We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking forward to trip 11!!!!”
Review of Turtle Island

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Turtle Island
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Turtle Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We returned a couple of months ago from our 10th trip! You might be asking yourself why so many trips to one place when there are so many places in the world to visit. The answer...the Fijian's warm, welcoming and genuine nature, specifically the Turtle family. They truly make you feel like your a part of their family.

Over the years we have traveled extensively and have yet to find anything comparable. This is a place where everyone knows your name and you are greeted daily with big hugs and beautiful smiles!

One of the things we love about Turtle is having the choice to do what we want. We can choose to spend the day at a private beach with a picnic lunch, go snorkeling, scuba dive, deep sea fish or lay in a hammock rocked by a gentle breeze overlooking the blue lagoon. The biggest decision of the day is where to dine for dinner. Do we have a private dine out or dine with other guest at the communal table? We occasionally have a private dine out but usually end up back at the table, where we have made many long lasting friendships. Its quite common for guest to sit at the table into the wee hours of the morning enjoying great conversation over a few bottles of wine!

The island has flourished under the direction of manage Alex and Richards son, Richard Jr. We loved all of the renovations including the solar panels which run most of the island, a chefs dream garden, new beach bar, gift shop, bure upgrades, Boat 6 grill and a spa of spas!!!

The worst part about Turtle Island is leaving the turtle family and quite possibly putting on shoes!

We are already looking forward to our next trip. Thank you so much to our Turtle Family, Junior and Alex for making our stay memorable!!!! Warm hugs and big bulas!!! We love you all!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rhonda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

My wife and I spent our honeymoon on the amazing turtle island. The moment we set foot on the beach, we both asked ourselves, "when are we coming back?!" We had the time of our lives. Everyone employee made our stay. By the end of our stay, the employees literally felt like family. Every aspect of turtle island was breath taking. Speaking for myself, I'm not exactly the most happy person in the world...but when I was on turtle island, I've never been so happy. Especially being so lucky to spend our honeymoon here! If your hesitant about the financial aspect, it's WELL worth the money....just be careful if you choose to climb the coconut trees on your private picnics ;)

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrmrsmosher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Wow, where to begin with Turtle Island… It was Glorious! My husband and I wanted to go somewhere that was private, upscale and what we felt at the time was a “Once in a lifetime experience” so we chose Turtle Island from all of the reviews we had read, and we are thankful. We stayed 7 nights this past May for our honeymoon and let me tell you, it was not enough time, we wish we could stay there for a lifetime… From the minute you step off of that sea plane you are greeted with the most pure kindness and unwavering hospitality you could ask for. We have been to many resorts and vacations spots around the world, but nothing compares to Turtle Island. Plus this is not just a resort; it is a hidden Gem in paradise. You can do as much or as little as you please, and on your own schedule. We became so close to everyone on the island that they really did become family and have taken a part of them all back with us to the states. My husband and I will definitely be returning to Turtle Island and we can’t wait! Thank you again for all of the wonderful memories! BULA!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My husband and I took our 4 children ages 12-19 years to Turtle Island for family week. We had been two years before as a couple and fell in love with the Fijian culture, the beautiful beaches/clear blue water and most of all the Fijian people. We knew we wanted our children to have this same experience. It turned out to be better than we could've imagined. Our kids were welcomed by their Fijian "Buddie's" and spent every day spear fishing, swimming, scuba diving, etc... It was the perfect blend of family time and couple time. Our accommodations were perfect, our "Mama" was amazing and took such great care of us. Turtle Island is unique and offers much more than a traditional resort. You are welcomed as family and have many opportunities to experience their culture first hand. We were able to attend church services on one of the local Islands, we listened to children sing beautiful hymns and were able to engage with the locals. We loved it and our kids are begging to go back, same week next summer!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank KASDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I just spent a week on Turtle Island.
It is a beautiful island with 7 or 8 incredible private beaches. The bures are spacious and very nicely furnished.
It is a great resort but 2 things make it quite unique.
Firstly the incredibly warm and friendly team at Turtle. I have never met more warm or hospitable staff who make every effort to make your stay a special one.
Secondly at Turtle Island you feel like more like you are staying at a friends house than in a hotel. You have meals with the other guests and a number of the staff and special occasions like anniversaries and birthdays are celebrated together.
Turtle is a unique and special place.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank PMB1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We went to Turtle Island to celebrate a wedding anniversary. We stayed in the Deluxe, rather than grand bure and loved it. My husband and I would not have used the in room spa, so there was no point in paying for the grand bure.

Turtle Island is beautiful, with an amazing staff who say "welcome home" as you are carried in their arms from the sea plane to shore.

Each day is what you make of it. There are private beaches you can reserve for lunch and sunbathing. You can eat each meal with the group or choose to have breakfast in bed, picnic lunch on the beach or a romantic dinner on the dock, pontoon or spa deck. You just need to let your bure mama know and she will make it happen. There is sport fishing, snorkeling, scuba, horseback riding, kayaking, paddleboats, and volleyball if you want to be active, or you can choose to have a massage or just relax in your hammock all day. You decide.

Each night has a planned activity for entertainment and this is where the staff really shines. There may be a sing along, a performance of traditional island dance, the staff choir, a sunset cruise, and much more, with the evening concluding with sharing of kava.

We truly did enjoy our stay and treasure the friends we made with the staff and other guests.

Comments in other posts have been made about the tipping policy. It does feel awkward to be presented with the "option" of what "most guests" tip at checkout rather than allowing something more anonymous or discreet, but again, if you do what you want, you'll be okay.

It was wonderful because we chose from all it had to offer and made it our own. We love the beauty and the warmth and kndness of the staff most of all.

Room Tip: Grand bures have an in room spa tub while deluxe do not. Consider whether you will have the time an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luligian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had such a wonderful time at Turtle Island that we booked a return trip before we came home!

It's a beautiful place with the most friendly staff we've ever encountered in our travels! They smile and sing and laugh all day! You are welcomed by the staff with a lively song and a cold beverage as soon as you arrive on the beach. A tip here: take some time to freshen up in Nandi because your photo will be taken as soon as you get to Turtle Island. The photo is posted so that staff and other visitors can call you by name (a friendly touch). Other photos and videos are taken throughout your stay by your Bure Mama (your personal concierge and maid) and a Turtle Island photographer. You are given a wonderful album of photos and a DVD of your trip the morning of your departure, so you really don't even need to pack a camera!

We enjoyed days on our own at one of the many private beaches. There are a maximum of 14 couples on the island at any one time and 14 private beaches. The daily newsletter delivered to your Bure (your room) tells you which couple is assigned to which beach, but check with your Bure Mama because other couples don't always go to their beach and you may be able to get a beach even if it isn't your day for that particular one. Our favorite beach was "Devil's Beach." It's TOTALLY private and there's less wind there. Read the notebook in your room for the picnic menu for your private beach day(s) and ask your Bure Mama about other picnic options not listed on the menu (we had garlic shrimp that rivaled the lobster!). When you arrive at your beach your picnic lunch, beverages (we recommend the Fiji Bitter beer), hammock, and floating mats will all be there waiting for you having been delivered by the staff. From our room we packed sunscreen, bug spray, and our walkie talkie (to call when we were ready to be picked up). The beach bag, bug spray, and walkie talkie are provided and in your room. We chose to walk to our private beaches (the only time we needed shoes during our stay), and then get picked up in their golf cart to return to our room.

Besides relaxing on the beach, other options for your day include snorkeling (equipment is provided in your room), paddle boarding, kayaking, deep sea fishing (not for those that get easily sea sick as they stay out until they get fish!), scuba diving, and walking around the island. We also did a morning horseback ride and watched the sunrise on "Long Beach." There was warm rain 3 days out of the 7 we were there, so our horseback ride was postponed a day, but it was worth waiting for. If you're interested in learning more about the staff and their way of life, we highly recommend going on the Sunday village visit where you are taken by boat to one of the local villages. You attend a church service (bring some cash to donate), meet children and families of the staff, and are given a tour of the village. It was a wonderful experience and made us feel even closer to the staff. We would also recommend attending the morning staff meeting a few days out of your stay. You'll be invited to the meeting on your last morning, but don't wait to go until then.

In the evening we looked forward to the dinners around the community dinner table where we enjoyed lively conversations with guests from all over the world. After dinner there is usually some activity: games or Fijian dancing. We joined in and had fun! We also stayed for the nightly Kava ceremony...interesting and enjoyable even if you don't acquire a taste for Kava.

We also chose to have a quiet dinner for two at our Bure one evening, as well. Remember, just ask your Bure Mama for whatever you want...she'll do her best to make it happen! A note about the service here: the staff is wonderful and they do everything to make sure you are happy! Sometimes the service was a bit slow by 'American standards', but remember you're there to relax and enjoy, so if you have to wait a few minutes for your cold beverage to arrive, just take in the view while you wait and appreciate where you are! Also, the managers are there to make sure you have what you need, so speak up if you do need something and they will see to it!

If you're considering Turtle Island and are taken aback by the cost up front, remember EVERYTHING is included in that price (except additional massages after your first one and the gratuity paid at the end of your stay). We compared notes with travelers we met at the airport on our return trip. They had stayed on the main island of Fiji and had to pay for every little thing they did...rent a paddle board, buy another round of drinks, find a store to buy snacks, etc. We had every amenity, activity, and food and beverage available to us by just waving over a staff person and we never had to take out our wallets. It was total relaxation AND included days on private beaches, as well!

I have to write one word of caution here: the travel agent we spoke with told us that it doesn't rain out where Turtle Island is. It does rain...it's a tropical island after all! We experienced warm rain 3 out of our 7 days there, so we just enjoyed the excuse to sit around and relax. Other guests we met told us their travel agent had promised them that Dom Perignon Champagne was poured freely all day long. There is sparkling wine on the island..we enjoyed Tattinger and Moet Chandon, but obviously not Dom Perignon. I'm not sure why agents promise such things when what Turtle Island has to offer is already amazing, but I thought I would mention that word of caution so that you don't start your trip off feeling disappointed.

Remember to just go with the flow, relax, meet people, and enjoy your time on what will feel like your own private island! It's absolutely amazing and we really can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank Sharon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turtle Island
20.5 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
745 reviews
3.7 mi away
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Nacula Island
1,420 reviews
2.5 mi away
Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Tavewa Island
96 reviews
17.5 mi away
Yasawa Island Resort and Spa
Yasawa Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Yasawa Island
302 reviews
1.9 mi away
Nanuya Island Resort
Nanuya Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Nanuya Lailai Island
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Island

Address: Yasawa Islands, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Turtle Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Turtle Island
Price Range: £1,357 - £1,752 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Turtle Island 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Turtle Island - located in the Fiji islands. You have found one of the most unique all-inclusive private islands in all the world. Be one of only 14 couples sharing the most beautiful and lush 500 acre private island resort… where each couple can have their own private beach and is assigned a dedicated personal concierge, your bure mama. We provide our guests one of the most intimate, private and romantic experiences. Your private island includes private beach picnics, romantic private dine outs, spa treatments, horse back riding through the winding island trails or on your own private beach, scuba diving, champagne sunrise breakfasts, an amazing and friendly Fijian staff is ready to make all of your dreams come true. This exclusive private island paradise awaits you and your partner for a romantic week to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Turtle Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Island Hotel Turtle Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing