We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the Best Resorts, lovely experience”
Review of Paradise Taveuni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Paradise Taveuni
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Taveuni Island
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the Best Resorts, lovely experience”
Reviewed 2 March 2009

Bula guys!

Well, we had the best time of our life. We left from Sydney and we arrived to Taveuni after after a few days in Nadi.

Well, the place is simply Paradise and the staff are simply fantastic. Also the owners/managers Allan and Terri are simply lovely. We had a magic holiday, scuba diving, trips to the rain forest and even a fishing trip. The pool in the resort to chill out, read a book and enjoy life.

I have to mention that as a keen diver, this is by far one of the best dive centers/resorts I have ever been, diving Rainbow Reef was one of my best scuba diving experiences (and after more than 2500 dives, that means a lot!).

Overall, a very lovely experience.

Thanks a lot

Martin and Margaret

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scubadiver77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    45
    12
    9
    2
See reviews for
63
225
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
noosa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2009

Paradise is beautiful. The place is stunning.

Getting in the water is almost impossible at low tide, unless they replace the ladders.

There are no beaches, only straight into the water. However the water is beautiful and clear and the coral and fish are amazing. I even saw a shark out at the edge!

The grounds are lovely. The Fijian staff are loving and very welcoming.However they are so focused on trying to follow all the rules and regs set by the management that they are on edge all the time and not relaxed.

Our issues were only about the westerners. After a extremely bumpy ride from the airport (it is Fiji mind you), which only gets worse after bad weather, we got off and were told to toughen up by one of the managers on arrival, as my pregnant wife was feeling sensitive and concerned after being jerked around for 90 minutes.

OK, warning. The management and owners have absolutely no tact. For us it felt like we were EXPECTED to enjoy everything, rather than being left to our own devices.

It was like they already knew what our great holiday would be like and there was no room to simply say, hey guys we are happy to relax and if we want anything we'll definitely ask.

I know their intent is to give you great service, so frequently the manager came round to check on us, which we would have appreciated but it felt forced and contrived, plus almost every time without fail she was rude and insulting.

Most of the staff felt depressed to us, both Fijian and Western. It's supposed to be paradise but nobody except the visitors were happy.

Their willingness to be really flexible with food especially, plus it was mostly really delicious, was wonderful.

Nothing else around the resort, so enjoy it there.

In the end, we couldn't stand the staff dynamics any longer and left early.

As we left the owner said to us,I'VE HEARD YOU HAD SOME ISSUES HERE, I'M SORRY YOU DIDN'T APPRECIATE OUR SERVICE

rather than inquiring on what they could do to improve. it was very arrogant. It was as if they knew what our perfect holiday should be and if we didn't want to fit in with their ideas then it was annoying for everyone involved.

I would recommend staying elsewhere on the island. Just not there!!

BTW if you book, ring first and find out whether your hut (beautiful btw) will be anywhere near the generator. If so, cancel the booking.... it's super noisy and smelly to boot. generators are a given on taveuni, but it is too close to about 4 of the huts.

  • Liked — fijians and the water and the grounds
  • Disliked — the management and owners
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
19 Thank nrgofone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2009

We recently spent 5 nights at Paradise Taveuni over Christmas 2008. Having never been to Taveuni before, we didn't know what to expect, but we are happy to say we were absolutely thrilled with Paradise Taveuni!

The resort is very well maintained - the grounds are beautiful and the bures are newly renovated and decorated nicely. The restaurant has fantastic views out to the water or you can organise a private meal at various locations around the resort!

The owners and managers are fantastic. They go absolutely above and beyond to ensure that you have a great time - nothing is too much trouble, and all requests are attended to with a happy smile and a positive attitude. This attitude is also reflected in the staff, who were so kind and lovely that we instantly felt like we were among friends.

Lots of activities are on offer - the snorkelling is amazing (best I've ever done in Fiji!) and they also have an on site dive shop to organise diving if you want. They can also organise trips to the waterfalls or walks around the local area to visit the village etc. The Fiji night was a highlight for us - the dance groups from the village come to the resort and perform dances and have a kava ceremony. The best part about the Fiji night was that all the locals seemed to be having almost as much fun as the guests - there was no sense of the performance being a chore or being 'fake', it was just them being happy to share their talents, songs and stories with us. There is also an onsite beauty spa - I highly recommend the massages!

Overall we had a fantastic time and would not hesitate to recommend Paradise Taveuni to all our friends - we hope to be able to come back soon but until then we are so grateful to Paradise for giving us a wonderful Christmas and leaving us with so many great memories.

Vinaka!
John, Joan, Lucy

  • Liked — Friendly staff, amazing snorkelling, great atmosphere!!
  • Disliked — Leaving... wish we could have stayed longer
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lucy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2008

We had an amazing time at Paradise, we wish we had booked a longer stay! Our main purpose was a short getaway and to try the scuba diving on the Rainbow Reef. Any doubt on the quality of the diving was put to rest when we ran into a couple from National Geographic at the Airport who had just stayed at Paradise and loved it. We chose Taveuni as it also had other activites (Waterfalls, Hikes).
Yes the resort is an hour's drive from the airport, half of which is a dirt road. But it is totally worth the ride! Not another resort to be seen - Beautiful and Secluded!
The Staff
The staff at Paradise are incredible. We were dumbfounded when asked "Where would you like to dine this evening?" - After seeing our blank stares they explained you could have dinner in the open air lounge, the wedding bure, or at a secluded point at the oceanfront. Very Cool! As you walk the grounds everyone will return a "Bula!" with a genuine smile. Even the gardening crew will take the time to say Bula!
The Diving
The highlight of our trip has to be the scuba diving. Absolutely stunning. We did two dives at Vuna Reef - about 5 minutes from Paradise and great diving. We then did two days of diving on Rainbow Reef. The soft corals are out of this world! The pictures don't do it justice. Our new number one dive site! Paradise has incredible snorkeling and shore diving right at the resort. We did a night dive from the dock and saw two Blue Ribbon Eels, two lionfish, and a ton of banded shrimp.
The Dive crew are the best we've ever encountered - They take care of everything - you just have to check out your gear and make sure your good to go and have a great time! Our boat captain Ronnie would take extra time so the tides and current were just right to make sure the dive went smoothly.
The Excursions
We took a full day trip to the Lavena Coastal Walk, Bouma Falls, The Waterslide, and the International Dateline. It was a looong day but worth it! Our guide - Maikeli was awesome - he would tell us the local stories and explain what the plants were used for traditionally. We even enjoyed coconut along the walk!

Pros
Incredible Scuba Diving!
Amazingly Friendly Staff
Beautiful Accomodations and Surrounding Grounds

Cons
No AC, but there are Fans in the rooms

I highly reccomend this resort as a once in a lifetime experience!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AdventureSeekersToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2008

We recently returned from a wonderful stay with Paradise Taveuni. Our main purpose of going to Taveuni was to dive the Rainbow Reef which was every bit as excellent as we had hoped. It was a bonus to stay at Paradise. There was nothing they missed in service. Everyone there is quite friendly. As there were only about 12 - 14 guests while we were there ( there are only 10 bures thus there never will be a lot of guests) all the staff quickly knew your names.
The food was excellent and plentiful. Fresh fish was on the menu for lunch or dinner almost daily. You can choose to eat at a variety of locations for any meal of the day. The large open dining room is always a nice option, but on some days we choose to eat by the pool or under the beautiful Wedding Bure.
We enjoyed the nightly serenade of musicians who would stop by your bure during happy hour and then play all through dinner. The musicians were staff who all had other jobs at Paradise such as grounds keepers or security guards during the day.
The bures are beautiful and were only completed in 2006/07.
We were concerned that bugs might be a problem as Paradise is basically in a rain forest. But that proved not to be true. A few mosquitos came out at sunset but a bit of repellant was all that was needed.
The generator now runs 24/7 except for about a 15 minute shut down daily. So being without power was never a problem.
The dive shop is on the premise thus a short walk to dive each day. All the staff there was most friendly and helpful as well. They knew the Rainbow Reef and we had many days of outstanding diving there.
There is not much outside Paradise to do as most everything on the island is a long way away. But we didn't need nor want to go elsewhere as diving was our main focus. There is a daily activity board posted in the dining hall and they offer various things to do each day some for pay and some for free. For example one day was a coconut deminstration and another day we went for a 2 hour guided walk and learned about local folklore and Fijian history.
We would highly recommend staying at Paradise and truly think it deserves it's 5 star rating.

  • Liked — setting, friendlyness of staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank QuimbyCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2008

Paradise Taveuni was a wonderful spot to take our honeymoon in Feburary. The weather was much better on Taveuni compared to mainland Fiji (where is was raining) and the atmosphere, staff and location of this resort made our first trip to Fiji very personalised and unforgettable.

We definately recommend the spa treatments - the massages, facials and foot rubs are FANTASTIC i didnt want to leave when the treatments had finished....

The snorkelling is fantastic, and its a 30 second walk from your bure, so make sure you take sun screen and even if you've never snorkelled before the dive team is more than happy to show you how.

The Bouma waterfalls tour was also a lot of fun, we got a picnic set up on a beach, a guide to the falls and a trip to the international dateline and a natural waterslide (which is a lot of fun).

The only thing we would recommend is to make sure you take some insect repellent if mosquitos like you....its a tropical island, mosquitos come out at night while you are eating dinner...but the staff are excellent and the resturant is kept almost 100% mosquito free.

Also, take a few pairs of cossies because once you've been in the water you'll be in and out of it all day!

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLCass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
178 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2008

Spent three nights at Paradise Taveuni in September 2008. My main purpose was to dive the famous dive sites of the Somosomo Strait and Rainbow Reef, but it had been a challenge to find the best location to do this from as the reef is off the coast on the island of Vanua Levu, not Taveuni. But since that part of the coast is inaccessible by road from the airports of Vanua Levu I had settled for Taveuni.
The resort itself is remote and peaceful. The staff is very friendly – a function of the nice and outgoing character of the Fijians that you will meet throughout the islands. The food is good to average and a little in the expensive side – there is no other place within reach so in this location you will have to get all your food from the resort. There is no need to purchase the full board they try to sell you as inclusive in your room rate when you first approach them. If you buy when there, you will have a wider choice and it will work out the same cost, perhaps less depending on your appetite. In general, there seems to be a focus on charging down to the smallest things, which gets a little in the way of the appreciation.
I booked an hour-long body massage at the “SPA”. It was interrupted by the therapist stepping out to have a chat with a friend halfway and cut short by ten minutes. I noted that to the therapist who said she had been through all parts which was the important thing. Nonsense of course. Noting my dissatisfaction, I was later approached by one of the managers who admitted it was regrettable, but the only compensation offered was to go back and do the last ten minutes, which in itself does not give you much time to get into a state of relaxation, so I found that to be poor handled. I have to admit that the quality of the massage had not been very good in the first place, so even less inclined to take up the offer. Thought it was poorly handled. The foot massage that you may receive on arrival is good.
When you arrive at the airport, it is still quite a trip to the resort. You will have to travel for an hour. Half the road is a very bumpy gravel road making for a quite unpleasant ride. If you are there to do some of the few other things tourist do other than diving (like a waterfall excursion) the location is quite inconvenient and you will find yourself spending several hours on these gravel roads.
As for the dive shop on the resort, it is somewhat disorganized. A key problem is the lack of attention to affixing the tanks when on the boat. On more than half the dives I was on, we had tanks flying round the deck which needless to say is unacceptable, and something I have only experienced on few and isolated occasions elsewhere. The diveshop seem a bit disorganized with a number of new people around as well. Despite being relatively close (a 15 minute boat ride) to the world-famous dive sites of the other side of the strait, they seem to prefer going to the nearby dive sites, which are not bad at all, but not the Rainbow Reef either. If you do your research before on the Rainbow Reef divesites and push a bit you can get them to fit it in, but they seem to have a preference for the easier divesites. It is a real shame being so close, yet not spending more time there.
So in conclusion, having spent some time on researching the best location for diving the Rainbow Reef, if I could do it again, I would go for one of the resorts which are actually on the coast of Vanua Levu, particularly The Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat (www.dolphinbaydivers.com). I had discarded it since you would need to go by boat across the strait (a 15 minute boat ride), but given the state of the gravel road that takes you down to Paradise Taveuni, it would have been easier. I talked to them before; they seem very friendly and focused on diving. There might also Rainbow be a place called Reef Resort on Vanua Levu, also right on the Rainbow Reef, if it still exists. If you want to stay on Taveuni, it is probably logistically simpler to stay at a resort which is closer to the airport further up on the east coast. That will also bring you closer to the Rainbow Reef and possibly some diveshops that focus more on that. One of the things, I had been looking to do instead was to dive from Savusavu. There you have divecenters that come highly recommended, but unfortunately, the otherwise very convenient airport was closed from around August to November I was told. Here they have other well-reputed divesites they focus on, but does not seem to do a lot of Rainbow Reef sites. If I were to go back (which I probably will, it will be Savusavu and/or Vanua Levu for diving. If not for diving, the Yasawas are really better.
The relaxed and remote location is good for budget honey mooners wanting to get away from the more busy honeymoon destinations, and it seems to attract quite a few of them too. There are two great Fijian cover bands that play at night at the resort; maybe they should rehearse Elvis’ True Love Travels on a Gravel Road.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank ExphilipX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taveuni Island
23822.8 mi away
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 10 in Taveuni Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
23822.6 mi away
Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages
7.9 mi away
Taveuni Dive Resort
Taveuni Dive Resort
#5 of 10 in Taveuni Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23822.9 mi away
Makaira Resort
Makaira Resort
#2 of 3 in Matei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Remote Resort - Fiji Islands
23812.5 mi away
Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji
Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji
#1 of 1 in Qamea Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Taveuni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Taveuni

Property: Paradise Taveuni
Address: South Vuna Road | Waiyeko, Taveuni Island, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Taveuni Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Taveuni Island
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Taveuni Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Taveuni 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Taveuni, situated on the southern tip of Taveuni, is Fiji's freshest new boutique Resort. Its unique Deep Water Frontage allows Guests to dive, snorkel and swim from the lava flow edge into pristine warm tropical waters any time. To experience the culture of mystical Fiji, spend time in Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradise Taveuni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Taveuni Hotel Taveuni Island
Paradise Taveuni Island
Paradise Hotel Taveuni Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing