We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The real Fiji”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Daku Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Daku Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Savusavu
Certificate of Excellence
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The real Fiji”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Bula bula! I recently spent 10 days at Daku resort with 10 friends and it will stay with me for my whole life. Every day was filled with amazing food that was prepared fresh from the local markets or from the grounds of Daku resort (you can’t get much fresher than a coconut off a palm). Each night we would sit down to dinner as one big family, meeting wonderful people and sharing stories from all over the world. The locals and staff had the greatest hospitality; I even managed to score a private tour from young John of the few local’s stores in order to get a nice Sulu, bula shirt and some local music.

Each day was filled with fantastic locations snorkelling at split rock, on the other side of the bay or just out the front of the resort. Finding nemo, an enemy, a blue starfish and coral like I’d never seen before, were just a few of the highlights. I borrowed a kayak from the resort and paddled to an island with the beach full of little hermit crabs and an ancient mangrove tree. The resort organised taxi’s for us to explore the local town which has something to suit everyone from a small nightclub if you want to get your bop on, to a squash court if you want to get your sport on. Did I mention there are about three close untouched waterfalls?

We were also invited to a yoga session from the group that was on a yoga retreat and learned some pretty full on hip openers. If you’re into a bit of nature, like myself and you like to meet people that are genuinely passionate about the things they do. Then take a tour of Jims ‘Flora Tropica Gardens’ just down the bay from Daku resort. He boasts the largest collection of assorted rare and endangered palms in all of Fiji and most of the tropics, it’s a must see. Vanua Levu with its more cultural ways of life and hierarchical traditions still in place has a very real Fiji feel to it opposed to Viti Levu which seems to be more westernised. Too top it all off we were even given a tour of the Daku resort property (which has some very nice freehold land with stunning views available) the vegetation was dense and captivating.

Thank you Delia, John, Charlie and all the staff/family at Daku resort.

Room Tip: Would definitely recommend going as a group and booking out the pool house on an extended stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    161
    23
    16
    2
See reviews for
108
161
132
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Springwood, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

I stayed at the Daku Resort for a 6 day yoga retreat. This was one of the best holidays I have ever had and I have done a lot of overseas travel. From the beginning all of the employees made me feel at home and part of their family. They gave me a taste of real Fijian experience- from the kava cermony, a visit to the local village, tapa viewing and the beautiful harmonies of Fijian music with dinner.

I arrived feeling burnt out from my job and left feeling like a different person. We had two yoga classes per day, that was facilitated by a great instructor Jen Niles.

The meals each day were wonderful- delicious breakfast and lunch, topped off with a three course dinner every night, featuring a fusion of western and Fijian meals.

The retreat was very well organised and we had activities included such as a village visit and a snorkelling trip that was out of this world.

Celia and JJ are fantastic hosts and the staff were very attentive, warm and wanting to share their culture with us.

I would highly recommend this retreat and can't wait to return to this Pacific paradise.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paradisenow2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Daku resort is such a beautiful location. I had a bloody good massage, one of the best ever, so totally get one if you go there, the masseuse was called Carlo (not sure about the spelling). I thought that all of the employees were helpful and easy to like. The food was amazing every meal. Daku is a winner!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plantonverandah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

The week I spent at Daku on a yoga retreat has been one of the highlights of my 6 months living and travelling around Fiji. It's a wonderful, highly personalised resort where the staff and owners make you feel part of their family from the minute you arrive!!

Delia and JJ are the most fantastic and welcoming hosts and dinners with them and the other resort guests were a real highlight of each day. The staff of Daku - Kenny, Mereoni, Aubrey, George and Kalo were all absolutely amazing and go out of their way to make your stay a special one.

The food is absolutely delicious and we never had the same thing twice during the whole week. The setting of Daku is breathtakingly beautiful and the yoga shala where we practiced each day looks out on a postcard perfect view of the mountains and ocean - just gorgeous!!

I can't wait to visit again and can't recommend this beautiful resort highly enough!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neram254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Pure heaven. This oasis introduced me to a totally different, far more beautiful Fiji than the one I had encountered on my previous trip to the Coral Coast. The best analogy I can give is this: the Coral Coast offers you Fiji's Big Mac, Daku Resort on the other hand is Fiji's coconut - it fits.
I stayed for seven nights, six of them for a yoga retreat led by the inspirational Jen Niles. I met beautiful people on the course, and more beautiful people every day at the resort. Delia and JJ are charismatic and charming hosts, with stories that will have you in fits of laughter. The fantastic meals are served on a long communal table, allowing the chance to meet and mingle with other guests from all over the globe. Quite magical.
The yoga platform is a breathtaking place to practice. And nothing compares to the soothing cool of the sea breeze during three hours of daily yoga.
The staff were amazing. Kenny whipped us up killer cocktails. Mareoni had us spellbound with stories about Tapa. The whole family sang in such beautiful harmony of an evening that our hearts soared. Kalo's hands massaged me into such a state of bliss that I have categorically marked it as the best massage I've received - ever. George was our kind, patient and fearless brother. All of the staff treated us like family, and I hope to have the privilege of seeing them again.
Do yourself a favour - stay here.

Room Tip: We were in room 1 and it was amazing. Step out the back door onto your own private balcony and look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serenade_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

After 2 long weeks of working in a remote village, the welcoming Daku Resort was the perfect way to re-enter everyday life, while still basking in the relaxation and Fiji spirit! The hosts are delightful-hospitable and open hearts, making every person feel welcome, no who they are, color of their skin, or their nationality! The food is wonderful, with a delightful blend of Fijian fruits, Indian spices, Brit-style dishes and international flair. I had the pleasure of staying in one of the ocean-view bures, and it was cleaned and polished, the bed was comfortable, the AC was pleasant and the shower was the size of a house!:) Drinks at poolside were the perfect remedy, and we took advantage of a nearby botanical garden tour-arranged by the innkeepers. The massage, given on the yoga deck, up a beautiful hill, with the sound of waves crashing in the distance, was pure ecstasy. Thank you, Jay-Jay, Delia and staff, for a marvelous, relaxing weekend. Your smiles, open hearts and arms, leave me wanting to return to Fiji and Daku.

Room Tip: Any room is great, but, the ocean-front cabins are delicious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonS246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bright, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Had an amazing time at this resort. Staff were friendly and helpful. Great location. Super interesting activities around the area and ran by the hotel and there stuff. I'd definitely recommend snorkeling at split rock, checking out the some of the local waterfalls and sitting in on some of the cultural minded activities the staff run.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fozlore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savusavu hotels
4.3 mi away
Savasi Island Villas
Savasi Island Villas
#2 of 12 in Savusavu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
3.8 mi away
Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Naveria Heights Lodge
Naveria Heights Lodge
#8 of 12 in Savusavu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Savusavu Hot Springs Hotel
Savusavu Hot Springs Hotel
#11 of 12 in Savusavu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
6.4 mi away
Emaho Sekawa Resort
Emaho Sekawa Resort
#7 of 12 in Savusavu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.5 mi away
Korovesi Sunshine Villas
Korovesi Sunshine Villas
#9 of 12 in Savusavu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daku Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daku Resort

Property: Daku Resort
Address: PO Box 18 | 5 Lesiaceva Rd, Savusavu, Vanua Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Vanua Levu > Savusavu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Savusavu
#2 Family Hotel in Savusavu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Savusavu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Daku Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daku Resort is Vintage Fiji at Vintage Prices. All the pleasures of a bure in a traditional bayside resort without the prices of five star resort life. Accommodation - ranging from villas with their own pools to simple bures around the main resort pool. Food - ranging from gourmet dinners taken at the resort's communal table, through traditional Fijian dishes to a plate of fries for the kids when needed. Drinks - ranging from the exotic "Dakuree" cocktail through a competitively priced wine list to a bowl of Kava with the friendliest staff you'll ever meet. Activities - ranging from diving,snorkeling, kayaking and trekking to Yoga, and writing, painting and singing courses. Daku is no ordinary Fijian resort. It's for those who want something different. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Daku Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daku Hotel Savusavu
Daku Resort Savusavu
Daku Resort Fiji/Savusavu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing