We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation of a lifetime!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Garden Island Resort
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Taveuni Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I have a stressful job, and the two weeks we spent at Garden Island Resort were pure heaven. Don't let the slightly bumpy ride to the resort fool you. You couldn't ask for a more idyllic location -- literally walk out the sliding door of our room and stare at clear blue ocean water. Perhaps sit in the hammock under the coconut trees and read a book. Or swim in the pool. Or walk out to the pier w/ a tasty beverage to watch the sunset. Utter relaxation, no other way to put it.

The diving is phenomenal -- world class -- and just a ten minute boat ride from the resort. And the dive shop is just a couple hundred yards from the rooms. Super easy, and super helpful dive staff.

The food is delicious (I dream about the roasted/toasted coconut), and the sangria dangerously tasty. You have to order your dinner that morning when you have breakfast, which means thinking ahead when you're in vacation slow mode. But I ended up liking the process b/c at dinner, you just sit down and have your food brought to you. It's pretty efficient.

All of the staff are friendly and helpful, and in particular the owner of the resort, Phil, knows hospitality like nobody else.

I had a couple of massages while I was at the resort -- outside overlooking over the ocean. I wasn't entirely sure what to expect, but the masseuse really knew how to work out those knots (did I mention I have a stressful job). Awesome.

I can't wait to come back to Garden Island Resort on Taveuni. A winner of a resort, and a winner of a vacation.

Room Tip: The rooms downstairs have a private hot tub on the patio. Romantic and relaxing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KL-lovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

Managed to stay a night at this beautiful little resort on Taveuni on my way back from staying 2 weeks at the beautiful Maqai Beach Eco Resort. www.maqai.com

So glad i did get the chance to stay here as it was a beautiful resort,clean,fresh and a great location to chill out.great pizzas and food and wonderful attentive staff.the manager was fantastic and couldn't do enough to help us.the bar and pool area was the perfect place to down a few cold beers and a few cocktails and the spa was a great place to sit and look out over the water and let the weary body heal after spending 2 incredible weeks of surfing at Maqai Beach Eco Resort on neighbouring Qamea Island.

I certainly will be staying at Garden Island Resort again and i will make sure i spend a longer time there next time...a real gem

Room Tip: stayed on the ground floor with each room having its own outdoor spa to unwind in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Our group of 6 spent 10 days at Garden Island Resort, Taveuni and loved every second.
The staff were all so friendly and accomodated to all our needs.
The room was clean and all have a spectucalar view of the ocean.
Food was excellent and the chef cooked everything to perfection and the presentation was first class.
The dive centre is on site and close by to Ranibow Reef, one of the best in the world. We dove every morning on the boat and unlimited shore dive in the afternoon. The dive team made sure we had enough tanks for all the dives that we planned to do and always be there for us to put on/off our equipments and to rinse them. Most importantly were there to look out for us and had our safety in mind all the time.
We were so happy be able to do as many dives during our stay and still managed to go to Bouma National Park to hike and to check out the Falls. Thanks to Claudia, manager, the advice and arrangement to make it happened.
Thanks to all the staff at Garden Island Resort for such a wonderful time and certainly there were no place we rather be.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank siuming_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We booked it because it was the cheapest of the resorts on Taveuni that has air conditioning in the rooms. It suited our purpose as Divers. It is a nice hotel with very friendly staff. The room with the Ocean view gives a beautiful view of the Ocean from the bed. The food was good. You have to order your breakfast and dinner in the morning. There is two different dishes to choose from and they change every dat. There is not much to do outside the Resort, but the Resort has what is needed Diving shop, Spa, Dinner and a Bar. There is a small shop next to the Resort where you can by water, soft drinks, alcohol and chips. 20 min. walk from the hotel you can see and try the Waterfall slide (see separate review). A little further down south is the timeline. Here you can walk back and forward in time. If you want to do some shore fishing there is a jetty 10 min. walk from the hotel. We did not go with the Resorts Dive team, we went with Taveuni Ocean Sport instead. (See separate review)

Room Tip: Choos the rooms with the balcony and oacen view it is fantastisk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank josoerensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We spent 7 nights at this resort. Great location nice and quite at the time which suited us. Food was excellent and the service could not be faulted. The hotel is right on the water and also has a dive shop. We were not divers but still had an excellent time. Claudia the manager was easy to talk to and very knowlegable not just about Fiji but other places . Excellent and friendly service from all the staff we would stay her again.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank n g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We spent nine days at this great hotel and loved every minute. The air conditioned rooms were very comfortable with excellent bed linens, comfortable living space and a sparkling view from our oceanfront balcony! The food, the service and the personnel were all wonderful! Claudia the manager was superb and catered to our every need...including throwing a dinner for ten when we requested it late in the afternoon. She made sure we had the highest quality ingredients and the presentation was five star! The bartenders were ready and willing to make us whatever specialty drink we requested...when they ran out of my wine, the management went out and picked up a few bottles herself just for my comfort! The snorkeling excursions were wonderful, the hotel transport was always ready for us...it was a wonderful experience all around! Wish I was back on the pool lounge sipping my skinny margarita over looking the blue ocean! Would recommend this hotel highly!

Room Tip: The second floor rooms all have ocean views, the first floor have a hot tub on their veranda!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Skd829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed 3 nights at the Resort. All our meals were excellent and the chilled jugs of sangria just delicious! The rooms were clean and comfortable and the bed was like sleeping on a giant cloud. Quite possibly the best nights sleep I've experienced whilst on holiday ever! Only downside was the attitude of the receptionist. She wasn't very helpful at all and acted like she had a chip on her shoulder the entire time we were there. We love Taveuni and will definitely return but sadly she just put a slight dampener on our stay as she was our first point of contact for the resort. However the other staff were lovely.

Stayed: December 2013
3  Thank Tuweni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taveuni Island hotels
10.6 mi away
Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages
9.9 mi away
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 11 in Taveuni Island
357 reviews
9.7 mi away
Makaira Resort
Makaira Resort
#3 of 4 in Matei
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23,834.4 mi away
Taveuni Dive Resort
Taveuni Dive Resort
#5 of 11 in Taveuni Island
75 reviews
9.9 mi away
Tides Reach Resort
Tides Reach Resort
#4 of 4 in Matei
41 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sau Bay Fiji Retreat
Sau Bay Fiji Retreat
#1 of 1 in Waiyevo
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Resort

Address: Waiyevo | Waiyevo, Taveuni Island, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Taveuni Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Taveuni Island
Price Range: £105 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Garden Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to beautiful panoramic views of the ocean and be lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves at award-wining Garden Island Resort on Taveuni, Fiji. With world class dive sites only moments away, and a coastal 9-hole golf course at your pleasure, there are a bevy of recreational pursuits to be enjoyed including coastal walks, bird watching, hiking, natural waterfalls and horse riding to name a few. Comprising of 15 Ocean front suites with a private patio, and 15 Ocean view rooms fully refurbished with private balconies, each room offers a private space for luxurious comfort and personalised service making Garden Island Resort your home away from home. Garden Island Resort is a PADI 5 Star Dive Resort with a fully equipped dive centre on site with professional and friendly dive crew offering PADI courses, and nitrox for advanced divers. Only 15 minutes away from the Rainbow Reef and over 20 dive sites, you are only moments away from world class diving and amazing soft coral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Garden Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Taveuni Island
Garden Island Taveuni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing