We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a great time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palmlea Farms Lodge & Bures
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Had a great time!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

It was my girlfriend and I's first big trip together and we decided to spend it in Fiji, off the beaten path at Joe and Julie's resort, and it was the best decision we could have made. We were treated with the utmost care during out stay. By both owners and animals alike. They have an adorable dog named Tilly who was always happy to see us, and a cat named Paso who could not get enough love from us. Highly recommended if you're not into to the overly commercial and touristy areas of the main island.

Tom and Haylee

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
30
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We are a Dutch family with 3 children of 16, 14 and 10 years old. Last April we went 3 nights to the Radisson Blue Hotel at Denarau, 7 nights with Julie and Joe at the Palmlea Farms Lodge & Bures and finally 3 nights to Castaway Island.

Denarau is a kind of tourists reserve and could be anywhere on this globe. Castaway is nice for a couple of days, but it’s lacking the personal touch and cozy atmosphere of the Palmlea Farms. The bigger resorts with their huge staff and standard procedures come at a price.

At the Palmlea Farms, the owners as well as their lovely staff do everything to give you an unforgettable experience. They make every effort to make your stay as comfortable as possible while respecting your privacy.

Here you can experience the real Fijian life in all its beauty. The resort offers comfortable bures, excellent food, great views, a beautiful garden, a refreshing pool and the loveliest staff you can imagine. On top of that you can go out for a snorkeling trip, fishing, hiking or visit Labasa and Savisavu.

Vanua Levu doesn’t have the mass tourism of the other resorts and islands. Here you can still experience the real Fijian life and impressive nature. For people with a real interest in Fiji and bored with the “one size fits all” Western luxury resorts, we sincerely recommend the Palmlea Farms Lodge & Bures. On top of that rates are very reasonable, so no need to waste your time and money at the big resorts.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erwin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The management were informed of my arrival flight but there was no one to greet me at the airport. The airport became deserted but for a lone taxi. This I managed to get the driver to take me to the lodge. A bad start to a week here. This is nothing but a hobby farm with goats covered with flies. On the website it states Oceanfront. The buildings are definitely not oceanfront as picture shows. I was in the belief that this lodge has a beach but no, a walk down to a jetty that is surrounded by mangroves and mud flats. If you try to walk on the mud you might get your feet cut by hidden rocks/shells as I did. You need to organize a boat to take you to a sand island out over the reefs. I ventured to Kia island for the night. The lodge management was reluctant to help organize this although it was one of the activities suggested in activities list in my bure. The journey was a waste of money, my guide spent the afternoon/evening drinking kava with the village men at my expense. My night spent fighting off squadrons of mosquitoes even though I was smothered in repellent.
My bure at the lodge was clean and comfortable. Only issue was the shower turned on for warm water became a dribble. Food was very good. Staff friendly. BUT a tea bag in a pot of water costs $6. That's right SIX DOLLARS. No sugar or milk required, just black tea.This I had for lunch each day. Rip off.
I have travelled to many parts of Fiji and this establishment rates as the worst. A lap pool, a bed and small dinning experience for a lot of money. A very long way to travel to find a tropical holiday. Suggest look elsewhere for a holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Waikatosflyingkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Helpless romantic, nature lovers, you will find your match in Julie's and Joe Eco hideaway. They were closed for refurbishment and big clean up after a cyclone but accepted to take us in anyway even though they warned us they might be some nuisance or inconvenience. Julie told us later that my French accent on the phone sealed the deal.. I hope they doNt regret it to this day. The only inconvenience that would have been is never to have had the chance to meet them and their amazing, fun hardworking team..
After traveling for 3 weeks around the islands, including Viti Levu, I could not imagine not to have finished by Fiji's best kept Secret which is not just Vanua Levu but most importantly Palmlea farms Resort. Not many words can describe Joe's humour and endless stories about both their travels together, my pictures will describe better the robust and simple flavours of Malty's cooking(divine and I am a restaurateur, I know what am talking about) as for Julie's charm, kindness, attention to details it made us feel like part of the family from the first second we arrived. It feels like heaven tastes like heaven but most importantly looks like them, full of love and simplicity. Their passion for Eco farming, goat breeding, water reuse for flowers, sustainability and giving back to local communities via their knower ledge and hope for a better tomorrow. There is as much sadness as there is joy in writing this review as it means we have close the door on this piece of paradise for now.. We hope to return but wish all of you readers the chance to experience their warm hospitality, honesty and sincerity.. As they said to us. They don't know any other way!!
Merci Vinaka
Charles and Domi

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charlybegood21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Although Palmlea is a little out of the way, this is a big part of the attraction and Joe and Julie can help get you there if you don't have your own transport.
Meals are authentic Fijian with most ingredients fresh from their farm. If you don't have the time to stay a night (or more), at least visit for an amazing meal - and desserts are a must!
Fabulous hospitality from all of the local staff and set in beautiful tropical gardens, including a lovely swimming pool.
An oasis just a short drive out of Labasa!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kezza99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FIJI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We all decided to head North for a couple days, really enjoyed the surroundings and tranquility of Palm Lea.

The food is absolutely awesome and after a day out at sea the beers are icy cold!

Thanks Jo & Juile for all your hospitality your the best, wishing you both and the team a Merry Xmas & Happy New Year...

See you soon.

Uk & the Boys.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkFIJI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The lucky guests at Palmlea are hosted by the loveliest people in Fiji. The outstanding view of the lodge sets the scene of your stay. You will be amazed by the beauty of quietness, the wonderful organic food grown at the lodge's farm, the lovely swimmimg pool, the arty bure's, the exquisite cocktails and of course the unique experience of sun bathing on a sandy island reef in the pacific ocean at low tides. You will feel at home in the most beautiful and authentic place of Fiji! So do not hesitate a second to go to Palmlea Lodge, it is a lifetime experience!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Labasa
26.2 mi away
Daku Resort
Daku Resort
#1 of 12 in Savusavu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
26.1 mi away
Naveria Heights Lodge
Naveria Heights Lodge
#8 of 12 in Savusavu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
28.1 mi away
Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Grand Eastern Hotel
Grand Eastern Hotel
#3 of 3 in Labasa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
48.6 mi away
The Remote Resort - Fiji Islands
9.3 mi away
Hotel Northpole
Hotel Northpole
#2 of 3 in Labasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmlea Farms Lodge & Bures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmlea Farms Lodge & Bures

Property: Palmlea Farms Lodge & Bures
Address: Yalava by the Sea | P O Box 2394, Labasa, Vanua Levu 828, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Vanua Levu > Labasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Labasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Palmlea Farms Lodge & Bures 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fiji’s eco agri-tourism Resort overlooking the Great Sea Reef, 18 minutes from Labasa Airport. New one and two bedroom ocean view Bures provide deluxe accommodations. Resort is limited to 12 guests. International & local cuisine are served in the licensed Restaurant & Bar. We offer environmental and organic themes. An alternative to escape the crowd. Our uniqueness lies in the versatility of the food & guest services, which can be personalized for each guest.Would you like to spend one or two weeks to an isolated spot in the Fiji Islands that is breathtakingly beautiful, serenely quite, private, personal, relaxing and most of all non-commercial. Adventure, Romance, Organic food. A place that is Eco accountable. Search no more. Palmlea Lodge and Villas (Bures). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Palmlea Farms Lodge & Bures reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmlea Farms Lodge & Bures Fiji/Labasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing