees.

Booked in, we were given a room with the view of the mountains and golf course which were spectacular.The room is large and has everything you need,tv,safe,hair dryer,tea making facilities, large walkin shower. There is a fridge with beer,soft drinks but this is not part of your all inclusive package, which i found surprising.

The hotel is large with a lagoon and large swiming pool which is split into two, one side is heated . The pool attendents work well all day doing lifeguard duties plus sorting out sunbeds,towels and keeping the areas clean and dry to stop slipping plus you get a very regular drinks service brought to your sunbed. For us the standout was a young man called Elshahat who was always eager to make sure you had everything you needed to have a relaxing day.

We only ate in the buffet resaurant and as a chef myself i know how difficult it is to keep everything hot using this chaffer dish system. Saying that i did have some dishes that were flat cold, porridge being one off them. We always found somthing to eat and the staff were always looking to help if there was somthing else you needed. I think this is the key, if you dont see, ask and they are always keen to help.

The entertainment is very low key. Apart from the 11am Aqua aerobics class i didnt see them for the rest of the day. The evening entertainment is much the same,with some dancing,bingo,and a singing act that was entertaining for all the wrong reasons. There are two bars in use at night the Archers bar which is dark and has loud dance music playing and the lobby bar which is quiet. Neither were very busy making us think that most people went to bed early or there was a livley bar somewhere that we didnt know about.Although we wanted a relaxing holiday it would have been nice to have a couple of entertaining nights. One tip if you are going at this time of year take a jumper as it does get cold in the evening.

We were there for the new year gala and you could see that the hotel put a lot of effort into the night. The chefs laid out a fantasic cold display plus there was bbq food and other displays.The table layouts and service were good as well. There was entertainment laid on to make sure that everyone enjoyed them selves. The one thing that i did find weird was that the all inclusive drinks package finished at 23.00hrs.Now knowing that the main reason of seeing in the new year is to stay up till 12 o'clock i do feel the hotel could have pushed an extra hour.

Overall we did have a good relaxing holiday and it was good to stay in a hotel were the full managment team were allways visable and wanting to talk to there guests. Even down to chris the manager coming to the departure coach to thank you and to have a safe journey home.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmao_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

Dear Imao,
great to read about your vacation! Happy that we were able to be the ones providing you with the framework for it! We shall be working on your constructive comments and suggestions to get the full 5 stars on TripAdvisor next time.
Greetings from the crew of the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

My husband and I had another fabulous 2 week holiday at our favourite hotel, this was our 8th visit to this hotel. The staff are amazing they cannot do enough for you, they are always smiling and very helpful. The staff at Splash Bar, Alaa, Emad, Mohammed, Ahmed and all the others who work very hard at keeping drinks flowing, also the same can be said for the bar staff at Bay View bar. The waiters at the Bay View restaurant Amr, Mhetat and all the staff who make our dining experince great. The food is fantastic and anyone who fails to find something to eat must be very very fussy.There are a few small issues, but Chris the manager and all the management team do their very best to resolve any complaints you may have. We had none.Our room was spotless as usual. The beach and pool attendants are so friendly and did their very best to make our stay incredible.The animation team are fab they do thier very best to keep you entertained. Thanks to all the staff who we have not mentioned you are all great. We will be returning in Feb 2013. and hopefully many more times.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerlyn4647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

Dear Kerlyn,
thank you so much for your great review and kind words! Great to see you back so soon! We shall be doing our utmost to make your February stay as great as those before!
Best wishes from the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taba hotels
9.7 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
7.8 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#7 of 22 in Taba
66 reviews
16.8 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#12 of 22 in Taba
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Miramar Resort Taba Heights
9.5 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights

Address: P.O.Box 10 Taba Heights | Taba Heights, Taba 46621, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Taba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#2 Spa Hotel in Taba
#3 Family Hotel in Taba
Price Range: £43 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strand Golf Beach & Golf Resort Taba Heights is part of a premier resort community on the Red Sea coast. Surrounded by desert mountains, white sand beaches and turquoise waters, it offers a wealth of leisure options including golf, water sports, shopping and gaming. A short drive away are Pharaoh s Island, Colored Canyon and the Taba Protected Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Taba Heights Hotel Taba
Hotel Intercontinental Taba Heights
Intercontinental Hotel Taba Heights
Taba Intercontinental
Taba Heights Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing