We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant wait to go back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jean-Michel Cousteau Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Savusavu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We have just returned from our first trip to paradise. Everything was exceptional – the food, service, accommodation, activities, atmosphere etc. The managers and staff are fantastic. The kids club is like no other you will ever experience. In the morning our eight-year-old daughter’s buddy would arrive at breakfast and ask her what she wanted to do – “kayak to an island, snorkelling, fishing, playing on the waterslide?” the list goes on... She had the time of her life, and hid when it came time to leave. I read people cry when they leave, and I understand why. Yes, you may hear a child crying occasionally, but you are more likely to hear their squeals of laughter, birds, gentle waves, the ocean breeze rustling through the palm trees, and beautiful harmonies from the Bula Boys band. We spoke to guests without children and they also said it was the most amazing place they have ever been. We swam under a waterfall in a rainforest, saw coloured coral and a turtle when snorkelling, walked along a deserted beach to the local village where we were greeted by an employee from the resort on his day off, who then insisted on showing us around. I feel like we have joined a secret club of people in the know. Yes it is expensive – yes it is worth it. Unfortunately the hotel reconfirmed our flight bookings the night before we left without us knowing...we were hoping to miss the flight! Be warned, you won’t want to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kelly159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012

The best thing about this resort is the staff, they are so friendly and helpful. Also the food, it is great fresh local sourced produce. The kids meals were fantastic, they ate real meals for once rather than deep fried junk. The problem is that it is too far and the planes are unreliable. We didn't find out until 7pm that our flight home the next morning had been canceled and that we had to get up at 5am for a 2 hour drive to Labasa airport.

The Pacific Sun plane that we flew into Savusavu upon had broken down and couldn't fly back to Savusavu airport. The manager failed to tell us we would be taking two domestic flights just to get to Nadi, we were told that we would have a breakfast of packed fruit and some cakes but all they gave us was a pack of muffins and some cookies. Not much for 2 adults and 2 children and quite disapointing after what they charge. We were packed up and moved along.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Daria2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

My husband and I stayed 8 days at this resort. The garden is perfect, room is nice, people were friendly, but service was poor and very relaxed. This resort is not adapt for couples or for people who are looking for relaxing and peaceful holidays.
The price you pay is too high for what they give to you also compared to other deluxe resort in Fiji, This is a family resort ideal for families, you can hear the children crying around all the day, evening and night time hours. So if you are a light sleeper, forget to sleep. Also if you dream a peaceful holidays, look for one other place.

Room Tip: ask for room far from reception. we stayed in room 1 and there was a lot of noise in early morning a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

2nd time in 12 months! We arrived and all the staff welcomed us back. They took us fishing, snorkelling and sailing (all incl). We went to a private island, and had dinner on the end of the pier. The kids (3 & 4) had teh best time, and the most fun nannies. The only time they cried was when they had to leave (which is understandable as we wanted to cry too). Delicious food for adults and kids (warning - adults put on lots of weight. It is light food but it is deliscious and teher is lots!). Great snorkelling (saw lots of sharks and turtles). Special thanks to Pete, Jope, Chris and Simone (the barman over whom I think my husband nearly cried when we left!!!) and extra special thanks to Titi and Dimere from the boys (and us). Hope to see you all soon!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jac_Mac07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I could rave on about this place all day, but I'll keep it to 3 points.

KIDS:
Our 20-month old son loved every minute and really flourished with all the stimulation the moment he arrived. We, as parents found our rhythm after 2 days...

8am: The three of us for breakfast every morning until he had finished. Joana would then come and take him away (usually to the beach to find hermit crabs on his request) and we would leisurely finish our coffee and then either go on a dive trip, just chill out by the pool or snorkel around the jetty.

11:30am: Go to the Bula club to join in and play with Mitchell for a while. Go on the slide or the trampoline until it was time for lunch. We found he ate better when we weren't there, so we would always leave Joana to do this and then she would put him down for a nap afterwards.

We would enjoy a long, leisurely 3-course lunch followed by a massage, hike, run, snorkel, paddle or whatever else took our fancy that day. No kids to be seen or heard. Super-friendly staff (who become friends) always around to make anything happen. Felt like a honeymoon again.

3:30pm: Our son would be awake and we would spend the afternoon in the family part of the resort. Playing in the pool, waterslides, on the beach, watching the fish on the jetty, going for a ride in the glass-bottom boat, etc.

5:30pm: We would drop Mitch with Joana again and she would make sure he had a big dinner (with desert) and then a little more play, doing whatever it was he asked. Joana had so much patience, often stripping him off again for another go down the waterslide or a swim at the beach after dinner.

We would go and have cocktails as the sun set, talking to our new friends. Such a small resort, there were only 18 couple when we were there and most were in the same situation as us. You get to know everyone quite well, especially the divers.

9:00pm: After our 3-course, candle-lit dinner by the beach (or end of the jetty) we would wander back to the bula club to find our boy bathed, in his PJ's, sitting on Joana's lap with a small bowl of popcorn between his legs and watching a Pixar movie. Joana could have taken him to our bure and put him to bed there like a lot of the other kids, but we found he would fall asleep 2 minutes after we got him home doing it this way (and you really want to see him by this stage as well).

FOOD:
Incredible. 3-course lunch and dinner, a very fresh, fine-dining experience twice a day often with vegetables from the house-garden and fish from guest fishing trips that afternoon. The kids get a good selection too. The parents are found throughout the day and asked what they wanted their kids to eat for each meal.

DIVING:
We made two 2-dive trips out to Namena during our 8-night stay (could have made three, but had our private island picnic booked). 30 mins away in fair weather, 60 mins in choppy conditions, this marine park is certainly world class.

30m+ vis on both occasions, abundance of grey and white tip reef sharks, a 12ft lone hammerhead encounter, gropers, great barracuda, tuna, etc in pristine conditions. Definitely deserves top-5 world dive site listing.The dive shop at JMC is 5-star and dive masters are a barrel of laughs. Having a marine biologist around really helps you discover remarkable things easily missed too.

They don't always get weather good enough to make the trip, so given the chance, jump on it!

SUMMARY:
Heaven on earth. At least a quarter of the guests we spoke to were there for their second or third time. Those on their first visit all said they'll be back. We'll be going back next year. What more convincing do you need?

Room Tip: We stayed in a Garden View room. You spend very little time there. We showered and slept there, that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank reid82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

What can we say... this is our second time in 2 years as we got to know the staff on a personal level. The place is absolutely gorgeous. The scenery, the snorkeling the kids club the daily activities are simply outstanding. You have the best food quality cooked by a 5 star chef. You barely see your kids as they are having so much fun in Bula Club which gives you time to relax with your partner. Johnny the marine biologist is a great educator of the sea for both the adults and children. Kids club, simply the best program put together by the resort as my 8 year old son had the best carer (Mac) who was caring & supportive. As we got to know the carers and staff on a personal level which made it extremely hard to say goodbye. The Fijian people are one of the friendliest people that we have ever met, they make the resort a place you want to time after time. The barman (Simon) who would always go out of his way to shake your hand and say hello while serving you a fresh cocktail before dinner. Until next time as there will definitely be a 3rd visit to SIMPLY THE BEST RESORT ON THE PLANET....

Room Tip: Have experienced both ocean and garden view which both were great...I believe it's more of a per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dora988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

From the moment that you arrive, and have the kids get whisked away for a “meet and greet”, you realize that this place is designed around making kids have a magical experience. By the next day, your kids barely acknowledge your existence - and have beatific smiles when they walk by you on their way from one adventure to another. By the third day the "helicopter" parents amongst us can be seen attempting to claw their way into their (reluctant) kids lives!

The kids “buddies” at the resort; the marine biologist’s infectious enthusiasm, and his wonderful mangrove, reef, local market, and night snorkels trips; the trek to the waterfall through the rainforest; the excellent diving; the very nice beach and bay that is kayakable in low tide; the impromptu “let’s play chess” or “let’s take the boat out and see if we can catch some fish” – the entire Resort takes it personally if your child shows even the slightest hint of weariness

And yes... my wife and I found the facilities very nice, the rooms well appointed (double washbasins – a MUST!), and the food interesting and thoughtfully prepared. The hospitality was Fijian at its best – warm, genuine, and caring. A first class experience.

But go for the kids - and watch them learn AND grow AND have the time of their lives doing it. It will bring you tears of joy!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank K-Sub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savusavu hotels
6.2 mi away
Savasi Island Villas
Savasi Island Villas
#1 of 12 in Savusavu
221 reviews
5.7 mi away
Namale Resort & Spa
Namale Resort & Spa
#4 of 12 in Savusavu
372 reviews
2.8 mi away
Daku Resort
Daku Resort
#2 of 12 in Savusavu
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Emaho Sekawa Resort
Emaho Sekawa Resort
#7 of 12 in Savusavu
100 reviews
3.3 mi away
Naveria Heights Lodge
Naveria Heights Lodge
#8 of 12 in Savusavu
168 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gecko Lodge Fiji
Gecko Lodge Fiji
#6 of 12 in Savusavu
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jean-Michel Cousteau Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jean-Michel Cousteau Resort

Address: Lesiaceva Point Road, Savusavu, Vanua Levu 9999, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Vanua Levu > Savusavu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Savusavu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Savusavu
#1 Family Hotel in Savusavu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Savusavu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savusavu
Price Range: £788 - £1,024 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jean-Michel Cousteau Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique Eco-Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Jean-Michel Cousteau Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jean-Michel Cousteau Fiji Islands Hotel Savusavu
Jean-Michel Cousteau Resort Fiji/Savusavu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing