We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Beautiful”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Taveuni Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nakia Resort & Dive
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Taveuni Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We had booked 3 nights and 3 days of diving with Nakia Resort. The resorts is just stunning, perched on a cliff edge looking out into the Somosomo Straight, immaculate gardens and palm trees. The rooms are amazing, wooden cabin type rooms, very nicely built, decorated and very very comfortable with lovely balconies, perfect for sitting out on.
The balcony on which the food is served is really nice, a great view over the resort with good quality wifi. The food itself was really high quality, all the produce is grown on the resort and tasted fantastic, great range from local fijian cuisine to western all expertly prepared by the very friendly local staff. The owners of the resort Jim and Robin are delightful, although we only got to meet Robin in person as Jim was away during our trip, he was however extremely helpful while booking and also accommodating for our travel issue due to flight cancellations. Robin was an ideal host, providing friendly and interesting conversation about their story, the resort and life on Taveuni while dinner was being prepared. Nothing was too much effort for any of the staff.
Nakia resort is a true Eco resort with ALL their power being provided by local renewable resources. They have installed a water turbine into a stream to provide all the electricity the resort needs. Jim and Robin should be congratulated for what they have achieved with Nakia resort, a great example of how a resort should be designed, built and operated.
We completed 6 dives with the Dive school that is part of Nakia, Taveuni Ocean Sports and I have to say were probably one of the most professional dive operators I have ever dived with. Safety was always a number one priority, well kept boats, very clear briefings from Captain Ron, great snacks between dives and very friendly and informative dive crew. The dive sites speak for them selves, quite simply beautiful. We live and dive in Asia and these were some of the best dive sites we have ever seen. I could have dived the White wall every day for the rest of my life.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hutchinsons12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 129 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

My husband and I spent nearly two weeks with Nakia Resort and Dive and had the most wonderful experience. We rented the Sunset Bure, which I'd highly recommend you spend the extra money for as it has a drop dead gorgeous view of the ocean and surrounding islands. It was very clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. We purchased the daily meal plan and the food was simply delicious. We had our pick of the menu each day and everything was made fresh using product from their lovely gardens. We also purchased a 5-day dive package and the service and dive sites were spectacular--it was so good that I opted to add a couple of days, making it 7. I've never seen anything as beautiful as rainbow reef in the 22 years I've been diving. But most of all, I have to rave about the owners (Jim, Robin and Julie) and the staff. They are truly wonderful people who make your enjoyment and quality of experience their top priority. Over the course of our stay, we had the pleasure of getting to know them personally, which they were more than happy to spend time doing. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Nakia to anyone who's looking for a laid back, yet high quality experience in paradise! I hope to return again soon!

Room Tip: Select the Sunset Bure as the view is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon for two weeks and had a fantastic time. Jim, Robin and all the staff were fantastic, you really get that personal touch from the staff at Nakia. The food was excellent, the fish curry being my favourite.

I completed my open water certificate through Taveuni Ocean Sports (Nakia's Dive Shop). Julie was an excellent dive master. I was a little nervous prior to commencing the training due to reading that the dive sites are more suited to the intermediate to advanced diver. I felt comfortable in the water from the outset under Julie's guidance. On the last day of our stay we were lucky enough to dive The White Wall followed by a stunning shallow water dive at Jacks Place. It was an amazing dive day.

We had a fantastic honeymoon and look forward to returning next year. Highly recommend a stay at Nakia, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed at Nakia for a week, diving every 2nd day. All the staff at the resort and on the dive boats were fantastic and friendly. Jim and Robyn went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed. Good to see the passion they had for the welfare of the island and people living there. Meal times were a highlight with good food and friendly staff. We took our own duty free wine, and bought the local beer, as this wasnt expensive. We used the resort push bikes to go into "town" and visit the natural waterslide (an easy leisurely ride) and did a day trip with Knox to do the Lavena coastal walk, which was an easy walk with a refreshing swim at the waterfall once we got there.
We did 6 dives with Julie, every one at a different site. Julie and her staff ran a professional and personalised operation with briefings before each dive. Great, as we had 2 divers per instructor. There was so much to see, it was a visual overload. We hired the gear and it was all top quality.
All and all, we would recommend Nakia as a great place to relax and unwind.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Brent Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We booked to stay 4 nights at Nakia Resort, but due to flight delays arrived 2 days late. After such a horrible traveling experience, it was amazing to arrive at Nakia. Jim & Robin were fantastic in welcoming us with open arms, upgrading us to their best bure and offering our dives for free, to make up for our lost time.

We had the most amazing stay at Nakia. The food was absolutely amazing and so fresh (the best we had on our 3 week vacation!). The facilities and hospitality were 5 star and the surroundings and diving can not be described in words. There's a reason why everyone in Fiji tells you Taveuni is the most beautiful island! Robin & Jim are amazing hosts and wonderful people. We learnt so much from them! And their staff is phenomenal!

We will definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leendert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My girlfriend and I did our basic open water diving course with nakia and stayed there for the duration as well. Food takes precedent in a lot of our travel plans and this place was excellent - definitely try the fish tacos! The diving was amazing as well, and the family who own and run the resort are such lovely and accommodating people. We are definitely planning to head back to the island for the local film festival that they helped create (in Aug 14?). We would come here again in a heartbeat and definitely want to recommend it to anyone who is looking for a place to stay in Taveuni.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MickMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The bures and gardens are gorgeous. The food is excellent. And the owners, Robin and Jim, and staff greet you with a sincere welcome and make you feel perfectly at home. I don't know of any place I've ever felt more relaxed. An ideal place to get away from it all. Plus, as a birder, I enjoyed staying here because the organic gardens and fruit trees are a magnet for the local bird life.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taveuni Island hotels
5.9 mi away
Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages
5.1 mi away
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
#2 of 11 in Taveuni Island
354 reviews
23834.3 mi away
Taveuni Dive Resort
Taveuni Dive Resort
#5 of 11 in Taveuni Island
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Makaira Resort
Makaira Resort
#3 of 4 in Matei
106 reviews
5.1 mi away
Tides Reach Resort
Tides Reach Resort
#4 of 4 in Matei
38 reviews
4.8 mi away
Garden Island Resort
Garden Island Resort
#8 of 11 in Taveuni Island
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nakia Resort & Dive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nakia Resort & Dive

Address: Taveuni Coast Road | Vatulaga, Taveuni Island, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Taveuni Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Taveuni Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Taveuni Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Taveuni Island
Price Range: £133 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical rainforests, pristine beaches, world-class reefs, and a 12-meter swimming pool await guests at Nakia Resort & Dive, Fiji. Nakia is an intimate, comfortable, family-owned, eco resort on the Garden Island of Taveuni. The resort uses water from artesian springs, fresh organic fruits and vegetables grown on site, and the natural energy of the sun, water, and wind. This combination of eco features is unique in Fiji. Nakia welcomes families, honeymooners, adventurers, and guests seeking quiet, pristine beauty. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nakia Resort And Dive
Nakia Resort & Dive Hotel Taveuni Island
Nakia Hotel Dive
Nakia Hotel Taveuni Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing