We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Paradise”
Review of Daku Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Daku Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Savusavu
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Beautiful Paradise”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I had the most wonderful time attending a week long painting work shop with 10 wonderful ladies from Australia and New Zealand and excellent teacher Elena Parashko. Also with the amazing site seeing and excursions planed.
The Management and staff were outstanding and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    170
    24
    16
    2
See reviews for
112
173
138
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I have just returned from a wonderful week long yoga course (with the amazing Deidre-Lee Allen) at Daku Resort and I have had the most amazing time! Daku Resort is a little piece of paradise with a big heart. The welcoming and wonderful staff at Daku are truly amazing, the food absolutely delicious and the island cocktails delightful. I have so many highlights there are too many to mention them all individually but don’t miss the amazing massages on offer at Daku, the local Savusavu markets and the stunning snorkelling. At the end of my stay I truly didn't want to leave...this is a very special place indeed! Thank you to JJ, Delia and all the wonderful Daku staff/family for making my stay so special and memorable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaNZ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plimmerton, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I have just returned to New Zealand from a week long yoga holiday at Daku in Fiji. The resort was stunning, the service amazing, food beautiful, and the planned excursions gave us the experience of real Fiji. My son and I felt like part of the Fijian family who looked after us. Our morning and evening yoga practices felt amazing, all the aches and pains disappeared moving in the perfect temperature in Fiji, the sunset sessions simply stunning and restful. The massages were a real highlight for us all. Carlo you have healing hands and you are so professional. Thank you for pampering us with your coconut scrubs, hot stones and of course your hands! I have brought back coconut oil and the essence of Fiji to NZ and am determined to carry on the attitude of being in the moment into the NZ way of life - I will be back next year in June!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purebalance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Staying at Daku Resort is an exceptional experience. The management and close knit staff welcome all guests as part of their family. Daku has the atmosphere of a home away from home and so much more enriching for the spirit than staying at the large impersonal resorts which are prolific on the main island. Highly recommended for those who want to experience the heart and soul of traditional Fiji.

Room Tip: Most rooms have views of Savusavu Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Just came back from two weeks in fascinating Fiji, having spent ten nights at Daku Resort. Fiji itself is phenomenal--the Fijian people are SO gracious, warm, and friendly; the weather in June was PERFECT--not too hot, not too much rain; the sea is SPECTACULAR--clear turquoise with the most abundant coral, fish, and other colorful sea creatures of various shapes, sizes, and designs! And nothing dangerous!

At Daku Resort, we had ALL of the above, plus a lovely bungalow of our own (a bure') with a view of the sea from our back deck, both a fan and AC; it was cleaned fastidiously every day, which included refreshing the beautiful flower arrangement!. Wonderful shower--powerful, hot, and big enough for two! Daku provided exceptional meals--three a day--that were both healthy and gourmet, as well as an open bar. At dinner we sat with Delia and JJ, the charming proprietors, as well as the other Daku guests who were interesting and intelligent. Daku Resort's location is within walking distance to snorkeling (at the foot of the driveway) and village shops.

Delia and JJ arranged memorable activities for us including snorkeling, hiking, yoga, and visits to other parts of Vanua Levu. My favorite was a visit to a Fijian village, where we were welcomed with coconut water, fresh fruit, flower leis (Fijian style), and a sacred kava ceremony. Then the villagers sang and danced for us! It was spectacular!

Our whole Daku experience was unforgettable! I felt I was in a dream!! I was sorry to leave and I'd go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanElise2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Not sure how to login and this review is by Henry from Hong Kong

1st surprise: JJ - owner of the resort, actually came to the savusavu airport and pick me up and give me a warm welcome even without me asking and telling him which flight I was on from Nadi!

2nd surprise: Every night, JJ and Delia would host a long table with all the guests having dinner together! Its such an amazing experience, you really get know the other guests deeply through all the the toasts and chit chats

3rd surprise:Shoulder dislocation: The first night I arrived I was so inspired by the Fiji scenery and weather, I did some really extreme yoga stretching and dislocated my shoulder, I was admitted to the hospital and the doctor somehow could not fixed it for 9 hours!!!

4th surprise: The quality of the guests! - the next morning when all guests knew that I have a shoulder dislocation, one of the guests was actually a shoulder doctor!! He came and fix me in just 5 minutes with no extra pain added!!!

I would definitely recommend Daku for anyone who does not just want to stay in a hotel/resort in Fiji, but really want to have an amazing experience!

One star deducted because of my shoulder dislocation on the first night ;-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gualala, California
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Everything one could want from a Fiji vacation, and much more! As a couple, and part of a 5-day "Oxbridge Forum," we found wonderful hospitality and made great friends at the same time. The staff and proprietors went out of their way to look after their guests, and did so because they were genuinely interested in helping their guests in have the best of times, and in getting to know them.

Fantastic scenery, accommodations, snorkeling, and friendly Fijians. Treasured memories.

Room Tip: The ocean-facing Bures are ideal for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clifford J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savusavu hotels
4.4 mi away
Savasi Island Villas
Savasi Island Villas
#2 of 12 in Savusavu
200 reviews
3.8 mi away
Namale Resort & Spa
Namale Resort & Spa
#3 of 12 in Savusavu
366 reviews
0.5 mi away
Naveria Heights Lodge
Naveria Heights Lodge
#8 of 12 in Savusavu
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Korovesi Sunshine Villas
Korovesi Sunshine Villas
#10 of 12 in Savusavu
20 reviews
6.4 mi away
Emaho Sekawa Resort
Emaho Sekawa Resort
#7 of 12 in Savusavu
96 reviews
0.9 mi away
Savusavu Hot Springs Hotel
Savusavu Hot Springs Hotel
#11 of 12 in Savusavu
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daku Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daku Resort

Property: Daku Resort
Address: PO Box 18 | 5 Lesiaceva Rd, Savusavu, Vanua Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Vanua Levu > Savusavu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Savusavu
#2 Family Hotel in Savusavu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Savusavu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Daku Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daku Resort is Vintage Fiji at Vintage Prices. All the pleasures of a bure in a traditional bayside resort without the prices of five star resort life. Accommodation - ranging from villas with their own pools to simple bures around the main resort pool. Food - ranging from gourmet dinners taken at the resort's communal table, through traditional Fijian dishes to a plate of fries for the kids when needed. Drinks - ranging from the exotic "Dakuree" cocktail through a competitively priced wine list to a bowl of Kava with the friendliest staff you'll ever meet. Activities - ranging from diving,snorkeling, kayaking and trekking to Yoga, and writing, painting and singing courses. Daku is no ordinary Fijian resort. It's for those who want something different. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Daku Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daku Hotel Savusavu
Daku Resort Savusavu
Daku Resort Fiji/Savusavu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing