We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good B@B with a fabulous location”
Review of Cashelmara Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avon by the Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cashelmara Inn
Roxbury NJ
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very Good B@B with a fabulous location”
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Recently stayed for 3 nites and was very pleased with the service and the breakfasts were excellent, location was fantastic as it was on a dead end street overlooking tranquil Sylvan Lake, family friendly beach was right across street and excellent resaurants were nearby (Avon Pavillion and Dolce Vita were superb). My only complaint is the rate seemed a bit high for the room size and there were no bicycles to use, they did have beach chairs and towels.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    19
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Well run Bed and Breakfast with lots of true charm.
Food was fresh. Rooms clean and smartly decorated without the grannyesque quilty Victorian appointments . Cashelmara was quaint but modern.
Staff was very efficient without overreaching. Mary was lovely and helpful.
The ONLY complaint was the constant infernal music inside and outside the Inn. We came for peace and quiet .
The Atlantic can be heard from the porch as well as birds chirping and singing.
We didnt need to hear Billy Ocean and The Byrds.
That said,if the staff can bear me always asking them to turn off the music ,we will return.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYSutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewing, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2010

We needed a couple of nights away, not too far from home...peace and quiet and a beautiful setting. This was just what we were looking for and it was as great as we had hoped. We had room 31 and it was so comfortable and had a wonderful 3rd floor view of the ocean. The inn itself was so warm and inviting and the people were as friendly and helpful as you could imagine. The food? Breakfast was yummy and fresh and served in a sunny room. The coolest part is the movie room - set up like a real old-fashioned theatre/screening room, equipped with blankets and popcorn. Cozy!
We'll be back, thanks to Mary, Kristen and , of course, Lucy!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathysj58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2009

unfortunately we stayed only one night and had a very nice room.. apart from the bed being a little old -it was very uncomfortable, everything was very lovely. it was the first couple months we started dating with my -now-fiancee and the bed and breakfast by the beach was a great background :)

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CigdemNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

Two stays: two nights solo associated with business and five nights with spouse on vacation.

Elegant accommodations in a "modern" Victorian setting with all the amenities, including a wall-sized TV theater. Book one of the two suites, if available. Well worth the price differential, and perfect for two to four people.

Mary Wiernasz, the Innkeeper and her staff are outstanding, eminently competent, highly motivated, genuinely caring hosts with an excellent knowledge of the area and available venues.

Coffee available at 6AM for early risers. Guests are welcome to use the in-house computer anytime which is adequate and reasonably placed for private use, although the machine can be a bit slow at times.

Breakfasts are superlative. Fresh orange juice and homemade warm/hot out of the oven muffins filled with fresh fruits. Absolutely dynamite omelets...and make sure to try the house specialty, "Cashel McMara," which consists of Taylor's Ham (The famous New Jersey "Pork Roll") fried egg, sliced tomato and melted cheese served on a toasted Englinsh muffin. Definitely not a McDonald's McMuffin. Also, if you enjoy yogurt and it's been a while since you had it fresh , try the Cashelmara version.

Outdoor porch, more accurately a 100 foot long verandah in the old southern style is furnished with with white painted with rocking chairs and overlooks over a tidal lake. Seabirds abound and it's fun to watch the fisherman as well. Porch is also a great place for quiet reading (or focused work time) .

Additionally, the porch affords the opportunity to meet and speak with other guests whom, over a five day stay, we found to be an interesting, friendly, eclectic group.

Home baked cookies, iced-tea, served virtually all day.

Lucy, the ever present, sleepy-eyed, entirely affectionate great with kids, non-barking 10 year old golden retriever also adds value and charm to the Inn in her own way.

Try the somewhat pricey (but well worth it) Whispers Restaurant in Spring Lake to the south and Seagrass Restaurant to the north. The yet pricier Black Trumpet also in Spring Lake was similarly upscale but did not offer the economic value or food quality of Whispers. Avoid Matisse. High prices, indifferent to the point of arrogant service, poorly prepared, overspiced food. Zagat blew their rating system on that one.

Columns Restaurant, about two blocks to the south is adequate. Many tables overlook the ocean. Place gets crowded and noisy after six, particularly on Friday and Saturday.

Don't forget the wine. Because of local regs, many places are BYOB. Check with Mary or consultant her restaurant guide.

Great beaches and boardwalk just across the dunes from Cashelmara and to the south as well. Mary and her staff will put out (and pick up when you're through) beach chairs and umbrellas at minor incremental cost. Room includes beach pass (a $7/dy value) as well as a pass to the worth it generally uncrowded clean, saltwater municipal pool two blocks to the south.

Aside from the beach, lots of things to do within a five mile radius of Cashelmara. And check out Asbury Park; it's starting to "come back" after a 30 or so year period of decline.


Final comments in respect to the Cashelmara operation: intimate ( 15 or so rooms, accommodating about 30 quests) full of pleasant ambience, attention to the details, and staff goes well beyond the call of duty to please. In short, this B&B is a winner hands-down!

Would have stayed longer but the press of business forced us to return home. But will we be back? ABSOLUTELY!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulw051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2008

my boyfriend and i spent our valentines day and year anniversary at the cashelmara inn. our room,suite 11 was so romantic,with it's elegant decor and even more spacious then was expected.we only spent one night,but i'd love to return for a longer stay.the expierence was relaxing,romantic,and captured such a feeling of home.mary,the inn keeper was sweet.she gave us a tour of the house and helped us find a resturant that we would enjoy!the theater room was also very unique.it was so cozy watching a movie in your own private theater!and who couldn't love lucy? she was a wonderful dog who added a special touch to the house!

  • Liked — the beautiful relaxing atmoshere.
  • Disliked — nothing,i had a wonderful time!
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pixiecut23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2007

After trying and trying to find a B&B on the Jersey Shore last minute for just one Saturday night in July, I found the Cashelmara had one room available so I booked it without really researching the place at all. It turned out to be wonderful! The location is wonderful, just across the street from the beach (as every inn/hotel/house is on this stretch of the Jersey Shore...there is a road that separates the beach from the rest of the town). We stayed in a great little room on the top floor under the eaves...not spacious but very cozy, comfortable, and nice and cool despite the hot summer day. The bathroom, also being under the eaves, was cleverly laid out to make the most of the available space...again, the room was small but just perfect for a beach Inn, as we spent the majority of the weekend on the beach! There were afternoon snacks put out, including freshly baked cookies which must have been wonderful because by the time I got there, they were gone, leaving only a wonderful smell. Breakfast was great as well, with a small menu to choose from which was lovely. And of course, Lucy, the dog, was a great welcomer to all the guests. We will always come back to the Cashelmara, as the night we spent there was the night that we got engaged on the beach. I can't speak for the larger rooms, but the small room we had was perfect and a GREAT deal. Can't wait for our next visit!

  • Liked — Location, room, breakfast, doggie
  • Disliked — Parking can be tough...find a spot and don't move your car again!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewJerseyAmyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avon by the Sea
2.2 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#4 of 6 in Asbury Park
2,219 reviews
1.7 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
287 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
620 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avon Manor Inn
Avon Manor Inn
#3 of 5 in Avon by the Sea
63 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Inn At The Shore
The Inn At The Shore
#3 of 7 in Belmar
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cashelmara Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cashelmara Inn

Property: Cashelmara Inn
Address: 22 Lakeside Ave, Just Off Ocean Ave., On Lakeside Ave, Avon by the Sea, NJ 07717-1461
Region: United States > New Jersey > Avon by the Sea
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Avon by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian seaside retreat in summer or winter! Views and access of beach and lake across the street! Miles of boardwalk and beach chair and umbrella set-up and just added paddle boats! Rocking chair verandah, state -of -art -victorian cinema, a/c or fireplaces, jacuzzi tubs, full hot breakfast service made -to -order at tables set for two or family style dining room, antique filled or more beachy rooms all with private baths. We invite you to enjoy all Cashelmara Inn has to offer! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing