We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anchorage Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Good, relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Came back from a holiday at the Anchorage resort at the weekend (02/11). We had a wonderful time. The staff were so welcoming and friendly, especially Clive, Eli (at Beachcomer) and the ladies on reception. Bula to everyone at the Anchorage. I did have reservations after reading some of the reviews on this site, but I was very happy with the service and facilities that were provided. It's not 5 star, but very adequate for our needs - after all, you only need a bed to sleep in. Our room was cleaned everyday with flowers left on the bed and in the bathroom, thank you. I loved the sugar train, and thought it all added to the atmosphere of the resort, in saying that we stayed at the top of the hill so didn't hear the train during the night.

Room Tip: Next time I would like to stay in the chalets on the right hand side going down the hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort M, Manager at Anchorage Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Bula Corrine,
Thanks for posting your review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Anchorage. Its is great to receive praise about the staff, service and facilities.
We do hope that you return to the Anchorage in the future.
Vinaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    159
    116
    58
    76
See reviews for
136
216
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We spent a week here. Food was incredibly disappointing, facilities are worn out and the sugar cane train that runs through the place is cute at first but after 6 nights of disturbed sleep it gets old quick!
On the up side, the staff are wonderful. While they all run on "Fiji Time" the staff make every effort to make your stay a pleasant one.
There are few things to do at the resort other than sun bathing, drinking and swimming in the pool that was not cleaned once during our stay. Day visitors are by far the biggest users of the facilities and as such the place is crawling with children most days. ( surprised the pool isn't yellow )
The Anchorage is a good base to explore the outer islands but I wouldn't go to the. Beachcomber Island Resort which is owned by the same people who own the Anchorage. Beachcomber, much like the Anchorage is run down. Toilets don't flush, ( a big problem when there are 150 guests staying there along with 50 or so day trippers ) the surrounding reef is littered with rubbish from the tourists as well as junk from the island. During my two hour snorkel I saw electric motors, car batteries, cutlery, bricks, pipe, blocks of concrete all dumped just meters off shore. There is no education provided to tourists on the do and do not of coral reefs.

If it were not for the staff which are horribly under paid ($6 per hour) I would have given a 2 star rating. The Fijians that work the resort love their country, their way of life and are genuinely proud that you picked Fiji as a destination. The population of Fiji has a considerable percentage of Indians mostly concentrated in the larger cities. Our visit to Lautoka was less than pleasant. Shop keeper after shop keeper was very vocal of their dislike towards the Fijian people. I found all of the Indian owned shops to be rude, terribly arrogant and very expensive. We spent our tourist dollars in Fijian owned shops.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank andreaspaule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort M, Manager at Anchorage Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Bula Andreas,
Thank you for posting your review and praising the staff. The sugar cane crushing season is now over for the year so potential guests that are light sleepers will not be disturbed and those who love the novelty of the sugar cane train will have to wait until next year to see it. I can reassure you that the swimming pool is in fact cleaned every morning between 7 and 8am.
Whilst it has been closed, Beachcomber Island has undergone significant refurbishment and we look forward to accommodating all guest needs at our iconic property.
Vinaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryborough, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We had the best time we stayed for 7 nights thanks to John at Splash for a great jet ski safari. Staff in the restaurant were fabulous I got the recipe for kokoda fish the cold soup I made it for Murray tonight he said it was good The only fault we had was the bathroom was very mouldy ,everything else was good Beauty parlour ladies were very professional my husband and I visited 3 times our trip to beachcomber was a great day so was cloud9 even though I fell down the steps in the rain I was very badly bruised and still am after 2 weeks but will return in the next few months this time with our 5 year old grandson still not sure where we will stay depends what deals come along Thanks again for a great holiday
Murray & Kerry Maryborough Qld

Room Tip: We stayed down near the pool on top floor loved the train was unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort M, Manager at Anchorage Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Bula Murray and Kerry,
Thanks for taking the time to post your review, we are very happy to hear that you love the local cuisine and kokoda is a favourite. Beachcomber and Cloud 9 are great day trip destinations and should not be missed by any guest and we are hopeful that Cloud 9 finds a new home and reopens again shortly. We hope you recover from your slip and invite you to contact our reservations for your return trip with your grandson.
Vinaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baxter, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We have just returned from our Holiday at the Anchorage Resort - it was our third trip in 18 months to Fiji and this is just the best value for money you could ever wish for.
The resort has the most helpful and cheerful staff offering 'nothing is too much trouble' service and of course one must mention the 'in house treasure' Clive. And ... if there is something special you would like to eat that is not on the menu - the Chef is happy to cook it for you the way you want it. A free shuttle bus service 6 days a week to Lautoka and Nadi was a bonus - the accommodation as well as the Resort facilities are clean and very well maintained. The little cane train coming through the resort is something I looked forward to each day as well as watching the 'ANCHORAGE PRINCESS' as we called it, depart each morning at 8.30 am for Beachcomber Island. Our personal and very special rendition of 'Isa Lei' on our last night by the boys in the band will stay with us until we return.
BULA and VINAKA to you all ! Margaret Anderson and Eddie Hicks.

Room Tip: If you don't like what you have been allocated - just say so and the lovely Reservation Manager...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort M, Manager at Anchorage Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Bula Margaret and Eddie,
Thanks for posting your wonderful review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff made special efforts to accommodate your needs.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Vinaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We got married here and it was Perfect! The staff are amazing which made up for the terrible food - over priced and over cooked. Anchorage is a good place to stay (Beachcomber island day trip is a must!) and my wedding day was amazing but just eat some where else and come back for drinks at the swim up bar!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort M, Manager at Anchorage Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Bula Kristin,
Firstly, I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful wedding and honey moon and that you enjoyed the pool facilities and swim up bar. It is a little disappointing to hear that the food did not meet your expectations and that matter has been looked into.
We hope you will consider returning to the Anchorage for you wedding anniversaries in years to come.
Vinaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadi, Fiji
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

first of all the first time I arrived here in Anchorage Resort they treat me like my own family and they have a nice variety of accommodation to choose from and good customer service and provided facilities and also the food is delicious and also theres a lot of activities to choose from such as jet ski, kayaking, canoeing, snorkling and many more but dont forget to visit the party island called beachcomber Island aka the best snorkelling place in south pacific........ so i would like to give a big thanks to all the stuff of Anchorage who made my Holiday memorable and i will be back for sure and its a must no lies!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: all rooms have spa and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sophie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort M, Manager at Anchorage Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Bula Sophie,
Thanks for your review. Indeed, the Anchorage has rooms to meet all budget types and we are getting good feedback about the food and beverage so the improvements being made are taking effect.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Anchorage very soon.
Vinaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

What an amazing place. Just beautiful, so relaxing, the staff were amazing - specifically Clive is just gorgeous. The prices were pretty good, the service was amazing! The staff go out of their way to welcome you, feed you, look after you. We had a wonderful time, I would absolutely recommend it for anyone!. The rooms were so spacious, fresh flowers with the daily service, a different activity on each day - we had crab racing our first night :)
The food is divine, just enough selection that we tried something new every night, and breakfast overlooking the pool and the ocean each day, incredible start to the day.
The whole resort is clean, the staff are so sweet, the views are amazing, and its only a short trip into Lautoka or Nadi. And they drive you there!
I just cant recommend Anchorage enough. Will absolutely be going back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort M, Manager at Anchorage Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Bula Melanie,
Thanks for yet another warm review. We appear to be meeting the needs and expectations of the vast majority of guests and it is great to hear that we are on the right track.
We look forward to seeing you again at the Anchorage.
Vinaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lautoka
6.4 mi away
Tanoa Waterfront Hotel
Tanoa Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 7 in Lautoka
243 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,176 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Fiji Orchid
The Fiji Orchid
#2 of 7 in Lautoka
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
1.0 mi away
First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
10.6 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hote...
#1 of 1 in Sonaisali Island
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Beach Resort

Property: Anchorage Beach Resort
Address: Vuda Point, Lautoka, Viti Levu 0000, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Lautoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchorage Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Experience the best of Fiji by staying at the Anchorage Beach Resort on mainland Fiji, perfect for couples or the whole family. The Anchorage beach resort will provide the perfect launching pad to experience the wonders of the Mamanuca islands. We are often the choice for many travelers first or last night on the mainland when proximity to the international airport is an absolute must. From here you are in reach of some of the best surf and crystal clear snorkeling Fiji has on offer and various mainland excursions and activities.We are an intimate hillside boutique resort with its own secluded palm fringe beach, set amidst lush tropical gardens with breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean, nearby mountains and uninhabited islands in the distance. Join us for a truly relaxing tropical getaway.Do as much, or as little, as you please. Relax and unwind on the beach and by the pool. Wander through our tropical gardens. Take an afternoon nap on a hammock. Learn the local culture from our friendly Fijian staff. Indulge in delicious meals. Or embark on a variety of excursions available from the resort jetty. Our comfortable rooms are set in a tranquil environment - just meters from the beach or in the gardens providing the magical backdrop for the most amazing sunrises and the majestic sunsets.Our resort's super convenient location provides one of our most important benefits. We are located only 20 minutes from the Nadi International Airport , 10 minutes from the Sugar City of Lautoka and 2 minutes from the historical Visesei Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Anchorage Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Beach Hotel Lautoka
Anchorage Beach Lautoka
Anchorage Beach Resort Fiji/Lautoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing