We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expectation Surpassed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Emaho Sekawa Resort
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Savusavu
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Expectation Surpassed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

What can we say about this place that has not already been said? We booked this vacation 11 months in advance and read all the glowing reviews over and over so we really were excited about the trip and had great expectation. Unfortunately :) I cannot add anything that hasn’t already been said. Words cannot express the beauty of the location of the villa. It is perched on a mountain overlooking the sea and the forest. The accommodations are first class, top shelf. . We can't say enough about the staff. Our every desire was met and then some. This is a must do.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henrywhite3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
72
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

So it is difficult to not repeat what everyone else has already stated about their experiences. Emaho Sekawa is an amazing place, private, peaceful, beautiful,...somewhere everyone needs to visit one time. The staff is fantastic, they treat you like family, are available for your every need, and serve some of the most delicious food I have ever tasted. Petra and Lukas are always available if you have any questions or any needs. My wife and I are ready to go back for a repeat trip.

Of course Fiji has many beautiful luxurious resorts, but to have a resort to yourselves and to be surrounded by the tranquility of the rainforest.....nothing compares to Emaho Sekawa. But to really experience it.....you will have to go and experience it for yourself.

Room Tip: No need, one amazing villa for the only couple at the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrismckennato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

To summarize our experience at Emaho Sekawa in words would not do the resort any justice. The feeling of serenity and tranquility one experiences at this private resort is second to none. From the moment you get to Emaho Sekawa, you feel as if you have found Heaven on Earth. Tucked away on a mountain of breathtaking scenery, your eyes will not know what to soak in first. From the immaculate interior design of the villa to the engaging sounds of the waves, this was truly a perfect place to honeymoon.

The kind hearted owners, Petra and Lukas had a concept to design a resort where there is utmost privacy and unforgettable service. The way they have been able to achieve this is truly remarkable. It’s your choice whether to just stay at the Villa and relax (guaranteed you will not be bored) or whether to go out and try some activities. We chose to do a fishing trip, where we were lucky enough to see dolphins and catch a 45lb tuna fish. We went kayaking where the scenery and sounds were unforgettable. We also chose to be dropped off at our own private white sand island. Having an island to yourself truly felt like a once in a lifetime experience. One of our favorite moments was when we visited a local family in the village, whose generosity and kindness was incredibly humbling.

We have not stopped missing Emaho Sekawa and all of the wonderful people we met since we left the villa. If you are looking for an amazing place to vacation, this is it! You will not find this type of privacy and world class service anywhere else. We definitely are looking forward to going back one day. Thank you to Petra and Lukas and the wonderful staff for giving us a trip of a lifetime.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

I am going to try to describe in a reasonably organized fashion about Emaho Sekawa. My impression is at the bottom of this review, but let me briefly say that this is a magical, wonderful place and you will enter another world of peace and tranquility when you stay here.

Location: The lodge is located about 25 minutes from the nearest large town on the second largest island in Fiji. Unlike many hotels and other facilities in Fiji, Emaho Sekawa is located on top of a hill overlooking the ocean, a river valley with mangrove swamps, and mountains producing a spectacular viewpoint, and at the same time easily accessible to the ocean by foot or vehicle.

Facilities: The lodge contains an isolated living quarters for the guest which contains a bedroom and separate living room with surrounding balcony and swimming pool. The bedroom is spacious, well furnished and comfortable. The bathroom facility is well equipped and luxurious with a shower, abundant mirror and counter space. The living room has a computer if contact with the outside world is desired along with a small bar and kitchen area for making drinks, tea, and etc. There is also a half bathroom next to the door leading to the swimming pool which is adjacent to the living room. The swimming pool is more of a dipping pool rather than a full size pool and has a very comfortable lounge facility.

One can have dinner up the hill at the separate dining area which is about 75-100 meters away from the guest quarters or in the guest quarter. The dining area also has a bar and guest relations expert who can arrange outside excursions, serve meals, and make drinks.

Staff: One of the highlights of a stay at Emaho Sekawa is the staff. They are discrete but very friendly, interacting with you only when the guest is ready without forcing themselves. It is a delicate balance to acheive and they do it wonderfully. It is truly the staff that help make Emaho Sekawa become not just a great place but a memorable place to enjoy and stay at.

Type of travel: I was traveling solo in the Solomon Islands and then spent 4-5 days in Fiji at Emaho Sekawa.

Recommendation: It was a wonderful, and relaxing way to finish my trip. I wish I had spent more time there since I really did not take advantage of all they had to offer. I did do the trip through the mangrove swamp which was an amazing experience and one that should not be missed. I also had two massages which were wonderful (one was not enough!). Not only did I have a great massage, but also heard about the village and life there, which was fascinating and an added bonus to the massage. This area is a great scuba diving/snorkeling region, and I regret not having done some snorkeling. As a solo traveler, I can recommend the experience and the facility with the highest recommendation, since it is an incredible and fantastic place to experience. Photos do not do justice to this place and it is far more beautiful and tranquil than can be conveyed by the photos. As a rather jaded traveler, I am dubious of reviews that are too glowing; however Emaho Sekawa is not just a place but is truly an experience which few people will ever get to enjoy. I cannot say enough good things about the place and the people. This is not just a honeymoon facility but a place that can be easily enjoyed by individuals wishing to scuba dive, explore the swamps, bird-watching, and etc. Many people have written the word amazing when describing this place and I am going to have to be redundant and echo that same sentiment, Emaho Sekawa is truly an amazing and magical place and one you will remember for the rest of your life.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimD1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

We wanted somewhere very special to celebrate 20 years together & Emaho Sekawa delivered beyond our expectations. We were greeted on arrival by 10 delightful staff members - all for us! Initially we felt overawed by so many staff just for the two of us but the service proved to be a perfect blend of attentiveness & respect for our privacy.
The views from the stunning villa are simply breathtaking. We could sit on the expansive deck & take in the entire bay plus the virtually uninhabited jungle below. At night there are no lights except for the distant town of Savusavu so the stars & sunsets are amazing. You feel like you're the only people on the island.
We took up the options of in-room massage, kayaking up the river, trip to town & boat trips to the sand island & the nearby lagoon. All were good & the snorkelling was excellent. My only tip would be to avoid the sand island when the local birds are guarding their eggs which I think is only for a short period during the year.
We organized a special dinner for our anniversary night which was a really lovely experience & very much appreciated. We enjoyed multiple beautiful courses including green lobster all accompanied by tireless local musicians who added some fun. A truly memorable evening - thank you.
Overall the food was excellent & we found it hard to believe that we could virtually have whatever we liked wherever we liked. We just couldn't go past the Kokoda (raw fish marinated in lime juice & coconut milk) & had it for lunch every day.
For peace, tranquility & seclusion in truly unique luxurious surroundings this would be hard to beat. February is usually the wettest month so it's a risky time to go. We only lost one day to constant rain. Whilst it rained at some time on most days we found it to be a welcome break from the heat & the clouds drifting across the wild landscape & up the valleys just added to the beauty & diversity of the views.
A big thank you to Petra & Lukas for providing such a unique experience in such a fabulous location. An amazing vision which I'm sure required great tenacity to deliver. Also to the staff who not only provide wonderful service but also a fascinating connection to the local people & their culture.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovefamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We arrived to this unique resort on honeymoon not knowing really what to expect, and oh boy where we happy..
Myself and my husband are also in the hospitallity business in Ireland. We where looking for something different and special and that is what Emaho Sekawa delivered and more!
Petra and Lukas the owners are so warm and friendly and this reflects on there staff who are just as wonderful and friendly..I wanted to take them all back to Ireland and work in our hotel.
Coming form two chefs the food is just out on ist own from the wonderful breakfast brought down to the villa to the most outstanding dinners, IU ahd the best lobster dish ever just caught earlier in the day.
You must go here at lest once in your life!!
Cant wait to return one day!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank castlemurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Emaho Sekawa was our honeymoon destination in March 2012. This place is AMAZING, I have been encouraging all my friends and family to come to Emaho and experience the most relaxing, luxurious holiday ever.

I had been trawling websites for resorts in Fiji for months and was looking for something a bit different to the major resorts. Well, we definitely found something different at Emaho Sekawa.

From a warm welcome at the airport we travelled about 20 minutes by car, first along the coastline and then climbing higher and higher into the lush greenery surrounds until we found ourselves on top of the world! Our first experience was a traditional Fijian welcome song sung by the local Fijian staff that would be taking care of us for the next 7 nights.

Emaho Sekawa is one beautiful villa that only caters for one couple at a time. The villa is a huge, open plan design and is nestled on top of a mountain overlooking the ocean and countryside.
Our favourite features of the villa were the large (and deep!) infinity edge pool, the outdoor daybed which you could sleep on no worries (I fell asleep there several times after a cocktail and a swim), and the outdoor shower that is a pretty exhilarating experience!

You have complete control over when your meals are, what you do, whenever you want to do it. The lovely ladies come to see you in your villa (with a phone call to ask if it’s okay for them to come down) and bring you a different menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner. So now let me tell you about the food….

I have never eaten so well in my life. And that’s coming from a family that has 3 chefs! All meals are 5 courses or more and you have a few different things to choose from for each meal. Everything is in abundance, you will never go hungry. The banana pancakes for breakfast are the most delicious I’ve ever experienced! The freshly caught seafood is so well prepared, even my fish hating husband was ordering fish and the Fijian Kokonda (raw fish dish) on a daily basis.

I could go on and on and I still wouldn’t be able to do Emaho Sekawa justice. The staff are the most lovely, friendly people and the owners Petra & Lucas are the perfect hosts.

Honestly, if you are tossing up between a big resort and this place, you can’t go wrong going on a holiday here. The reviews and photos speak for themselves!

Bula :o)

Room Tip: There is only one option, and it is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat_L198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Savusavu
9.0 mi away
Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa
9.6 mi away
Savasi Island Villas
Savasi Island Villas
#2 of 12 in Savusavu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
6.4 mi away
Daku Resort
Daku Resort
#1 of 12 in Savusavu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.3 mi away
The Remote Resort - Fiji Islands
6.3 mi away
Naveria Heights Lodge
Naveria Heights Lodge
#8 of 12 in Savusavu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
7.4 mi away
Korovesi Sunshine Villas
Korovesi Sunshine Villas
#9 of 12 in Savusavu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emaho Sekawa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emaho Sekawa Resort

Property: Emaho Sekawa Resort
Address: Sekawa Beach Estate | PO Box 899, Savusavu, Vanua Levu NA, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Vanua Levu > Savusavu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Savusavu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Savusavu
#4 Spa Hotel in Savusavu
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Savusavu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Emaho Sekawa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive, luxurious and completely private, Emaho Sekawa is a 5 star full service resort set in one of the most pristine environments in the world. The resort is surrounded by hundreds of acres of lush tropical rainforest, with breathtaking panoramic views of Savusavu Bay and nearby coral reefs. This unique location makes Emaho Sekawa different from any resort in Fiji. It is an ideal base camp from which to explore both ocean and rainforest, while being wrapped in luxury and romance. This boutique resort features Exclusive Villa Emaho, The Grand Residence, Ocean View Bure, Private Bula Pavilion Restaurant and Bar, Boutique Shop, On site Padi Diving, Sports Fishing, Water Sports, Boat Trips, Spa Treatments, Waterfall hikes and Village Excursions among others. Enjoy ultimate privacy, discreet service and finest dining, blending International gourmet cuisine with traditional Fijian flavours. Dining is available in the Bula Pavilion, in the comfort of the villa, or at any outdoor location of your choice. Emaho Sekawa can caters to any special dietary requirements. Here at Emaho Sekawa the dining is an exciting culinary experience. Emaho Sekawa is the perfect choice for people looking for the facilities, comfort and beauty of a luxury resort, without the crowds. Having only 3 villas, Emaho Sekawa is the ideal place for a luxurious honeymoon, an intimate wedding or a dream vacation. Unique in Fiji, unique in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emaho Sekawa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emaho Sekawa Resort Fiji/Savusavu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing