We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay”
Review of Cashelmara Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avon by the Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cashelmara Inn
Staten Island, New York
2 reviews
“A Great Stay”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I cant say enough good things about this welcoming and comfy B&B. From the great location to the antique filled rooms to the friendly and helpful staff and more. You will not be disappointed here.. ps.. don't miss breakfast!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    19
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

this is a wonderful in that is right across the street from a beautiful quiet beach in avon,nj. the staff is so polite and detail oriented. the breakfast is fresh with home made muffins daily. even the fruit salad was prepared each morning. the cleaning staff did a perfect job each day. in the afternoon when you return from the beach, there is a table with fresh baked goodies, candy and other treats along with lemonade. there is also a small theater room for you to watch a dvd. they even have staff to carry out their lounge chairs and set up their umbrella.if you can , splurge on a suite on the first floor.this inn is also within driving distance of many terrific restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laurieb03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, New Jersey
Level Contributor
176 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

My mom and I had a girls weekend planned and we picked the perfect spot. The inn is so comfortable and is in the best location - overlooking a lake and across the street from the beach. The staff is very accomodating and the suite (Room 12 right off the lobby ) was perfect for my mom since it's on the first floor. They put an extra bed in the living room of the suite so we each had our own room - I researched other b&bs in the area but this is what sold me. We enjoyed sitting on the porch, having a delicious breakfast each morning, and being so close to the beach without being exposed to the street noise. Leo is a sweet Golden who loves the guests! I enjoyed the outdoor shower to get rid of the sand from the beach - nice touch!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lele0820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Poconos, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

The Cashelmara Inn is warm and cozy, and just a great place to relax. The location is perfect - right across the street from the beach. The rooms are very clean, and are decorated with antique furnishings; the bed was so comfty - slept very well each night. The staff is lovely. Liz was the most helpful staff member -she's an absolute asset to this property. The Innkeeper, Mary, was really nice, also, and has a lovely Golden Retriever on the property named "Leo"...he greeted us daily, and we loved it! The ONLY negative thing I have to say is that the bathroom was so incredibly small. I have never stayed anywhere with a bathroom that small - I was getting really frustrated, as my elbows kept hitting the walls in the shower! I had to step outside of the shower, shave, and then go back in to rinse off! There is not a whole lot to do in the area - the atmosphere is kind of 'early to bed, early to rise'. No nightlife; just a nice, quiet place to getaway and relax. Breakfasts were tasty, and made to order - nothing gourmet; just your typical breakfast favorites. (Omlettes, Pancakes, French Toast)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank justsumchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My sister and I visited Avon for the first time this May and stayed at Cashelmara Inn. It's right across the street from the beach and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Lots of antique furnishings decorate the Inn, it's well maintained and the rooms are accommodating for two people. We stayed in Room 23 (two twin beds). The bathroom was small (shower, no bath), but worked fine. We had a TV in our room and took advantage of the snacks in the dining room later in the afternoons/evenings. The staff serves breakfast from a menu w/ a few different options- everything we had was very good, but the muffins were delicious. We didn't use the theatre room, but the pictures on the Inn's website don't do it justice- it's really nice. We had a great weekend. Thanks, Mary and staff!

Room Tip: Rooms 21, 22 and 23 all have very nice accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manahawkin, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 23rd wedding anniversary this weekend at the Cashelmara Inn. The house is beautifully decorated, so warm and cozy. Mary the Innkeeper was a wonderful hostess, and made a most delicious breakfast for us. The service was excellent. It was so romantic and comfortable. My wife did not want to go home. I highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast and we are already thinking and waiting to visit again real soon.

Room Tip: Suite 12 was perfect! With the fireplace in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2012

One of our favorite spots in NJ.Great location,with beach/boardwalk right accross street.Staff and service is excellent.The Inn does have 2 dogs(clean,well behaved) on property(Lucy and Leo)that add to the experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avon by the Sea
2.2 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#4 of 6 in Asbury Park
2,212 reviews
1.7 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
287 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
620 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avon Manor Inn
Avon Manor Inn
#3 of 5 in Avon by the Sea
63 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Inn At The Shore
The Inn At The Shore
#3 of 7 in Belmar
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cashelmara Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cashelmara Inn

Property: Cashelmara Inn
Address: 22 Lakeside Ave, Just Off Ocean Ave., On Lakeside Ave, Avon by the Sea, NJ 07717-1461
Region: United States > New Jersey > Avon by the Sea
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Avon by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian seaside retreat in summer or winter! Views and access of beach and lake across the street! Miles of boardwalk and beach chair and umbrella set-up and just added paddle boats! Rocking chair verandah, state -of -art -victorian cinema, a/c or fireplaces, jacuzzi tubs, full hot breakfast service made -to -order at tables set for two or family style dining room, antique filled or more beachy rooms all with private baths. We invite you to enjoy all Cashelmara Inn has to offer! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing