We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Location fabulous- Cottage Fabulous !”
other travellers have booked this property
Bayside Bure
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bayside Bure
View from kitchen window Bayside sign
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Bayside Bure
View from kitchen window
Bayside sign
Deck outside kitchen
Walkway between studio and kitchen
Servery between studio and kitchen
Bure kitchen (full stove and fridge/freezer)
Studio interior (bedroom/lounge)
Studio interior
Bure bathroom - laundry on right - shower on left (not in view)
Sundeck outside studio bed/lounge
Swimming at half tide
Chillin' out
Fun on the water
Sunset Brilliance at Lesiaceva
Seaplane landing at JM Cousteau
Lesiaceva Beach at high tide
Beach at low tide
View from owner's driveway
Lesiaceva Point ....from the air
Lesiaceva Point map with bure location
Owner's driveway.  Blue arrow indicates bure location
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Savusavu, Vanua Levu

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Maria G
1 review
“Location fabulous- Cottage Fabulous !”
Reviewed 20 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We were really excited to arrive in SavuSavu- we were picked up at the airport by Karens driver and taken to this gorgeous cottage- what an amazing setting! We just loved it! Everything we needed was there on arrival even a starter pantry ie coffee, tea.The beach is down the driveway straight over the road- fab swimming and snorkelling right there. Single and Dbl Kayak available to use-which we did. Town was a 6km drive- we used Karens driver nearly the whole time-always punctual and exceedingly helpful. Emily was amazing to deal with too! The only thing we personally missed was air-conditioning but we knew this before we booked that this wasn't available- the fans certainly helped to take the heat away.
Would stay here again anyway- Thanks Karen :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2018
Thanks so much for your great review, Maria. We are so pleased everything went well and are sorry we didn't get to meet you this time... do hope you will return...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelly864
Hinwil, Switzerland
1 review
“Most wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 13 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

I agree with all the great reviews the Bayside Bure received earlier! Initially I just booked for one week but I kept on extending and stayed finally for 3 weeks... The Bure is just perfect and I felt like home on the first sight. It's so quiet and peaceful and the location is amazing - just next to the beach and in short walking distance to the Cousteau Resort.
Thank you very much, Karen and Edward, that you created such a lovely place. Moreover, your great hospitality made my holidays perfect!! I had the most wonderful time here...

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2018
Thank you Nelly for your kind words.... we so enjoyed having you as our guest and look forward to your return..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“As wonderful as we remembered it”
Reviewed 14 May 2017 for a stay in February 2017

My wife and I came here years ago, before we were married. We loved it so much that we always said we'd come back for our honeymoon. So when it came time to choose a honeymoon location, we didn't have to think at all.

Just as we remembered: the reef is right there at the end of the driveway for snorkelling or kayaking over; the house has everything we need to live undisturbed; the avocado tree is dropping more fruit than we can eat; Phoebe (the owners' dog) is as lovely as ever. We would take the "Fiji style bus" into town every few days, get what we needed from the market and stores, then do our own thing back at the bure for a few days. Mostly this was snorkelling, kayaking, walking around Lesiaceva Point, drinking coffee with books on the porch, and enjoying Fiji Gold.

Most importantly, Edu and Karen are as wonderfully friendly and helpful as ever.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2017
Thanks so much for your kind words....we so enjoyed having you both back again and look forward to your next visit!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnorkelNe...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bayside Bure..a little beauty”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had the pleasure of visiting Bayside Bure earlier this year. We were a little apprehensive as this was going to be only 4 months post Winston. We knew great damage had been done and wondered how the road to recovery was progressing. We need not have worried. Although there were many signs that a lot of work was still needed for the island to return to its best we were astounded by the resilience of Mother Nature and the friendly Fiji people. Roads and services were back up and running, vegetation was lush and green once more and the beaches had recovered.
We are avid snorkellers and were pessimistic about the state of the underwater world, so much so that we left our fish identification books at home. What a mistake that was! Yes, the coral showed signs of much damage but the fish world was amazing. Once again the recuperative powers of Mother Nature were very much in evidence, the marine life just as diverse as many other places that we have visited. The soft corals and anemones were fighting back and were quite prolific. We snorkelled for hours each day, still discovering new things at the end of our 12 day stay.
And what a treasure we found in the Bayside Bure, it truly was a home away from home...extremely well equipped, comfortable, full of charm and character. We loved the privacy and just being able to do our own thing. Sunset drinks on the deck each night being a perfect end to a perfect day. Karen and Edward were great hosts.
Kayaks are provided which we also used to explore further afield. Around past Cousteau's are a couple a small islands which are great for a visit, picnic and a swim. We even managed to paddle into town one day. Also past Cousteau's are many long sandy beaches which are great for walking. We managed to find the village of Nukabalavu where we greeted warmly by the locals who were quite proud when showing off their humble homes. We returned a second time with gifts of school supplies and toys and clothes for the kids, much appreciated of course.
Would we go back? Most certainly! We just hope that other people will go and not let Winston influence this wonderful island any more. Thanks to Karen and Edward for providing this little gem of a place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xtina396
Ballina, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Execelent Bure and very caring hosts”
Reviewed 29 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a very pleasant 10 day stay in the Bayside Bure near Savusavu. Edward and Karen were extremely helpful and explained all details of the Bure to us on arrival. It has marvelous views and a lovely little beach. They lent me snorkeling gear and it is lovely to see that the reef and the fish are recovering from the terrible cyclone last February. Fiji is still one of the friendliest places on this earth and Savusavu is no exception. Fiji needs all our support and we would wholeheartedly recommend a visit.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flemingHa...
Hawkes Bay
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Want to run away and just be?- this is the perfect place”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed at the Bayside Bure for nearly two weeks and had a really lovely relaxing peaceful time. The bure was extremely well set up with everything you needed, very comfortable with amazing views out over the water and set in a gorgeous tropical garden. Town was a short bus or taxi ride away. Edward and Karen arranged for a driver Gopen to collect us from Labasa and he picked us up several other times when we needed him to and gave us lots of local info. Lovely Melia came to be bure several times and gave me the most amazing massages. We swam most days - the beach is so close and the snorkelling was great.
We thoroughy enjoyed our time in SavuSavu and staying at the Bayside Bure, Edward and Karen were really lovely hosts and nothing was too much trouble, thank you both very much for all your help with all the little details that actually make a real difference to a great holiday. We would definitely come and stay again if we get the opportunity and highly recommend it to our friends. Thanks again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bure and the location
Liked least: the mosquitos
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1AB3
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“beautiful beachside property”
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in July 2014

Stayed july 2014 as a couple.

This is a beautiful beachside property true to the photos well equipped, maintained and beautiful decor.

its a bit further out of town than we first thought a very long walk 40 mins-1 hour or you can get an hourly bus from the roadside (beware you may have to wait fiji time for the bus)

the beach is right out front and suitable for sunbathing or snorkelling but there is some sand creatures so recommend veturing to town to get a good beach mat.

we did have some problems with the owners as we arrived by boat we had to travel to town via taxi to get the key to find that they were at the property so had to get a separate taxi to the property (from town around $7) to a mixed reception (we wondered if we had offended them)

on our departure it was carnival time on viti levu and the taxi drivers had all migrated for the season and we waited by the road for the bus to town, at which point the owners just drove on by us (not the best hospitality).

despite the problems we faced, it is a very beautiful beachfront property, most relaxing and gorgeous sunsets - at a very reasonable price.
unfortunately for us we seem to have got ourselves by some mystery into the owners bad books and therefore won't be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views and decking area
Liked least: single beds
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2015
This is the first negative review we have received concerning our hospitality and we are really at a loss to know why we were considered to be unfriendly as we greet all our guests with the same enthusiasm and courtesy. We found this couple to be quiet and somewhat reserved - perhaps they viewed us the same way which is disappointing because we have had great conversations with other guests. We certainly do not recall passing them on the road without offering them a lift. The fact that the review has been posted some nine months after their visit has also surprised us however we are pleased to note they did enjoy our bure and the great location.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing