We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
63
1
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
63
1
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews margaret and luigi sweet life salt lake hole golf course savusavu airport low tide fish dolphins hosts lagoon ldv property paradise meals trampoline fiji island
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2014

One of the rare joys of travel is coming back to a place and finding it even more wonderful than you remembered. Even better when you are greeted as a long lost friend.

As usual the food was superb, especially the traditional Fijian lovo (cooked in the pit with hot stones) and kokoda (coconut and fish ceviche) and "Italian night". My 2 year old son loved almost everything - no tacky pre-made "nuggets and chips" here!

Host Luigi is truly, madly, deeply welcoming. Watching him take off around the lagoon with a golf-cart full of children was hilarious.

Hostess Margaret is like a swan - effortless grace and serenity on top, but out of sight her legs are paddling madly to make all your wishes and whims come true. This time she outdid herself by organising a treasure hunt on their private desert island, complete with transport by kayak and local fishing boats and finishing with poolside Margaritas.

A wish was vaguely expressed to try the 6-hole golf course. No mention of bookings, fees or dress standards. Instead, sets of clubs quietly appeared by the breakfast table. On our last visit, we were interested in the traditional method of cooking in the hot springs and voila! someone went and cooked us a pudding.

But the magic is that despite the warm and attentive service, and the range of activities, there is complete privacy, quiet and relaxation when you want it. Time and tide permitting, you can do as little or as much as you like.

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TashaM117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesweetlifeSavusavu, Owner at La Dolce Vita Holiday Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Bula Tasha & Rory
It was lovely to welcome you back and enjoy the developing personality that's our Rory. Your La Dolce Vita family will continue to strive to keep the flavours and atmosphere that you enjoy. Thank you so much for taking the time to write another review.
Grazie, vinaka vakalevu
Luigi and Margaret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I'm really not sure where to start ... Luigi and Margaret are wonderful wonderful hosts. Their team are superb. The food was great - and Michelle happy to share recipes ... Best memories - massage on the point, cocktails next to the pool, the care taken for making wedding anniversary celebrations perfect, the smiles and the feeling of being in a joyous family home whilst on a resort. Would I love to go back? Yes! Would I recommend this to friends and family? Yes! Should you visit? Yes!

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesweetlifeSavusavu, Owner at La Dolce Vita Holiday Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Bula Anna
Thank you for the excellent review. We're humbled by your kind words and Michelle may now be inspired to produce that recipe book. It was a pleasure to meet you and appreciated your collective ideas that all came together to produce a memorable Wedding Anniversary celebration. We really did enjoy sharing our piece of Paradise with you.
Grazie, vinaka vakalevu
Luigi and Margaret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We recently celebrated a 20 th wedding anniversary with friends at la dolce vita. For a glorious week we celebrated - snorkelling on a stunning reef, playing with dolphins, swimming in the lagoon, kayaking and then having a massage. At the end of each day cocktails would magically appear by the pool with 5pm nibbles. This was followed by the most delicious dinners you have ever tried thanks to the talented chef Michelle. The kids had a fantastic time between the big slide, paddle boats and rides on Luigi's golf cart. But by far the best thing was spending a week with Margaret and Luigi - our hosts who made us feel like part of the family ..... Well ok, the very indulged and spoiled family. We'll be back soon.

Date of stay: January 2014
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Tania R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesweetlifeSavusavu, Owner at La Dolce Vita Holiday Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Bula Tani
We're so humbled and grateful that you were more than satisfied with our Team, the service, and the activities available. Thank you so much for your review and welcome to the La Dolce Vita family!
Grazie, vinaka vakalevu
Luigi & Margaret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I was there 2 weeks ago for a wedding! Comfortably catered for a 100 strong guest list. the food and service was impeccable, the band and the decor was simple yet elegant. So well thought out and organised.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandiceH56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

This is a really hard review to write without it becoming just a long list of superlatives. It is amazing, brilliant with the best food in Fiji but it is so much more than that. I can honestly say I had the best 5 day break I have had in years and it is all down to the ambience that Margaret and Luigi have created.

It is like you have had this Uncle who travelled far away years ago and you have not seen him but periodically news reaches you that your uncle has bought a house in the most beautiful spot in Fiji. Then over the years the odd glamourous story reaches home of what he has been up to but he is unseen and you really want to travel there to meet him and see if all the stories are true.

Then finally you go to see your long lost Aunt and Uncle. (Sorry Margaret I know I am older than you) and everything you have heard about the wonderful place they live is true. But best of all they are really pleased to see you after so long, and they welcome you with open arms and because you are family you every whim is indulged.

I am not related to Margaret or Luigi but that is what we all felt when my family stayed at La Dolce Vita. It really is that good.

Dinners were just fabulous. We all sat around a big table with Luigi at its head. It felt just like being at a family dinner in Italy with lots of noise and laughter. Michelle would produce the most fantastic food, the best this side of Abruzzo.

One word of caution, beware of Margaret’s Caffè corretto. So Good but So bad. But best of all no impediment to sleep. Go up to Villa Firenze, leave the shutters open, Leave the door open. Fall asleep to the sound of waves being cooled by the sea breeze.

I can’t wait for the next time I stay with Auntie Margaret and Uncle Luigi

Room tip: All the villas are great. If you have familly choose Villa Firenze because it has 2 rooms and a boticelli on the ceiling of the bathroom
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews