We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing resort!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Savasi Island Villas
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Savusavu
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What an amazing resort!!”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This is simply the best place to stay if you want the ultimate relaxation, in a family-like atmosphere. Both Ma and Paul took so good care of me, that I'd wished I could stay longer. I will definitely come back here!

Room Tip: The're all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Huubvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
savasiisland, Owner at Savasi Island Villas, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you again Huub for the taking the time to write about your experience. We hope to welcome you back for much longer on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    3
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
72
98
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

From start to finish, this place was beautiful. Certainly the closest to Paradise we've been to. The staff were exceptional, and being taken to amazing waterfall, swimming in the cave. the Waterfall vila was sensational with the infinity edge swimming pool.Had a really relaxing time and We will definately be back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andrew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We spent a little under 2 weeks here and cannot say enough about the service, the food and the location. It was unlike any trip we had ever taken. Ma took care of every one of our needs. We were totally relaxed and at ease in less than 24 hours at the villa. Lot's of snorkeling, a fishing trip, trips to other beaches (including a whole crew who brought us lunch with table and chairs wherever we went). We did not want to leave.

Room Tip: We stayed at the beach house villa and enjoyed every second of it. The only draw back was that we di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LLTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
savasiisland, Owner at Savasi Island Villas, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Terrific to hear you enjoyed your stay with the family and thank you for the feedback. The Beach House has undergone some renovating since your visit, with a pool on the drawing board. We hope you can visit again; please ask about complimentary offers for our return guests so we can be sure your next visit is perfect!

-Gail Savenkov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Savasi Island villas
My husband and I celebrated our 25th anniversary in Fiji and had been referred to Savasi Island by our travel agent. We did not know what to expect as pictures can only describe so much. The pictures did not do the place justice. It is truly a beautiful place to stay. The villas are private and well appointed. The service is fantastic. We can’t say enough about Ma, Kula and Choape. They took care of our every need. The dining spots are different for every meal. Very private and extremely scenic. One meal you are overlooking the water on the main deck, the next you are seated at a private balcony with the water lapping at your feet. The food was so delicious, you waited with baited breath for the meal to arrive to ooh and ahh over the way it was displayed on the plate and the wonderful flavours! Delicious fresh fish and fruit.
The activities could keep you going all day or you could just sit and relax. We decided to try out everything! Fishing, swimming, kayaking, hiking, day trips to waterfalls and villages, shopping trips into town even snorkelling in a blue cave! The snorkeling was the best! Right off the deck is an amazing spot with such a variety of fish and coral. The water is so clean and clear. It was really as good or better than the other places we went on day trips for snorkeling.
The hospitality of the owners, Gail and Paul, are unsurpassed! Warm and welcoming their guests as if they are family but also leaving you to your privacy takes quite a knack. But the most wonderful part of our stay was how they celebrated our anniversary! We were taken to one of the private villas to a table set against a backdrop of a decorated archway with palm leaves and flowers. In the Fijian tradition of decorating with flower petals, they were scattered in a pathway to the table on the terrace and on the table. They made the night so romantic and finished it off with an anniversary song ( in another Fijian tradition of singing to commemorate occasions) and an anniversary cake! We had been at another resort ( a larger and well known resort) the week before and they were aware of our anniversary and did not do anything to acknowledge it.
The villas are very roomy and the newer ones are unbelievably gorgeous. The infinity pool at the Waterfall villa is lovely. We would recommend this place to anyone and everyone without hesitation.

Room Tip: The newer villas are more luxurious but also larger, so if you don't need all of the space go fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lizmarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
savasiisland, Owner at Savasi Island Villas, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you for a very moving review, Liz. We love to hear your feedback and are so happy you have these wonderful memories of your anniversary at Savasi. We hope to provide you with terrific service again in the future.

-Gail Savenkov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

My husband & I stayed at Savasi for 9 days whilst I attended a nearby conference. I cant say enough about the beauty of the location and the amazing staff that bent over backwards to make sure we were looked after. Whilst I unfortunately didn't have enough time to experience all that the island had on offer, my husband enjoyed fishing, paddle boarding and snorkelling through out the stay. The meals were fresh and delicious and we LOVED the privacy of the island. I also really reccomend having a massage during your stay, one of the best we have ever had!
We wanted to say a special thanks to Ma, Kula and Joapi who made us feel right at home and to Gail and Paul for giving us a memorable stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NCTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
savasiisland, Owner at Savasi Island Villas, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Bula and thank you for the positive feedback. We know you had some wet weather so your kind words regardless, are lovely to read. All the best to you both and hopefully we'll see you again.

-Gail Savenkov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort St. John, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed at Savasi for 11 days and it wasn't near enough. Our adult children accompanied us for the first 5 days. It was wonderful to say the least. Successful fishing trips, staff volleyball games, fantastic meals at incredible venues and incredible snorkeling right in front of out villa. What ever activity the kids wanted to experience we did. This was our 7th trip to Fiji and we have experienced everything from basic to luxurious resorts and rentals. Savasi is at the top of all we have experienced, authentic and luxurious but with incredible warmth and friendliness. Gail was wonderful organizing our stay and her husband Paul and daughter Christine were wonderful hosts, even taking us night snorkeling with them for lobster. Staying near Savusavu was great. Day trips to the market are easy and so enjoyable. There are excellent walking and hiking spots just across the bridge and Savasi has a wonderful supply of quality equipment for all sporting activities. I had the best massage ever, on my deck beside the infinity pool with the sound of the waves on the reef. Savasi is truly wonderful and a must stay if you appreciate nature, beauty and true Fijian hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rosemary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
savasiisland, Owner at Savasi Island Villas, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Rosemary,

We feel very privileged that you've visited Fiji so many times and still found the experience with us to be unique; it's a lovely testament to the whole team at Savasi Island. Thank you for the wonderful review.

-Gail Savenkov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

It's very difficult to adequately describe just how much we loved this gorgeous island resort, only 10 minutes drive from Savusavu. It is a boutique resort on a lush, green, tropical island, surrounded by coral reef and connected by a short causeway to the main road.

We stayed at the Beach House, which is a spacious and beautifully furnished 3 bedroom, 3 bath villa. It had the feeling of a luxury tree house with its huge windows and doors, high-end local decor, and massive deck overlooking the ocean. The 2 end bedrooms have king beds, and the centre one has a queen. There is a large kitchen area attached to the centre bedroom, which came well-furnished with dishes, plates, cutlery, fridge and stove. There were several seating areas both inside and outside, including a hammock which I spent many hours snuggled into with my Kindle. There was quite a bit of deck space between each bedroom, so if you are sharing with other couples or family members each has privacy. We spent most of our time on the deck, watching and listening to the waves, reading, and enjoying sunsets. There are also ceiling fans to make your deck lounging even more comfortable. High-speed wireless internet is included, and the service was good....we used it to post barg photos and videos on Facebook. The bed was comfortable and we enjoyed the Pure Fiji products so much in the outdoor shower (I ended up purchasing the same ceramic Pure Fiji soap dispensers in Nadi so I could enjoy them at home).

The villa also had a short walk down a path to a private beach area, that was fringed by coral caves and a reef area you could walk out on at low tide. We liked exploring where the brittle stars and hermit crabs hung out. We were served lunch on this beach, and were treated to a coconut show there, where we learned how ALL parts of the coconut tree were used. The beach had deck chairs and a hammock as well. Coming back from the beach there is an outdoor shower to clean up. There is also a clothes line on the deck to line dry your damp clothes and towels.

We were there at low season, so there were not a lot of other guests during our stay, but I got the feeling the way the resort was designed we woud not have the other guests underfoot even if the resort was full. The service from Ma, Kula and the others was friendly, warm, and impeccible. They have a real gem in Ma who always had a smile on her face and made us feel welcome...I can still hear her infectious laugh.

The food...I cannot say enough good things about the food! It is some of the most creative and delicious food I have eaten in a long time. I got quite addicted to the banana pancakes for breakfast. At breakfast you are given a menu to pick from two choices each of appetizer, main and dessert for lunch and dinner. They ask you when you would like to eat, and are called to meals by the beating of a traditional wooden drum. Not only was it delicious, but the staff went out of their way to give us a unique dining setting as often as possible. We rarely ate at the same place twice! The table was often decorated with petals. They blew us away with our special anniversary dinner in the coral cave by the water...they put up a beautiful palm leaf and floral archway with twinkling lights, and the setting and decor took our breath away. Even the path down to the cave was decorated, and Ma and Kula sang us a special anniversary song. The anniversary cake they made us was delicious, and brought back to our fridge at the villa (where it had to share room with our Vonu beer), for us to snack on at leisure.

One of our favourite activities at the resort was the kayaking. They have a watersports centre on the island with lots of sit-on-top kayaks. The island is perfect for kayaking with its calm, coral-filled, pristine waters between the island and the mainland. We paddled over purple corals, tropical fish, and starfish with ease, with the backdrop of the lush island, mangroves, and beaches along the way. There are some coral rock formations you can easily paddle out to, which was our favourite trip. At one end of the island you can listen to the fruit bats chattering away as you pass by.

We also went on a Dolphin and snorkel excursion to Natewa Bay, which is the largest bay in the South Pacific. We really enjoyed this trip. Ma arranged for us to taxi over to another resort and piggy-back onto their snorkel trip. It was about a 20 minute ride to the point where we boarded small fishing boats (note - change to your swimsuit before you head out as there are no changing facilites). Our boats first tracked down the dolphins, which are small but abundant. The boats were respectful of the dolphins but also good at keeping track of and finding them for us to observe. After watching the dolphins for a while, we were brought to our snorkel spot, which was one of the most beautiful, colourful coral gardens I have seen. Abundant large, healthy corals and many types of fish. We stayed in this spot well over an hour and the water was warm and relatively calm. After the snorkel trip, we were brought for an included lunch at a resort which provided us with pizza made in an Italian brick oven and a refreshing drink.

Ma also came with us into town one day to walk with us through Savusavu town and market. The town is small but has what you need, with a few grocery markets and restaurants if you need a change of pace. They also have a daily farmers market where you can observe the locals purchasing their taro, cassava, fruit, seafood, etc. They have a small handicrafts area at the rear where I purchased a nice tapa cloth table runner for 40FJD. They also have shells, carvings, and other small handicrafts there.

All in all our week at Savasi Island was one of the most relaxing and memorable we have had. I should tell you we are very well-traveled (70 plus countries), so we do know true beauty, hospitality, quality and value when we see it. Now that we have stayed here, we are forever ruined for the many `cookie-cutter`resorts we have also stayed in. If you want a unique but luxurious vacation, Savasi Island Resort is what I would recommend!!!

Room Tip: We really loved our Beach Villa...great for a family or 3 couples. They also have a few villas with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TravelwomanYVRisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
savasiisland, Owner at Savasi Island Villas, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Wow, thank you for a lovely and descriptive review! We're always eager to hear guests perspective on the food, accommodation, staff and activities, which seems to be very positive. Enjoy your Pure Fiji products :) We hope they remind you of only fond memories at Savasi.

-Gail Savenkov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Savusavu
0.6 mi away
Namale Resort & Spa
Namale Resort & Spa
#3 of 12 in Savusavu
363 reviews
4.3 mi away
Daku Resort
Daku Resort
#1 of 12 in Savusavu
660 reviews
34.8 mi away
The Remote Resort - Fiji Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Emaho Sekawa Resort
Emaho Sekawa Resort
#7 of 12 in Savusavu
90 reviews
4.0 mi away
Naveria Heights Lodge
Naveria Heights Lodge
#8 of 12 in Savusavu
160 reviews
4.9 mi away
Korovesi Sunshine Villas
Korovesi Sunshine Villas
#9 of 12 in Savusavu
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savasi Island Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savasi Island Villas

Property: Savasi Island Villas
Address: Private bridge off Hibiscus Highway, Savusavu, Vanua Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Vanua Levu > Savusavu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Savusavu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Savusavu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With only seven villas, Savasi is the ultimate in luxury and privacy, the perfect getaway for a blissful vacation, wedding or honeymoon, where authentic Fijian hospitality, in a truly unique and pristine environment, rejuvenates the mind, body and spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Savasi Island Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savasi Island Villas Hotel Savusavu
Savasi Island Villas Fiji/Savusavu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing