We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dive trip to Fiji”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Savusavu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Outstanding resort, personnel go out of their way to accommodate every need. Staff calls you by name from day one! Clean, grounds immaculate, highly recommend. Friday floor show amazing!
Diving exceptional, wonderful view from any direction

Room Tip: Ask for ground level unless you like to climb hill. Rooms at top are worth the walk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wwrfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josaia R, General Manager at Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2015

Happy New Year From the Koro Sun Resort Family.

Thank you for your kind review back in November 2013.

My name is Josaia Rayawa ("JR"). My wife, Margie and I are the new Co-General Managers at Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa. We find this a great opportunity for us to introduce ourselves. Margie and I joined Koro Sun Resort in 2014.

We hope to be able to encourage you to come visit Koro Sun again. We are in the throes of including 8 new floating bures/villas on the lagoon, the first of its kind in Fiji.

Do let us know if you want us to keep you in the loop on the progress. My email is jr@korosunresort.com

JR & Margie
Co-GMs
Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

297 - 303 of 520 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

Our family (2adults & 2teenagers) spent 10 days at Koro Sun & thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our time there. The staff were very friendly, helpful & would go out of there way to do things for you. The meals were exceptional, 3 course meals for lunch and dinner and the cooked breakfast was just delicious.
There were always things for you to do, swimming snorkelling, school visits, markets - the trip to the Spinner dolphins was amazing- a must do. Or you could just relax by the pool with a drink from the bar & do nothing.
We will be returning to this wonderful place.
Vinaka to all at Koro Sun :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raelene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josaia R, General Manager at Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2015

Happy New Year From the Koro Sun Resort Family.

Thank you for your kind review back in October 2013.

My name is Josaia Rayawa ("JR"). My wife, Margie and I are the new Co-General Managers at Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa. We find this a great opportunity for us to introduce ourselves. Margie and I joined Koro Sun Resort in 2014.

We hope to be able to encourage you to come visit Koro Sun again. We are in the throes of including 8 new floating bures/villas on the lagoon, the first of its kind in Fiji.

Do let us know if you want us to keep you in the loop on the progress. My email is jr@korosunresort.com

JR & Margie
Co-GMs
Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights after 2 nights in 5 star accommodation in Denaru. The rooms are older and the wifi is sparse but the people are great. While the staff in Denaru were polite and attentive the staff at Koro sun seemed genuinely pleased to see you. We were met with a foot soak and massage and sent off with a farewell song. In between we were greeted warmly and often by name, particularly our children.
The food was lovely, fresh and plentiful with lots of vegetables and salads available (far better than what we got in Denaru). There are activities planned for each day you can sign up for, if there is something you particularly want to do they will work it into your stay. The tours are not fancy but they are fun and the scenery is lovely. We also enjoyed kayaking, snorkelling and a walk around bat island.
A big plus for us was the kids club as we were travelling with our 2 boys aged 5 and 3. The kids club staff were flexible with times and happy to accompany us on trips or stay at the club with our boys. I wasn't sure they would want to leave us but our second morning there our 5 year was asking when he could go to kids club and by our third morning our just-turned-3 year was asking. There were tears when we left and a month later our 5 yr old still talks of Bobby, and what toys he can send to the kids club.
The grounds are beautiful and at times it seemed like we were the only guests at the resort, until dinner where we would see the other guests and chat around the bar. Our bure was up the hill some other reviewers have mentioned. It did feel a bit steep after a few times back and forth but I bought a sulu (Fijian version of sarong), tied my 3 yr old on when he didn't want to walk and figured I deserved another cocktail. If you don't want the climb just book a bure down the hill. My husband mentioned curtains to the manager, as our bure had only filmy see through ones and our youngest was waking us at 5.30am with the sun, and we had some up that evening when we returned.
Overall it was a relaxing atmosphere and I got to see some of the real Fiji as well as enjoy a comfortable bed, good food and good company (of people who were previously strangers).

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Naomi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyGoulter, General Manager at Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thanks for the review Naomi. I told Bobby about your review and he said to say thank you and a Big Bula to the boys. We really do try to give guests a taste of the real Fiji and you guys certainly did your best to get that. It's great when we get to see friendships formed with guests from different parts of the world and that is probably one of the big benefits of being a boutique resort. There is never a need for an excuse for an extra cocktail though, of which from memory you did sample a few ;o) With Vodafone adding the new tower down the road, we should also have phones in all the rooms by the end of the year so that will make it a bit easier for families etc on the second level to call down for things. Great to have had you here and hope to see you in our little slice of paradise again one day.

Ty Goulter
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We just got back from Koro Sun and had an incredible time there. Beautiful place and beautiful people, Totoka!!
We have 3 boys ages 4-7 and everyone enjoyed it thoroughly. The staff were so friendly and helpful and i cant compliment the kids club members enough. So hands on and such a great setup with heaps of activities. We have never done a kids club before and we are already planning our next trip back. The boys all did handline fishing, kayaking, etc etc and the list of activities is incredible and they catered to each boy according to his capabilities.
The ability of staff to arrange and cater for requests was fantastic
A huge thank you to everyone at Koro for making this holiday so special for us.
Kenny and Joanie

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenn121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyGoulter, General Manager at Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thanks for the review Kenny & Joanie. Still cant believe how great your boys were compared to my little monsters. We are really pleased they enjoyed their time with the Kids Club buddies and that you were able to get some time to yourselves as well as connect with the kids. We look forward to having you back.

Ty Goulter
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Last time we stayed at one of the large 5 star resorts over in Denarau. This time we were looking for a small boutique resort with a focus on family activities and great service. We weren't disappointed, and Koro Sun exceeded our expectations in all respects.

We stayed in an Edge Water villa, and even though they were on special due to construction, this was not a problem at all. Most days we were either out on the many and varied excursions, or at the main area of the resort, so the construction was hardly noticeable.

The activities were great and made so much easier by the "buddy" assigned to our 5 year old son for the duration of our stay. He quickly became a favourite with our son, and helped in all activities from rainforest walks, snorkelling, fishing and kayaking.

The service from the staff was fantastic! They quickly learnt our names and nothing was too much trouble (particularly when it came to whatever our son wanted!). The food and bar service was very well done. Even cooked up the fish we caught!

We really appreciated the more personal service from a smaller resort. The range of activities were great, and we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. Fantastic!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyGoulter, General Manager at Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thanks for the review Matt. We are certainly different to Denarau and as we have said before do our best to provide the real Fiji experience. I am definitely lucky to have a team of such great staff. They make it easy to provide the service we do because being happy and helpful is their natural way of doing things. I am looking forward to the construction being finished soon and opening up the new Edgewater Villas designed for couples at the end of the month. Glad to hear it didn't effect your stay as its easy to get lost in the 70 acres of resort and 90 acres of rainforest. All the best.

Ty Goulter
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My husband and I came here for our honeymoon we are a young couple from Sydney.
Overall we had a great time, it was a traditional fijian experience. On arrival we were met with a fijian song a foot massage and a fresh juice, while the general manager Ty came and introduced himself. It is true what he has said about the "yes we can" attitude. Anything we needed they could arrange. I couldn't commend the staff more highly. All of the staff new our names immediately, they were so friendly and genuine. The activities staff were amazing and so easy to get along with.
We stayed in one of the edgewater villas. I did expect a little more luxury for close to $750 a night (i did have to keep in mind meals are also included in this price) Koro Sun has not been completely westernised yet like hotels in bali/thailand etc. There is no phones in the rooms. If you need something or need a quick question answered you have to walk back to the resort 2-5min walk. The decor is dated and didn't give a luxury feel. Also there is no blackout curtains in the edgewater villas so you were awake when the sun came up- it was extremely bright in the rooms. The size of the villa is quite large but overall didn't meet our expectations. Don't expect the nice clear blue water at the bottom of the ladder it's more like dark green/blue murky lake water that wasn't inviting at all.The private plunge pool at the front of the villa was freezing also. There was only one spoon, knife and fork-but i'm sure if we asked for extras they would have delivered them to us. The air con wasn't that cool but the breeze made up for it. Although the downstairs air con dripped water all over the floor for 3 days and house keeping just mopped it up for us when they came to clean our room each day which was fine.We also woke up to no hot or cold water which lasted for nearly 2 days we couldn't shower or flush the toilet. They did offer a day room for us to shower in which was a good 5 minute walk away up a steep hill and once we got there it was only cold water so couldn't shower properly there either.There is no wifi in the villa's. and only a TV that plays DVD's which was good for us when we just wanted to relax. The resort is split over the road the edge water villas are on the beach (at low tide above sand) and the main part of the resort is across the road. There is no lighting to cross the road at night so we used our iphones there is also no lighting when you get to edgewater villa number 2 and 1. This needs to be fixed. I would recommend this hotel for a quick relaxing getaway but wouldn't recommend it if your looking for a luxurious honeymoon resort. If your a young or even older couple looking for bars to drink at in town you wont find it here. The only bars to drink at is the ones your resort provides. Koro sun's bar was fine and had happy hour from 4-7pm everyday with a great selection of cocktails. Ty the general manager was at the bar every night as well which was great. This was a good time to meet all the other guests as well. Being in our late twenties though we were looking for a little bit more of a nightlife.
Thank you for an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The beds were good, just needed blackout curtains to get more sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jodie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyGoulter, General Manager at Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

We are very happy these guests generally had a great time and enjoyed the staff so well. Thanks for pointing out a few of the features of the room, in addition to mentioning the telecommunications factors for future guests to consider. With very few places to unplug these days, we offer a place for guests to escape TV services, telephones and internet while in many of our bures and villas. We do offer use of these facilities such as internet and telephones in our clubhouse for guests.

Although being on a remote tropical island has its obvious advantages, obtaining parts for repairs etc is not one of them. We do thank all of our guests for being so understanding. Due to the recent rains the water which empties from our river into the ocean did tend to make the water a little murky, but this is not the regular state of the water. Thank you for the feedback on blackout curtains, I will look to buy the material and have these made over the coming weeks. Due to the recent construction of a bure (complete December 1st) the path lights to the Edgewater Villas 1 & 2 were not operating, but are now working again. We will also fit some lights for the way over to the Edgewater area of the resort. With only just over a month to go on constructions it will be good to get everything back to normal and have our amazing brand new Edgewater Bures and beach front pool in operation.

Regards,


Ty Goulter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

What a wonderful place to stay, great for the Kids, loads of activity's, meals included in our price and tasted fantastic, we hired a car for the day to drive around the island and said we did not need lunch so they offered to pack a picnic lunch and did so in 1/2 an hour. the Thursday night Meke show performed by the locals is a must do. if you are into a busy resort with lots of party's this is not for you but we made more friends staying here than we did on Denerua island which was to busy and over commercialised for us and next time will stay 2 weeks here instead of staying on he south island. only negative comment I can leave is the tree top Bures are a little out dated and had no TV but the Kids were to busy all day to worry about watching TV at night.
We paid less to stay here including meals, Kids club and activities than we did on the south which charged for meals, Kids club and no activities. The staff that work here are the nicest people you will ever meet.

Room Tip: Tree top bures have a steep hill you have to walk up and our 3yr old had a couple of scrapped knees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilfiery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josaia R, General Manager at Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2015

Happy New Year From the Koro Sun Resort Family.

Thank you for your kind review back in September 2013.

My name is Josaia Rayawa ("JR"). My wife, Margie and I are the new Co-General Managers at Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa. We find this a great opportunity for us to introduce ourselves. Margie and I joined Koro Sun Resort in 2014.

We hope to be able to encourage you to come visit Koro Sun again. We are in the throes of including 8 new floating bures/villas on the lagoon, the first of its kind in Fiji.

Do let us know if you want us to keep you in the loop on the progress. My email is jr@korosunresort.com

JR & Margie
Co-GMs
Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Savusavu
3.4 mi away
Namale Resort & Spa
Namale Resort & Spa
#4 of 12 in Savusavu
380 reviews
2.9 mi away
Savasi Island Resort
Savasi Island Resort
#1 of 12 in Savusavu
226 reviews
7.1 mi away
Daku Resort
Daku Resort
#2 of 12 in Savusavu
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Naveria Heights Lodge
Naveria Heights Lodge
#8 of 12 in Savusavu
172 reviews
31.8 mi away
The Remote Resort Fiji Islands
11.5 mi away
Emaho Sekawa Resort
Emaho Sekawa Resort
#7 of 12 in Savusavu
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa

Address: Hibiscus Highway, Savusavu, Vanua Levu 00000, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Vanua Levu > Savusavu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Savusavu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Savusavu
#3 Spa Hotel in Savusavu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Savusavu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Savusavu
Price Range: £159 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our northern unspoiled location offers you the genuine warmth and friendliness of the Fijian people, beautiful lush tropical surroundings, and warm, impossibly clear waters. In a remote setting that defines paradise, Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa immerses you in a genuine Fijian experience that's nirvana to the core. In the unspoiled native north on "Fiji's other big island" of Vanua Levu, this 160-acre sanctuary was born of a nature lover's dream. The tropical retreat is etched within a coconut plantation that's encircled by lush rainforests at the edge of a stunning private lagoon. From the moment you arrive, the Koro Sun staff embraces you like family. They greet you with a song that welcomes you to your home away from home. Certainly, the Fijians are known around the globe for being the most warm and friendly islands on earth.That hospitality - coupled with our diverse accommodations and recreation - has made Fiji's Koro Sun Resort an international favorite for relaxing holidays, active family vacations and magical romantic getaways. You may experience the latter in our brand new Edgewater Bures, with lagoon front location. Our 43 private bures and villas are spacious, individually appointed decor and fully air-conditioned. Your stay is all-inclusive - from airport transfers to bountiful gourmet fare and a flurry of non-motorized water sport activities and exclusive diving at the world-famous Namena Marine Reserve with Namena Divers Inc now based at Koro Sun Resort. Beverages are additional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koro Sun Hotel Savusavu
Koro Sun Resort All Inclusive
Koro Sun Resort And Rainforest Spa Fiji/Savusavu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing