We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B@B in Avon”
Review of Cashelmara Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avon by the Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cashelmara Inn
Roxbury NJ
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great B@B in Avon”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We have stayed several times in the past and it only gets better. The place is large for a B@B and has a great front porch overlooking a beautiful lake and a very short stroll to the ocean. Breakfast is wonderful with a menu to choose as well as freshed baked muffins and fabulous coffee. The aftern lemonade fresh baked cookies and cake is delicious. Free bottled water (leave a donation) beach chairs plenty of parking, beach tags and an outdoor shower. Mary is always welcomeing and so is her dog Leo! The other workers are very customer sevice oriented and serve breakfast with a five star rating.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 22 was very nice with a great lake view and antique furnishings
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    19
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dumont, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My husband & I have been to alot of B&B's & this is one of our favorites! Great breakfast & location & friendly staff. We would definitely recommend. There is a movie theatre on the first floor & two friendly dogs. Great place!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wormleysburg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Charming, friendly and worth every penny! Mary and her staff are an amazing team! Looking for excellent accommodations with grand views of the ocean and lake then this bed and breakfast located in the town of Avon by the Sea, Monmouth County NJ will absolutely thrill you!!

Room Tip: Bring your bicycle or at the very least your walking sneakers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gdm6324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, NJ
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Just got back from a weekend at Cashelmara. Beautiful inn with gorgeous furnishings and antiques. We stayed in suite 10 on first floor. Large king bed with separate sitting area with fireplace. Bathroom very updated. Everything very clean and private. No need to socialize like some B&Bs. Scrumptious breakfast with multiple choices and always homemade muffins. The resident golden retriever, Leo, is a sweetheart. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irene363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fallston, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We went to cashelmara on the off season so got rooms for nearly half what they are during the summer. The weather Friday and Saturday happened to be great, so we lucked out. The inn itself is really beautiful with high end antiques, lovely, cozy furnishings and pretty outside gardens. The staff was attentive, the food freshly made with high quality ingredients and anything we asked for, we got.
The town of Avon is so pretty, with great architecture: Victorians, craftsmans, and a mix of well kept ordinary houses to some on the water which were downright mansions. I love looking at beautiful houses, so just driving around the town was fun.
I would highly recommend the caslmara and the town of Avon, although I expect it's far more touristy in the high season.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acadianwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I've been going to Cashelmara Inn since the mid-1990s. It's a beautiful inn with a perfect location. The staff is always helpful and Mary, the manager, makes you feel welcome and at home. A few of the rooms are small so ask about the size when you book. Breakfast is wonderful--a wide selection of delicious options.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank searchgirl40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eatonton, Georgia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Great location, great rooms, great breakfast, and a great staff. Do not pass up staying here if in the area. They furnish beach badges and have beach chairs. No need to haul all of that to the shore. The inn keeper, Mary is a doll and knows all the right places to eat. You will enjoy it.

Room Tip: Get one of the King Suites. Plenty of room and you will love the furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgiadawg70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avon by the Sea
2.2 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#4 of 6 in Asbury Park
2,211 reviews
1.7 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
287 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
620 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avon Manor Inn
Avon Manor Inn
#3 of 5 in Avon by the Sea
63 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Inn At The Shore
The Inn At The Shore
#3 of 7 in Belmar
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cashelmara Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cashelmara Inn

Property: Cashelmara Inn
Address: 22 Lakeside Ave, Just Off Ocean Ave., On Lakeside Ave, Avon by the Sea, NJ 07717-1461
Region: United States > New Jersey > Avon by the Sea
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Avon by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian seaside retreat in summer or winter! Views and access of beach and lake across the street! Miles of boardwalk and beach chair and umbrella set-up and just added paddle boats! Rocking chair verandah, state -of -art -victorian cinema, a/c or fireplaces, jacuzzi tubs, full hot breakfast service made -to -order at tables set for two or family style dining room, antique filled or more beachy rooms all with private baths. We invite you to enjoy all Cashelmara Inn has to offer! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing