We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daku Dreaming”
Review of Daku Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Daku Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Savusavu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Pure heaven. This oasis introduced me to a totally different, far more beautiful Fiji than the one I had encountered on my previous trip to the Coral Coast. The best analogy I can give is this: the Coral Coast offers you Fiji's Big Mac, Daku Resort on the other hand is Fiji's coconut - it fits.
I stayed for seven nights, six of them for a yoga retreat led by the inspirational Jen Niles. I met beautiful people on the course, and more beautiful people every day at the resort. Delia and JJ are charismatic and charming hosts, with stories that will have you in fits of laughter. The fantastic meals are served on a long communal table, allowing the chance to meet and mingle with other guests from all over the globe. Quite magical.
The yoga platform is a breathtaking place to practice. And nothing compares to the soothing cool of the sea breeze during three hours of daily yoga.
The staff were amazing. Kenny whipped us up killer cocktails. Mareoni had us spellbound with stories about Tapa. The whole family sang in such beautiful harmony of an evening that our hearts soared. Kalo's hands massaged me into such a state of bliss that I have categorically marked it as the best massage I've received - ever. George was our kind, patient and fearless brother. All of the staff treated us like family, and I hope to have the privilege of seeing them again.
Do yourself a favour - stay here.

Room Tip: We were in room 1 and it was amazing. Step out the back door onto your own private balcony and look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serenade_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 712 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

After 2 long weeks of working in a remote village, the welcoming Daku Resort was the perfect way to re-enter everyday life, while still basking in the relaxation and Fiji spirit! The hosts are delightful-hospitable and open hearts, making every person feel welcome, no who they are, color of their skin, or their nationality! The food is wonderful, with a delightful blend of Fijian fruits, Indian spices, Brit-style dishes and international flair. I had the pleasure of staying in one of the ocean-view bures, and it was cleaned and polished, the bed was comfortable, the AC was pleasant and the shower was the size of a house!:) Drinks at poolside were the perfect remedy, and we took advantage of a nearby botanical garden tour-arranged by the innkeepers. The massage, given on the yoga deck, up a beautiful hill, with the sound of waves crashing in the distance, was pure ecstasy. Thank you, Jay-Jay, Delia and staff, for a marvelous, relaxing weekend. Your smiles, open hearts and arms, leave me wanting to return to Fiji and Daku.

Room Tip: Any room is great, but, the ocean-front cabins are delicious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonS246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Had an amazing time at this resort. Staff were friendly and helpful. Great location. Super interesting activities around the area and ran by the hotel and there stuff. I'd definitely recommend snorkeling at split rock, checking out the some of the local waterfalls and sitting in on some of the cultural minded activities the staff run.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fozlore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Fiji is a place full of lovely people. The staff at Daku are very helpful and accommodating. The resort has excellent swimming and snorkelling out the front with a pontoon to relax on. Perfect for a holiday based around eat swim repeat. Lovely place to stay

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Nato1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed for a week in the pool house. Excellent for our group, with separate rooms and bathrooms for 4 couples. The staff made us feel very welcome, with relaxed and generous service. Friendly and accommodating owners.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rom598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Travelled to Savusavu first time and randomly booked Daku resort as our stay after reading mostly nice comments. I had phoned to make bookings and was told on the phone check in time was 12.00noon arrived 11.30am was told had to wait till 2.00pm. Waited while they organised another room for temporary refreshment 45mins later no acknowledgement for my family who was sitting in the waiting area. As European guests arrived they were greeted with fresh coconuts, felt discrimination from resort management and owner. Later that evening with our kids we went to the swimming pool where the resort manager was drunk and behaviour was unacceptable he kept on jumping in the pool and making our family feel uncomfortable. The group of people he was with the resort manager kept on pushing everyone in the pool showed no respect to others who were paid guests at the Daku Resort. We stayed in Bure 6 & 7 which is below average uncomfortable beds, dirty bar fridge and kettle.

Room Tip: Non European travellers beware of discrimination.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SS K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tim084, Owner at Daku Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Accusations of racism are outrageous and utterly without foundation.
We are taking action.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

What a delightful place. Daku resort was exactly what I was looking for. Very comfortable, staff who could not have been more helpful and wonderful hosts. The communal dining was most enjoyable with opportunities to meet lots of interesting people while enjoying the great local food. The nature of the resort ensures that you have the holiday you want with a lovely pool, yoga, walks, the sea on the doorstep, good snorkelling and diving opportunities galore. I particularly liked the low key approach where nothing was too much trouble but there was no pressure either. Totally recommended with Delia and John as the owners providing an amazing service. Thank you everyone. Heather

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savusavu hotels
4.4 mi away
Savasi Island Resort
Savasi Island Resort
#1 of 12 in Savusavu
226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Naveria Heights Lodge
Naveria Heights Lodge
#8 of 12 in Savusavu
172 reviews
3.8 mi away
Namale Resort & Spa
Namale Resort & Spa
#4 of 12 in Savusavu
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Savusavu Hot Springs Hotel
Savusavu Hot Springs Hotel
#10 of 12 in Savusavu
124 reviews
1.5 mi away
Korovesi Sunshine Villas
Korovesi Sunshine Villas
#11 of 12 in Savusavu
23 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gecko Lodge Fiji
Gecko Lodge Fiji
#6 of 12 in Savusavu
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daku Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daku Resort

Address: PO Box 18 | 5 Lesiaceva Rd, Savusavu, Vanua Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Vanua Levu > Savusavu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Savusavu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Savusavu
Price Range: £70 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Daku Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daku Resort is Vintage Fiji at Vintage Prices. Offering all the pleasures of a bure in a traditional bayside resort without the prices of five star resort life. Accommodation - ranging from villas with their own pools to simple bures around the main resort pool. Food - ranging from gourmet dinners taken at the resort's communal table, through traditional Fijian dishes to a plate of fries for the kids when needed. Drinks - ranging from the exotic "Dakuree" cocktail through a competitively priced wine list to a bowl of Kava with the friendliest staff you'll ever meet. Activities - ranging from diving,snorkeling, kayaking and trekking to Yoga, and writing, painting and singing courses. Daku is no ordinary Fijian resort. It's for those who want something different. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Daku Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daku Hotel Savusavu
Daku Resort Savusavu
Daku Resort Fiji/Savusavu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing