We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great resort at a great price”

Koro Sun Resort Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 13 Restaurants in Savusavu
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great resort at a great price”
Reviewed 1 January 2013

we stayed here at the last minute and the staff accommodated us with smiles. The staff were attentive although breakfast was meant to start at 7am and didn't start until after 7:30 which meant we missed out on a meal before our next flights. if you can stand 'fiji time' then it is the place to be!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetositbythebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    13
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savusavu, Fiji
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Waterfront Seating sometimes available is best.”
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Very nice bar with good happy hour. Pleasant bartenders and staff. Lovo Buffet Dinners are great! Other menu items quality can vary. Some servings are small. But all in all, good value if you don't mind treating yourself to a resort meal in resort atmosphere. Much better experience than your typical Savusavu town restaurant.

They also often have the Fijian Meke Dance night. Non-hotel guests are welcome anytime for meals and bar and meke. This is in contrast to Cousteau and Namale Resorts that discourage outsiders from visiting. Koro Sun is a fun and hospitable playground for all !

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank ETGene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosaville, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Casual snack”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Didn't dine here but great service , dropped in for a snack, a simple toasted ham cheese and tomato sandwich. The best I have ever had. Sounds basic but thick slab of ham of the bone dripping with cheese and fresh tomato on beautiful fresh wholegrain toast. I love Fiji

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savusavu, Fiji
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Honeymoon Stay”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

The stay was a very relaxed. With a friendly staff to help you with many great activities and wonderful food. If you are fast pace high activity lifestyle this is not the place for you. This offers a great way to slow down and relax. Fiji is rich with culture and history which you get to experience a part of during your stay. The staff here is very accommodating with its small size everyone gets to know you and you get to know everyone staff and guests.

When we arrived we were picked up from the airport and that is where the experiences start. You have staff waiting to give you a ride to the resort with warm smiles and cold coconut juice. Once at the resort we get a coconut foot rub while checking in. Which was amazing!

The menu is limited to 5 or 6 choices for each meal. The meals all have there own island twist to the cuisine. The meals are always different from what traditionally I would have expected but I was always pleasantly surprised by how the dishes were served. I can see why if you have a limited pallet would not enjoy the food.

We enjoyed the included activities provided by the resort such as kayaking, snorkeling, cultural experiences all provided a good time. We also enjoyed the scuba diving and the excursions are paid for separately but the are definitely enjoyable activities that I would recommend taking advantage of.

Improvement: The restaurant is a little dark at time. The resort should offer optional snack bar or food sometime other than meal time. Some of the building can use maintenance but its minor.

Overall we had a wonderful time and would do it again in the future.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“How many ways can you destroy chicken?”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I must admit, I am not a willing consumer of fish, which left me with the chicken dishes. Most were flavorless, overcooked, with light and dark meat chopped together. I spent much time each meal picking bone and gristle pieces out of my food. Being a captive audience at the resort, there were no between meal snacks or fruits available. This trip did give my diet a jump start.

On the positive side, the restaurant was beautiful, with very friendly staff. They say Fiji has the friendliest people in the world, and they were just that. The island and resort are worth visiting, but if you have cullinary expectations, be forwarned.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Koro Sun Resort Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Koro Sun Resort Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing