We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Paradise”
Review of Daku Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Daku Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Savusavu
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Hidden Paradise”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Just spent a glorious week at Daku Resort and it was the best holiday I've had in a long while! Loved staying in our lovely bure by the sea and mingling with guests and staff at mealtimes. Staff were incredibly friendly and attentive to our every need... providing fresh coconuts to quench our thirst or marvelous massages with panoramic views. After a day out touring or snorkelling, it was always nice to return "back home" to Daku in the late afternoon. The hosts of Daku, JJ and Delia give guests a choice of eating privately or joining the other guests for a 'long table' three course dinner. Food was local, fresh and delicious and the conversation that ensued up and down the table was sheer delight, Sitting at a table with fellow travellers from around the world and sharing stories was absolutely inspiring. The marina at Savu Savu and surrounding area of beaches and rainforest provide the perfect backdrop for the "Daku Experience." Came home feeling refreshed and rejuvenated. Mary C

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    172
    24
    16
    2
See reviews for
112
174
139
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

What can i say about Daku? Nothing negative, that's for sure. JJ (aka Mr Charisma) and Delia are wonderful hosts and made me feel like we'd known each other for years. I was in Savusavu to photograph a wedding on the other side of the island and everything was done to make sure i had everything i needed, from a full tummy to a ride to the venue. (Even once by JJ himself, because "that's the kind of guy he is") As far as everything else goes, the room was spick and span, the food was great and the staff were fabulous. I'll be back for sure! Thanks JJ and Delia :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just returned from our second trip to Daku and it was just as relaxing, friendly and enjoyable as the first. While there was a bit of an initial mix up about our room (we had booked and very much looked forward to the Beach House where we had stayed previously), JJ was quick to respond and upgraded us to the Bayview Villa, which was absolutely beautiful and included our own private plunge pool! Couldn't be happier! The staff were, as usual, friendly and accommodating and always willing to help with advice on places to go. Kenny provided us with all we needed to know about local customs such as etiquette when visiting a village and Esther helped me collect some native basil, growing wild near our villa, and gave cooking advice! JJ and Delia join in the nightly dinners, with all guests seated together at one long table, with great food and much conversation and laughter. Delia took us out on the boat for snorkelling and shared her knowledge with great enthusiasm.

While Daku may not be as slick and luxurious as some of the package-deal resorts of Fiji, these personal experiences far outweigh anything they have to offer - where else would the resort owners and staff make you feel like old friends? Both of our visits included our two children and they had a ball just snorkelling at the lovely little reef 50 metres from our door, playing in the pool or just chilling out on our beautiful deck overlooking the bay (and of course our private pool!) - no kids' club required! As we were on a budget, we opted to utilise our kitchen for most meals; only very slight negative was that it could have had a few more implements to be 'fully equipped', but we were on Fiji time, where nothing's a hassle - we just bought our own can opener and sharp knife in town - no problem!

I give Daku 5 stars, not because it's a 5 star facility, but because it's a 5 star experience!

Room Tip: The pool house would be fantastic for big groups, sleeps 10 or more with 4 bathrooms!! but if you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I've just come back from another beautiful stay at Daku and it was everything I remembered and more!! Kenny greeted us with a 'welcome home' as we all arrived, and the staff were just as lovely and friendly as ever. Our days were spent lounging by the pool chatting with the staff, Delia and JJ. And the evening dinners under the stars are just wonderful and full of laughter and great conversation. We were lucky enough to stay in the beach house and the bayview luxury villa this time and both are homey, perfectly clean, fully equipped and very comfortable!! Other highlights included Delia's morning yoga class, JJ's wicked sense of humour, Kalo's massages, and George keeping us hydrated with a steady supply of coconuts. I can't wait to get back 'home' to Daku when I'm next in Savusavu!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neram254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermosa Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Spectacular Fijan style property close to airport that is perfect for retreat groups (yoga, writers, painters) or for overnight travellers in transit to the TuiTai Expedition.
Comfortable, attractive accomodations decorated with fresh flowers.
Garden -like setting across the road from Savusavu Bay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not adjacent to lobby so you will not hear the music in your room. The groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celeste c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Splendid location with sunsets to die for. Meals are well prepared and capture the Fijian lifestyle. Very attentive staff with a genuine interest in customer service. Loads of interesting courses to take and easy access to town. A perfect piece of Paradise that I will return to.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

After spending a very pleasant and relaxing two weeks here, all I have to say is how brilliant, friendly and generous all the staff and management at the Daku resort were. From the moment we got to the resort after our long flights, we felt instantly at home... With the transfers from the airport being perfectly on time (unlike usual in Fiji where you have to wait for ages for anything) ... To arriving at the hotel where we were greeted with with very friendly staff and beautiful coconut drinks. All this cultural yet homely atmosphere was brilliant within hours of arrival. From here we went to the room which was beautifully decorated and with working air con. From the next day we got to appreciate the beautiful surroundings around the pool and got to embrace the friendly atmosphere, meeting people from all different backgrounds, countries etc. Furthermore ... It was a place where everyone could fit in... Whether you were alone on a diving holiday, waning a romantic getaway to a family adventure ... Daku could cater for all. Special mention to Dehlia and Jj the owners... Who are always around and happy to go the extra mile to make your stay as perfect and as memorable as possible... If you want honest opinions of what trips in savusavu are worthwile and those that are a little pricey ... He will tell you honestly and help stretch your money as far as it will go whilst you're away whilst been able to truly experience the beautiful Fiji... And his wife holds amazing morning yoga sessions which really set you up for the day and ensure you make the most of your Holiday as she caters for all experiences in terms of her yoga classes, and with such beautiful views from the yoga platform when the sunrises .... There really isn't anywhere more stunningly beautiful. Thanks Daku and all your staff.... We will be back!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarrietPallister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savusavu hotels
4.4 mi away
Savasi Island Villas
Savasi Island Villas
#1 of 12 in Savusavu
201 reviews
3.8 mi away
Namale Resort & Spa
Namale Resort & Spa
#3 of 12 in Savusavu
366 reviews
0.5 mi away
Naveria Heights Lodge
Naveria Heights Lodge
#8 of 12 in Savusavu
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Korovesi Sunshine Villas
Korovesi Sunshine Villas
#9 of 12 in Savusavu
20 reviews
6.4 mi away
Emaho Sekawa Resort
Emaho Sekawa Resort
#6 of 12 in Savusavu
96 reviews
0.9 mi away
Savusavu Hot Springs Hotel
Savusavu Hot Springs Hotel
#11 of 12 in Savusavu
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daku Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daku Resort

Property: Daku Resort
Address: PO Box 18 | 5 Lesiaceva Rd, Savusavu, Vanua Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Vanua Levu > Savusavu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Savusavu
#2 Family Hotel in Savusavu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Savusavu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Daku Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daku Resort is Vintage Fiji at Vintage Prices. All the pleasures of a bure in a traditional bayside resort without the prices of five star resort life. Accommodation - ranging from villas with their own pools to simple bures around the main resort pool. Food - ranging from gourmet dinners taken at the resort's communal table, through traditional Fijian dishes to a plate of fries for the kids when needed. Drinks - ranging from the exotic "Dakuree" cocktail through a competitively priced wine list to a bowl of Kava with the friendliest staff you'll ever meet. Activities - ranging from diving,snorkeling, kayaking and trekking to Yoga, and writing, painting and singing courses. Daku is no ordinary Fijian resort. It's for those who want something different. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Daku Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daku Hotel Savusavu
Daku Resort Savusavu
Daku Resort Fiji/Savusavu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing