We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
63
1
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
63
1
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews margaret and luigi sweet life salt lake hole golf course savusavu airport low tide fish dolphins hosts lagoon ldv property paradise meals trampoline fiji island
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This was simply the best resort experience I have ever had.

The roomy, airy, stylish villas are set amidst gorgeous native gardens, and each has a point-blank view of the lagoon and reef from a wide shady deck. The kitchenettes are well supplied and the bathrooms are immaculate. Fresh flowers are replenished daily. Mosquito nets are provided, but we didn't need them for our visit in July.

The pool was refreshingly cool and the lagoon was warm enough to simply float and gaze at the stars.

Margaret and Luigi are the perfect hosts, anticipating our every need (usually before we even noticed it) and making us feel like long-lost family. Their staff are warm and attentive, and nothing is too much trouble, from cutting us fresh drinking coconuts from the trees in the garden to making gourmet meals for my 9 month old son. Maria his Fijian mum-for-the-day looked after him superbly.

Michel the chef can probably make anything your heart desires, from traditional Fijian and Indian meals to specialties from Luigi's homeland Italy. The succession of dishes emerging from the open kitchen, the Teppanyaki grill and wood-fired pizza oven was truly astounding. Breakfast commences with local tropical fruit. Cocktails and hors d'oeuvres are served by the pool, overlooking the ocean or on your private deck. Home-made biscuits appear in the fridge and are replenished as if by magic.

Highlights of the visit were an open air massage overlooking the reef, a traditional Lovo and kava ceremony, playing in the water-park, kayaking to a deserted salt lake, and snorkelling on a local reef where we spotted the biggest eel any of us had ever seen.

La Dolce Vita can provide almost anything offered by a large resort, but with the space, peace and intimacy of your own private kingdom. It would suit couples, friends, or a family group, and would be the perfect site for a small destination wedding. Don't be dissuaded by the extra flight from Nadi or the drive from town, the experience is well worth the travel.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TashaM117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We arrived in Savusavu to discover some problems with our accommodation at another resort. We called Margaret to see whether she could take us (4 adults plus 1 baby) immediately for 6 nights. We are so pleased that she said yes because we had the most amazing week staying at La Dolce Vita!

Everything about the resort was 5 star - the people, accommodation, food, scenery, and activities.

The resort is spacious and the landscaping, gardens and artwork are stunning. We enjoyed relaxing by the pool but particularly enjoyed being able to swim laps in the 80m long lagoon.

Our villas are beautiful and comfortable, and kept clean and tidy by the friendly, attentive staff. All four of the villas have fantastic views.

The chef, Michelle, created wonderful food for us, including teppanyaki in the teppanyaki bar (see photo). Every meal was fabulous and we really appreciated the care taken to ensure that baby Rory had suitable food.

There were plenty of activities to do (if we chose) including being taken to a fantastic snorkelling site, kayaking to the inland salt lake, walking to the nearby island at low tide, hiking to the top of the hill, playing golf, and visiting Savusavu town. We had massages (out on the point, overlooking the ocean). And we enjoyed our 'singing competition' with the local guys after our kava ceremony.

Margaret and Luigi are wonderful, welcoming hosts with great ideas. We loved hearing about all their projects and can't wait for the tree house to be built. They (and their staff) catered to our every whim - and had usually foreseen what we wanted before we even asked!

This resort is a hidden gem and I am already planning my next visit. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

If you're looking for that hidaway where you can eat, drink, relax and unwind, well look no more!. This stunning hideaway nestled on the shores of Suvasuva caters for your every whim. The Villas are 10 star and tastefully decorated while keeping the island charm mingled with modern facilities. Margaret and Luigi are the perfect hosts, with nothing a problem and always a friendly smile to greet you. The staff are warm and gentle with nothing a bother. Breakfast is served on your balcony overlooking the blue ocean and pool waters. The gardens are magical with colour and interesting areas to stroll and unwind.
We look forward to returning there next year as we feel part of a beautiful Fijian family.
Thank you to Margaret Luigi Michelle (the great chef) and wonderful staff for making our stay so magical

Room tip: All rooms are beautiful
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PFMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

This is an hidden paradise tucked away in a magical corner near Savusavu for one to reconnect with the Body Mind and Spirit. The time there was relaxing, you feel like you are part of a Fijian Family and your needs are taken care and all you have to do is to relax and rejuvenate. The rooms are clean and have touches of home. Homemade Cookies. The owners Loui and Margaret are excellent hosts and it was a so good having dinner with them every night and sharing their experiences.

Michele is the resident Chef and cooks some of the most delightful dishes and take your preferences to consideration. I had authentic fijian food as well as the eggs benedict for breakfast. Food can be delivered to your villa or you can have it in the open area and enjoy the sound of waters lapping of the shore. The food was amazing and I had the best time ever.

The rooms are clean and there are always towels around. The local fijian products for shower, shampoo and lotion are the best and you feel relaxed all the time after a hot shower.

You can arrange in advance local fijian massage therapists to do your massages at a villa and be right there hearing the sounds of waves and rhythmic sounds of the beaches, swaying of coconut trees and the smell of nature. I had a massage everyday and it was absolutely amazing.

Nothing was a bother to Loui and Margaret and will their help i was able to enjoy my stay and ensured the other bits were taken care of. Margaret was absolutely amazing and I felt that I was home away from home. I consider them now my family in Fiji!

Thank you Loui and Margaret and hope to see you soon!!!

Room tip: Let Margaret what your preferences are and she can suggest a room that suit your needs
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

This was a long trip for us, traveling quite far from the east coast of the United States. We thought it was a once in a life time trip, and although it was that for us, we are hoping we can make it back. La Dolce Vita is stunning. The grounds are beautifully maintained, the staff is incredibly warm and responsive, the food is excellent, and there was lots to do if you want to do something other than relax. We are a family of five, with 3 children ranging in age from 9 to 14, and everyone was happy here. Some of the activities we did- kayaking in the salt pond, boat trip to see the spinner dolphins and go snorkeling, exploring the reefs, playing in the lagoon on the water slide and trampoline, playing in the pool, kids played in the game room (billiards, fooz ball, darts, etc..), visit to town, visit to nearby school & village, I went to church (in Fijian but amazing singing), hiking... probably forgot something else, but you get the picture. Lots of choices for food which was a nice mix of traditional Fijian and Indo-Fijian with plenty of fresh fruit. My kids ate with no complaints, my husband and I are food snobs and we were very happy. Margaret and Luigi were wonderful hosts, along with staff that were caring and accommodating. I was constantly asking questions about Fiji, the language, culture, etc.. and they never lost their patience with me. Thanks you to everyone at La Dolce Vita for treating us all like family and sharing your beautiful world and culture with us.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews