We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great holidays, wonderful landscapes, very good staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Taba
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
“great holidays, wonderful landscapes, very good staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

Me and my friend spent very nice 7 days in InterContinental Taba Heights and I'm really delighted we chose that hotel. After reading some reviews we had a lot of doubts but I'm very happy we took the risk and went there. Everything was really better than we expected.
At first there was a good animation staff so our days and evenings were much more interesting. During the day guys were trying to encourage all the tourists to do aqua gym with them, play water-polo and volleyball later. Especially involved in all the games was Callum- british guy who loves to spend time with guests. In the evenings there was a show with the dancers, fakir, singer and the disco after the show.
We really liked the cuisine. The food was really tasty, there was a large variety of dishes so everyone could find something good for himself. All the waiters were nice and polite, trying to do their best.
We were spending most of our time at the pool but the beach is very beautiful and clean. From the beach you can see the mountains on the other coast. We were in Taba in the last week of April 2013 and the weather was simply perfect! During the day it was 35-40C and the evenings were very warm as well.
The rooms were really spacious and clean.
We would recommend this hotel to everyone:)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xoxoklaudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Hi Klaudia,
thank you for your recommendation! We are ever so happy that you had a delightful and restful stay with us! Thank you also for sharing your experience with others here on TripAdvisor! We will pass on your praise to the team and Callum in specific. He just joined so great feedback to start!
Best wishes to Poland and see you back soon.
Your Crew of the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,207
    590
    227
    91
    73
See reviews for
535
1,085
52
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

This was our 8th visit and it just keeps getting better.
We stayed in our favourite room for the 4th time and enjoyed the excellent service from the bars and restaurants.
You really must try Lagoon for BBQ and Mezz, and Birds Nest for award winning Thai dishes.
We are now planning our 9th and 10th visits.

Room Tip: Join Intercontinental Club
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cromwellhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Dear Howard,
great feedback and let us know whether there is anything we can do to assist planning your 9th, 10th and any visit beyond this!
See you soonest!
Your InterContinental Taba Heights Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Quickly I will point all the negative aspects of the so called inter continental.

1st, service is terrible. especially in the restaurants & the bars. waiters are very impolite, unprofessional, tend to treat Egyptians in a very bad way. Also, bell captain is really aggressive & impolite.
2nd, cleanliness is catastrophic. after room service has come to clean the room, I found the new bed sheet they put stained with blood drops!! toilet in the room was so dirty as if they didn't clean it.
3rd, slow or no response to our complaints.
4th, food was average & little variety except bakery which was awesome.
5th, room furniture was not up to the standard. TV set is old & obsolete with a broken remote control!!

The only good staff is the reception staff who are really polite & helpful. Location & facilities 9pool. gym room, etc...) are great.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank El_Aswany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear El Aswany,
thank you for your review, even though it of course not of the nature of what we desire to achieve. We naturally aspire to a very international clientele and do by no means differentiate between nationalities of any kind.
We have discussed your feedback with our teams and will monitor closely the correct application of our company culture throughout the hotel and towards everybody... now and in the future.
Please accept our apologies if you had the feeling that this was not the case during your stay.
With best wishes from the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

My wife and I have, as a rule, avoided AI package holidays however, having had 3 good experiences in Dubai and Grenada we thought we'd try this one. Regrettably this is the AI package type we've been trying to avoid and it was more our expections than anything to do with the hotel.
Buffet service is frantic, meals at best can only be warm and after poking, prodding by the countless preceding guests, will probably not even be that. The food is well cooked and the variety is reasonable. Bread and pastries are spectacular and deserts, cakes and fresh fruit, plentiful. Unfortunately some of the guests, a significant minority, have some very disgusting and unhygeinic habits and I suspect more likely to be the source of stomach upsets than anything the hotel does. My tip for rescuing a reasonable evening from the buffet restaurant is to aim for the terrace - let the staff clear and lay up a table for you and never leave you food unattended (the birds and flies will start without you).
Having been shell shocked at the buffet, we were quite content to eat "a la carte" on at least alternate nights. We expected, and were happy to pay a supplement but you will experience a lot of disinformation on this. The bottom line - book directly with the restaurant 24 hours in advance - pay full price for food but use your AI drinks package. Food price are not much less than UK (lobster at El Mar for 2 cost about £77, fish market was about £55 for 2). Lagoon Restaurant is mainly mezze, pay if you like but probably same as buffet - BBQ two or three times a week. We booked the BBQ but our reservation was lost so they set up an extra table for us - regrettably driectly under roosting bird - the inevitable happened just as out starter was being served - clothes ruined/meal abandoned. Tip - sit on outside tables.
Free shuttle between the five hotels but you can easily walk using jogging path along beach (good security and well lit).
Dine around privilege lets you eat in the buffet of any othe hotel - book that morning at reception to get voucher - food included but pay for all drinks. Buffets very similar in all hotels but many are smaller and perhaps better controlled. Drink measures variable, who cares if its AI but you will pay close to UK prices ( we lost our drinks between course in the Hyatt) - probably best to buy a bottle (local wine about £16.50 - imported wine - ouch!).
Book 24 hours in advance for "a la carte" in all hotels, but if you are non resident you pay for everything (current offer while we were there was free starter and desert).
Pool and beach was busy on many days during our stay and sunbeds do seem to get booked long before we get out of bed - don't panic - pick up towels and let the life guards find you your place in the sun.
In conclusion, if you suffer culture shock like we did, relax and let the staff help you - they really are excellent and at the end of your stay show them a little appreciation, I don't think many people do.
Would we go again? One week for winter sun - maybe if price was right but two weeks would be too long.
Suggestions for the hotel management:
It would be nice to see senior managers getting more involved with the guests.
Better in room information particularly about what is included and not included.
Grey water irrigation - very smelly late afternoon - is it safe to use to damp down lagoon sand?

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Devon149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Hi Devon,
thank you for your review. Great that you enjoyed our a la carte restaurants and obviously we love your closing comment:
In conclusion, if you suffer culture shock like we did, relax and let the staff help you - they really are excellent!
We will communicate with our Tour Operators to even better inform their clients of the many options we got to offer as well as will review our handout which you have received on check in.
Maybe see you back for a relaxing week at some point in the future.
Your InterContinental Taba Heights Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

This was our second visit to InterContinental Taba Heights, Easter 2012 and Easter 2013, it will not be our last :).
Check-in was fast considering we were such a large party. Ahmed Maher was excellent.
We had three rooms 1530,1531 and 1534....(our preferred rooms) which we were very happy with, spacious is not the word for them.....beautifully clean with a large bathroom, amazing terrace balcony with amazing pool and sea views. Hairdryers included in the room so no need to pack your's. Adapters are the same as you would use in Spain, thought this would be useful to know.
Food, was beautifully prepared everyday and was really good. Breakfast was lovely, the guy who did the eggs did them to perfection.
All of the Chefs were great, Madkour Hamed even prepared Tabouli especially for my husband on a couple of occasions which he didn't have to do.
We ate at another hotel one night, Sofetel, much preferred the InterContinental.
The only negative would be the other guests, rude Palestine guests with the wild children pushing in the Que and making awful mess of the tables and area although the staff where there to clean it up, I just thought is there any need for such animal behavior? They were the same at the pool, loud and intimidating to older guests. They would come down late and just put their stuff on people loungers? Russian's were sour faced and rude too!
Pool and beach area where excellent. Always cleaned constantly. All of the pool attendants where exceptional and attentive. Constant drinks where brought by Ahmed.
The entertainment team where good fun and always encouraging our party to join in their games and activities which we did and it made for a much more fun holiday than lying on your sun lounger all day! Moody, Dale, Mido, the girl we called Panama and the rest of the team work really hard all day and night.
In the evening the entertainment kicks off with mini disco which our two of the children in our party would not miss for the world. They loved it. Dale even taught them little dance routines separably which made them feel party of the entertainment team. The entertainment is good and the La Vacca team work really hard to keep us entertained but there was one act that we thought was hilariousness, a male singer who sings in about 4 different languages. He was awful but great entertainment, we were all in hysterics.
We went on a couple of trips, quad biking, diving and snorkeling. The quads where brilliant. Great team that work there and they made our day so funny. The boat trip was awesome, our party had an amazing day snorkeling and diving and the food the captain made was delicious.
We also attended the festival in up town. A lot of organisation had gone in to it. The fire show's and the band was amazing.
We made the most of our holiday everyday we were there, up at the crack of dawn until the entertainment finished and when we were not having fun joining in with the entertainment team we just flopped out on a lounger catching the rays. This is an amazing place please don't change it we love it just the way it is. A big thank you to all the staff from the gardeners to the cleaners right up to the general manager Chris Jung for making our stay brilliant.

Room Tip: We had the best rooms, at the top so no noise and the best views of the sea and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Hi Gail,
wow... what a review! Thank you for your efforts and time to share your vacation experience at our resort. Simply wonderful and shall be shared with our team via our quality focus meetings... Great encouragement!
Thank you very much for this and looking forward to your return.
Your InterContinental Taba Heights Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week in mid march and booked through an online agent on a late booking. It was the holiday we wanted - fantastic weather and a nice resort. We stayed in the atrium building which overlooked the lagoon bar and had sea views. Food: Buffet is always a bit hit and miss but generally the food was of a good standard. We did have a meal at the lagoon restaurant and bar which was good and went to the Sofitel for the Egyptian night which was a nice change. If you are there just to chill out and get some sun and read a few books we recommend getting a spot on the beach every day. The pool can get a bit noisy with kids (think we stayed over some Easter hols) but the beach was nice and quiet and normally had a nice breeze coming off the sea. Mo the beach waiter was always very attentive with supplying us with drinks too! All in all I would recommend this hotel for a break as a couple, a young family or a group of families. We would consider visiting again.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BenRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Dear BenRo,
thank you for your recommendation and we are looking forward to your return!
We are glad to have met your taste spot on and that you had time to relax and enjoy the beauty of Taba Heights. Thank you for sharing your experience with others!
Best regards from the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

Stayed here for a week during the Easter holidays in the UK, the location of the hotel was excellent- lovely beach (although do pick up some cheap sea shoes from one of the shops). There were some excellent staff- the manager of Le Mer and The Reef deserves a special mention, he couldn't do more for us when we had evening drinks and dinner there in the A la Carte restaurant- excellent by the way. The rooms were spacious, we had a great view over looking the lagoon and the cleaning was spotless all week.
On a less positive note I did not think the AI offering was as good as other places I have stayed- the restaurant was not big enough for all the guests and on one occassion had the door barred by staff with a queue of 50 people outside! The food was quite repetative- to be expected, but not as much variety as other 5* hotels I've stayed in. The drinks were waiter service only- which would have been ok if the waiters weren't so busy that it was half way through your main course before they arrived- and the service in the main bar leaves a lot to be desired.
Overall we had a good relaxing stay, but not at the 5* level I had been hoping for and that I have received in other world class resorts in Egypt.

Top tips:
Sit outdoors for breakfast- the waiters are lovely, and coffee re fills are frequent (just avoid the crows!)
The relaxation zone on the beach is lovely and peaceful
Take advantage of opportunity to dine, for free, in the AI restaurants at the other hotels- we went to the Marriott and it was lovely- if I went again I'd try the Hyatt and Sofitel as well
Stick to wine in the main bar- the free poured spirits are lethal- cocktails in the Reef bar are much better made!!
If you like fish, eat at Le Mer on a Thursday- you get to select you own catch and its grilled to perfection
Be warned that whatever you ask of reception they will say 'please come back tomorrow and we'll sort that- forward planning doesn't seem to be a strong point

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caz0601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Dear Caz,
thank you for your balanced review. We have enjoyed the array of positive aspects you have experienced during your stay. Happy to see that we have managed to implement some improvements already and that we are on the right track with others (i.e. the spirits are to be changed as soon as the old line is available again in Egypt as of next week due to maintenance of their plant).
When the hotel is very busy, we prefer to seat people in the dining room to avoid confusion over taken and available tables and to improve service delivery. You will find that we only stop our guests in need times, not generally. We have received a lot of positive feedback on this, but will work on better communication.
We have discussed your feedback on handling with reception. When it comes to room moves, etc. there might also be slight delays due to availability, however this needs to be also communicated.
Overall a nice feedback for us and a good vacation for you.
Hope to see you back,
Your InterContinental Taba Heights Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taba hotels
9.6 mi away
Taba Hotel & Nelson Village
16.8 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#12 of 23 in Taba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
7.8 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#9 of 23 in Taba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Taba Heights
9.7 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel
1.0 mi away
El Wekala Resort, Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights

Property: Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights
Address: P.O.Box 10 Taba Heights | Taba Heights, Taba, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Taba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#2 Spa Hotel in Taba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#3 Family Hotel in Taba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strand Golf Beach & Golf Resort Taba Heights is part of a premier resort community on the Red Sea coast. Surrounded by desert mountains, white sand beaches and turquoise waters, it offers a wealth of leisure options including golf, water sports, shopping and gaming. A short drive away are Pharaoh s Island, Colored Canyon and the Taba Protected Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Taba Heights Hotel Taba
Hotel Intercontinental Taba Heights
Intercontinental Hotel Taba Heights
Taba Intercontinental
Taba Heights Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing