We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place for a weekend getaway”
Review of Cashelmara Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avon by the Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cashelmara Inn
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a weekend getaway”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My sister and I visited Avon for the first time this May and stayed at Cashelmara Inn. It's right across the street from the beach and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Lots of antique furnishings decorate the Inn, it's well maintained and the rooms are accommodating for two people. We stayed in Room 23 (two twin beds). The bathroom was small (shower, no bath), but worked fine. We had a TV in our room and took advantage of the snacks in the dining room later in the afternoons/evenings. The staff serves breakfast from a menu w/ a few different options- everything we had was very good, but the muffins were delicious. We didn't use the theatre room, but the pictures on the Inn's website don't do it justice- it's really nice. We had a great weekend. Thanks, Mary and staff!

Room Tip: Rooms 21, 22 and 23 all have very nice accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    19
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manahawkin, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 23rd wedding anniversary this weekend at the Cashelmara Inn. The house is beautifully decorated, so warm and cozy. Mary the Innkeeper was a wonderful hostess, and made a most delicious breakfast for us. The service was excellent. It was so romantic and comfortable. My wife did not want to go home. I highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast and we are already thinking and waiting to visit again real soon.

Room Tip: Suite 12 was perfect! With the fireplace in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2012

One of our favorite spots in NJ.Great location,with beach/boardwalk right accross street.Staff and service is excellent.The Inn does have 2 dogs(clean,well behaved) on property(Lucy and Leo)that add to the experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Long Branch, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

When my boyfriend and I spent the night at the Cashelmara Inn, we were very pleased with how quaint, cozy, and clean everything was. A friend had recommended this Inn to us and I would highly recommend it to others as well. There was a warm fireplace in our room, a very clean bathroom/shower, super cozy bed, and friendly golden retrievers that greeted us upon arrival. The breakfast was delicious and the service was outstanding. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!!

Room Tip: Mary even set us up in a room that was not facing the direction where the wind was blowing...how tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coopersburg
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at Cashelmara Inn for two nights. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The area was beautiful and the inn had fantastic antiques. The third floor rooms are on the
small side, but it was fine, we dont spend much time in the room during the summer, beach, sightseeing,,,, eating out are the priorities .
I would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lis022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2011

The good outweigh the not quite so good. The good: very close to the beach; beach tags, chairs and towels included; delicious cooked to order breakfast with many menu choices; snacks, iced tea, lemonade and homemade dessert always available; fabulous front porch; very
friendly and accommodating staff.
The not so good: our from was on the third floor and tucked in under sloping ceilings which are headbangers; the bathroom was tiny with the smallest tub I've ever seen which is ok for only a small person. BUT that was just our room--the other 3rd floor rooms were bigger. Our room was fine for my sister and me but my husband could not have stayed there.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoRi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parsippany, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Everything is great! We've been coming every year for nearly 10 years straight. Best B&B in Avon. The rooms are small, and the rates are a bit pricey, but the staff is very nice and the place is only a few hundred feet from the ocean. The perfect place to stay on the Jersey Shore!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmcarefuldriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avon by the Sea
1.7 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
2.2 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#4 of 6 in Asbury Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avon Manor Inn
Avon Manor Inn
#3 of 5 in Avon by the Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Inn At The Shore
The Inn At The Shore
#3 of 7 in Belmar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cashelmara Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cashelmara Inn

Property: Cashelmara Inn
Address: 22 Lakeside Ave, Just Off Ocean Ave., On Lakeside Ave, Avon by the Sea, NJ 07717-1461
Region: United States > New Jersey > Avon by the Sea
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Avon by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian seaside retreat in summer or winter! Views and access of beach and lake across the street! Miles of boardwalk and beach chair and umbrella set-up and just added paddle boats! Rocking chair verandah, state -of -art -victorian cinema, a/c or fireplaces, jacuzzi tubs, full hot breakfast service made -to -order at tables set for two or family style dining room, antique filled or more beachy rooms all with private baths. We invite you to enjoy all Cashelmara Inn has to offer! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing