We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nukubati Private Island
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Labasa
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Holiday”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Nukubati Island Resort is truly amazing. We stayed there for 10 nights on our honeymoon. The island is beautiful, the staff are wonderful and the food is great. You have the option of just relaxing on the island and doing absolutely nothing or doing things like fishing, snorkeling and massages etc. We would definitely recommend this Resort to anyone. Thanks to Nukubati Resort for a truly wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HALDUGAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    7
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
183
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suva, Fiji
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Probably the best luxury island resort in the world for the discerning traveller. If you like getting off the beaten track, want to stay somewhere that has a genuine commitment to natural balance and like excellent food, sunsets, sea breezes, a wonderful natural ecosystem, amazing seascapes, culture and friendly people then this is the perfect resort for you. It is a romantic getaway where you leave the material world behind.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This was such a special and unique experience - unlike any other "vacation" that we have had. In fact, it was a lot more like visiting the large home of a family friend. And, by the end of our stay we felt as if we had made lots of friends - with other island guests and with our Fijian hosts (Jenny and all the staff). Thank you. We felt totally welcomed and cared for - in the sincerest way possible, with lots of smiles and thoughtfulness. From the moment that we stepped on to the island and were greeted with song and a beautiful flower lei, to the time that we left in songs and hugs, and every moment in between; all woven together to form a beautiful time in our lives. We could have asked for nothing more.

Our accommodations were comfortable with special daily touches such as a fresh footbath on the steps to wash off the sand, fresh flower arrangements in the spacious bure, champagne and nibbles brought to us at sunset, and so much more. Although we tried not to burden the staff with our laundry (as they have to hand wash it), when we did get some laundry washed, it came back to us in excellent condition.

We loved gathering in the plantation style pavilion before dinner for cocktails and laughter filled visiting with the other guests before candlelight dining at our private table. The meals were delicious and we had some memorable ones: the Meke and Kava night, and the traditional fish feast eaten off of banana leaves with our fingers, as well as our own private sandbar picnic.

We really enjoyed our visit to the village on Sunday when we were able to enjoy 2 worship services at the local church. The music was lovely and the people so warm and welcoming. The children were special and enjoyed having us there. Many of them circled around again and again in order to shake our hands.

We enjoyed an abundance of water sport opportunities such as paddle boarding, kayaking, snorkeling and swimming (and fishing and sailing, which we personally did not do, but it was available.) There was also volleyball and tennis, for those who need to expend a little more energy. Mostly we enjoyed just being here and getting rested and feeling a part of this special place. When we left, we could truly say that we were rejuvenated. Thank you, Jenny, and all the wonderful people who took care of us.

One more note on the uniqueness of this island, and that is that it is eco-sustainable. We were able to see the solar panel set-up by which the island is powered, as well as the extensive rainwater recovery and desalination center. Wifi is limited - as it should be - since we are there to vacation from work. I did miss having a pool (as an option to going into the ocean, especially when the tide was out), but this is minor and I appreciated the island ethic and focus on nature. Any old place can have a pool, but there aren't too many places with such a unique and special environment. Venaka, once again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DianeandEdK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Simply put, Nukubati is paradise in Fiji. The owners and staff have worked hard for just over 20 years to make this island such a beautiful escape from everyday western lives and from the moment we were welcomed into the Nukubati family, we felt totally relaxed and looked after. By the end of our stay, we left the island feeling totally rejuvenated and just a little regretful that we had not booked a longer stay!

We stayed on Nukubati for the first part of our honeymoon for 5 nights in the last Beachfront Bure. We paid a fairly discounted rate via Groupon.

As an eco-island, it’s fantastic to see the owners and staff looking after Fiji’s natural beauty and its resources. Due to this, there is no air conditioning, as they are totally off grid. We were a little hesitant because of this. During our stay, the weather was sunny and the temperature ranged between 29-33 during the day and 20-24 during the night. We also had one day of on and off showers so we had high humidity that day. We found that there was absolutely no need for air-conditioning due to the smart design of the island and use of overhead fans. If it got a bit too hot, we just went for a swim or cold shower!

When we landed in Labasa we were promptly greeted by our driver and another couple, who we later became friends with during our stay. The 1 hour drive to the jetty was beautiful. The first half is on sealed roads with the second half being unsealed. Once we arrived at the jetty, we could see the island and our luggage was whisked away to the awaiting speed boat.

After the short boat ride, we were met by 18 staff who we singing the Nukubati song on the beach. Two of the staff had hand-made leis with fresh flowers for us. We were directed to the pavilion where we were met by Jenny (one of the owners) and Gordon. We were given fresh coconuts with ice cold coconut water, which were delicious.

The pavilion is a great space. It’s very open and makes great use of the sea breeze. There are heaps of overhead fans that help keep everything cool. During our time we did a lot of socialising here before dinner. The bar makes some great cocktails and always serves them with some nibbles including the very popular roasted and salted coconut pieces.

Meanwhile, our luggage made its way to our bure (also referred to as the Honeymoon Bure as it’s the furthest away from the pavilion and the last bure). The bure was amazing – spacious and well appointed. Two standouts were the outdoor seated area and the large bathroom with double shower. The staff respected our privacy and only made up the room when we were out and about. Fresh flowers from the island would appear in all sorts of places, even in our little toy-dog travel companion’s hair! We enjoyed one of our lunches in the outdoor area, which was so relaxing. They brought down everything we needed. There are three points to consider about this bure. Firstly, there is slight noise overnight from the generator , however, we found that this is normally not heard above the overhead fans and it did not concern us. Secondly, the part of the beach directly in front is not ideal for swimming due to a large number of small rocks. The beach in front of the other bures are better for swimming. However, this didn’t concern us either, as there was so much to do during our stay! Lastly, this bure is the most private and we really appreciated this. We hardly saw anyone when we were here.

During the time we stayed (April) it was only safe to swim during high tide (before about 10am and from about 4pm) due to stingrays. This didn’t worry us much as we wanted to limit our sun exposure from 10-4pm. We had some snorkelling lessons with Salote, who is a fantastic teacher and very patient. It’s been over 15 years since we had snorkelled, so it was great for the recap! The snorkelling off the island is interesting and convenient, but due to the boat activity the water clarity is not perfect. It still well worth a look though. We found quite a few interesting fish and electric blue starfish.

The deal we purchased included a secluded sandbank picnic – which is something that should not be missed. A 15 minute boat ride took us to the sand bank. We had it all to ourselves, however other guests said there were fishermen around. The snorkelling was great over here – almost perfect water clarity and a much brighter reef and more interesting fish. They dropped off all the supplies we needed and a radio we could use to “call in for more food and drinks”!

A highlight with the Meke and Kava night. They start by making the kava and most of the staff come out. This is the real stuff, so they only gave us smaller bowls. However, in the past, some more adventurous guests than us have indulged in the full size bowl. After this, the traditional dance begins, which was very entertaining. After this, all the guests ate together on a feast of Fijian curries. The curry was one of the best dishes we ate while on the island.

The other major highlight was the Fijian BBQ. Freshly caught fish was cooked on an open fire on the beach. The method was to cook on hot stones so no ash would get into the fish. We were presented with an amazing spread of fish, Fijian root vegetables and sugar cane. It was accompanied with freshly made coconut milk dipping sauce. My wife has allergies to onion, so the chef prepared an onion free sauce for her.

Overall, the food served at the main three meals was great. Some stand out dishes was the herb crusted fillet of fish, fillet of beef, prawn fritters and caramelised bananas. The food was all extremely fresh, lovingly prepared and healthy. The only thing not to our tastes was the bread which we found to be quite sweet – but we thought this might be to suit the American tastebuds. It was fantastic to meet the chef, who has some amazing skills across multiple cuisines and who works incredibly hard alongside her two assistants in a VERY hot kitchen! For our last dinner at Nukubati we chose to dine on the beach. Nothing is too much trouble here – they setup the table, chairs with lights and mosquito torches and provided the professional service of a fine dining restaurant. It was a perfect way to end our stay.

Thank you to Jenny, Gordon and all of the Nukubati staff. We highly recommend Nukubati for couples. It was the perfect place to stay for our honeymoon.
Matt & Cat

Room Tip: A bure is the way to go if it's your honeymoon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merimbula, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We have just arrived back from 7 nights at Nukubati, celebrating our honeymoon. I don't think we have ever stayed at a place that makes you feel as special and genuinely welcome as Nukubati. Everyone is extremely friendly and hospitable and go above and beyond to ensure you have the most enjoyable of stays. If you are looking at a place that offers a true Fijian experience, relaxation or activity, and a memorable holiday, Nukubati is for you. We found it extremely difficult to leave.
Mark and Karla

Room Tip: We chose a normal bure and could not have been happier, however if you want extreme privacy choose t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark_MD9648ZR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

By far the most amazing place we have ever been. We were instantly welcomed into the family and spent the whole time in amazement at the beauty of the place and people. The highlight for the trip was the picnic on the sand bar, truly awesome . Book it now.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MrP1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed for 6 nights in the honeymoon bure and it was like something out of a movie. Massive private un-attached hut, which was actually like a house. Our own section at the end of the beach, where your own chairs and umbrellas sit on the beach for you. Or sit on your massive deck, 12 feet from the shore line. The food was incredible, you pick from a menu for each five course meal, with all locally grown products, fresh. Your booze is also included and all premium, including Fiji beer which you can just grab out of the fridge yourself. You can eat your meals anywhere you choose, they will bring it to you. Breakfest on your deck, dinner on the beach under torches, whatever you want they will help. We also very much enjoyed the daily routine of champagne and appetizers at sunset, which was brought to your hut. Our bathroom had a massive shower area with two adjacent showers.

This place is for escaping and checking out. No internet, no tv, no cell phone reception, no shows, no games, no buffet; this is what we wanted, to be alone on the beach. There is only eight bures on the island, so you will have privacy and will not be surrounded by others on the beach.

We paid to go out snorkeling on one day and it was just me, my wife and two staff. When we came up from snorkeling they had water, cheese and fruit in the boat for us to enjoy. When we arrived back to the island, coconut water and towels were handed to use by the staff waiting on the beach. They take care of you here. The staff even call you by your first names each time they assist you. The owner will introduce herself and add another touch of attention to your stay to ensure all your needs are being met.

Each guest gets a private picnic lunch on a sandbar. We loved it so much we booked and paid for a second trip because we realized we would never experience anything like that every again. Again each and every detail is thought of on this outing.

If you do not like big resorts and want seclusion, do not hesitate, book your stay on this private island. it will be a memory of a lifetime.

Room Tip: honeymoon bure! Un-attached rooms that look like a house with a massive deck. Worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Labasa
60.6 mi away
The Remote Resort - Fiji Islands
32.8 mi away
Namale Resort & Spa
Namale Resort & Spa
#3 of 12 in Savusavu
363 reviews
29.6 mi away
Daku Resort
Daku Resort
#2 of 12 in Savusavu
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Emaho Sekawa Resort
Emaho Sekawa Resort
#7 of 12 in Savusavu
95 reviews
33.5 mi away
Savasi Island Villas
Savasi Island Villas
#1 of 12 in Savusavu
197 reviews
23.7 mi away
Grand Eastern Hotel
Grand Eastern Hotel
#3 of 3 in Labasa
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nukubati Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nukubati Private Island

Property: Nukubati Private Island
Address: The Great Sea Reef | P.O.Box 1928, Labasa, Vanua Levu 0, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Vanua Levu > Labasa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Labasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nukubati Private Island 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Inclusive ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nukubati Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nukubati Private Island Great Sea Reef Hotel Labasa
Nukubati Island Hotel
Nukubati Island Resort All Inclusive
Nukubati Private Island Fiji/Labasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing