We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Taba
Certificate of Excellence
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Glorious holiday”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

My husband and I are just back from two glorious weeks of sunshine at the Intercontinental Hotel in Taba. This was our third holiday at this hotel and we have never been disappointed yet! Although it was much quieter than previous years, due to the situation in Cairo, the Intercontinental team excelled in looking after our every need.

Instead of the usual buffet at breakfast, lunch and dinner, we were treated to a la carte dining in various restaurants as part of the all inclusive package which meant that we had the opportunity to try different foods.

The staff, who are normally warm, friendly and helpful, excelled themselves. They really made our holiday special! A very special thank you to Kaled at El Mar who patiently served us lunch everyday and afternoon tea and ice cream, and to the Animation Team who just never failed to keep us amused.

We couldn't recommend this resort and hotel highly enough for a peaceful and relaxing holiday in guaranteed sunshine! Please don't write Egypt off because of what you have seen on television. This really is a virtually unknown little piece of paradise! Why not try it for yourselves!

Anita and Gary Davison

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita and Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin B, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Anita dear Gary

Thank you for giving all these useful hints as well as writing this nice review describing your experience at our hotel
We all are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.


With best regards
Martin O. Benker
General Manager
InterContinental Taba Heights Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,217
    591
    229
    91
    74
See reviews for
543
1,089
52
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed for 1 week but wished it had been 1 month! There was hardly anyone staying there due to the 'troubles' silly silly people for not going!
Each and every member of staff was absolutely fantastic, they go above and beyond their duties to ensure that their guests have a fantastic holiday. The animation team were great...we had aqua gym, water polo, boules, stretching etc in the daytime and then dancing from Mayo and the guys and belly dancing from Osiris (fantastic lady), fire shows, singers, traditional Egyptian dancing etc in the evening.
Due to the hotel being so quiet we didn't actually eat one buffet meal all week, we were having free a la carte dining each night and the food was amazing, lunch menu had something for everyone and the breakfast also.
Rooms were spacious and impeccably clean, we had lovely hearts, flowers and even elephants made from our towels!
Pools were beautiful and the lagoon was so picturesque especially at night.
The beach is right on your doorstep and you MUST go snorkelling (although the little beach shoes are a must due to the coral etc in the sea). You can catch the turtles at 3.30pm which literally made my holiday.
There are free taf taf buses which can take you to the golf course, other hotels (try the Hyatt for snorkelling off their pier) and uptown for the bids nest (Thai restaurant owned by the hotel included in all inclusive), chemist (be prepared to go and buy yellow pills for an upset tummy as you WILL get a dodgy tum-nothing to do with the food, it's just what happens in Egypt unfortunately). I will say that 7 of us enjoyed a delicious meal at the Mexican but unfortunately all had a bad tummy the next day so maybe avoid here.
On the last day you can use the spa area to store your hand luggage in a locker and the showers and changing room to freshen up before your flight home.
I really cannot praise this hotel and especially the staff enough, would definitely go back in a heartbeat! Thank you for a thoroughly enjoyable holiday :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay-and-Ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin B, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Kay dear Ron

Thank you for reviewing the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort.
We all are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.


With best regards
Martin O. Benker
General Manager
InterContinental Taba Heights Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We returned from the Intercontinental Taba Heights on the 18th September after spending two glorious weeks.
ALL TRAVELLERS PLEASE NOTE - TABA IS SAFE PLEASE CONTINUE TO GO TO THIS RESORT THERE IS NO TROUBLE - That said, now for the review. We were welcomed back (thank you Waala) and was told that the resort was very quiet due to the ''alleged'' trouble. We were treated like ''Millionaires''. The management team had changed the buffet style meal-times to Al La Carte (except for 1 night and breakfast) at no extra charge because it was more cost effective than putting on a large buffet (lucky us!!). The food prepared by Gilbert the 'resident French Chef' was absolutely lovely, beautifully presented and served by two lovely and very professional waiters Mahmoud and Asaad (they were delightful). We dined at the Birds Nest the El Mar and at the Lagoon (thanks Siad and Ahmed at the Lagoon).
The pool staff were also lovely and gave us yet again great service.
We had some memorable meals met up with some old friends (staff and holiday makers) and enjoyed our holiday emmensely.
I'm disappointed by the fact that we can no longer fly to Taba direct as Thompson and Monarch have now stopped flying.We are now having to traveling up from Sharm which is a 2 hour journey, but a good testament to the Hotel that we are prepared to travel. It's absolutely worth it.
The animation team gave us entertainment and practised hard everyday in an effort to please the guests. Zezo, Mayo and Orisia good effort.
The new Manager Martin was very hospitable and very easy to talk to and was interested on his guests thoughts on all aspects of the hotel.
In summary the Hotel is doing a great job during this quiet time for them, but rest assured the standards remain high. We look forward to our next trip to Taba (already booked)
Andrea & James

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANDIJIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin B, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Andrea dear James

Thank you for reviewing the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort in such a beautiful and helpful way.
I will gladly forward your review to our teams and thank you very much beeing such a loyal guest.
We all are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.


With best regards
Martin O. Benker
General Manager
InterContinental Taba Heights Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic holiday at the Intercontinental Hotel.
We booked this Hotel very last minute and were slightly apprehensive, but were assured by the travel company that it was perfectly safe to travel here.
This hotel is truly an oasis, it was only around 8% occupancy due to other countries banning flights to this region. At no point during our stay did we feel unsafe.
The hotel is extremely clean with beautiful large and spacious rooms, we had a beautiful sea view which is well worth the extra.
The pool area was clean and even the private beach was swept to remove the previous days foot prints!!
All staff from cleaners, pool staff, waiters, bar staff ,animation team to management work extremely hard. They were all very friendly and polite and made a huge effort to ensure we had the perfect holiday.
Food is varied and of a very good standard, we were able to take advantage of the al a carte dining at no extra charge due to the low occupancy.
Thank you for making our holiday perfect!
Thank you for a fabulous holiday!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin B, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Dawn B

Thank you for reviewing the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort in such a beautiful and helpful way.
I will gladly forward your review to our teams and thank you very much for sharing your view on your stay here on TripAdvisor.


With best regards
Martin O. Benker
General Manager
InterContinental Taba Heights Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Just returned from A week in InterContinental Taba Heights.
16th to 23rd September.
The hotel, as had all the others in the resort, had suffered a lot from the bad publicity,
Ignore all the bad reviews?
The Hotel is copping very well with the current situation in Egypt. The management are putting 110% effort into keeping up the holiday experience.
Just be aware that due to low occupancy rates the meal plans may change:-
Buffet style meals may be replaced with fixed menu table service.(If you are fussy or like large salads you may be disappointed.
There may be only 1 dinning option.
Be prepared for a very quite holiday - There are very limited trips available outside the resort(restrictions vary day to day - all trips to coloured cannons were cancelled during our stay) be sure to take books or other entertainment items.
The beach is sandy and has a shallow coral reef which is perfect for snorkelling.(take beach shoes and snorkel from Argos and enjoy)
The food is of a very good standard with plenty of choice.
The bar staff and waiters are all very polite.
Rooms were large and clean.
We had a lovely holiday, and nothing was too much trouble!
Only negative - No Wi Fi available for the whole week???

Ignore all the negative reviews, troubles in Cairo etc. - look for special offers and enjoy.
Just remember - Food is Egyptian style and not UK but is of good quality (you can get eggs for breakfast and always find something to eat -lots of chips available).
External trips availability changes daily.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul-j-White
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin B, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Paul-j-White

Thank you for reviewing the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort in such a beautiful and helpful way.

Our teams make our hotel special and they as well as I are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

With best regards
Martin O. Benker
General Manager
InterContinental Taba Heights Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Firstly this hotel is lovely! I was initially put off by some of the negative reviews however I am pleased to say that these reviews were proven wrong. The staff at this hotel are second to none and worked extremely hard to please guest, even at a time when the country had a lot of bad press and reduced guest attending. I would like to say a special thanks to all the hotel waiters as they were all amazing. Mayo from the animation team was super cool and a favourite with the guest! As much as I enjoyed my stay the location of this hotel is extremely remote and there is nothing, I mean literally nothing to do in Taba. Yes it's good for relaxing however apart from the other guests at the hotel I often felt like we were stranded on an abandoned island. There aren't any shops, restaurants and bars to experience in the evenings and quite frankly Taba is clearly under development so may have a bit more to offer in 5 years or so. I am pleased to say that neither me or my party were ill however were extremely cautious of what we ate and always asked for straws when drinking because of the reviews so this may have helped. The rooms were extremely spacious and kept immaculate and the hotel has a good variety of swimming pools. The hotel only has air conditioning in the guest rooms and restaurants so its excruciatingly hot in and around the hotel. I would recommend this hotel for those who strictly like the idea of being stranded on an island and have no intention but to relax and stay on the hotel grounds, as there is NOTHING to do or see in Taba. But for those who want a little more from their holiday and the option to go for walks and nights out, then go elsewhere. I'm pleased I was able to experience Taba Heights but won't be returning anytime soon due to the location.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MaxMax2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin B, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear MaxMax2013.

Thank you for giving all these useful hints as well as writing this nice review describing your experience at our hotel.
The quiet and convenient location is perfect for having a relaxing break out or for discovering the haunting canyon Treasury of Petra, the solemn Dome of the Rock in Jerusalem or Mount Sinai or the Taba Heights Adventures like Canyon Safari, Castle Zaman or Henry De Monfreid - Relive a pirate's life aboard the graceful sailboat.
Thanks again and hopefully see you soon Taba for another relaxing break.

Best regards
Martin O. Benker
General Manager
InterContinental Taba Heights Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the intercontinental this month after booking about 2 weeks before the trouble in Egypt started. The hotel, as had all the others in the resort, had suffered a lot from the bad publicity, and was only about a tenth full. This suited us lovely as we prefer a quieter holiday anyway, but we did feel for the staff and the locals. The hotel is clean and well presented, the pools are inviting and they even have a saltwater lagoon which has jellyfish on its sandy bottom!
The beach is sandy and has a shallow coral reef which is perfect for snorkelling. We even got to swim with a Red Sea turtle on our last day! There are plenty of excursions on offer although some we were advised couldn't go ahead due to occasional demonstrations inland due to the political disturbances. We spent a day out on a big sailboat and visited a coral island where we could snorkel with a guide and even try scuba for a very reasonable price. The water is warm and the fauna is beautiful.
The weather as expected was hot and sunny, hitting around 41 degrees at midday.
The food is of a very good standard with plenty of choice. The bar staff and waiters are all very polite and speak a number of languages.
We had a lovely holiday, and nothing was too much trouble!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pusscat121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin B, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Pusscat121

thank you for your kind and delightful words. I am pleased that you enjoyed every moment while staying with us.

Therefore, I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.

With best regards

Martin O. Benker
General Manager
InterContinental Taba Heights Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taba hotels
9.7 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
16.8 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#12 of 22 in Taba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
7.8 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#8 of 22 in Taba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Miramar Resort Taba Heights
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Taba Heights
9.5 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights

Property: Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights
Address: P.O.Box 10 Taba Heights | Taba Heights, Taba, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Taba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#2 Spa Hotel in Taba
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#3 Family Hotel in Taba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strand Golf Beach & Golf Resort Taba Heights is part of a premier resort community on the Red Sea coast. Surrounded by desert mountains, white sand beaches and turquoise waters, it offers a wealth of leisure options including golf, water sports, shopping and gaming. A short drive away are Pharaoh s Island, Colored Canyon and the Taba Protected Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Taba Heights Hotel Taba
Hotel Intercontinental Taba Heights
Intercontinental Hotel Taba Heights
Taba Intercontinental
Taba Heights Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing