We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE RESORT IN OLD WORLD FIJI”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Savusavu
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“THE RESORT IN OLD WORLD FIJI”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Having done the luxury Denaru trip previously, my experience at Korosun took my breath away. This has all the fabulous over-water bures, infinity pools and spectacular food that Fiji has now mastered, but it's fused with a unique old world Fiji adventure.
How honoured were we to meet villagers and share their daily plunge into a pristine waterfall lake? How fascinating it was to witness the underwater pearl farm, the extraordinary reefs and tiny islands nearby, and share cocktails with the resort owners, on the balcony of their treetop villa, looking over a heavenly coastal view.
What a dedicated local crew they have, farming their own produce, guiding us around the sights and wrapping us up in a banana leaf, inside the rainforest spa.
I went to review the place for my radio show, and they paid for part of my stay,but this is no freebie review.
Yes there are other places in Fiji to go next time, but Korosun deserves at least 4 visits in a lifetime... Go. You'll see what I mean.

Room Tip: The Bures are a winner. The kayaking a must, and once you get to the waterfall lake, you'll be d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 37ChrisS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josaia R, General Manager at Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Bula Vinaka From Koro Sun..

Our sincere apologies for the delayed response. Better late than never to just simply say Vinaka Vakalevu and Thank you for your kind comments about Koro Sun Resort.

More recently, we have taken on board the idea of sharing directly with our staff, the feedback we get from tripadvisor. It's a great exercise as we are able to share both the good and bad. All part of our efforts to keep things in perspective in as far as the team is concerned.

We look forward to receiving you back. Feel free to contact Margie and I on jr@korosunresort.com or manager@korosunresort.com if you are in need of any information on the resort and anything we may be putting out soon.

JR (& Margie)
Co-General Managers, KSR.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    82
    38
    18
    12
See reviews for
103
245
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caldwell, Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2014

My wife and I could not have been more pleased with all the wonderful people at the Koro Sun Resort. The people of Fiji are known to be some of the happiest people on Earth. You are treated with pure joy and overwhelming generosity. There stunning views from the tropical rain-forest mountain top villa and unforgettable colors of coral and sea life at Turtle Alley. Snorkeling is an absolute must at Koro Sun Resort! If you are looking to have a true Fiji experience I recommend taking a trip to church, go to the villages, take the waterfall trip, kayak to Bat Island, go Salt Lake kayaking, take a hike rain-forest trekking, and shop at the Savusavu market. The activities that Koro Sun offers overflow with fun and will not disappoint. It is worth every dollar to make the trip to Koro Sun!!! We are going going, back back, to SavuSavu! BULA FIJI!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent!! Sunrise at the water-edge villas, parrots at the rain-forest bures!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cody S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josaia R, General Manager at Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Ni sa bula vinaka!

We wouldn’t have met when you stayed at Koro Sun Resort, but I understand you got to meet Margie (my wife and Co-GM) during your stay.

Thank you for your kind comments about Koro Sun Resort. More recently we have taken on board the idea of sharing directly with our staff, the feedback we get from tripadvisor. It's a great exercise as we are able to share both the good and bad. All part of our efforts to keep things in perspective in as far as the team is concerned.

The Sunday Service experience, I understand was one of the highlights for you both. We have now introduced as part of our Sunday evening program, a choir presentation of some of the renowned hymns and it has created a wonderful feedback from our guests in general.

We look forward to having you guys back. Feel free to touch base with us directly on jr@korosunresort.com.

Have a great week.

JR (& Margie)
Co- General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We had an amazing time at Koro Sun Resort. This was our 4th trip to Fiji and it was the first time we have experienced the traditional Fijian lifestyles in Savusavu and at Koro Sun which you don’t experience if you stayed at Coral Coast or Denarau. Definitely worth the additional cost in flights from Nadi to Savusavu. The service was exceptional, they were friendly, genuine and personalised to your needs. Considering we stayed for 7 nights and were still unable to complete all the activities that the resort has to offer. A trip to Bat Island is a must.....the grotto was beautiful. As a family of 4 (my daughters are 5 years and 3 months), the nanny/buddy service gave us the ability to spend time as a family or as a couple. Prior to our stay at Koro Sun, we read reviews on this site about the quality of food. We found the food to be of great standard, particularly when you consider they use local ingredients, much of which are seasonally grown at the resort. Most of the dishes were healthy and of high quality, with a Fijian feel. We stayed in the Streamside Villa, the room was very spacious and clean. We were lucky enough to get a sneak peek of the new Edgewater Bures and they are absolutely beautiful. We highly recommended this room for any honeymoon couples. Lastly, a big thank you to all staff especially Jack, Patsy and Margie for a memorable stay. You will definitely see our faces again soon.

Room Tip: Edgewater Bure for Honeymooners and Edgewater Villa for Family
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastmanPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josaia R, General Manager at Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Bula Vinaka To the Eastmans!!

We wouldn’t have met when you stayed at Koro Sun Resort with your family, but I know you got to meet Margie (my wife and Co-GM) during your stay.

Thank you for your kind comments about Koro Sun Resort. We make it a habit of sharing directly with our staff, the feedback we get from tripadvisor. It's a great exercise as we are able to share both the good and bad. All part of our efforts to keep things in perspective in as far as the team is concerned. Did you see the image of your daughter with Manu on our Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa FB site? A great shot indeed! I hope it was fine with you.

We look forward to receiving you and your family back to Koro Sun Resort in the not-too-distant future. You can always contact Margie and I on manager@korosunresort.com or jr@korosunresort.com


Have an awesome week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2014

What a wonderful time we had at Koro Sun! The resort offers a wide array of activities. We enjoyed a trip to the Bat Island, a visit to a Fiji local village and waterfall, salt water kayaking, watching crab race and coconut demonstration. The staff members were super nice, fun and friendly with kids. They took my son fishing while we had a couple's banana leaf wrap massage in the rainforest!!! We stayed in a fancy Edge Water unit with glass window on the floor, through which we could see fish and eels swimming by. Food at the resort was also incredibly refreshing and delicious. So many fond memories... It is a place I will definitely visit again with my family :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josaia R, General Manager at Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Bula Vinaka Alison,

Allow us to introduce ourselves. My name is Josaia Rayawa or "JR" as my friends refer to me. My wife, Margie and I co-manage the Koro Sun Resort.

We wouldn't have met as Margie and I recently joined the Koro Sun Resort team. She was there around the time you and your family would have been there and I joined her in April.

Thank you for your kind comments about Koro Sun Resort. We take every opportunity now to share directly with our staff, the feedback we get from tripadvisor. It's a great exercise as we are able to share both the good and bad. All part of our efforts to keep things in perspective in as far as the team is concerned.

We look forward to receiving you back. Feel free to contact Margie and I on jr@korosunresort.com or manager@korosunresort.com.

Have an awesome week.
JR (& Margie)
Co-General Managers, KSR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We have not long returned from a week long stay at Koro Sun. What an amazing time we had! Our main objective was to have a holiday to recharge the batteries and get ready for another busy year ahead at both work and school (12 year old daughter entering high school). We definitely achieved this and left (with some sadness) feeling totally relaxed, rejuvenated and ready to tackle life's challenges that lie ahead. The two plane flights from Bne Aus to get there were absolutely worth it...the resort's location is idyllic and thankfully very far removed from Suva, Nadi or Denaru, The resort provided a great sense of what Fiji life is really all about.,..wonderful surrounds, plenty of options to do lots or do nothing, good food and great service by amazing staff who are surely Koro Sun's greatest assets. From the warm welcome to seeing regular team members at meals, for activities etc, we did feel like part of the Koro Sun family a couple of days into our stay. If you are looking for 5 star precision service and top class facilities, best try somewhere else. If you're looking for a great Fiji holiday experience in beautiful surrounds with great staff, then you can't look past Koro Sun. A good tip is slip into 'Fiji time' as soon as possible after arriving...it makes the stay more enjoyable. As well traveled, down to earth people we highly recommend Koro Sun for a vacation. We stayed from 30 Dec to 6 Jan in Edgewater Villa and desperate to make our visit an annual event. Thanks you to our Koro Sun family.

Room Tip: Get into 'Fiji time' as soon as you can. Edgewater Villa good for family and was a little re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGeoffParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josaia R, General Manager at Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Bula Vinaka Geoff & Kathy,

We wouldn't have met as Margie and I had joined the Koro Sun team recently. She joined in January and I joined up in April. Thank you for sharing your comments. Along with feedback we get from Guest comments forms, we are also sharing feedback from tripadvisor with the staff in general. Its is a great medium of quality control measures.

Some of the old staff remember you guys well and they send their warmest greetings to you both and to your daughter, Ella. Trust she is enjoying high school.

We hope to hear from you. If you have any plans to another visit, feel free to email me directly, at jr@korosunresort.com

Have an awesome week.

JR (& Margie)
Co-General Managers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Each year I try and find a holiday location that will satisfy my need for R&R with healthy food options and plenty of physical activity. Not only is Koro Sun a spectacular place to stay, but it serves the most amazing food - food largely grow at the resort itself and offers daily activities that allow you to fully embrace Fijian culture and hospitality. Koro Sun is the perfect holiday place for anyone who wants to enjoy the sun but look after their body at the same time - in a truly beautiful environment.
Susie Burrell - Dietitian/Nutritionist

Room Tip: Stay in one the new bures for your very own ocean swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josaia R, General Manager at Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Vinaka Susie, We wouldn't have met as I had joined in April, but my wife, Margie would have started around January.

Thank you for your kind comments on the resort. I am particularly interested in hearing from you on some of your ideas on Dietary and Nutritional values. My email is jr@korosunresort.com

I look forward to hearing from you.
JR (Co-GM, KSR).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Koro Sun is beautiful because of the rainforest. What upset me the most was the food. The food was not up to my standards at all. I didn't like that our shower was cold and burning hot (the temp. would not stay the same). The knobs in the shower were broken. There's a lot of wildlife in koro sun and it would be helpful to have more lights around the hotel so you can see you way around clearer at night. The activities are nice. The best one is scuba diving. Other then that it was a regular hotel with a small pool and separate pool for toddlers. The local beach that they took us too was literally polluted. Filled with trash and Mosquitos and there is no sand only rocks. The beach stunk it was really nasty and ugly.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amandacristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
navale0, Director of Sales at Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Vinaka and (Thank You) for your review of Koro Sun Resort. It's nice to hear that you enjoyed the rainforest setting, activities, and scuba diving experienced during your stay with us. We are sorry to hear of your issues with hot water maintaing a consistent temperature. We had our maintenance team into both the Ocean View Bure and Edgewater Villa your family stayed in to ensure that the issue is fixed for future guests. As an acknowledgment of this issue we did clear the incidentals from the bill at the time of checkout for the inconvenience. Regarding the comments about the beach, we were unable to take this family to our preferred beach picnic location during the week they stayed, due to a family reunion taking place on the private estate we consistently use. The alternative beach location selected by our activities team had not been visited in some time. Unfortunately you experienced a beach off site that had not been cleaned up. The resort and it's management are sorry for that experience you had, and should have looked into the current state of this beach prior to taking you there. For future guests, please note that our new Edgewater Beach Club and Wai Bar opens in February, and will be home to our own sandy beach area situated in front of the infinity edge swimming pool. With regard to your comments on the food not being up to your standards, we are sorry to hear this. There was no specific reference to what you felt was not up to standard, but many of our guests on Trip Advisor have expressed their favorable dining experiences with us. Thanks for you review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Savusavu
7.1 mi away
Daku Resort
Daku Resort
#2 of 12 in Savusavu
673 reviews
3.3 mi away
Namale Resort & Spa
Namale Resort & Spa
#3 of 12 in Savusavu
366 reviews
2.9 mi away
Savasi Island Villas
Savasi Island Villas
#1 of 12 in Savusavu
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.8 mi away
The Remote Resort - Fiji Islands
11.4 mi away
Emaho Sekawa Resort
Emaho Sekawa Resort
#6 of 12 in Savusavu
96 reviews
6.7 mi away
Naveria Heights Lodge
Naveria Heights Lodge
#8 of 12 in Savusavu
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa

Property: Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa
Address: Hibiscus Highway, Savusavu, Vanua Levu 00000, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Vanua Levu > Savusavu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Savusavu
#3 Spa Hotel in Savusavu
#3 Family Hotel in Savusavu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Savusavu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Savusavu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Savusavu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our northern unspoiled location offers you the genuine warmth and friendliness of the Fijian people, beautiful lush tropical surroundings, and warm, impossibly clear waters. In a remote setting that defines paradise, Koro Sun Resort & Rainforest Spa immerses you in a genuine Fijian experience that's nirvana to the core. In the unspoiled native north on "Fiji's other big island" of Vanua Levu, this 160-acre sanctuary was born of a nature lover's dream. The tropical retreat is etched within a coconut plantation that's encircled by lush rainforests at the edge of a stunning private lagoon. From the moment you arrive, the Koro Sun staff embraces you like family. They greet you with a song that welcomes you to your home away from home. Certainly, the Fijians are known around the globe for being the most warm and friendly islands on earth.That hospitality - coupled with our diverse accommodations and recreation - has made Fiji's Koro Sun Resort an international favorite for relaxing holidays, active family vacations and magical romantic getaways. You may experience the latter in our brand new Edgewater Bures, with lagoon front location. Our 43 private bures and villas are spacious, individually appointed decor and fully air-conditioned. Your stay is all-inclusive - from airport transfers to bountiful gourmet fare and a flurry of non-motorized water sport activities and exclusive diving at the world-famous Namena Marine Reserve with Namena Divers Inc now based at Koro Sun Resort. Beverages are additional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koro Sun Hotel Savusavu
Koro Sun Resort All Inclusive
Koro Sun Resort And Rainforest Spa Fiji/Savusavu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing