We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful oasis far from the beaten path”
Review of Palmlea Farms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palmlea Farms
Reviewed 29 July 2011

My wife and I were stuck an extra day on Vanua Levu when all flights were cancelled from Savusavu and we had to drive across the island to fly out of Labasa the next day. Our cruise company (Tui Tai) recommended we stay at Palmlea Farms Lodge and we loved it. Joe and Julie are gracious, friendly and knowledgable hosts and did everything possible to help us enjoy our unplanned "extra" day in Fiji. In addition to beautifully landscaped grounds and private bure cabins, there is also a top-class salt-water lap pool and an ocean jetty just 10 a minute walk away . But the real surprise is that such a small lodge has such an amazing restaurant. I am convinced that Palmlea Farms Lodge has the best menu on the island of Vanua Levu. They are open every day for lunch and for dinner when they have guests or for special bookings. I had an excellent lamb chop the size of a sirloin steak and my wife had a very good chicken pot pie. I wish we could have stayed an extra day to try some of their fresh seafood dishes or one of the pizzas cooked in a real pizza oven. Palmlea Farms Lodge is a real treat for travelers who want a relaxing break or a base to explore Vanua Levu. About 20 minutes from Labasa and less than an hour and a half from Savusavu, this is a top-class resort in anyone's book.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedondoJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
There are newer reviews for Palmlea Farms
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2011

Travelling to visit Labasa with the family, 2 children aged 5 and 3, and grandparents, we couldn't have wanted for a lovelier and warmer welcome than the one we received from hosts Julie and Joe, and their staff Malti and Una and Inoke and Ganesh. The views from the lodge and bure over the mangroves and lagoon out to Kia Island were beautiful, and great for watching birds as the sunset. We enjoyed kayaking at their private jetty, and swimming in the beautiful 25 metre lap pool. They arranged a great day trip into Labasa for the family, visiting the markets and town, Naag Madir Temple with a stop off for lunch at the historic Grand Eastern Hotel. The bures were beautiful, stylish, and used local materials in surprising ways- to great effect. It was a great place to stay to see a part of Fiji that is not on the usual tourist list. It was a great experience- highly recommend a visit!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank familytravel072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

I travelled with my Mother, Uncle & Sister for a family reunion. The reunion was fantastic but with all family events its always nice to have some 'down time" as well. We selected Palmlea because of its location - not far from Labasa township or airport & we loved the idea of staying at a resort that believes in sustainable tourism practises & organic living. Julie & Joe were the most amazing hosts - we felt so welcomed & at home, just like a part of their family. The resort was perfect & the right size for us - enough room to spread out & do your own thing with time to yourself. Rooms spacious, very clean & good design features. The food is AMAZING! Being part Fijian we are very fussy about Fijian & Indian cuisine & we were very impressed with everything we ate - from the taste to the presentation - impeccable. Definately recommend it and would come back again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TvlBug67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

We had five wonderful days at Palmlea Lodge. The owners, Joe and Julie are very friendley and will do their best to make you enjoy your stay with them.
You have good snorkling a boattrip away and several interesting places to go kayaking to. But mainly this is a place for relaxing.
Go there!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterTham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

Palmlea Farms Lodge & Villa is a wonderful place with a soul, a corner of paradise, a peaceful retreat for the busy minds. Joe and Julie make all their guests feel special and the beautiful surroundings are a real delight. The Fijian staff is part of the experience too and the food is fantastic. Joe makes sure that the guests leave the dinner table with a big smile on their faces. It is an off the beaten track resort definitely worth a visit ! It is the best value for your dollars !
Stephanie, France

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fanoo19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

One week turned in three weeks, hanging out and enjoying the superb cuisine (taking a break from cooking on the boat), mornings in the lap pool, paddling the new kayaks up to the mangroves and river as well as taking their blue heeler named Tilly for afternoon walks to watch the sunset. Every day was an adventure. Days were spent fishing, hiking, snorkeling, bus trips to Savu Savu or the Waisali Rainforest Reserve or reading in the hammock under a shady mango tree. The snorkeling spots had great visibility with beautiful corals and a wide variety of colourful fish. Our hosts were exceptionally charming, helpful and entertaining with their stories, taking time to visit all their guests at each meal. What an idyllic celebration of our Pacific crossing - thank you again Joe and Julie!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilandDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

My husband and I spent a fantastic seven day stay at Palmlea Lodge and apart from the friendliness of the owners and staff we could not speak more highly of it.The food was superb as was the service and attention to detail.As we were both somewhat stressed on arrival we were allowed to just "veg out". We spent our days swimming in the lovely lap pool, walks down to the ocean and just sitting there admiring the views, reading and sleeping - what more could one want?
We will certainly go back there and will inform our friends of its existence.
Sally Salt

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salty70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Labasa
9.6 mi away
Grand Eastern Hotel
Grand Eastern Hotel
#2 of 2 in Labasa
58 reviews
26.2 mi away
Daku Resort
Daku Resort
#2 of 12 in Savusavu
683 reviews
26.1 mi away
Naveria Heights Lodge
Naveria Heights Lodge
#8 of 12 in Savusavu
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hotel Northpole
Hotel Northpole
#1 of 2 in Labasa
26 reviews
28.7 mi away
Savasi Island Villas
Savasi Island Villas
#1 of 12 in Savusavu
205 reviews
27.2 mi away
Korovesi Sunshine Villas
Korovesi Sunshine Villas
#10 of 12 in Savusavu
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmlea Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmlea Farms

Address: Yalava by the Sea Road, Labasa, Vanua Levu 881, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Vanua Levu > Labasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Labasa
Price Range: £79 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palmlea Farms 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fiji’s eco agri-tourism Resort overlooking the Great Sea Reef, 18 minutes from Labasa Airport. One and two bedroom ocean view Bures provide deluxe accommodations. Resort is limited to 12 guests. International & local cuisine are served in the licensed Restaurant & Bar. We offer environmental and organic themes. An alternative to escape the crowd. Our uniqueness lies in the versatility of the food & guest services, which can be personalized for each guest.Would you like to spend one or two weeks in an isolated spot in the Fiji Islands that is breathtakingly beautiful, serenely quite, private, personal, relaxing and most of all non-commercial. Adventure, Romance, Organic food. A place that is Eco accountable. Search no more. Palmlea Lodge and Villas (Bures). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palmlea Farms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmlea Farms Fiji/Labasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing