We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in Savusavu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Savusavu Hot Springs Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Savusavu
hokitika
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good value in Savusavu”
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Very well located hotel in Savusavu. Rooms overlook the Bay. Has a good restaurant with good value food and drinks. Rooms are very clean. Staff were very helpful
The fan was a bit noisy but the aircon was fine. The bathrooms were adequate but will need modernising in near future.
Only downer was the noise from the nightclub down the hill on Friday night. Music stopped about midnight 1am.
Another was that we booked a boat trip across the bay to a fijian village the day before but found out at last minute that it wasnt going so ended up with a day wasted

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hurlz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    49
    27
    7
    7
See reviews for
19
35
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

This hotel has amazing views but the walk up to the hotel is steep. Rooms are clean and fairly spacious but basic. No internet though not too far into town to find a great cafe with internet.

Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank OnaDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2010

The higher up, the better the view of Savusavu. It is within a walking distance from town or 2 FJD by taxi, it has good hot showers and even though its heyday was probably quite a few decades ago it is still the better option if you are not on a super tight budget. We enjoyed our stay and will consider it again, no thrills but very convenient.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PINELights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Qld
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2010

What's a bit sad about the Hot Springs hotel is that with the location so close to town, a five minute walk, and the brilliant views of the harbour from the guest room balconies, this establishment possesses the potential of being the best resort in Savusavu. In reality it is far from that: just read other reviews of Savusavu. The whole place is tired, an impression gained from the moment one heads up the badly neglected access road to the hotel and reinforced after entering the lobby. There's no tour desk, just a not-too-prominent billboard in the bar area advertising some local tours and attractions. I have to admit I didn't see or use the restaurant whilst I was there, so can't comment on it.

The desk staff appear unable or unwilling to provide a remote control for the room's aircon unit, so one temperature fits all. Mine was a bit too cold for comfort, so leaving the balcony door ajar at night to allow warm air in was a quick fix. This hotel charges a 5% credit card fee - no sign on the desk advertising this, so factor the cost in if you're budgeting. Someone wrote elsewhere in another review they gained the impression this hotel caters a lot to locals. While I was resident there were about twenty or so rather noisy local guests, making it impossible to enjoy a quiet drink in the bar area at any time.

The hotel offers a $25 service for return airport transfers. I justifiably declined, as the metered taxi fare is around $3.50 each way. If you politely ask the charming lady at the airport office she'll probably ring one for you.

Savusavu is a charming little town, just look around and you'll find a more welcoming place to stay than the Hot Springs Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hastatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Savusavu hotels

melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2010

What a shame. The most amazing view you could hope for in Savusavu. But the recent upgrade consisted only of a bit of paint and aircon units. But other than that falling apart. The bathrooms, are awful. Black bathtubs (clean, but years of stains), broken tiles, ripped mossie mets, doors that don't shut, aircon units with no remote....
And the food in restaurant - not good.

Stayed December 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank melbxyxyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2009

After reading the reviews of the Hot Springs Hotel we decided to give it a chance and booked for 2 weeks. We checked out after one night! The location is lovely but the rooms were very dirty and the bed linen was smelly - like a mouldy type smell. There was grime and dust all over the bathroom - and it was just dirtly. If the owners ever read these reviews, it would really benefit your hotel if the rooms could be cleaned properly and the covers washed ocassionally.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottnjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe,NM.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2009

It is always a joy for me to stay at The Hot Springs Hotel - as a travel agent & as an everyday individual. One of the things I like best about The Hot Springs is the staff - they ALWAYS remember you & make you feel so comfortable - it is really awesome. The rooms facing the harbor have an incredible view & the rooms are more than comfortable as well as affordable. The deck outside the dining room is beautiful & the pool is very nice. The only suggestion I have for the hotel is to repave the drive up to the hotel as it is a bit dangerous when walking down it. I would reccommend this hotel to anyone - it is a favorite of mine!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catannSantaFe_NM_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savusavu hotels
0.9 mi away
Daku Resort
Daku Resort
#1 of 12 in Savusavu
669 reviews
2.3 mi away
Korovesi Sunshine Villas
Korovesi Sunshine Villas
#10 of 12 in Savusavu
20 reviews
0.5 mi away
Naveria Heights Lodge
Naveria Heights Lodge
#8 of 12 in Savusavu
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Namale Resort & Spa
Namale Resort & Spa
#3 of 12 in Savusavu
366 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gecko Lodge Fiji
Gecko Lodge Fiji
#6 of 12 in Savusavu
69 reviews
3.7 mi away
Savasi Island Villas
Savasi Island Villas
#2 of 12 in Savusavu
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savusavu Hot Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savusavu Hot Springs Hotel

Property: Savusavu Hot Springs Hotel
Address: Savusavu Town, Savusavu, Vanua Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Vanua Levu > Savusavu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Savusavu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Savusavu Hot Springs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savusavu Hot Springs Hotel - perfectly situated in the heart of Savusavu Town, our facility offers one of the finest vista locations and affordable amenities in the South Pacific. Ideal for both leisure and business travelers of all budgets - Savusavu, is the soft adventure capital of Fiji. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Savusavu Hot Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savusavu Hot Springs Hotel Fiji

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing