We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience that can only be found off the beaten track.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Dolce Vita Holiday Villas
Reviewed 12 July 2009

Half the adventure is getting there, for off the dirt roads leading from Savusavu lies this quiet yet sophisticated oasis which offers the ultimate tropical setting of both the rainforest and white sand beach...the perfect setting for our honeymoon.
The service, and friendliness of the staff is humbling. The diverse specialities of Michelle, blending Italian & local dishes and tastes left us very satisfied, especially as all meals are served within the comforts of your bure.
Finally, there is so much to do & is not dependent on the weather, my favourites were the reef walks to the private island and the highly commendable dolphin tour and snorkelling in Natewa Bay...we both found it hard to leave & will return another day.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2009

La Dolce Vita - sweet as life can be. The name of the resort shows and keeps its promises. The owners Margaret&Luigi are pampering their guests as they were part of their familiy. The resort is new - the official opening will be in July 2009 - and rather small and therefore very personal. The exclusive villas and the brand-new pool are located directly by the sea. La Dolce Vita provides beachtowels. Snorkelling gear, canoeing and a daily loundry-service is even for free. When we were there, in April 2009, Electricity was available only from 5.30 pm and during the night but that didn't bother us at all and the owners intent to extent the availability as soon as possible - with solar energy. The walk-in rate is fabulous! For me and my partner everything was included in the price. And it is also very much recommended for families as La Dolce Vita provides a nanny whenever the parents wish to deeply relax.
The resort is 30 minutes away from the airport in Savusavu on Vanua Levu. Margaret will pick you up for free. The transfer from the resort to town costs about 35 Fijian Dollars by taxi or 3 Fijian Dollars with the local bus (highly recommended!) but most likely you won't need either of them because Margaret offers you a ride twice a week as she settles her business in town.
We did also enjoy plenty of unique trips such as: visiting a group of about 200 spinner-dolphins in the biggest bay in Fiji, snorkelling the split-rock in Savusavu, canoe trip to the near salt-lake or diving at the worldclass diving area of the rainbow reef (great white wall!).
Since the owners of the resort don't do much of advertising the best way to get a great deal is to contact them directly in advanced: info@ladolcevitafiji.com or visit http://www.ladolcevitafiji.com/

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swizztrippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2008

La Dolce Vita in Vauna Levu was the best experience. The cottages were gorgeous and you truly felt you were in a tropical paradise. We stayed in the two bedroom built by Luigi himself with his son and it should definitely be photographed for magazines.

We got up early in the mornings to hike to the top of their property to look out at spectacular sunrises. Margret and Luigi's dog's chose to join us on some mornings. The staff make it for a cozy experience and Michelle their cook will definitely tempt your taste buds.

The local villages were close by to see the true Fijian life and Margret and Luigi give you enough space to enjoy the quietness of Fiji but fill in with activities at your request. I highly suggest going to see "Joe the dolphin caller" and swimming with the dolphins. It is an experience like no other.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeacherTraveler001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2008

We absolutely loved La Dolce Vita! It is soooo gorgeous there, and the "burres" are top notch, beautifully built woodwork, stylish and comfortable- a zen and spa-like decor Fiji-style. It could easily be in Architectural Digest. We stayed in the 2 bedroom villa and it had everything we needed, although with Margaret & Luigi's presence, Michelle's food, and the view, we didn't need much more! The vaulted ceiling in the bath is painted with Venus rising from the sea.
We could see and hear the sea, and at night we opened the shutters to feel the breezes as we slept.
We hiked to the top of the property in the mornings, and saw the sunrise and the incredible 180 vista of the Koro Sea. At night for dinner, we either ate at the waterside deck under the stars, or near the "action" up next to the kitchen and bar area. Either way, each meal was a memorable celebration.
The food is absolutely delicious, from the starters, to the deserts.
The property is spectacular, as were our hosts, Margaret and Luigi.
I would never stay anywhere else!!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gnatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2007

This is the way to see how the real people of Fiji live, work and play! Loui and Margaret ensured our stay was as lazy as we wanted it to be, and with enough activities scheduled to keep us busy in between the lazy bits! The resort is staffed by locals who really want to show everyone a good time. Nothing is too much trouble.

A quick list of the top things to do
-Wake up for brekky... Pancakes, Bacon and eggs, Fresh Fiji Fruit or Michelle's special Fiji pancakes anyone?
-Go for a swim, or explore the coral reef literally at the back door
-Sit around the bar and drink in the exotic surrounds
-Fish with some of the neighbors.. They use spears, but have rods as well!
-Take the barge out to the island for a BBQ and swim
-Go snorkeling in the bay.. see the dolphins if you are lucky
-Sit around the bar and drink while the kids are entertained by the locals
-Visit the nearby village and school. Happiest kids we have ever seen!
-Party with the locals, drink some kava, sing and dance!
-Redeem yourself at the nearby church late Sunday morning, some of the best church singing you will hear!
-Have a massage... Say goodbye to the rest of the afternoon
-Take a taxi in to town for some local shopping. Souvenirs, fruit and bargains.
-Have a drive of the Jetski out on the lake
-Sit around the bar and drink!
-Use the paddle boat or kayaks to explore the reef and drop off
-Visit the Pearl farm in town, take the glass bottomed boat for a tour.
-Sit around the bar and drink....
-Have a round of Fiji golf on the exclusive La Dolce Vita Golf Course
-Enjoy home made pizza or succulent roast pork hot out of Lou's own Wood Fired oven
-Finally.. Sit around the bar and drink!

A great place to visit for all ages and very kid friendly. Ideal for a group of friends or family. Do as little or as much as you choose! Forget the resorts in Nadi, where you could be anywhere in the world watching a floor show of traditional dance... This is the real deal. Live amongst the locals while getting pampered!

To Lou, Margaret, Michelle, Faith, Joe and all the Staff and local visitors... Thanks for an unforgetable Holiday...

We will be back!

Gavin, Miranda, Alicia and Austin

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank heavyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2007

The first thing you notice about Fiji is how friendly and honest the people are. Coming from Melbourne, Australia, and having done a bit of travelling around the world, it takes a while to realise the people are genuine and not in the habit of trying to take advantage of the tourist.

Staying with Lui & Margaret at La Dolce Vita Holiday Villa's was the best way to experience Fiji. The accommodation was first rate, the staff were all fantastic and their chef Michelle's food was incredible.

Margaret helped us plan our visit, suggesting activities for each day. We went kayaking, swimming, explored the coral, saw dolphins and their babies, visited local villages, went on numerous trips throughout the island to explore other towns, went to Church with the locals, played golf and went for long walks. We did this all at a time when Fiji was undergoing a soft coupe and not once did we feel threatened.

We were concerned that our two teenage children might become bored, leaving behind their shopping malls and technology, but they enjoyed every moment and definitely want to go back again soon.

We thoroughly recommend La Dolce Vita Holiday Villa's and Lui & Margaret as hosts.

Hugh, Jenny, Scott & Anna Johnston - December, 2006

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank H&J-J-Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank umbo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savusavu hotels
17.8 mi away
Savasi Island Resort
Savasi Island Resort
#1 of 12 in Savusavu
221 reviews
17.3 mi away
Namale Resort & Spa
Namale Resort & Spa
#4 of 12 in Savusavu
374 reviews
18.9 mi away
Koro Sun Resort and Rainforest Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Jean-Michel Cousteau Resort
15 mi away
Daku Resort
Daku Resort
#2 of 12 in Savusavu
703 reviews
0 mi away
Gecko Lodge Fiji
Gecko Lodge Fiji
#7 of 12 in Savusavu
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Dolce Vita Holiday Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dolce Vita Holiday Villas

Address: Naqere Estate, Hibisbcus Highway | Naweni, Cakaudrove, Savusavu, Vanua Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Vanua Levu > Savusavu
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Savusavu
Price Range: £269 - £448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate 42-acre beachfront haven. A combination of elegant Italian style with legendary Fijian hospitality, gourmet quality food and absolute relaxation. Activities can include bouncing around on the trampoline or jumping off the slide in the aqua fun park, snorkeling, fishing, golf, village tours, therapeutic massage, dolphin sighting, scuba diving, bush walks. Alternatively, do absolutely nothing! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Dolce Vita Holiday Villas Fiji/Savusavu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing