We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Fiji”
Review of Daku Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Daku Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Savusavu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Savusavu is definitely for those who want to experience Fiji and step back in time, shop with locals. Daku resort is close to town, so shopping,eating at local restaurants such as the "surf & turf", "Copra shed" are great. Have a drink at the Plantation Club where the view is amazing and the beers and wine are very cheap. You can organise snorkelling or just relax sitting around the resort. Your host and hostess are super friendly and the meals at the resort are fresh and prepared with love. The accommodation is basic but overall clean they have air conditioning. It is basic and therefore be prepared.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (710)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 710 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2013

I had a week at Daku in November doing the Daku 2 for 1 diving offer at the Costeau Resort 10 minutes up the road. It was my first visit to Savu Savu and my third visit to Fiji, having previously stayed on the Coral Coast and at Plantation Island. I would head straight back to Daku next time because it is the most beautiful area, but the best part was becoming part of the Daku family - by the end of the trip we had new friends from Switzerland, NZ, US, UK and other parts of Australia - and Fiji of course. The diving was excellent too!
We mostly ate at the resort which offers delicious meals, often hosted by the owners, Delia and JJ, where we all shared our day's experiences and some of our own lives. Other guests included solo backpackers, honeymooners, families with children, retirees and everyone in between!
Delia and JJ are extremely hospitable and great company. The staff - Raj, Kenni, Mereoni and their team are wonderful and by the end of the stay you really do feel like one of the Daku family. Make sure you get a massage with Carlo - the best I have had!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank macampbell2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Stayed for 7 nights on a 2-for-1 dive package with Daku and the JMC diveshop down the road. JJ and Delia are the most wonderful hosts, taking a real interest in their guests and making us feel very welcome. The staff are all very friendly, the atmosphere is very relaxed and the setting is so beautiful. The bure was spacious, extremely clean and very comfortable (had fantastic sleeps), the fresh flowers in the room each day were a lovely touch. By the end of the week we felt very at home. We had great recommendations for eating out, things to do and even played tennis with JJ and Delia which we loved. Highly recommend this place if you want some real calmness and getting away from it all. The value was awesome given the package we were on with the diving, couldn't have asked for more. Also the massage was fabulous... Thanks Daku for a wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loretta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed at Daku for 8 nights in November, travelling with my mum. I had a great time - really lovely 'home-away-from-home' atmosphere with very friendly and accommodating staff, and amazing location.

Arrived in Savusavu on a tiny plane and was presented with a whole green coconut to drink on arrival to Daku. We were diving at the nearby Jean-Michel Cousteau resort, and after a day's diving it was great to 'come home' to Daku and the communal dinner table. Delia and JJ, the owners, joined us for meals most of the time, and between them and other guests there was always great conversation enjoyed over a delicious meal (I have been dreaming of the papaya salad since leaving!).

Plenty of activities in and around the resort - aside from relaxing by the pool, there was a trip organised to a local village where we greeted with a Meke and were invited to try the Kava. Savusavu town is a short walk/taxi ride away, and snorkelling excursions are easily arranged. Would highly recommend getting an inhouse massage at the yoga shala!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frbrtsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Four of us stayed here for a week in May 2013. Two of us were divers and did the 2 for 1 dive special at the Jean-Michel Cousteau dive center down the road. Raj, who was covering for the manager, did a spectacular job of making sure we were never late to the dive shop, and arranged quite a few other outings and logistics for us. I think there isn't anything he can't organize. We stayed in the bungalow with our own kitchen and lovely front porch where we could see the water. We did not have meals with the resort, but I understand from other guests it was quite good. There was a lovely pool. It was walking distance from the market and other shops. A great place we will surely return to.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sikerai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Having stayed at Daku a few times, a family wedding provided a perfect excuse to stay with JJ, Delia, Kenni, Mereoni and the team once again.
As always, we were welcomed us with open arms and made to feel right at home. Nothing is a problem and the owners and staff will go out of their way to help make your trip memorable and fun. They delighted the children with inflatable pool toys, games of catch and even the odd Ginger biscuit!
The food is always amazing and joining together with fellow guests and the owners to dine is an experience not to be missed. Great friends to be made, stories shared all over a delicious meal cooked by the wonderful Joshika the rest of the team. A massage from Carlos makes for the perfect end to the perfect stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyCampers364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We have just come back from 9 days at Daku Resort - tanned, relaxed, happy and with some very decent watercolour paintings that we painted on our course with Malcolm Carver. At Daku, you can have a wonderful holiday and pursue your interest in art, or yoga or music through the courses run there by Paradise Courses. We loved the idea of painting in Fiji and we were not disappointed.

Daku Resort is not an air conditioned bubble cut off from the real Fiji but a place where you have sufficient Western style comforts, pool, fans, aircon, bar etc but get to see plenty of the way life is for Fijians, and in particular the extended Fijian family at the heart of the resort with Keni, Merioni, George, Carlo, Raj and of course Jay Jay and Delia.

One of the things we enjoyed about Daku was the way the evening meal is served at one long table so that you get to meet all the different people staying - when we first arrived, it was vintage American travellers learning about Fiji and the nearby tropical reefs by snorkelling and then having an evening talk by a local marine biologist. They were replaced by scuba divers from Australia, US, French Canada, Switzerland and New Zealand.

If you didn't feel that social, you could easily go into Savusavu for dinner as the taxi cost $4 Fijian each way.

Jay Jay and Delia are happy to organise snorkelling, diving, trips to a village for a meke (singing and dancing), afternoon yoga or anything else you feel like doing. It's also completely acceptable to chill by the pool and let George or Carlo make you a Mai Tai and do nothing at all.

One of the special things about Daku is that Keni and some of the boys are excellent musicians and if you are lucky, will play and sing local songs after dinner. For my partner, who is a musician who usually travels with a guitar or an ukulele, this was what he had been hoping to find and ended up playing with Keni and his band on a number of evenings.

We will certainly be back and plan to take some musician friends to hear Keni and the band and to hopefully have more of those special Daku jam sessions.

Room Tip: The Ocean View villas have plunge pools so you don't have to go to the main pool to cool down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrudiKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savusavu hotels
0.5 mi away
Naveria Heights Lodge
Naveria Heights Lodge
#8 of 12 in Savusavu
172 reviews
4.4 mi away
Savasi Island Resort
Savasi Island Resort
#1 of 12 in Savusavu
226 reviews
3.8 mi away
Namale Resort & Spa
Namale Resort & Spa
#4 of 12 in Savusavu
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Savusavu Hot Springs Hotel
Savusavu Hot Springs Hotel
#11 of 12 in Savusavu
123 reviews
1.5 mi away
Korovesi Sunshine Villas
Korovesi Sunshine Villas
#9 of 12 in Savusavu
23 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gecko Lodge Fiji
Gecko Lodge Fiji
#7 of 12 in Savusavu
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daku Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daku Resort

Address: PO Box 18 | 5 Lesiaceva Rd, Savusavu, Vanua Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Vanua Levu > Savusavu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Savusavu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Savusavu
Price Range: £72 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Daku Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daku Resort is Vintage Fiji at Vintage Prices. Offering all the pleasures of a bure in a traditional bayside resort without the prices of five star resort life. Accommodation - ranging from villas with their own pools to simple bures around the main resort pool. Food - ranging from gourmet dinners taken at the resort's communal table, through traditional Fijian dishes to a plate of fries for the kids when needed. Drinks - ranging from the exotic "Dakuree" cocktail through a competitively priced wine list to a bowl of Kava with the friendliest staff you'll ever meet. Activities - ranging from diving,snorkeling, kayaking and trekking to Yoga, and writing, painting and singing courses. Daku is no ordinary Fijian resort. It's for those who want something different. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Daku Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daku Hotel Savusavu
Daku Resort Savusavu
Daku Resort Fiji/Savusavu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing