We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Fiji - Some people are too picky”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anchorage Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We stayed in Fiji from 9th Oct-16th Oct 2012. After reading the reviews I was wondering if this place would be that nice, turns out some people are just too picky. We did a scoopon so we got that place for $500 for 7nights for 2 ppl. It was great. They upgraded our room to beachside spa villa which we didnt like. The rooms are more expensive and not worth it. The only differnce is that there is a spa on the balcony, but its way too hot and mugy to be a spa. THe room isnt much bigger than the others. There was no view from most of these villas as they are behind each other, the only one that would have a ocean view would be the front one. The villas also have wooden louvers so if you want to have the air con on you need to shut all the louvers which mean there is not natual light coming in because they are wooden not glass, so they room was very dark. We asked when we got there if we could down grade back to the orginal room which they were happy to do the following day.

So the room we stayed in was Oceanfront spa room 305. It had two double beds. This had a spa in the bathroom that you could open the window and look out at the beach. The room was sizy, enough for the two of us. Like the other reviews it did have problems in the bathroom with some seals that were a bit brown but this didnt make our stay any less pleasent. We got used to it after being there for 24hrs. We had our rooms made up each day at no extra cost which was great because they changed the towels, which we needed because we forgot to bring beach towels so we had to take the with us on day trips. There was also a mini bar fridge and iron in the apartment. It was great because it was right next to pool and restaurant and wasnt a hassel to go down there. There is also a restauanrt up top which is worth walking up the hill for one night as the view is wonderful. I think that the garden rooms would be nice too, but would be more hassel to go to pool as massive hill.

This place was great because if you needed anything they were only to happy to help. The people are amazing and so nice and relaxed that it was and immediate affect to forgot about the world for a week. They have activites through out the day, every day and most nights they have a band or some sort of entertainment including fire dancers which was fantastic, we were never bored, but on the same hand it was very relaxing.

The food was good. I dont like alot of meat so I stuck to the vegeratarin options just because the meat did taste different to me, but most other peopl enjoyed it. We were told that the water is fine but we might not be used to it so we decided to go to general store and buy our own for the week.

We did 3 day trips out to the island becasue they water at the place isnt the nicest for swimming but it is very relaxing to look at. We went to beachcomber twice because it was so cheap. it was about $50 Aus and includs lunch. They do a snorkel trip of no extra charge out just off the island which is wonderful. We saw coral, blue starfish, rainbow fish, angel fish, clown fish. Was alot of fun. Beachcomber is know as party island so they have activities go alll day and music playing all day, its alot of fun for younge and old.

We also went to treasure island. This was more expensive. We went to Denarua marina and went with South Sea Crusies. This included lunch as well and was whole day. Took about 50mins via cab to get there. (We went to Denarua because the group that organises it at Anchorage is expensive and its only half day and doesnt include lunch, so was cheaper to pay $50Fj for cab) This place is well worth a day trip. We got 2 course lunch included and use of the pool. They also have activites going all day. They dont do a snorkle trip but you can snorkle about 2m off the beach and there is pleanty of coral and fish there. The pool there is amazing, its looks right out at the ocean and towards beachcomber island.

Back to Anchorage Resort: The pool is amazing, if you hang around the side the waiters will come and ask if you want a drink and you can charge it to the room. We did use the swim up bar one night but there often wasnt anyone there(so just hang around the edges of the pool and they will attend to you) We spent alot of time in the pool becuase it was so good. The hammocks are great to, make sure you spend some time in there. They also have makerts set up there to buy stuff.

There is a sugar cane train the goes straight through the resort, we loved this. They also said you can walk down the train tracks to the village and dont worry if they train comes because you can out run it. We walked down the tracks (10-15mins) to Vuda Point Marina. Well worht the walk. There is a genral store and atm there and the Sunset Bar is amazing. Very cheap drinks and great to watch the sunset over the ocean as we dont get that is QLD,(it sets over the mountains). They had band playing and was so relaxing sitting on grass. THere is also a restaurant there.

We did trip to Lautoka for some souvierns. Didnt really like it in town as was bit dirty. Went to Jacks store(its a franchise of good souviers) was pretty cheap and nice, then just got water and went back home. Be careful of people coming up to you, you will think they are really nice but they are just trying to sell you something and you wont be able to bring it back home because the wood isnt quaranteened.

Be careful if you want to use the kayaks. They are supposed to be free to use but the company Splash that orgainses tours will try and get you to use theres which are $10 for 30mins. Make sure you tell them you want to use the resorts, because you wont have to pay for them. There tours are pretty expensive too. If you want to go to Beachcoomber book it through reception as it is cheaper with them as it is there sister resort.

This place is great for couples,family and friends. We will definalty be coming back next year.
Happy to answer any quetions you have.

Room Tip: Choose 305 or 304 room Ocean frontspa room -You have a fantastic view in any of the 300 rooms as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank i_an_outtathaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAREEN D, Manager at Anchorage Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Bula!
Thank you for your wonderful and comprehensive review of the Anchorage. The Anchorage is excellent value for money and we are also glad to hear of your enjoyment of the day trips that you went on.
Vinaka vaka levu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 535 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2012

Well when we arrived at the Anchorage after staying in an actual "resort" we were ready to leave. It certainly needs money spent on the place. It is rather like staying at budget accommodation back home. Food was not up to scratch and had to send 3 of our meals back only to be given something worse. The only good thing about this place is the staff who are friendly and helpful. I certainly wouldn't recommend it to a couple looking for a nice getaway there are much better and well priced places to stay than the Anchorage. The sugar cane train runs through the resort and wakes you up in the early hours of the morning and you get the smell of petrol and diesel at breakfast if sitting outside. As for the beach well you cannot swim on the beach. It is a bit of a joke really.

Definitely not going to that dump again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cherie8ANZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAREEN D, Manager at Anchorage Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Bula,
It really is surprising for us to hear this feedback as the vast majority of feedback we receive is praising and positive. We will look into some of the issues that you have raised and at the same time thank you for praising the staff which is consistent with the majority of feedback that we receive.
Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

This is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in and I had some of my worst holiday experiences here also.

Firstly, the hotel is an hours drive away from the Fiji you see in the brochures. All the sand and pristine beaches are on the other side of the island. At the Anchorage there is essentially a dirty stretch of sand and filthy water, all of which is located in a poor and dilapidated area of Fiji.

When my partner and I arrived at night, very tired, we were shown to our rooms and were immediately disappointed at how filthy and basic it was. The television didn't work, and as we were about to get into bed we found blood on the sheets. We immediately rang reception but were informed that we could not be moved until the morning. Exhausted, we begrudgingly accepted this and went to sleep. In the morning it took 3 hours to change rooms and we were harassed by a cleaning lady who blocked the door and aggressively begged us for money, as she said she was going to be fired because we had complained about how filthy and disgusting the room was. She didn't get a cent, and when I raised this episode with management they basically told me to get over it.

We ate breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the hotel restaurant that day and woke the next morning to discover that we had both contracted food poisoning. The hotel staff offered no assistance even though we were both very sick and refused to call a doctor as they said it would cost too much to get him to call to the hotel. When we returned to New Zealand, it was confirmed by our doctor that we had contracted food poisoning, much likely due to unsanitary food preparation.

Over the next few days there was many other incidents of terrible customer service from the bad tempered, uninterested, and absolutely ignorant staff that work at this resort. Breakfast every morning was disgusting, the resort itself was filthy everywhere with no charm at all, and a train runs through the resort every few hours with about 100 carriages of timber which makes a hugh racket.

I literally can't put in words how hugely disappointing it was and truly ruined our trip to Fiji. Don't believe the photos on the website, they totally misrepresent the place. Whatever you do, don't stay at this hotel, you will sincerely regret it!

Room Tip: Pick a different resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PhileasFogg_ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAREEN D, Manager at Anchorage Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Bula,
It really is surprising for us to hear this feedback as the vast majority of feedback we receive is praising and positive. We will look into some of the issues that you have raised.
Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I refer to the booking below.

We were supposed to stay at the Anchorage Resort for a few days but we left only an hour after arriving there.

The resort was not at all what it was made out to be in the resort and room description and pictures.

Firstly our Beachside Spa room was located right next to the parking lot and the only view we had was that of the parking lot and a big tree right at the window.

The spa was built into the front porch of the room, right in the parking lot. Thus if we were to use it, everyone in the other rooms and the parking lot would be able to see us, and our view would be of the lot and cars. Not very private at all.

The beach was only a few meters long and was covered with sticks and a heap of empty bottles. I doubt even a towel would fit in the small open spot of sand. So much for the Beachside room - or a holiday on the beach, after that was stated on their information.

Furthermore, the room was so dirty, covered in dust and dead insects. I immediately started sneezing and my husband stepped on a dead bee inside the room - he is allergic to bees but we were lucky to have antihistamine there. After only a minute of two of walking barefoot in the room -after taking out shoes off at the door, our feet were very very dirty.

We booked out only an hour after arriving and booked into another resort. What a waste of time and money, and what a disappointment.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yolandi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAREEN D, Manager at Anchorage Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Thank you for taking time to post your subjective review. We have taken on board some of the issues that you have mentioned and are at the same time surprised given our prior track record of glowing reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

A very friendly resort, but quite run down.
The Sugar Cane train ran through the resort at all hours of the night, sometimes lasting a few minutes (which isn't much, but seems like it after being woken up!).
Our room was a bit in need of some fixing - tiles falling off around the bath and shower, broken light shades, nothing overly major.
The resort advertises having Sky, but we could only get one channel on the little tv in our room, again, not a major, but would have been nice to have been able to watch a movie one night while we were there.
The breakfast didn't change in the 5 days we were there, so got a bit sick of cereal and toast!
The boat we went to Beachcomber on broke down on our way back to the resort which was scary to say the least! We were rescued by a nearby resort after one of the men on the boat set a flare off.
Probably wouldn't stay here again, but did have a nice time while we were there because of the lovely staff :)

Room Tip: I'm not sure if it's better to stay up the hill which is away from the noise of the trains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAREEN D, Manager at Anchorage Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Bula,
Thank you for your feedback and we have taken on board some of the comments that you have made as we do try our very best. Please note that when PBS (pay TV) in Fiji closed their doors without notice it affected a lot of customers. We had our own satellite dish installed in September.
Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Such friendly people at your beck and call every minute of the day. Love the food hospitality. What a beautiful culture. Clive laugh was infectious and always made me smile. The house keeper Marie was the best. Arranged a little surprise with my daughter stuffed toys each day which made my daughter so very happy to return to the room. The massages are the best I have ever had, such a talented lady. Will definately miss Anchorage. Bula and kisses to all

Room Tip: beach villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaimaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAREEN D, Manager at Anchorage Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Bula,
Thank you for your nice review. We are pleased to hear that you had a lovely time at the Anchorage. Please do come back to visit again soon.
Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

If you're looking for a more genuine Fifi flavoured resort away fron the sanitized luxury resorts in Denarau, Anchorage is a good choice. It is secluded and situated on the beach 8 kms from Lautoka and 20 kms from Nadi. The resort has a mixture of bure and motel like apartments. Originally built on the hill it was extended and now has accomodation virtually on the beach together with a pool and adjoining restuarant and bar. The bure was spacious, clean and cool with air conditioning if needed. There was a TV but Fiji TV is eminently forgettable. The rsdsortoffers a one day island adventure to Beachcomber resort ($99FD). The resort offers a free shuttle bus daily to Lautoka and Nadi but guests must find their own way back to the resort (Taxi from Lautoka (15$FD and from Nadi ($30FD). The restaurant offers generous meals at reasonable prices (main course $25 FD) and drinks are standard for cafes and restaurants in Nadi (Fiji beer $6). Last year we travelld in Vietnam and 9 out of ten meals were scrumptious. In Fiji it is the opposite and the food at the Anchorage restaurant was only passable. Our only other beef was the difficulty sleeping. The regional sugar cane railway runs right through the middle of the resort and in the harvest season the diesel engine and hundreds of carriages will chug through the resort at all hours of the night and morning. Coupled with the firmest mattresses we have ever encountered and paper thin walls between abutting bures it is not conducive to guests who need or want to sleep soundly. Offsetting the mattress situation is a masseuse who will give a vigorous massage for $30 per half hour. Ww could not fault the staff and the tranquility during the day made for a very relaxing stay away from the hussle and bustle of most tourist resorts .

Room Tip: Ask for a room well away from the train. However If you struggle to climb a steep gradient you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 30carat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAREEN D, Manager at Anchorage Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Bula,
Thank you for your nice review. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time at the Anchorage and have taken on board some of your other comments. The vast majority of people do enjoy the attraction of the cane train and it is a very small train and nothing like what most people expect when the word train is used.
Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lautoka
6.4 mi away
Tanoa Waterfront Hotel
Tanoa Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 7 in Lautoka
259 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Fiji Orchid
The Fiji Orchid
#2 of 7 in Lautoka
115 reviews
5.9 mi away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Fiji Gateway Hotel
1 mi away
First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
9.7 mi away
Beachcomber Island Resort
Beachcomber Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Beachcomber Island
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Beach Resort

Address: Vuda Point, Lautoka, Viti Levu 0000, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Lautoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
Price Range: £45 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchorage Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Experience the best of Fiji by staying at the Anchorage Beach Resort on mainland Fiji, perfect for couples or the whole family. The Anchorage beach resort will provide the perfect launching pad to experience the wonders of the Mamanuca islands. We are often the choice for many travelers first or last night on the mainland when proximity to the international airport is an absolute must. From here you are in reach of some of the best surf and crystal clear snorkeling Fiji has on offer and various mainland excursions and activities.We are an intimate hillside boutique resort with its own secluded palm fringe beach, set amidst lush tropical gardens with breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean, nearby mountains and uninhabited islands in the distance. Join us for a truly relaxing tropical getaway.Do as much, or as little, as you please. Relax and unwind on the beach and by the pool. Wander through our tropical gardens. Take an afternoon nap on a hammock. Learn the local culture from our friendly Fijian staff. Indulge in delicious meals. Or embark on a variety of excursions available from the resort jetty. Our comfortable rooms are set in a tranquil environment - just meters from the beach or in the gardens providing the magical backdrop for the most amazing sunrises and the majestic sunsets.Our resort's super convenient location provides one of our most important benefits. We are located only 20 minutes from the Nadi International Airport , 10 minutes from the Sugar City of Lautoka and 2 minutes from the historical Visesei Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Anchorage Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Beach Hotel Lautoka
Anchorage Beach Lautoka
Anchorage Beach Resort Fiji/Lautoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing