We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent trip if you don't have a weak stomach!”

Jean-Michel Cousteau Diving
Ranked #2 of 16 things to do in Savusavu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in Savusavu, on the northern Fijian island of Vanua Levu, Jean-Michel Cousteau Diving offers unparalleled access to some of the world's most spectacular seascapes. Want to try SCUBA before signing up? No problem! Join our instructors in the pool to learn the basics. But be warned - you'll be hooked! For those already certified, we offer something more adventurous. Join Jean-Michel Cousteau's hand picked dive team as they explore newly identified, but as yet unnamed dive sites. Be amazed at the coral heads of Namena or cruise the walls and canyons of Shark Alley. Our team is waiting for you. Jean-Michel Cousteau Diving Dive Center has everything you need for a Fijian SCUBA diving adventure. From adrenaline filled boat dives to relaxing snorkel excursions, we are sure you will find what you need.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent trip if you don't have a weak stomach!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Very nice dive facilities, including the gear and the food and drinks (fresh pineapple and melon).
The only shop that dives on Namena, the local coral reserve.
I went out with them on a day when the weather was a rough, which caused nausea to quite a few of the guests. Due to the weather we couldn't visit the best sites on the reef, but it was still worthwhile.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TMMVeldt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    10
    3
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sharks and turtles!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Great diving with a very experienced, sensitive and helpful team.
Thanks Mere for finding so much good stuff!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue602013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
150 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Phenomenal diving and dive operation”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I had a great opportunity to do some diving off Savusavu while on a cruise through the French Polynesia Islands. The cruise boat set up the dive to be conducted by Jean-Michel Cousteau Diving operation. They came out to the cruise boat and picked us up for a two tank morning dive.
They were very efficient and so very friendly. The dive boat was equipped nicely and there was plenty of storage for all the gear. They were very professional and gave a thorough briefing of the dive we were going to do and covered al the aspects of doing a safe dive. They also stressed being careful of the coral while diving, which I thought was nice. After the first dive we were provided plenty of fresh fruit, snacks, and water while we motored to the island for our surface interval. We were taken to the dock and had the opportunity to visit the dive shop, check out the beach and the lodging facilities there. Very nice. We then went out for our second dive and when that was completed they took us back to our cruise boat. The diving was phenomenal with lots of beautiful soft coral, and reef fish. The friendly, professional staff, and nice dive boat topped it off perfectly.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GKP46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lots of dive sites and friendly staff”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I had one on one attention to complete my diving certification. I felt safe in the pool, boat and underwater. Whenever I was unsure, there was no rush and no pressure.

The waters were warm and the gear all worked a treat. The staff really know the local area (down to each coral head!) hence they know the weather conditions, where all the fascinating creatures live making a memorable experience each time. Namena is really a special place to dive where the clarity of the water is amazing and so much to see just off the island snorkelling and diving further out to sea.

Some of the things I have seen…. sea turtles, cleaner shrimp, sharks, sharks, sharks, tuna, mackerel, loads of fish, loads of soft and hard coral, christmas tree worms, humphead wrasse, octopus, squid.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MaroubraSunrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa Grande, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful crews and divemasters!”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The diving was great, (expected); the people friendly and efficient, (expected); but the boat crews and divemasters were the best, (a terrific extra!). George was our divemaster for all but two of our dives and after the first dive he adjusted our dive pace and what he pointed out to custom fit our needs as photographers. The other two dives were with a marine biologist who pointed out so many interesting things! Both divemasters had slates and wrote the names of things so we knew immediately what we were looking at. And our surface intervals were fun and interesting -- music and good conversation. Not to mention a brief siting of a whale shark and a pod of whales! Only downsides were the rules and regulations of the Resort which were a little intimidating and the fact that if we wanted to dive we had to go where the boat was going -- even if it meant the additional charge of the Marine Reserve. (Actually, I didn't mind because I wanted to go again, but we weren't told before we got there). Would I go back? In a hearbeat! -- and probably will!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TobyLittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jean-Michel Cousteau Diving also viewed

 
Savusavu, Vanua Levu
 

Been to Jean-Michel Cousteau Diving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing