We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fair review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Taba
Certificate of Excellence
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A fair review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We got back yesterday from a one week stay at this hotel. The weather was fantastic, 40+ degrees ever day, no cloud, no rain.. It might be too hot for those that want to go exploring. For sun worshipers it was fantastic although I'd suggest staying out of it at midday and drinking plenty of water. The hotel was lovely, the rooms really spacious, clean and comfortable. We had a lovely view of the pool and the sea. The air cons works brilliantly, there is room service available not that we used it, a kettle and tea bags/coffee but no milk. I struggled to take milk from the restaurant to my room as I was stopped, so a bit pointless. The showers were huge - nice big walk in ones. Rooms cleaned daily. Most of the staff were really pleasant. Not as chatty/friendly as previous holidays in Cyprus, Turkey, Greece etc.... Some more friendly than others. The only one thing that really put a downer on this holiday was the fact that we were both poorly all week with tummy upset. I strongly recommend you bring plenty of immodium as the nearest pharmacy is a at the local town (which is very remote). It's very cheap but just not convenient to go to when you're not well. We spoke to many people staying at the hotel who were all suffering from tummy upset (even on the plane!) I avoided ice (even though they advise all ice is made with filter water) We can only presume it was the food. There was plenty of choice every breakfast, lunch and dinner but in the end we come to dread meal times, as we were always ill afterwards.

Location: Taba is very remote - you are practically in the middle of no where. There are trips available to do, we spent the day on a sail boat and stopped off to go snorkelling and even tried scuba diving for the first time - it was all quite cheap. If I were to ever come to Egypt again I would only go somewhere like Sharm where there is a little more life, atmosphere and less chance of being ill!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Becca_Sevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Hi Becca,
thank you for your review. Glad you have generally enjoyed your time with us. We are certainly more the relaxation type of resort which gives great access to some cultural sites (Petra, Jerusalem, St Catherine, etc.) or sports (golfing, diving & watersports, etc.). There should have been creamer in your room (will follow up on this) as fresh milk is risky in those temperatures. We do not allow guests to take any potentially sharp items from the bars & restaurants to protect others who mostly walk in sandals and bare-feed (just in case something breaks). We have just recently won the Egypt Hygiene award the second year in a row for our practices and are constantly controlled by a 3rd party. Immodium should hence only be necessary to bridge the climate change (high 30ties outside and a - as attested by you - very well and idividually adjustable A/C in the room). Hope you are better and enjoy some nice menories...
Best regards from the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,214
    591
    228
    91
    74
See reviews for
541
1,087
52
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We travelled with first choice to Taba Heights in April and it was simply excellent. Our room was lovely overlooking the bay and the swimming pool there is also a sea water lake in the hotel where you can go snorkelling as there are fish in the water.

Our Holiday rep Caroline was superb - I think probably the best rep we've had on any holiday abroad with first choice - lending me her ipad charger was a life saver as I left mine at home!

From the food to the staff to the all inclusive bar we loved every second of our trip and hope to return to intercontinental very soon

Room Tip: Pay for the upgrade the view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Racousvbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Racousvbot,
lovin' it! Great feedback for your past vacation!
See you back soonest and be assured that we will pass on the comment to Caroline.
Best wishes from your InterContinental Taba Heights Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acre, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

I usually don't write reviews.. but sometimes you just have to...
the food in this hotel was very poor.. ( get a new chef )
i've been to this hotel 3 times i came back because i enjoyed it but this last trip was it for me
if the food is bad that's all you need to know.. oh i'm not one of those picky eaters.
and another thing i dont like to be ignored just because i'm not a lady.. the barman call yasser
kept ignoring me everytime i ordered a drink.the first time i let it slide, but if you see somebody getting service because the are woman and you keep on getting ignored it hurts
and this happened 5 times i just sat there saying to myself that this is the last time i go to this hotel..thanks but no thanks... next time i'll take business to another hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nimerakko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Hi Nimerakko,
thank you for the time to post a review exceptionally for your last stay with us. We have shared your review with the culinary team in kitchen and service. Be assured... they will take it serious and possibly you will be giving the hotel a 5th chance to see that this was a unique mishap.
Looking forward showing you true InterContinental Taba Heights Resort hospitality and quality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Great Hotel and the most friendly staff and most helpful. Food's great and all is great and We will come back again and again. The Golf course are amazing and a blessing to play on a lovely course like this.
Keep up the good work.

Helpful?
Thank Buksie1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elias K, Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Buksie1100

Thanks for the great review. Hope to see you soon
Your Intercontinental Taba Heights Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Just returned from a week at the Intercontinental Taba, had it's pro's and con's which are as follows -
Pro's -
- Room size, large room, big bathroom with a spacious balcony and nice sea/pool view
- Location/scenery, mountains to the back, Red sea to the front with views of Jordan and Saudi Arabia, with a nice enough beach
- Snorkelling, to the right hand side of the beach we saw some nice fish but better if you walk down to the Hyatt or Sofitel pier's (10-15 mins walk)
- Weather, 37 deg at 11am, I think it hit 45 at 1 point, evening's were really nice also
- Staff, Osiris and Dale on the entertainment team, Amaar in the restaurant and the beach towel man stood out as welcoming, helpful and jolly. Our room cleaner 1316 was also nice!
- El Mar for lunch, set menu but well cooked tasty food
- Food, breakfast and lunch were fine, egg station in the morning, enough selection for lunch
- Drinks, overall this was a pro, beer and white wine not too bad, cocktails were good depending on who made them

Con's -
- This is not a typical 5* hotel, it would need lots of odd jobs completing to get up to a normal 5* standard, shower cubical had broken tiles and grout, restaurant carpet had stains all over, rug in room was stained
- Having to pay to eat at the El Mar and Lagoon restaurants for dinner, not what you expect from an all inclusive package, you should be offered 1 free visit or at least a discounted rate as a hotel guest!
- Egyptian belly, all four of my party were ill with bad stomachs during our stay, and plenty of other hotel guests were complaining of exactly the same symptoms, even Dale from the entertainment team spent a day in his room through illness
- Food, the dinner was basic, not a large selection and generally curry, potatoes and veg, sometime overcooked and often very cheap cuts of meat.
- Checkin/checkout process, when we arrived we were the last off the coach, we were then at the back of a queue of 82 guests, the hotel provided 3 staff to give out rooms, this took roughly 45 mins and wasn't much fun! On our departure it was even worse, the hotel had started to get busy at the end of our stay, we went to checkout and this time there were only 2 reception staff, this was an embarrassment to the hotel in my eyes.
- Staff, the bar staff at the crossroads bar were hardly happy to serve you, and never cracked a smile!
- Two Brothers beauty salon staff, they walk round the pool all day, trying to sell you beauty treatments, slightly pushy, even though they were nice guys it got a bit tiring after a few days!

Overall we had a nice relaxing week, in the sunshine, the majority of the hotel staff are a pleasure to meet, the food needs to improve slightly, the Red Sea is great for swimming/snorkelling, our week was slightly ruined by our Egyptian belly experiences but all in all this hotel did the job!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Claire173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Hi Claire,
thank you for your detailed review and the pros & cons. We obviously enjoy the pros and will be working to move those cons up. Just as a comment on temperature and on the a la carte Dining. Temperatures reach 40ties in July and August only. It is still nice as it is a very dry warmth which only requires you to drink a lot of water and you need to make sure you do not cool your room too much as this causes the body systems to react funny (this also goes for the 30ties temperatures - we recommend 23C in the room as a compromise.
On dining you do get a substantial discount at all a la carte restaurants. You receive either a starter or a desert free of charge with your main and your drinks are on the house as well. So as a matter of fact you would only pay for 1 main course and have a full meal experience without running dry. We made the calculation before introducing it... it is a better deal to the guest than a 50% off.
We hope to see you back for more relaxation in the future.
Your InterContinental Taba Heights Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

My partner and I went here for 2 weeks and it was very relaxing. Great staff, beautiful hotel and golf course. Golf course was literally next door and there were other hotels down the road and you can get a free bus to them too. Lots of stuff to do on excursions, but the hotel lacked any entertainment. Taba Heights is very secluded, so expect it to be very quiet. Food was excellent, but expect to be a little unwell! Food was just different and it upset our stomachs and others, who were English, felt the same :( Overall, the hotel is excellent, but don't expect to have entertainment.

Room Tip: Get a room with a pool view, the other rooms look out on the gardens/dry land. Go on scuba excursion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Hi Sophie!
Thank you for the recommendation and the great picture of the pools, lagoon and beach!
Mostly the climate change is something our European and beaten (by the lousy weather) bodies are a little struggling with in the beginning. We however are delighted that you had a lovely & relaxing stay... definitely something we stand for!
See you back at the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Just returned from a week here and it actually rained! didnt think that it would in Egypt but then again apparently we went in the rainy season. The hotel looks impressive and we went all inclusive the hotel room was massive and overlooked the pool and with a sea view, the shower was huge and the water always hot. Breakfast was mostly good, lunch and dinner were very good. Only whinge is that the service in the restaurant could of been much better and around the pool. Entertainment unusual but well entertaining. Would I go back definitely oh and be sure to visit two brothers spa, the threading was worth the money just to watch the head action!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear tooche,
great you have enjoyed your stay with us!
We will keep working on this Restaurant until you'll give us 5 out of 5 on your return visit!
Take care and see you back soon!
Your InterContinental Taba Heights Resort team (and the two brothers :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taba hotels
9.7 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
16.8 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#12 of 23 in Taba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
7.8 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#8 of 23 in Taba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Miramar Resort Taba Heights
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Taba Heights
9.5 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights

Property: Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights
Address: P.O.Box 10 Taba Heights | Taba Heights, Taba, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Taba
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#2 Spa Hotel in Taba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#3 Family Hotel in Taba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strand Golf Beach & Golf Resort Taba Heights is part of a premier resort community on the Red Sea coast. Surrounded by desert mountains, white sand beaches and turquoise waters, it offers a wealth of leisure options including golf, water sports, shopping and gaming. A short drive away are Pharaoh s Island, Colored Canyon and the Taba Protected Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Taba Heights Hotel Taba
Hotel Intercontinental Taba Heights
Intercontinental Hotel Taba Heights
Taba Intercontinental
Taba Heights Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing