We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine base for our stay in Taveuni.”
Review of Karin's Garden

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taveuni Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Karin's Garden
Ulfborg, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fine base for our stay in Taveuni.”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We had a very pleasant 5 night stay at Karin's Garden in August 2013. The self-catering accommodation was clean and tidy and there was hot and cold running water. Electricity was available from the generator in the morning and evening. Peter and Karin were helpful hosts who respected our privacy. The verandah became our favourite place to sit, relax and enjoy the view. Steps at the end of the garden go down to a small, secluded beach area. Good snorkelling around the coral just off the shore. Karin's Garden was a fine base for our stay in Taveuni.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 163Tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Peter and Karin were great hosts, there when we needed them but in no way obtrusive.
The cottage had a beautiful sweeping view down the lawn and out to the ocean and was cosy and homely. The resident dog was a permanent fixture on our verandah which was nice and he accompanied us whenever we headed down to the beach below the property.
About a 20min walk from the supermarket (we cooked our own breakfasts and lunches), close to a couple if dive shops and not far from a restaurant and pizza place- all we needed was nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmClif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooroy, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Our second trip staying at Karin's Garden was just as pleasant as our first. The accommodation remains ideal for a couple or a family. The bure was always spotlessly clean, very well equipped for self catering,and ideal situation. A walk down a flight of steps takes you to the most perfect spot for snorkelling or just lounging on your own private beach....always accompanied by Kuta the family dog.
Peter and Karin have vast knowledge of the island and can make suggestions and arrangements for all kinds of activities. A sunset drink on the deck over looking the Somosomo straights is an ideal way to finish off the day and chat about plans for the next..
We would strongly recommend Karins garden as the perfect spot to stay at Taveuni.
Thankyou Peter and Karin for your great hospitality. Karin makes a delicious pizza!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 62Gilly62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Stayed 8 nights with my partner at Karin's Garden.I wish it was more.So many places to see ,so many things to do in Taveuni island.
The bure was always clean and tidy and our stay was relaxing.
Best place to have it us a base to relax and get some good sleep so you can use the rest of the day exploring the island.Weather was very nice and Karin's garden was very nice full of flowers and beautiful trees .I always enjoyed walking through it.
Karin's and Peter's loyal dog kept us company whenever we returned home and there were always beautiful flowers on our breakfast table.
We are recommending this place to our friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntheaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2012

By random I found this wonderful place in haven. A quiet and peaceful area let me relax for one week. One day Peter guide me through a 4 hours walk to the Lavena waterfall which was a never forgetting experience. If you have the chance you need to try this. Unfortunately the German homemade meals provided by Karin let my body growing but I had never a chance to stop enjoying this food. A good talk at the end of a day together with some red wine makes this place and this week to something very special for me. Thank you Karin and Peter, I will come back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Peter was at the airport to meet us, and then took us to a nearby store so we could get the groceries we needed, and also to a liquor store for beer, before taking us the short distance to our bure (cottage). It is a nice comfortable place to stay, very clean and well equipped, with a lovely view across the garden to the ocean. With the right weather, there are magnificent sunsets from the cliff top in front of Karin and Peter's new house. The Bure also comes with it's own dog! Koda was a very sweet, friendly and gentle dog, who was lying on our porch every morning and evening. We did not try any of Karin's food, as we were out birdwatching at odd hours. The only slight difficulty we had was that the main town is some distance away by taxi, and has the only bank (and ATM) and Western Union money exchange on the island. I would suggest asking in the bank for someone to help you with the ATM the first time, as it was somewhat quirky.
Thanks Karin and Peter for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

If you're after a very relaxing holiday in a tropical paradise, with a 'base' to sleep and cook at (not a resort) this is the place to stay. The location is great, with about a 200m walk across grass, followed by a steep staircase descent to a reef that is great to snorkel on. At the top of the staircase is a platform which has great sunsets over the Somosomo straight to Vanua Levu.

Peter and Karin, who own the property, are wonderful hosts. They looked after all our needs, to make our visit as enjoyable as they could, but were never overbearing. I travel frequently on business, often staying in Premium hotels. Peter would give any concierge a run for their money and likewise Karin any chef for the meals she cooked for us.

The bure is located in an area that receives less rain than other spots on the island (why the airport is at Matei), but is still lush and is in easy travel distance to the main attractions on the island. It is directly beside Taveuni Island Resort (on the airport side). The accommodation is quite basic, but had all we needed to cook simple meals for the occasions we didn't want to eat out (there are several restaurants ranging from pizza to crayfish within a 1km walk). It was comfortable for the 4 of us who stayed.

Peter helped us book a taxi to get to Bouma Falls, where we hiked through a tropical jungle along a river to a few of the most spectacular falls I've seen. Likewise he helped us get to Waitabu to meet some locals and get a feel for their traditional fishing ways and dive with them. He also recommended great scuba diving company and where the best places were for eating and buying general goods. There were several basic supermarkets, a bakery and 'bottleshop' in walking distance (20 mins to the furthest), including a very small 'deli' about 100m across the road. For those who don't like walking, the taxis are about FJ$5 but work on Fijitime which means they get there whenever.

Peter and Karin used to run a restaurant from the property, but now Karin only takes bookings from people who stay in the bure. The meals were excellent and were good value.

We are highly recommending this place to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew_oz_collins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taveuni Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Makaira Resort
Makaira Resort
#3 of 4 in Matei
102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages
0.0 mi away
Taveuni Dive Resort
Taveuni Dive Resort
#5 of 10 in Taveuni Island
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sau Bay Fiji Retreat
Sau Bay Fiji Retreat
#1 of 1 in Waiyevo
167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aroha Taveuni
Aroha Taveuni
#1 of 9 in Taveuni Island
192 reviews
0.0 mi away
Garden Island Resort
Garden Island Resort
#8 of 10 in Taveuni Island
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karin's Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karin's Garden

Property: Karin's Garden
Address: Coastal Road | Matei, Taveuni Island, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Taveuni Island
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Taveuni Island
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karin's Garden is an oceanfront paradise nestled in the lush green Garden of Fiji, Taveuni. The spotless and cozy bungalow-style cottage is perfectly designed for a couple, family or four. There is a fully equipped kitchen and two bedrooms each with en-suite bathroom, one with a Queen-size bed and the other with two singles and a large veranda for enjoying outside living. In addition, both bedrooms features ceiling fans and all windows are fully screened. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing