We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what an awesome day at the island with elaine and rafa”

Rafas Adventure Tours
Ranked #5 of 16 things to do in Savusavu
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come and enjoy one of Rafa's Adventure Tours! Island Day out, swim in a waterfall, hike, snorkel, see the real rural Fiji, eat local food whilst laughing and learning with our guides. Offering full, half day and budget tours, with custom, group and party options. We aim to allow everyone to experience the magic of Savusavu.
sausalito, California, USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“what an awesome day at the island with elaine and rafa”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

we spent an entire day with elaine and rafa for there Nagig island adventuure tour. we have 3 kids and elaine brought along 3 kids and they all together they had the time of there lives. the island is only a couple of minutes on the boat and we spent the day swimming, snorkeling, exploring, viewing the amazing fruit bats that live there, learned how to open coconuts the fijan way, learned how to make coconut cream for luch. Lunch was a gastronomic feast with fish, chicken, pumpkin, and other yummies prepared fijian style. Oh yes we also visited the local school which was a real treat as the kids sang for us.
We also did an outing to Matika Falls with Elaine and that was really fun. Don't hesitate to book a tour!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank zappaosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Harbour, Fiji
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Day trip on Vanua Levu!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We had a truly enjoyable day with our host Elayne and Rafa on Nagigi Island, close to Savusavu! On arrival dolphins were waiting in the bay and we enjoyed exploring the corral reef. After a walk around the island we indulged on a stunning feast, that included fish steamed in a traditional fijian underground oven! After a visit to the fruit bat colony on the island we tried some local kava and raced hermit crabs. Thank you guys for a great day trip!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Atahualpa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“A real non commercial genuine fiji island experience”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Went with my hubby and 2 kids aged 5 and 3. Great day. Lots of activities and not a minute of boredom. Life jackets for the kids helped us snorkel at the reef easily. Loads of colour and fish and my kid enjoyed picking up the blue star fish putting them back the right way as they can't turn themselves over. We shared recipes husked and scraped coconuts, went hunting for bats, presented the chief with kava. Rafa is the silent funny guy who Elaine and I agreed we would have no hesitation being stranded on a desert island, he caught a trevelli in 5 mins :) it rained at about 230 but even then we walked around the island and swam as the water must have been at least 28 degrees. Easy commute, great company. Definitely recommend. Oh and would take reef shoes if you have them just to make it easier on the feet. When my hubby was drinking the kava I could have done with a wine so defo take one if you are that way inclined. It's so chilled out. Can't wait to be back in savusavu savusavu and see Elaine again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Arrrlette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a day”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Thanks to Elayne and Rafa, and David and family for showing us such a good time. As others have said, we thoroughly enjoyed a great day on a private island, went snorkelling, walked around the island and hiked inland, took some amazing pictures, and gorged ourselves on a fantastic meal of freshly grilled fish, salads, fresh fruits. A wonderful day and well worth it.

Andrew & Briar

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Flathead42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Great tour with Rafas Adventure Tours”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Booked a day tour with Rafas Adventure tours when our cruise ship was in Savusavu.
We had a fantastic day on a private island with excellent snorkeling from the shore.
Our local guides prepared the meal on the island and we drank coconut milk.
Elayne was a great guide and I recommend this tour.
The price was reasonnable also.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Michel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rafas Adventure Tours also viewed

 
Savusavu, Vanua Levu
 

Been to Rafas Adventure Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing