We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable Experience, Incredible Diving”
Review of Paradise Taveuni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Paradise Taveuni
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Taveuni Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unforgettable Experience, Incredible Diving”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We're writing this as a way to say thanks again to Paradise Taveuni, especially Allen and Terri our owner/hosts and everyone on his team. In particular, we'd like to send our warm appreciation to Mikeali, the amazing Sapo, Naomi, Sunny, Satesh, the team at the Pro Dive Shop, and really everyone who took such great care, every moment quietly and industriously making sure our stay was idyllic and truly Fijian. We stayed at Paradise from 10/21-10/28, dove about twice a day every day in the morning and got massages, swam in the salt water pool, took out kayaks on the calm ocean, took hikes and much more. There's almost too many great things to say. The service was superlative. The food delicious. Diving amazing. Rainbow Reef is unlike any other place. Do this trip. You won't regret it.

The house reef is great for diving (or snorkeling). Within hours, we were in the water and Allen took us right over to where the blue ribbon eels live, and we happened upon a sea snake, a big happy shark, fantastic coral, and much more (Also just a tremendous night dive). Rainbow Reef: We saw 3 sperm whales on our first day and got to go in the water with them. Some of our favorite sites were the Fish Factory, The Zoo and Great White Wall. We even had lunches on a private remote beach in an unreal setting. Boat rides ware short and we had tons of time for landlubbing activities.

Some of other unforgettable moments include our hike with Sapo and finding the elusive and rare flower on Mount Tagimaucia. Always flexible, Paradise fulfilled our special request to hike the mountain (the standard is to be driven), and we were rewarded with silence dappled by great stories and a cool rush of water from a waterfall on the way down.

We also highly recommend reserving for the Romantic Dinner (amazing service, watch the sunset, and dine under a blanket of stars) and slipping helplessly down the Volcano water slide, jumping 20 ft into deep water under Bouma Falls, watching/experiencing Sapo explain the Lovo meal preparation and just spending time, feeling like a treasured and honored guest. The Pure Fiji products provided are awesome. Buy some or you'll regret it later.

Just short of perfect: It rained quite a bit, but even then the diving was amazing and the rain was relaxing. We swam, took walks and naps. The hot water in the shower feels awesome after a dive, but as is probably typical of such a remote location, it can be tricky. We figured it out and enjoyed nice hot showers. Rest assured, Allen, Terri, Mikeali and the team will take care of anything, so just ask and it'll be done. We're likely coming back!

Pictures were taken by my fiancé with a Canon 6D with Ikelite strobe.

Room Tip: Ask for Oceanfront Bure. Honeymoon has the best view, Cowrie is uber convenient if you want to be su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rosally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    45
    12
    9
    2
See reviews for
63
225
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

All the reviews here are very accurate. My husband and I came here to get married, just us 2, and found a family to celebrate with without even knowing or asking for it, by both the guests and staff. Best beginning of our lives ever. Food was fantastic everyday. I didn't even plan to go scuba diving but I did and I did it twice and I loved it.

Room Tip: Oceanview bures were a dream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kiwiluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, Indiana, Usa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Paradise Taveuni takes a little time to get there, but once you are there wow it is truly "Paradise". Every where you look is a post card picture. The owners Alan & Terri are very nice and work hard so you enjoy your stay in paradise, the staff at the resort is great they know your name and waited on us like we were Royalty and soon they become friends instead of resort staff. The views from all over the resort are great and short walking distance to everything, Bures, dive shop, main house for eating and bar. The diving was great they took us to Rainbow Reef every chance they could, and the diving there is just what you come to Fiji to see. Soft corals and fish will amaze you on every dive site. Our dive group consisted of 25 people, 21 divers and 4 non divers.

Room Tip: Depending on the the season you go, we went in September, and AC was nice but not really needed. the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KudaDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The staff were amazingly friendly and the water divine. Snorkelling right out the front of the hotel with amazing fish and coral. Staff always willing to help and offer advice on what to do and even got my wife to try scuba diving despite her fears. Had a wonderful honeymoon

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paddy21122013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mukilteo, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Just got back from an 11 night stay in Paradise Taveuni with a dive group from the USA and Canada. Although it took a while to get to Taveuni, it was well worth the trip. As other reviewers concur, the staff at the resort are incredibly friendly and welcoming. They call you by name, anticipate your needs, and within days make you feel like you are family. Rooms are a good size and comfortable enough without A/C. They could use better lighting for reading at night and more comfortable furniture for lounging. The food was generally excellent with several choices for each course at all meals. The outdoor showers in the bures are a wonderfully relaxing experience to look forward to each day.
If you are a diver, it is hard to imagine a more perfect place. The dive staff is wonderfully attentive and very knowledgeable of he best spots to dive. We made multiple dives each day to several different spots along Rainbow Reef....the reef is so spectacular it is hard to describe with soft corals of every color, size and shape imaginable and a myriad of spectacular looking fish and critters. As a relative newbie diver I really appreciated the dive staff' making sure that one of them was with me and watching me at all times, ready to help. This made the diving experience a terrific one for me and the other new divers in the group.
Thank you to owners Allan and Terry for a beautiful adventure in Paradise!

Room Tip: Pay a little more to get an oceanview bure....worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mukbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I'm not exactly sure how to write the praise which Paradise deserves. We arrived with extremely high expectations, what with the Tripadvisor awards, the word of mouth comments and the reviews. Our greatest fear: a huge disappointing anti-climax due to us being 'different' from other travellers, having different requirements, bogus reviews etc.

Well, you'll all be happy to know that even with such ridiculous expectations, Paradise managed to completely exceed and trumpet them and create a set of entirely new travel expectations for our family.

The reviews below I think describe it elequontly enough, and here is what we (2 of us, plus a 21 month old and a 5 year old) loved the most:
- the setting is unbeatable really. Those burees - wow. What decord, and attention to detail in every aspect. The outdoor showers were delicious.
- the snorkelling trip to Rainbow Reef will never be forgotten, we've snorklled/dived all over the world, and this is in the top 5
- the incredibly beautiful colourful fish right under our noses almost as we step our of our buree
- the food (OMG - the baby who can't even say Mama scoffed down every meal making 'yum yum yum yum' sounds to the high heavens)
- We personally loved the drive to paradise with our beautiful driver
- I was so worried about our crazy 5 yo outside of a Megaresort. Whilst we always seeked different holiday experience, at 5, she needs a LOT of stimulation, and we'd just spent a week at the Coral Coast. But it was the best thing we did for her - due to having so 'little' to do, my busy 5yo rode horses, helped the staff set up the tables, spend a couple of hours watching lovo cooking, snorkelled for the first time in her life and was absolutely delighted with the fish and corals, visited a village and the school there, loved her entire experience
- The staff: Sepo, Mikalei, Sonny, Ella, Star, Christine, Allan, Terry. Thank you so much for tolerating us, and making this one of the most special and relaxing weeks we've had as a family and attending to our every need. Naomi, you were a wonderful guide to us and to Mia on that village trip. You are all exceptional at your jobs, I've never met anyone like you in the tourism industry. Well done.

I'm sure we've forgotten to mention about 100 things, but these were the highlights for us.

Thank you

Room Tip: They're all fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BudgiesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This place is absolutely beautiful and the staff is exceptional! My wife and I both agree that this resort may have been the best service we have ever received, at any stay...ever! We were overwhelmed by the friendliness of the Fijian people and the owners of the resort.
Our bure did not have A/C but it did not matter for the trip. The rooms are beautiful! The grounds are well kept and the food was great. About the only thing missing is there is no beach but it didn't even matter.
The diving was adequate to good right at the resort but the Rainbow Reef diving (just a short boatride away) was beautiful with great visibility.
Make sure you take advantage of the opportunity to visit the local people at Vuna village to meet the local Fijian people. We also spent one afternoon watching rugby matches at the village.
If you really want to get away and decompress(mentally), this is the place!!
We will return for sure!

Room Tip: The bures are much bigger than the A/C rooms but either would suffice. They all have great views an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jc95fla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taveuni Island
23822.8 mi away
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 10 in Taveuni Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
23822.6 mi away
Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages
7.9 mi away
Taveuni Dive Resort
Taveuni Dive Resort
#5 of 10 in Taveuni Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23822.9 mi away
Makaira Resort
Makaira Resort
#2 of 3 in Matei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Remote Resort - Fiji Islands
23812.5 mi away
Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji
Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji
#1 of 1 in Qamea Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Taveuni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Taveuni

Property: Paradise Taveuni
Address: South Vuna Road | Waiyeko, Taveuni Island, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Taveuni Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Taveuni Island
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Taveuni Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Taveuni 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Taveuni, situated on the southern tip of Taveuni, is Fiji's freshest new boutique Resort. Its unique Deep Water Frontage allows Guests to dive, snorkel and swim from the lava flow edge into pristine warm tropical waters any time. To experience the culture of mystical Fiji, spend time in Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradise Taveuni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Taveuni Hotel Taveuni Island
Paradise Taveuni Island
Paradise Hotel Taveuni Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing