We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights
Nearby Hotels
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sofitel Taba Heights(Taba)(Great Value!)
US$42
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sol Taba Red Sea(Taba)(Great Value!)
US$35
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$31
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,302)
Filter reviews
2,302 results
Traveller rating
1,279
609
242
96
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,279
609
242
96
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssalt laketaba heightsbay viewpool barother hotelsfishgolf courserelaxing holidayanimation teammain restauranthotel managementall inclusive packagetaf taflunch and dinneraqua gymjordan and saudi arabiacoral reef
Filter
Updating list...
1,334 - 1,339 of 2,302 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2009

A fantastic holiday - didn't want to come home. The hotel was clean the meals good and the sun shone most of the time, cloudy a couple of mornings but still warmer than England. (wasn't hard though this year).

The staff couldn't do enough for you. The hotel was only 25% full so there was no problem with sunbeds etc.

The food was varied - didn't have chips once in 2 weeks. Suited me fine but might not suit everyone!

If you're thinking of going go all inclusive as drinks are very expensive.

Looking forward to going back when I need some winter sun and recharge my batteries!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllyPallyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2009

We stayed at the Intercontinental Taba Heights earlier this month and had the time of our life at the hotel. We were a little concerned about the weather, and the food (the infamous taba-tummy) but could not complain at all.

Taba heights is a kind of closed community resort with 5 luxury hotels. We actually booked the cheapest hotel we could find in the whole of Taba (which turned out to be the intercontinental) but after hearing the complaints of travellers staying in other hotels soon discovered that our hotel was most probably by far the best in the whole resort. It was not crowded and gave us the luxury and calm we wanted on our holiday and also turned out to be a really good operating base to go travel the beautiful Sinai peninsula and South Jordan (Wadi Rum & Petra) on our own.

The intercontinental combined the best of all hotels and had some nice extra's that many other hotels didn't seem to have such as a heated outdoor swimmingpool and an indoor pool and spa (nice to have as the sun goes down around 5pm in winter). The personnel was extremely nice and welcoming and however they were always super-polight, they were not stiff and often in for a joke or a chat.
I heard many people on tripadvisor complain about the food and that was also the main complaint we heard in the hotel. Let's be clear, the food is good but 1) has a local touch that some unexperienced travellers might not like, 2) After 7 days and 14 meals you do get a little bored of the buffet-kind of dishes, it's normal and counts for every resort... BUT the Intercontinental also offers its guest a serious discount to go dine in the many other restaurants in Taba Heights, so if you get bored, just try another place for a change... Still, I have to stress that the buffet at the Intercontinental (definitely breakfast and desserts) was the best I've ever seen (and tasted) anywhere on earth (except new year's brunch at the Ritz Carlton maybe...).

Also, don't let you scare off by warnings about the taba-tummy. The hotel is well aware of the danger of those viruses so they attain the highest hygienic standards in every part of the hotel. All icecubes/tea/coffee/other drinks,... are made with bottled water and all the food is thorougly cooked. The only people who were sick at the hotel when we were there were people who still had the flu or a cold they catched at home in rainy, cold Europe. I even think they have a water purification system in the hotel as people in the hyatt were complaining about the tap water being brown while our tap water was crystal clear...

The only downside of the Taba Heights resort (definitely for independent travelers like us) is that you might feel a little trapped in an expensive luxury resort that is just not the 'real egypt'. People there also don't understand that many among us are not big millionaires. Organized tours in Sinai or to Petra, cab rides, ferry boats, rental cars are all horribly expensive. Moreover we discovered that the travel agents simply lie to you if you ask information on how to 'break out' on your own as they want to make as much extra money as possible on you. They tell you hitch-hiking is extremely dangerous in Egypt while we discovered that hitch-hiking actually replaces the lack of decent publik transport in Sinai (every Egyptian does it, and right outside the Taba Heigts gates -at the Esso Gas station- you'll likely meet about ten fellow local hitch-hikers that will love to assist you. The touroperator also told us the border with Israel was closed (and if not would take us three hours to cross) and that booking the ferryboat to Aqaba without an agent was impossible. Both turned out to be lies too. Sinai is made for tourists and you really don't need people within Taba Heights to 'help' you. From the moment you're outside the resort you'll find out that most people do speak sufficient English and know people enough to offer you the same 'tours' for less than half the price. Just flag a car (or take the East Delta bus) to Nuweiba or Taba and in 5 just five minutes you'll have gotten at least 10 proposals to take you anywhere you want with a real bedouin guide. Also going to Petra is much easier and cheaper on your own than by a touroperator. Just take bus to Taba, cross border on foot to Israel, take cab to Jordan border, cross Jordan border, take cab to Aqaba, rent a car at Thrifty's or Hertz and you'll be in Petra in half the time and for half the money it'll take you by ferry/bus through a touroperator. Also, people don't drive like crazy and the roads are in perfect condition with signs in English.

So please, support the local community and businesses instead of paying your European touroperator too much.

But nonetheless the initial difficulties to discover what's beyond Taba Heights, we had an unforgettable holiday there and would recommend the Intercontinental to anyone, definitely to young people who like a romantic getaway spiced up with some adventure and amazing sights such as in Wadi Rum, Petra, Sinai,...

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jamesonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2009

Ok we stayed in taba heights at the Intercontinental resort arriving 17-1-09, when we arrived we were greated at reception and given a cocktail which was quite pleasant after the long journey from London, moments later the bellboy came and accompanied us to our room, he was very pleasant and once in the room began to give us a very informative tour showing us how things worked and where everything was, the room itself was to a very high standard, a fantastic bathroom with wet room! everything was spotlessly clean, the room was supposed to be a standard double however we were given a super kingsize with amazing views over the sea, beach and pool, we recieved a letter from shaun wheeler the hotel manager thanking us for choosing the resort and we were given a very large fresh cream cake with an arrangement of various fruits!, as we arrived quite late around 22.10pm we took it that dinner would be over however upon arrival to the restaurant we were shown to a table and made to feel very very welcome, the food served in the restaurant was of a very high standard (DO NOT BE PUT OFF BY SOME OTHER SO CALLED REVIEWS) there was a large selection of food available even at 22:15pm, when entering the restaurant look out for a chef called EMAD as this gentleman is very helpful and knowledgable about all the dishes available as well as this EMAD has truly fantastic customer service qualities and he is genuine with it! THANKYOU EMAD YOU MADE OUR STAY EVEN BETTER!!!!!!! We stayed on an all inclusive basis which is highly recommended as it will save you a small fortune, the alcohol served was of a good standard i.e Rum, Brandy even the red wine was of good quality. The breakfast was lovely absolutely everything available and even if you wanted something that was not on offer the chef would make it!, Lunch was very nice especially the soup but there was pasta, cheeses and masses of other hot food which was fantastic. One night we tried out room service and this was delightful and came to the room in super quick time and I must add was very reasonably priced. Moving on to the exterior of the property which was maintained to a very high standard, grounds and gardens well kept and the beach is amazing, very spacious and the sand is beautiful, there are normally a couple of very sweet camels on the beach and are available for rides at most times, The beach staff are very attentive and always bring you water and other drinks. Evening entertainment can be ok most evenings and gave us a giggle especially when we were brought out of the audience and made to stand on a guy who was laying on broken glass and a bed of REAL NAILS! there is also a phillipino group who sing and they are quite good, not to keen on the egyption band though as they became fairly repetetive at times however the is a nightclub if thats is more your cup of tea, just make sure you ask the DJ to play various music as apposed to his selection cd which is hilarious especially when he repeats it constantly but in all fairness he will play whatever you ask, if you want premier league football then this is available also in the club. We were told of a shopping centre located at the three corners hotel which should be avoided as this is terrible and thats being kind. THIS RESORT IS AMAZING AND WE WOULD RETURN TOMORROW, HIGHLY RECOMMENDED TO ALL!!!!!!!!!! YOU WILL LOVE IT!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank tedrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2009

what can i say my husband booked this hotel for xmas and i didnt want to go! but bloody glad i did the hotel was lovely the staff were great and nothing was too much trouble, our room over looked the pool and beach the view was great, room big and very clean, on arrivel we were took to our room and befor my husband could put his hand in his pocket to give atip the lad was off down the hall, so off iwent to tip him you read all sorts befor you go but this was one of the best holidays we have had the people there were great and the staff loved the kids, xmas gala dinner was out of this world 10 out of 10 the management couldnt do enough for you we went on a few trips and had a ball we met some lovely people, hello angie, darren, & daniel we met them on trip to cario it was fun!! our rep kathleen was always happy to help even if it was her meal time and people went up to her it was no trouble she is a great rep so well done thomson she is a most helpful person that you could have for a rep, the other staff at the hotel were all as helpful from bar staff to the towel boys they are always smileing and as for the food if you cant find anything to eat there then id say stay at home!! my husband is afussy eater but loved it all and the kids can eat what we eat but also have there own corner in the dinning room with dvd and sauce, chips etc it is realy good i would take my grandsons there thanks for agreat time my 1st xmas away brill

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank grannyhartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2009

After reading other reviews on the Intercontinental at Taba Heights I was a little concerned about our holiday. I have to say we had a lovely two weeks holiday and we are hoping to re-book.
The hotel was great! clean, good facilities. The food was also very good lots to choose from and the staff were so helpful and friendly. We were there over Christmas and the hotel went to so much trouble to make sure everyone had a good time. Father Christmas was there, wonderful Christmas decorations and xmas eve was excellant. All I can say those people who have written bad reviews about the hotel not being a 5* must stay in the Ritz every year!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CollinsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews