We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful old charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Eastern Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Labasa
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This was a really nice hotel, with all the comforts needed, close to town (a block off the main street), but not the noise of being on the main street. The staff were amazing and the pool was clean and fresh. The restaurant was good, but very pricey compared to any other restaurant in town, with small portions. Everything comes with French fries....beware!! We enjoyed our stay in the upstairs family suite and will be back again!

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms are a bit louder as there is constant sweeping going on (the beautiful sounds o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ywamer_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

This hotel is under new management.

Enjoyed my viist there. Food is awesome and right next to the Labasa River and close to all amenities. Pizza made at this hotel restaurant is very good. Not too far away from the hotel is located the best Chinese Food Restaurant and also a Cappucino Corner, This is all next to the Labasa Market.

Room Tip: If you need to relax and enjoy, in the small island of Vanua Levu, this hotel offers it be it busine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeet747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stayed in the standard room for 2 nights which included a double bed and sofa bed. The room was clean, included air con, tv, fridge, kettle etc. Staff were really nice, helpful and accommodating to some changes we needed. The price of the room was good value considering there is not many other places to stay in Labasa. Walking distance to the nearby town. Overall it was a hassle free and comfortable place to stay. Recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nn000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Stayed at the Grand Eastern before catching the ferry to Lautoka. A real gem. Reminded me so much of Fiji from the 60's and 70's before the reorts sprang up.
Good clean rooms with friendly charming staff.
The restaurant with the photos of colonial fji was absolutely charming.
Worth the visit to see what Fiji is really like.

Room Tip: Paid extra for the better rooms overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

You don't come here just stay at the Grand Easter, but if you have to come to Labasa then this is the place to stay. In reasonable condition, good bathrooms, good sized rooms, a television & aircon. No windows at the front - just shutters with insect screens, but perfect for the climate. The noise of the cane train may wake you at night. Enjoy the pool - great at the end of the day. Nice sitting area & bar. Wireless Internet available, but only works in the restaurant & bar - it really didn't get to the rooms. However the speed was fairly good and worked when necessary. There is a supermarket next door - which closes by 6pm, like most of the town. There is very little open on Sunday.

The staff here are fantastic. Be warned - everything is on Fiji time, so the wait for things may be a bit longer than you may be used to. But relax! We ordered dinner, and went off to our rooms for a drink. The staff came & got us when it was ready. They pushed together tables for our group, and anticipated some of our needs. Better than some big city places!!

Room Tip: Go the deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ian_hogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

This is a good hotel which has all the essentials for a comfortable stay. Room i stayed in has a/c which cooled the room quickly. There was a small fridge, which was big enough to keep the milk and chocolates cool. Tv size was pretty small. The delux room had 1 large queen bed and a single bed and were comfortable enough to have a good nights sleep on. Most rooms are close to the pool which is great to cool down in the heat. The car park is inside the security gate. Infact there is a 24 hour security post at the entrance of the property so one can be resonably assured that their vechile is safe at alla hours. Had little interaction with the staff but they were very friendly. There is a resturant onsite with western type menu, however i didnt eat there. This hotel hosted quite a few gathering during my stay so resturants cant be all that bad. Also all gatherings do not go beyond 9pm. Overall this is a quite a good place to stay when in town. Property was clean n secure.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank koro25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vini S, Manager at Grand Eastern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Firstly we sincerely apologise for the late response as we had just started to sign up with trip advisor site recently. We wish to take this time to thank you sincerely for the good recommendation posted via trip advisor & we look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to the friendly north.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

If you find yourself in Labasa Fiji, the Grand Eastern is a great place to stay. Simple, nice, clean hotel. Comfortable beds and great staff, mostly business travelers, bar and restaurant on site. You will want to have a little tolerance for the sugar cane train, as the tracks are right in front of the hotel (and through most of town) the train operates at all times and the whistle on the train sounds whenever they go by. Not loud enough to be a problem an after a few days it was a simple reminder of the islands main industry.

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool side opposite the main building might be less impacted by the light train whistle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tbromfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Labasa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Northpole
Hotel Northpole
#1 of 2 in Labasa
26 reviews
25.0 mi away
Daku Resort
Daku Resort
#1 of 12 in Savusavu
686 reviews
24.6 mi away
Savusavu Hot Springs Hotel
Savusavu Hot Springs Hotel
#11 of 12 in Savusavu
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Naveria Heights Lodge
Naveria Heights Lodge
#8 of 12 in Savusavu
167 reviews
26.3 mi away
Korovesi Sunshine Villas
Korovesi Sunshine Villas
#9 of 12 in Savusavu
20 reviews
25.6 mi away
Namale Resort & Spa
Namale Resort & Spa
#3 of 12 in Savusavu
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Eastern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Eastern Hotel

Address: Cnr Gibson & Rosawa Sts, Labasa, Vanua Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Vanua Levu > Labasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Labasa
Price Range: £41 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Eastern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Eastern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Eastern Hotel Fiji/Labasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing