We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pure Bliss in Taveuni”
Review of Aroha Taveuni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aroha Taveuni
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pure Bliss in Taveuni”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I stayed 4 nights earlier this month at Aroha Taveuni. I had a fantastic stay! The location is most convenient, and Dennis and Ngaire are great hosts. Their staff is both friendly and efficient. The meals were fantastic. The main course at dinner was incredible and filling. The desserts were original and very tasty. The island of Taveuni is how I imagined the real Fiji to be. I highly recommend the farm, blowhole, Lavena coastal walk, and the Tavoro waterfall tours. Dennis and Ngaire were extremely helpful in arranging the tours and ensuring all the logistics were set.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    6
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
41
87
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We picked Aroha based on the positive Tripadvisor reviews and were NOT disappointed. Dennis and Ngaire are incredibly hospitable and lovely people - they offered us lots of options for traveling around, including picking us up at the airport and acting as an ATM when the one in town was consistently broken! Their rooms are clean and well maintained, decks outside are gorgeous, and we cannot say enough good things about their cook, Cookie! She paid special attention to our dietary restrictions (vegetarian) and even had a night where she made us Indian food! Easily the best cook on the island, if you come for only her food you won't be disappointed. The outdoor showers were private, if a little chilly, but we had a great time meeting all the friends and people who worked at the hotel. There is no way we would stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PVHoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I agree wholeheartedly with all of the positive reviews for Aroha. Dennis and Ngaire's wonderful hospitality, friendly staff, and incredibly well thought out and executed bures (cleaned well every day) absolutely made our holiday. So it would be fair to say that Aroha is consistently great after all these years! We spent 9 peaceful and relaxed days here and would have stayed longer.

Dining out/takeaway options within walking distance are currently very limited with Waci Pokee and Reena's closed (another place has opened where Reena's was but we didn't end up trying it). We were more than happy to eat in Aroha's restaurant for almost all of our meals. From great lunch burgers and perfectly cheesy wood fired pizzas to a la carte dinner options and roasts on Sunday nights, the variety has been great - even if we didn't always take advantage of it (we really liked the pizzas!)

Getting out and about to Matei or the other side of the island by car can add up but there's good information provided about how to make the best use of your transport for sights and activities, and where there's the possibility of sharing transport with other guests Ngaire will always let you know.
Aroha is really well placed for diving and snorkelling trips and we also snorkelled out the front of the property from the kayak - it's really stable. Also, for those days when we stayed closer to "home", I thought there was a greater range of sights to walk to from here than the Northern end of the island when we visited Matei.

Activity tip: If you're looking to make the trip from Aroha to Matei more slowly than by car and you are considering cycling? Try the local bus instead and pay close attention to all the hills you have escaped the chore of pedalling up! You can thank me later .
Although Ngaire and Dennis tried to advise us otherwise, we thought the trip from Matei to Aroha seemed relatively short. We also thought the road seemed quite flat with only a few hills ie. quite doable by bike - with reasonable fitness levels. We were very wrong :)
There's a good reason why you don't see bicycles on the longer stretches of road here and we learnt it the hardest way over a long, excessively hot and sweaty couple of hours. It also took a while to find a taxi that could fit us and the bikes to get us back to Aroha. Attempting the return trip would likely have ended me.

We hope to return to this lovely patch of paradise and recommend it for anyone looking for simple stylish accommodation. Independence and privacy are an option but the property has a beautiful shared pool area as well as a comfortable restaurant (both looking out over the water), friendly helpful hosts & staff and a peaceful, relaxed feel.

The vegetation around the bures is taller and lusher now around rooms 1 & 2 (furthest from the main house) than in some of the older photos so don't expect panoramic water views from those decks and patios. This works in the guests favour though by providing privacy from (and perhaps for) the occasional walkers on the beach in front of the property. And those views are only a few steps beyond the colourful flora.

Room Tip: We really liked Room 1 which has a nice view through to the strait over the shorter plants. This is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Level Contributor
173 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Only spent a short time here but the welcome and Fijian night was special. pick ups and drop offs at the airport were efficient and the tours arranged were spectacular. Beware the mosquitoes though - they are voracious!

Room Tip: there are only a limited number of rooms and all have view over the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mld1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bendigo
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Wow! Best place to be. Arrive as guests leave as friends is true!
This is the ONLY place to go. Well priced and best best customer service! Even mosquito coils for your room! And a flash light. Being here and meeting Dennis and Nyri made our trip! Offering a packed lunch just made us feel well looked after. The rooms are very tidy clean and amazing bathroom even outdoor shower and outside kitchen.
You wake up to paradise.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank food-tina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This was my husband and I's first time to Taveuni and Aroha Resort exceeded every expectation we had! The resort itself is surrounded by lush tropical gardens and overlooks the South Pacific! The bures and rooms provide a peaceful and comfortable ambience that gave a very private feeling. Each room was appointed with a french press coffee maker which was such a special touch. I would awaken to sunrise, make a fresh cup of coffee, walk out into the gardens and down the beach, enjoying the start of each day in bliss. The infinity pool overlooking the ocean was so beautiful and I enjoyed just lazing around the pool for hours. The Wi-Fi is excellent and available 24/7 which I have found is not necessarily the case at even the most high-end resorts on other islands! The meals were wonderful and varied daily. My first massage with Lo was so amazing that I scheduled another one immediately for the next day! And last but not least, the owners, Dennis and Ngaire, are wonderful and make you feel like family! It was hard to say goodbye but easier knowing that we will return again soon. They really make Aroha the special place it is! We will be back without a doubt!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CB92008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumsden, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Like all the other reviews say - Perfection in Paradise. Owners and staff very helpful and friendly. Very understanding of severe jetlag. Accommodation lovely. Heat in January was intense. Diving was great - especially being picked up from beach at Aroha. Great conti breakfast included. Tours aranged were a delight as was our guide/driver Sepo. Snorkeling at Waitabu great too. Can't wait to return and experience food from new brick oven.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taveuni Island
3.2 mi away
Taveuni Dive Resort
Taveuni Dive Resort
#5 of 10 in Taveuni Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
23837.0 mi away
Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages
23837.4 mi away
Makaira Resort
Makaira Resort
#2 of 3 in Matei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23837.2 mi away
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 10 in Taveuni Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Remote Resort - Fiji Islands
7.8 mi away
Sau Bay Fiji Retreat
Sau Bay Fiji Retreat
#1 of 1 in Waiyevo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aroha Taveuni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aroha Taveuni

Property: Aroha Taveuni
Address: South Coast Rd, | Naiyalayala, Taveuni Island, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Taveuni Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Taveuni Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aroha Taveuni 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our accommodation is on Taveuni Island, our one and half acre beachfront property overlooks Somosomo Strait and is situated in the centre of Taveuni, very close to the Meridian Date Line, shops and markets, great dive sites (Rainbow Reef). We have a great restaurant on site. Tours, sightseeing, village cultural experience,diving, fishing, horse trekking are some of the attractions available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aroha Taveuni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing