We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stolen item”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Eastern Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Labasa
Reviewed 26 December 2013

very disapointing duty free stolen from room within 30 minutes after check in think twice before going there no response was taken by management until written report was given very poor guest service i strongly request my friends and families not to stay there

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
8  Thank jotika n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013

This hotel is simple but comfortable. I feel its one of the nicest hotels in the town of Labasa. If you are passing through and want a place to stay for the night consider this option. It's across the street from a great local market and its a few blocks from the main street in town.

The rooms are basic but comfortable.

The staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisChris79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Stayed for three nights after a unsatisfactory week at Palm Lea lodge. Little to do in Labasa, shopping and some food outlets substandard. Still a wonder in market, fruits spices and fish worth a look. Situated on a tidal river and not by the sea. Mainly people on business stay here. Upstairs room with balcony overlooking pool. Space and had no problems with biting mossies. Comfortable bed.Bathroom also large. Fridge. Tea/coffee facilities but suggest using bottled water even for this. Supermart next door. Aircon that works. This establishment has been there for some time and is showing it but the staff have smiles. Internet $5 hr. Had issue with children screaming all day in the pool, starting 6am. There are other people staying here so complained to front desk. Was told by reception to tell security. Should not be my job to do so. Finally got fed up on the last night as the screaming was still going on at 10.45 pm. Pool rules 9 to 9 so had to give security a severe talking to. Should not need to do this. Food fine but if need a change then the Oriental just down the road on the first floor next to the market. New Owners and their Chef did a mean pepper Mud/ mangrove island crab. Another option is the North Pole. Large screen in bar for sport events and the smell of good coffee if in need of something other than alcohol. Make sure taxi to and from airport is on meter otherwise the usual rip off can occur.

Room Tip: Upstairs although cost a little more
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Waikatosflyingkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

A pleasant colonial style hotel in the industrial city of Labasa. Unfortunately, when we arrived for a two night stay, our reservation could not be found. This had been made by my colleague's company through Expedia. We eventually had to spend the first night in a shared room of a lower category than booked. Staff were as helpful as they could be in the circumstances. Restaurant is excellent!

Room Tip: Not too much difference between the two categories of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pethos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Stayed 3 nights at this Inn and we were extremely impressed with the hotel and the service. The location, amenities and staff were excellent. The staff is great, the hotel is beautiful and clean, the rooms are spacious and very nice. We will definitely stay here again and I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Its just more than what you could expect from a hotel in the Northern parts of Fiji with its location right in the middle of the town of Labasa... You can easily access shops and markets if you are willing to do some shopping...

Try a room on the riverside. It has a closure view of the river. The people are just friendly... Its a hotel worth visiting while in Fiji....

Room Tip: Riverside room is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rova W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel on the edge of town. It has real colonial charm set in tastefully landscaped grounds and rooms only a few steps from large swimming pool.It gave us a peaceful and relaxing stay

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathdunbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Labasa
0 mi away
Daku Resort
Daku Resort
#2 of 12 in Savusavu
703 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Northpole
Hotel Northpole
#1 of 2 in Labasa
26 reviews
0 mi away
Savusavu Hot Springs Hotel
Savusavu Hot Springs Hotel
#11 of 12 in Savusavu
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Naveria Heights Lodge
Naveria Heights Lodge
#8 of 12 in Savusavu
169 reviews
0 mi away
Korovesi Sunshine Villas
Korovesi Sunshine Villas
#9 of 12 in Savusavu
22 reviews
0 mi away
Namale Resort & Spa
Namale Resort & Spa
#4 of 12 in Savusavu
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Eastern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Eastern Hotel

Address: Cnr Gibson & Rosawa Sts, Labasa, Vanua Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Vanua Levu > Labasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Labasa
Price Range: £40 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Eastern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Eastern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Eastern Hotel Fiji/Labasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing